DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 and 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11, filed 01/30/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. In the light of the arguments and the amendment filed on 01/30/2026, the previous rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0275115 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”) in view of CN110454906 to Shan et al. (hereinafter “Shan”, presented in the IDS filed on 12/22/2023, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an electronic device control method comprising the steps of selecting a target mode from optional modes of a fan (first fan and second fan) of an electronic device, the optional modes comprising a cleaning mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates in reverse), and a heat dissipation mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates forward) [0020, and 0029-0031], generating a control signal based on the target mode [0029], and controlling, based on the control signal, the fan to provide an air strength [0030]. Chen further teaches that when the user uses the electronic device in a normal operation mode, the first fan and the second fan can be adjusted to the low rotation speed, so as to reduce the noise of the fans of the electronic device, and that if the user has a demand in performance (for example, over clocking), the first fan and the second fan can be adjusted to the high rotation speed to increase the heat dissipating efficiency (reads on the limitation “in the heat dissipation mode, the fan provides a single air strength when a heat dissipation level is not switched”) [0030].
Chen does not teach that in the cleaning mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates in reverse), the fan automatically and repeatedly switches between at least two air strengths.
Shan teaches a dust removal method for reducing dust accumulation on the surface of the outdoor heat exchanger, comprising the step of controlling the air conditioner to enter in a dust removal mode (cleaning mode) controlling all fans in the outdoor heat exchanger to run in reverse to remove dust from the outdoor heat exchanger (English translation [0007 and 0009]). Shan further teaches that in the dust removal mode (cleaning mode) the fans can automatically and repeatedly switch between at least two fan speed (e.g., 900rpm and 1200rpm) (reads on “air strength”) (English translation [0085-0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen wherein in the cleaning mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates in reverse), the fan automatically and repeatedly switches between at least two air strengths, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Shan teaches that it is effective to rotate the fans in reverse at different speeds, wherein the fans can be automatically and repeatedly switched between at least two air strengths to overcome the problem of poor dust removal (English translation [0073, and 0085-0092] of Shan).
Regarding claim 4, Chen/Shan further teaches that selecting the target mode from optional modes of the fan of the electronic device comprises the step of selecting the cleaning mode as the target mode at a cleaning time, and selecting the heat dissipation mode as the target mode at a time other than the cleaning time ([0028] of Chen).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Chen/Shan further teaches the steps of determining a cleaning delay, and determining the cleaning time based on the cleaning delay after the electronic device is powered on ([0028] of Chen).
Regarding claim 8, Chen further teaches that running status information comprises temperature status information indicating an internal temperature status of the electronic device ([0032] of Chen).
However, Chen/Shan does not explicitly teach the step of determining, based on the temperature status information, the time at which a temperature value of the powered-on electronic device is lower than a preset temperature value as the cleaning time.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen/Shan with the step of determining, based on the temperature status information, the time at which a temperature value of the powered-on electronic device is lower than a preset temperature value as the cleaning time, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Chen teaches the step of monitoring the temperature in the casing of the electronic device, and that when the temperature in the casing of the electronic device is greater than a predetermined value, the basic input output system can confine the first fan and the second fan to only be able to rotate forward, so as to avoid a situation that the first fan and the second fan rotate in reverse to reduce the heat dissipating performance of the system that could cause damage of the components or compulsory shut-down of the electronic device ([0032] of Chen).
Claims 2-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0275115 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”) in view of CN110454906 to Shan et al. (hereinafter “Shan”, presented in the IDS filed on 12/22/2023, see attached English translation), and in further view of US 2016/0238014 to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 2, Chen/Shan does not teach that the step of generating the control signal based on the target mode comprises generating a first control signal if the target mode is the cleaning mode, wherein the first control signal comprises at least two pulse width modulation (PWM) signals with different duty cycles, or the first control signal comprises at least two direct current (DC) control signals with different high voltage values.
Liu teaches a control method for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan [0002]. Liu teaches a step of generating a control signal if the target mode is the reverse rotation of the fan (reads on “cleaning mode”), wherein the control signal comprises at least two pulse width modulation signals with different duty cycles [0040-0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen/Shan wherein the step of generating the control signal based on the target mode comprises generating a first control signal if the target mode is the cleaning mode, wherein the first control signal comprises at least two pulse width modulation signals with different duty cycles, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Liu teaches that the step of generating a control signal based on a target mode in a method for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan can comprise the step of generating a control signal if the target mode is the reverse rotation of the fan (reads on “cleaning mode”), wherein the control signal comprises at least two pulse width modulation signals with different duty cycles ([0040-0042] of Liu).
