DETAILED ACTIONS
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 13 – 32. Claims 1 – 12 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22, 24 and 29 – 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Kim ‘966 et al. (Korean Publication No.: KR20200073966A).
Regarding claim 22, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses a cleaner station (100, Kim ‘966 Fig 1, Paragraph 93) configured to draw dust into a dust bin (20, Kim ‘966 Fig 1, Paragraph 93) of a cleaner (10, Kim ‘966 Fig 1, Paragraph 94) and to collect the dust, the cleaner station comprising: a station housing (110, Fig 1, Kim ‘966 Paragraph 103) configured to be coupled to the cleaner; wherein a major axis (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) of the station housing (110, Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) extends in an up-down direction relative to a ground, and an accessory storage part (113, Kim ‘966 Fig 2, Paragraph 121) that is coupled to a lower end of the station (see Kim ‘966 Fig 2) housing and defines a storage space (see Kim ‘966 Fig 2) for storing an accessory (see Kim ‘966 Fig 2) of the cleaner or an accessory of the cleaner station, wherein the accessory storage part comprises a storage part housing (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) that defines an external shape of the accessory storage part, and a drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) that is disposed at the storage part housing (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) and configured to extend from the storage part housing in a direction perpendicular to the major axis of the station housing (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2); an airflow generation unit (131) disposed at the storage part housing (113; Paragraph [0064]) and configured to generate airflow in the drawer through the storage space for drying the accessory in the storage space during an operation of the airflow generation unit (Kim teaches the motor fan can be in the second internal space, 113, thus the motor is in communication with the storage space and capable of generating airflow in the compartment to dry the accessories).
Regarding claim 24, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified,. discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 22. Additionally, Kim ‘966 discloses that the accessory storage part (113, Kim ‘966 Fig 2, Paragraph 121) further comprises an airflow generation unit (131, Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) disposed at the storage part housing (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) and configured to generate airflow in the drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2).
Regarding claim 29, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 22. Additionally, Kim ‘966 discloses wherein the station housing (110, Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) is configured to receive the cleaner (10, Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) at a first side of the station housing (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1), and wherein the drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) is configured to extend in a lateral direction or a rearward direction (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) relative to the first side.
Regarding claim 30, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 29. Additionally, Kim ‘966 discloses that the drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) is configured to extend in a lateral direction (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) relative to the first side.
Regarding claim 31, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 29. Additionally, Kim ‘966 discloses that the drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) is configured to extend in a rearward direction (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) relative to the first side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘966 et al. (Korean Publication No.: KR20200073966A) in view of Yukio (JP 2019081104 A) as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘966 et al discloses a cleaner station (100, Kim ‘966 Fig 1, Paragraph 93) configured to draw dust into a dust bin (20, Kim ‘966 Fig 4, Paragraph 93) of a cleaner (10, Kim ‘966 Fig 1, Paragraph 94) and to collect the dust, the cleaner station comprising: a station housing (110, Fig 1, Kim ‘966 Paragraph 103) configured to be coupled to the cleaner; a dust collecting motor (suction fan, 131), Kim ‘966 Fig 2) disposed at the station housing and configured to generate a suction force for drawing the dust into the dust bin; and an accessory storage part (113, Kim ‘966 Fig 2, Paragraph 121) that is coupled to a lower end of the station (see Kim ‘966 Fig 2) housing and defines a storage space (see Kim ‘966 Fig 2) for storing an accessory (see Kim ‘966 Fig 2) of the cleaner or an accessory of the cleaner station, wherein the dust collecting motor (131) is in communication with the storage space (113) and configured to generate airflow toward the dust collecting motor through the storage space (113; Paragraph [0064]) for drying the accessory in the storage space during an operation of the dust collecting motor (Kim teaches the motor fan can be in the second internal space, 113, thus the motor is in communication with the storage space and capable of generating airflow in the compartment to dry the accessories).
Kim ‘966 et al., does not explicitly teach the accessory storage part is configured to receive at least a portion of the cleaner in a state in which the cleaner is coupled to the station housing.
Yukio, however, discloses the accessory storage part (192; Fig. 10) is configured to receive at least a portion of the cleaner (cleaner, 11) in a state in which the cleaner (11) is coupled to the station housing (12; Paragraph [0067] - the holding portion 188 has an axial direction along the vertical direction, and at its upper end, it is provided with an insertion opening 191 into which the vacuum cleaner 11 is inserted from above, and inside, there is a storage space 192 that communicates with the insertion opening 191 and houses a part of the vacuum cleaner 11 (the front side of the vacuum cleaner 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. to further include the accessory storage part is configured to receive at least a portion of the cleaner in a state in which the cleaner is coupled to the station housing as taught by Yukio in order to prevent a cleaner that is easily stored, thus preventing multiple components of the system.
Claims 14-20, 23 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘966 et al. (KR20200073966A) in view of Yukio (JP 2019081104 A) as cited by Applicant and Kim ‘270 et al. (Korean Registration No.: KR 101185270).
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 13.
