Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 9: Change “coupled” to – couple --.
Claim 3 and 7, Line 1: Change “Claim1” to – Claim 1 --.
Claim 4 appears to lack antecedent basis as a “second handle” depending from Claim 1 while Claim 3 recites a first handle depending from Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0195279 to Michael in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0311576 to Nintendo.
In Reference to Claim 1
Michael discloses a portable gaming monitor for use with a portable video game unit (Figs. 12a, 16c; [0185], games console and docket support), the portable video game unit including a base (games console 1604, Fig. 16c) with a first screen (1606), a processor (within games console 1604, Fig. 16c, the console in the style of Nintendo® DS, programmable touch screen, [0185], modular devices include … game controllers … processing units including CPUs and hard drives, [0132], and a first controller (one of the game controller 1607, 1608) coupled to the base (console 1604), the portable gaming monitor (at docking station 3), comprising:
a housing (docking station 3);
a gaming unit dock (at rails 1205 of docking station 3, Fig. 12a) configured to receive the portable video game unit (at games console 1604, Fig. 16c),
a second screen (display screen of personal electronic device 34, Fig. 16c, personal electronic device, [0183], personal electronic device display screen, [0036]) positioned on the housing (docking station 3), the second screen (display screen of person electronic display device 34) being operably connected (accessories that are functionally connected to the personal electronic display device 34, [0183]) to the portable video game unit (at console 1604) when the portable video game unit is received by the gaming unit dock (at rails 1205 of docking station 3, Fig. 12a); and
a first interface (one of the connective arrangements 1209 of docking station 3) configured to detachably couple the first controller (one of controllers 1607, 1608, Fig. 16c) to the housing (docking station 3), wherein the first controller is in communication with the portable video game unit (at console 1604) when the first controller is coupled to the first interface (one of the arrangements 1209 of docking station 3, Fig. 12a), and the portable video game unit when the portable video game unit is received by the gaming unit dock (at rails 1205 of docking station 3).
However, Michael fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first controller coupled to the base is the first controller detachably coupled to the base. One of skill in the art would be aware of the teachings of Nintendo.
According to Nintendo, Nintendo provides a supporting device for supporting a game controller ([0002]) and teaches wherein a first controller (left controller 3, Fig. 1) coupled to a base (main unit 2) is the first controller (left controller 3) detachably coupled (as shown in Fig. 2) to the base (main unit 2).
It would involve only routine skill in the art to modify the first controller of Michael to include wherein the first controller coupled to the base is the first controller detachably coupled to the base as taught by Nintendo for the purpose of providing a controller that can be detached to be used separately from a main unit and thereby ensure that a portable device can be used in different modes (Nintendo [0121]).
In Reference to Claim 2
Michael discloses the gaming monitor of Claim 1. Yet, Michael fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a first handle detachably mounted to the housing, the first handle comprising a recess configured to at least partially receive a portion of the first controller. Nintendo further teaches a first handle grip (left grip portion 353, Fig. 54) detachably mounted (in the extension grip 350, the housing of the main section 351 and the housing of the support section 352 are formed separately, and these housings are connected together [0698], attached … by … a screw [0766]) to a housing (support section 352), the first handle (left grip portion 353) comprising a recess (at second surface 353b) configured to at least partially receive a portion (as shown in Fig. 56) of a first controller (left controller 3).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the housing of Michael to further include comprising a first handle detachably mounted to the housing, the first handle comprising a recess configured to at least partially receive a portion of the first controller as taught by Nintendo for the purpose of providing a grip portion through a connection portion and thereby ensure that the user can securely hold on to improve controllability (Nintendo [0695]).
In Reference to Claim 3
Michael discloses the invention substantially as claimed to also disclose herein the portable vie game unit (console 1604) further includes a second controller (onf of 1607, 1608) coupled to the base (console 1604), the portable gaming monitor (at docking station 3) further comprises a second interface (another of the connective arrangements 1209 of docking station 3), configured to detachably couple the second controller (one of 1607, 1608) to the housing (docking station 3), wherein the second controller is in communication with the portable video game unit (at console 1604), when the second controller is coupled to the second interface (via the connective arrangements 1209) and the portable video game unit is received by the gaming unit dock (at rails 1205 of docking station 3, Fig. 12a). However, the reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the second controller is coupled to the base is the second controller detachably coupled to the base.
Nintendo teaches of a supporting device for a game controller ([0002]) wherein a second controller (right controller 4, Fig. 1) coupled to a base (main unit 2) is the second controller (right controller 4) detachably coupled (as shown in Fig. 2) to the base (main unit 2).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Michael to include wherein the second controller coupled to the base is the second controller detachably coupled to the base as taught by Nintendo to provide controller that can be detached and used separately from a main unit and thereby ensure that a portable device can be used in different modes (Nintendo [0121]).