Regarding claim 3, Chen/Shan does not teach that the step of generating the control signal based on the target mode comprises generating a second control signal if the target mode is the heat dissipation mode, wherein the second control signal is a pulse width modulation signal with a single duty cycle or a DC signal with a single voltage value.
Liu teaches a control method for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan [0002]. Liu teaches a step of generating a control signal if the target mode is the forward rotation of the fan (reads on “heat dissipation mode”), wherein the control signal is a pulse width modulation signal with a single duty cycle [0040-0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen/Shan wherein the step of generating the control signal based on the target mode comprises generating a second control signal if the target mode is the heat dissipation mode, wherein the second control signal is a pulse width modulation signal with a single duty cycle, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Liu teaches that the step of generating a control signal based on a target mode in a method for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan can comprise the step of generating a control signal if the target mode is the forward rotation of the fan (reads on “heat dissipation mode”), wherein the control signal is a pulse width modulation signal with a single duty cycle ([0040-0042] of Liu).
Regarding claim 9, Chen/Shan does not teach that generating the control signal based on the target mode comprises the steps of obtaining a minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device if the target mode is the cleaning mode, and generating the control signal based on the minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device, wherein the control signal controls a minimum air strength provided by the fan to be greater than or equal to the minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device.
Liu teaches a control method for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan [0002]. In addition, Liu teaches that the detection control circuit drives the motor control module to adjust the rotation speed of the fan according to the heat-dissipating demand of the electronic device [0040-0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen/Shan wherein the step generating the control signal based on the target mode comprises the steps of obtaining a minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device if the target mode is the cleaning mode, and generating the control signal based on the minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device, wherein the control signal controls a minimum air strength provided by the fan to be greater than or equal to the minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of ensuring heat dissipation from the electronic device, since Liu teaches that the detection control circuit can drive the motor control module to adjust the rotation speed of the fan according to the heat-dissipating demand of the electronic device ([0040-0042] of Liu).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0275115 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”) in view of CN110454906 to Shan et al. (hereinafter “Shan”, see attached English translation), and in further view of US2018/0141092 to Davies et al. (hereinafter “Davies”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen/Shan does not teach that the step of determining the cleaning delay comprises at least one of the steps of determining the cleaning delay based on a randomized algorithm, determining the cleaning delay based on a device number of the electronic device, determining the cleaning delay based on a local area network address of the electronic device in a local area network where the electronic device is located, and determining the cleaning delay based on a group number of a device group to which the electronic device belongs.
Davies teaches a method of operating electric fans for cleaning purposes [0001]. Davies teaches that the rotation periods in one or both directions in the self-cleaning mode may be restricted within a predetermined time period range but the duration of each rotation period may be substantially or completely random or pseudorandom within the predetermined range, and that various combinations of techniques may be carried out during any particular occurrence of the self-cleaning mode and different techniques may be utilized during different self-cleaning mode occurrences, and/or specific techniques may be instigated for a particular fan assembly installation based upon the history of use or environmental parameters (such as one or more of average ambient temperature, work/rest ratio, default mode, etc.) of the particular unit [0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen/Shan wherein the step of determining the cleaning delay comprises at least one of the steps of determining the cleaning delay based on a randomized algorithm, determining the cleaning delay based on a device number of the electronic device, determining the cleaning delay based on a local area network address of the electronic device in a local area network where the electronic device is located, and determining the cleaning delay based on a group number of a device group to which the electronic device belongs, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Davies teaches that various combinations of techniques may be carried out during any particular occurrence of the self-cleaning mode and different techniques may be utilized during different self-cleaning mode occurrences, and/or specific techniques may be instigated for a particular fan assembly installation based upon the history of use or environmental parameters of the particular unit ([0038] of Davies).
Claims 10, 13-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0275115 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”) in view of CN 109654054 to He (hereinafter “He”), and in further view of CN110454906 to Shan et al. (hereinafter “Shan”, presented in the IDS filed on 12/22/2023, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 20, Chen further teaches a processor (control module, figure 2, #170) configured to select the target mode from the optional modes of the fan of the electronic device, the optional modes comprising the cleaning mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates in reverse), and the heat dissipation mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates forward) ([0020, and 0029-0031] of Chen).
However, Chen/Shan does not teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer, enable the computer to perform the electronic device control method.