Kim ‘966 does not disclose that the accessory storage part comprises a sterilization unit and that the sterilization unit being configured to emit ultraviolet rays toward the cleaner.
Kim ‘270 et al., however, discloses that the accessory storage part comprises of a sterilization unit (250, Kim ‘270 et al. Paragraph 41, Fig 4), and the sterilization unit being configured to emit ultraviolet rays (Kim ‘270 et al. Paragraph 41) toward the cleaner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. with a sterilization unit that emits UV rays as taught by Kim ‘270 et al. in order to prevent bacteria spreading on the cleaner while it is docked in the cleaner station.
Regarding claim 15, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 14.
Kim ‘966 et al. does not disclose of a sterilization unit and that it is disposed at a lower end of the accessory storage part.
Kim ‘270 et al., however, teaches that it is known in the art to modify cleaner stations with a sterilization unit (250, Kim ‘270 et al. Paragraph 41, Fig 4) and that it is disposed at a lower end of the accessory storage part (200, Kim ‘270 et al. Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. with the storage part and space as taught by Kim ‘270 et al. in order to store an accessory of the cleaner within the cleaning station.
Regarding claim 16, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 13. Additionally, Kim ‘966 et al. discloses an air flow path (132, Kim ‘966 et al. Paragraph 123) is defined between the storage spaces (Kim ‘966 et al. Paragraph 123) to thereby dry the accessory in the storage space based on operation of the dust collecting motor.
Kim ‘966 however, does not expressly disclose that the air flow path is defined between the dust collecting motor and the storage space to thereby dry the accessory in the storage space based on operation of the dust collecting motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the airflow path within the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI, Part C).
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 13. Additionally, Kim ‘966 et al. discloses wherein the accessory storage part (113, Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2, Paragraph 121) comprises: a storage part housing (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) that defines an external shape of the accessory storage part, and a drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) that is disposed at the storage part housing (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) and defines at least a portion of the storage space (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2).
Kim ‘966 however does not expressly disclose that the storage part housing is configured to receive at least a portion of a cleaning module coupled to the cleaner in the particular embodiment shown in figure 2.
Yukio, however, discloses the accessory storage part (192; Fig. 10) is configured to receive at least a portion of the cleaner (cleaner, 11) in a state in which the cleaner (11) is coupled to the station housing (12; Paragraph [0067] - the holding portion 188 has an axial direction along the vertical direction, and at its upper end, it is provided with an insertion opening 191 into which the vacuum cleaner 11 is inserted from above, and inside, there is a storage space 192 that communicates with the insertion opening 191 and houses a part of the vacuum cleaner 11 (the front side of the vacuum cleaner 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. to further include the accessory storage part is configured to receive at least a portion of the cleaner in a state in which the cleaner is coupled to the station housing as taught by Yukio in order to prevent a cleaner that is easily stored, thus preventing multiple components of the system.
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 17. Additionally, Kim ‘966 et al. discloses a first air flow path (132, Kim ‘966 et al. Paragraph 123) and a drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) that is configured to receive air through the first air flow path based on an operation of the dust collecting motor (130 (motor of suction device), Kim ‘966 Fig 2). Kim ‘966 also discloses a second air flow path (151, Kim ‘966 Paragraphs 197-198) and a storage part housing is configured to receive air (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2).
Kim ‘966 however, does not expressly disclose that the first air flow path is defined between the dust collecting motor and the storage space to thereby dry the accessory in the storage space based on operation of the dust collecting motor and that the second air flow path is defined between the dust collecting motor and the drawer to thereby dry the accessory in the storage space based on operation of the dust collecting motor. Kim ‘966 also does not expressly disclose that the storage part housing is configured to receive air through the second air flow path based on the operation of the dust collecting motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the airflow path within the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. in order to let the accessories of the cleaner dry since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI, Part C).
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 17. Additionally, Kim ‘966 et al. discloses wherein a major axis (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) of the station housing (110, Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) extends in an up-down direction relative to a ground, and wherein the drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) is configured to extend in a direction perpendicular to the major axis.
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 19. Additionally, Kim ‘966 et al. discloses wherein the station housing (110, Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) is configured to receive the cleaner (10, Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) at a first side of the station housing (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1), and wherein the drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) is configured to extend in a lateral direction or a rearward direction (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 1) relative to the first side.
Regarding claim 23, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 22.
Kim ’966 et al. does not disclose that the accessory storage part comprises a sterilization unit disposed at the storage part housing configured to emit ultraviolet rays toward the drawer.
Kim ‘270 et al., however, discloses that the accessory storage part comprises of a sterilization unit (250, Kim ‘270 et al. Paragraph 41, Fig 4) disposed at the storage part housing (see annotated Kim ‘270 Fig 4) and the sterilization unit being configured to emit ultraviolet rays (Kim ‘270 et al. Paragraph 41) toward the drawer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. with a sterilization unit that emits UV rays as taught by Kim ‘270 et al. in order to prevent bacteria spreading on the cleaner while it is docked in the cleaner station.
Regarding claim 25, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 22.