In Reference to Claim 4
Michael discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose a second handle detachably mounted to the housing, the second handle comprising a recess configured to at least partially receive a portion of the second controller.
Nintendo further teaches of a second handle (right grip portion 354, Fig. 54) detachably mounted (in extension grip 350), the housing of the main section 351 and the housing of the support section 352 are formed (support section 352), are formed separately and connected together ([0698 connected by a screw [0766]) to a housing (support section 352), the second handle (right grip portion 354) comprising a recess (at second surface 354b) configured to at least partially receive a portion 9as shown in Fig. 56) of a second controller (right controller 4).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the housing of Michael to further comprise a second handle detachably mounted to the housing, the second handle comprising a recess configured to at least partially receive a portion of the second controller as taught by Nintendo to provide a grip portion through a connection portion and thereby ensure that the user can securely hold on to improve controllability (Nintendo [0685]).
In Reference to Claim 8
Michael discloses wherein the second screen (display screen of personal electronic device 34, Fig. 16c) is larger that (as shown in Fig. 16c) the first screen (small touch screen 1606).
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael, Nintendo further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2006/0258452 to Hsu.
Michael discloses the invention substantially as claimed to include a gaming dock (at rails 1205 of docking station 3) comprises:
a base surface (surface of platform 1204); and
a docking interface (one of connective arrangement of 1209 of docking station 3), the docking station interface operatively engaging the portable video game unit (at console 1604). However, the reference does not explicitly disclose a pair of side walls, a cover rotatably coupled to the base and reciprocal between an open position and a closed position; and
a docking interface, wherein the base surface, the side walls, and the cover in the closed position define a cavity, the docking interface operatively engaging the portable video game unit when the portable video game unit is disposed within the cavity.
Hsu teaches of portable game machines ([0001]) and of a gaming unit dock (at receiving box 23, Fig. 1) comprises: a base surface (along frame 31); a pair of side walls (walls of receiving box 23); a cover (display screen 21 is made of transparent material [0014]) rotatably coupled (through cover opening unit 22, Fig. 2) to the base surface and reciprocal between an open position (as shown in Fig. 1) and a closed position (as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the base surface, side walls, and cover in the closed position define a cavity (inside box 23, Fig. 1). Wherein operatively engaging a portable video game unit (portable game machine 5, Fig. 1), connect the function keys of a portable game machine 5to the function keys in the function key unit 12 of the body 11 [0011) is operatively engaging the portable video game unit (machine 5) when the portable video game unit is disposed within the cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the gaming dock of Michael to include including the base, side walls, and cover rotatably coupled to the base surface and reciprocal between an open position and closed position which define a cavity and the portable video game unit is in the cavity as taught by Hsu to provide a receiving box to securely receive the portable game machine and securely receive it to ensure the game machine can be selectively covered for a strengthened connections (Hsu, [0014]).
8. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael, Nintendo further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2002/0083880 to Shelton.
Michael discloses the invention substantially as claimed to further include a mount (as shown in Fig. 16c) for a battery (at accessories 1609, 1610, 1611, Fig. 16c, three accessories 1609, 1610, and 1611 are supported by the underside of the platform 1601 [0184]), modular devices which are contemplated for use within the present invention include … power units including … rechargeable or non-rechargeable batteries, [0132]) to the housing (docking station 3), the battery providing power [0132]) to the portable video game unit (at console 1604). However, Michael does not explicitly disclose wherein a mount for the battery to the housing is a battery strap configured to mount the battery to the housing.
Shelton teaches of a battery locking mechanism ([0141]) and of a mount for a battery (battery 52, Fig. 18A) to a housing (at flange 117) is a battery strap (strap 113) configured to mount the battery (battery 52) to the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to mount the battery to the housing of Michael to include the battery strap configured to mount the battery to the housing as taught by Shelton to provide tension on a battery and thereby ensure that the battery is held tight ([0144]).
9. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael, Nintendo further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0335258 to Vaturi
Michael discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose comprising a kickstand rotatably coupled to the housing by frictional hinge.
Vaturi provides an electronic device ([0003]) and teaches of a kickstand (kickstand 122, Fig. 2) rotatably coupled to a housing (at backing 124) by a frictional hinge (hinge 126, Fig. 2, hinge 126 may stop rotation of kickstand 122 …. intermediate configurations may be accessed over a continuum (e.g., using a friction-based hinge mechanism, [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the housing of Michael to include a kickstand rotatably coupled to the housing be a frictional hinge as taught by Vaturi to allow a user to customize a usage conformation of an electronic device and ensure that the configuration can have a continuum ([0025]).
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is in the Notice of References Cited.
/PAUL A D'AGOSTINO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715