He teaches a control method, control device and a storage medium for controlling the fan of an electronic device (English translation, [0007]). He teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions, such as a memory including instructions, wherein the instructions can be executed by the processor of the control device to perform the control method (English translation, [0185]).
It would have been obvious to one or ordained skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Chen/Shan with a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer, enable the computer to perform the electronic device control method, with a reasonable expectation of success, since He teaches that a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions, such as a memory including instructions, wherein the instructions can be executed by a processor of a control device is effective to perform a control method for controlling a fan of an electronic device (English translation, [0185] of He).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches an electronic device control apparatus comprising a processor (control module, figure 2, #170) configured to select a target mode from optional modes of a fan of an electronic device, the optional modes comprising a cleaning mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates in reverse), and a heat dissipation mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates forward) [0020, and 0029-0031], generate a control signal based on the target mode [0029], and control, based on the control signal, the fan to provide an air strength [0030]. Chen further teaches that when the user uses the electronic device in a normal operation mode, the first fan and the second fan can be adjusted to the low rotation speed, so as to reduce the noise of the fans of the electronic device, and that if the user has a demand in performance (for example, over clocking), the first fan and the second fan can be adjusted to the high rotation speed to increase the heat dissipating efficiency (reads on the limitation “in the heat dissipation mode, the fan provides a single air strength when a heat dissipation level is not switched”) [0030].
Chen does not teach a memory configured to store processor-executable instructions, wherein the processor is connected to the memory.
He teaches an electronic device comprising a processor, a memory for storing instructions executable by a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the steps of the method for controlling a fan of the electronic device (English translation [0001, and 0044-0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device disclosed by Chen with a memory configured to store processor-executable instructions, wherein the processor is connected to the memory, with a reasonable expectation of success, since He teaches that an electronic device can comprise a processor, a memory for storing instructions executable by a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the steps of the method for controlling a fan of the electronic device (English translation [0001, and 0044-0046] of He).
Chen/He does not teach that in the cleaning mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates in reverse), the fan automatically and repeatedly switches between at least two air strengths.
Shan teaches a dust removal method for reducing dust accumulation on the surface of the outdoor heat exchanger, comprising the step of controlling the air conditioner to enter in a dust removal mode (cleaning mode) controlling all fans in the outdoor heat exchanger to run in reverse to remove dust from the outdoor heat exchanger (English translation [0007 and 0009]). Shan further teaches that in the dust removal mode (cleaning mode) the fans can automatically and repeatedly switch between at least two fan speed (e.g., 900rpm and 1200rpm) (reads on “air strength”) (English translation [0085-0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen wherein in the cleaning mode (the fan of the electronic device rotates in reverse), the fan automatically and repeatedly switches between at least two air strengths, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Shan teaches that it is effective to rotate the fans in reverse at different speeds, wherein the fans can be automatically and repeatedly switched between at least two air strengths to overcome the problem of poor dust removal (English translation [0073, and 0085-0092] of Shan).
Regarding claim 13, Chen/He/Shan further teaches that the processor is configured to select the cleaning mode as the target mode at a cleaning time, and selecting the heat dissipation mode as the target mode at a time other than the cleaning time ([0028] of Chen).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Chen/He/Shan further teaches that the processor is configured to determine a cleaning delay, and determining the cleaning time based on the cleaning delay after the electronic device is powered on ([0028] of Chen).
Regarding claim 17, Chen/He/Shan further teaches that running status information comprises temperature status information indicating an internal temperature status of the electronic device ([0032] of Chen, and English translation [0015-0020, and 0032-0034] of He). Moreover, Chen/He/Shan further teaches that the processor is configured to determine, based on the temperature status information, the time at which a temperature value of the powered-on electronic device is lower than a preset temperature value as the cleaning time (English translation [0015-0020, and 0032-0034] of He).
Claims 11, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0275115 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”) in view of CN 109654054 to He (hereinafter “He”), and CN110454906 to Shan et al. (hereinafter “Shan”, presented in the IDS filed on 12/22/2023, see attached English translation), and in further view of US 2016/0238014 to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 11, Chen/He/Shan does not teach that the processor is configured to generate a first control signal if the target mode is the cleaning mode, wherein the first control signal comprises at least two pulse width modulation (PWM) signals with different duty cycles, or the first control signal comprises at least two direct current (DC) control signals with different high voltage values.