Kim ’966 et al. does not disclose that the accessory storage part further comprises a sterilization unit, the sterilization unit being configured to emit ultraviolet rays toward the cleaner.
Kim ‘270 et al., however, discloses that the accessory storage part comprises of a sterilization unit (250, Kim ‘270 et al. Paragraph 41, Fig 4), and the sterilization unit being configured to emit ultraviolet rays (Kim ‘270 et al. Paragraph 41) toward the cleaner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. with a sterilization unit that emits UV rays as taught by Kim ‘270 et al. in order to prevent bacteria spreading on the cleaner while it is docked in the cleaner station.
Regarding claim 26, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 22.
Kim ’966 et al. does not disclose that the accessory storage part further comprises a sterilization unit, the sterilization unit being disposed at a lower end of the accessory storage part.
Kim ‘270 et al., however, teaches that it is known in the art to modify cleaner stations with a sterilization unit (250, Kim ‘270 et al. Paragraph 41, Fig 4) and that it is disposed at a lower end of the accessory storage part (200, Kim ‘270 et al. Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. with the storage part and space as taught by Kim ‘270 et al. in order to store an accessory of the cleaner within the cleaning station.
Regarding claim 27, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 22. Additionally, Kim ‘966 discloses a dust collecting motor (130 (motor of suction device), Kim ‘966) disposed at the station housing and configured to generate a suction force for drawing the dust into the dust bin, an air flow path (132, Kim ‘966 et al. Paragraph 123) defined between the storage spaces (Kim ‘966 et al. Paragraph 123) wherein the storage space (Kim ‘966 et al. Paragraph 123) is configured to receive air (air from the air flow generation unit, see annotated Kim ‘966 Fig 2 ) through the air flow path based on operation of the dust collecting motor.
Kim ‘966 however, does not expressly disclose that the air flow path is defined between the dust collecting motor and the storage space.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the airflow path within the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI, Part C).
Regarding claim 28, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 22. Additionally, Kim ‘966 discloses a dust collecting motor (130 (motor of suction device), Kim ‘966) disposed at the station housing and configured to generate a suction force for drawing the dust into the dust bin. Kim ‘966 et al. continues to disclose a first air flow path (132, Kim ‘966 et al. Paragraph 123) and a drawer (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2) that is configured to receive air through the first air flow path based on an operation of the dust collecting motor (130 (motor of suction device), Kim ‘966 Fig 2). Kim ‘966 also discloses a second air flow path (151, Kim ‘966 Paragraphs 197-198) and a storage part housing is configured to receive air (see annotated Kim ‘966 et al. Fig 2).
Kim ‘966 however, does not expressly disclose that the first air flow path is defined between the dust collecting motor and the drawer and that the second air flow path is defined between the dust collecting motor based on operation of the dust collecting motor. Kim ‘966 also does not expressly disclose that the storage part housing is configured to receive air through the second air flow path based on the operation of the dust collecting motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the airflow path within the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. in order to let the accessories of the cleaner dry since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI, Part C).
Claims 21 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘966 et al. (KR20200073966A) in view of Yukio (JP 2019081104 A) as cited by Applicant and New Icon Development HK (European Publication No.: DE202018103929U1).
Regarding claim 21, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 17.
Kim ’966 et al. however, does not disclose of an air inlet port that fluidly connects an inside and an outside of the storage part housing with each other, and wherein the air inlet port is defined at a front surface of the storage part housing.
New Icon Development HK teaches that it is known in the art to have a cleaner station with an air inlet port (23, New Icon Development HK Fig 1) that fluidly connects an inside and an outside (New Icon Development HK Paragraph 24) of the storage part housing port (2, New Icon Development HK Fig 1) with each other, and wherein the air inlet port is defined at a front surface (see annotated New Icon Development HK Fig 1) of the storage part housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. as modified by New Icon Development HK with an air inlet port order to allow the inside and outside storage part to communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 32, Kim ‘966 et al., as modified, discloses the cleaner station as disclosed in claim 29.
Kim ’966 et al. however, does not disclose of an air inlet port that fluidly connects an inside and an outside of the storage part housing with each other, and wherein the air inlet port is defined at a front surface of the storage part housing.
New Icon Development HK teaches that it is known in the art to have a cleaner station with an air inlet port (23, New Icon Development HK Fig 1) that fluidly connects an inside and an outside (New Icon Development HK Paragraph 24) of the storage part housing port (2, New Icon Development HK Fig 1) with each other, and wherein the air inlet port is defined at a front surface (see annotated New Icon Development HK Fig 1) of the storage part housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim ‘966 et al. as modified by New Icon Development HK with an air inlet port order to allow the inside and outside storage part to communicate with each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated June 23, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 13 – 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues that Kim ‘966 does not teach the amended claim limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim teaches in Paragraph [0064] - The suction fan (131) can be placed in the second internal space (113) formed by the housing, therefore the dust collecting motor is in communication with the storage space and is configured to generate airflow toward the dust collecting motor through the storage space for drying the accessory in the storage space during an operation of the dust collecting motor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723