Liu teaches a control system and control method for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan of an electronic device [0002 and 0012]. Liu teaches that the control system comprise a detection control circuit configured to generate a control signal if the target mode is the reverse rotation of the fan (reads on “cleaning mode”), wherein the first control signal comprises at least two pulse width modulation signals with different duty cycles [0040-0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device disclosed by Chen/He/Shan wherein the processor is configured to generate a first control signal if the target mode is the cleaning mode, wherein the first control signal comprises at least two pulse width modulation signals with different duty cycles, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Liu teaches that a control system for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan of an electronic device can be configured to generate a control signal if the target mode is the reverse rotation of the fan (reads on “cleaning mode”), wherein the control signal comprises at least two pulse width modulation signals with different duty cycles ([0040-0042] of Liu).
Regarding claim 12, Chen/He/Shan does not teach that the processor is configured to generate a second control signal if the target mode is the heat dissipation mode, wherein the second control signal is a pulse width modulation signal with a single duty cycle or a DC signal with a single voltage value.
Liu teaches a control system and control method for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan of an electronic device [0002 and 0012]. Liu teaches that the control system comprises a detection control circuit configured to generate a control signal if the target mode is the forward rotation of the fan (reads on “heat dissipation mode”), wherein the control signal is a pulse width modulation signal with a single duty cycle [0040-0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device disclosed by Chen/He/Shan wherein the processor is configured to generate a second control signal if the target mode is the heat dissipation mode, wherein the second control signal is a pulse width modulation signal with a single duty cycle, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Liu teaches that a control system for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan of an electronic device can be configured to generate a control signal if the target mode if the target mode is the forward rotation of the fan (reads on “heat dissipation mode”), wherein the control signal is a pulse width modulation signal with a single duty cycle ([0040-0042] of Liu).
Regarding claim 18, Chen/He/Shan does not teach that the processor is configured to obtain a minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device if the target mode is the cleaning mode, and generate the control signal based on the minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device, wherein the control signal controls a minimum air strength provided by the fan to be greater than or equal to the minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device.
Liu teaches a control system and control method for controlling a forward/reverse rotation of a fan of an electronic device [0002 and 0012]. Liu teaches that the detection control circuit drives the motor control module to adjust the rotation speed of the fan according to the heat-dissipating demand of the electronic device [0040-0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Chen/He/Shan wherein the processor is configured to obtain a minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device if the target mode is the cleaning mode, and generate the control signal based on the minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device, wherein the control signal controls a minimum air strength provided by the fan to be greater than or equal to the minimum air strength required to dissipate heat from the electronic device, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of ensuring heat dissipation from the electronic device, since Liu teaches that the detection control circuit can drive the motor control module to adjust the rotation speed of the fan according to the heat-dissipating demand of the electronic device ([0040-0042] of Liu).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0275115 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”) in view of CN 109654054 to He (hereinafter “He”), and CN110454906 to Shan et al. (hereinafter “Shan”, presented in the IDS filed on 12/22/2023, see attached English translation), and in further view of US2018/0141092 to Davies et al. (hereinafter “Davies”).
Regarding claim 16, Chen/He/Shan does not teach that the processor is configured to perform at least one of the operations of determining the cleaning delay based on a randomized algorithm, determining the cleaning delay based on a device number of the electronic device, determining the cleaning delay based on a local area network address of the electronic device in a local area network where the electronic device is located, and determining the cleaning delay based on a group number of a device group to which the electronic device belongs.
Davies teaches a method of operating electric fans for cleaning purposes [0001]. Davies teaches that the rotation periods in one or both directions in the self-cleaning mode may be restricted within a predetermined time period range but the duration of each rotation period may be substantially or completely random or pseudorandom within the predetermined range, and that various combinations of techniques may be carried out during any particular occurrence of the self-cleaning mode and different techniques may be utilized during different self-cleaning mode occurrences, and/or specific techniques may be instigated for a particular fan assembly installation based upon the history of use or environmental parameters (such as one or more of average ambient temperature, work/rest ratio, default mode, etc.) of the particular unit [0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen/He/Shan wherein the processor is configured to perform at least one of the following operations of determining the cleaning delay based on a randomized algorithm, determining the cleaning delay based on a device number of the electronic device, determining the cleaning delay based on a local area network address of the electronic device in a local area network where the electronic device is located, and determining the cleaning delay based on a group number of a device group to which the electronic device belongs, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Davies teaches that various combinations of techniques may be carried out during any particular occurrence of the self-cleaning mode and different techniques may be utilized during different self-cleaning mode occurrences, and/or specific techniques may be instigated for a particular fan assembly installation based upon the history of use or environmental parameters of the particular unit ([0038] of Davies).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714