DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 29-30, 32-36, 41-43, 46, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (PCT/CN2021/107701, filing date of 7/21/2021) (the examiner is using EP4376508 A1 as a translated copy of PCT/CN2021/107701 and the quoted citation is of EP4376508 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Li discloses a method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE) (terminal as shown in figure 1B), comprising:
transmitting a first request assistance data message to a location server, the first request assistance data message comprising a request for first positioning assistance (step 701 in figure 7, sending an on-demand PRS request message to an LMF device, in which the on-demand PRS request message is configured to request to obtain first PRS configuration information, para. 0135);
receiving a provide assistance data message from the location server, the provide assistance data message indicating that the location server is not currently able to provide the first positioning assistance (step 702 in figure 7, determining that the LMF device is unable to provide the first PRS configuration information for the terminal based on a response message, in response to receiving the response message from the LMF device, para. 0136); and
transmitting a second request assistance data message to the location server after expiration of a reattempt time from reception of the provide assistance data message, the second request assistance data message indicating a request for second positioning assistance, wherein the first positioning assistance is not received by the UE prior to the reattempt time (step 703 in figure 7, resending the on-demand PRS request to the LMF device at least at an interval of the target duration after receiving the response message; and/or, stopping sending the on-demand PRS request in response to determining that the terminal is located in the tar et cell. For another example, when a duration from the terminal receiving the response message to the terminal leaving the target cell has not reached the target duration, the terminal may resend the on-demand PRS request message to the LMF device when a timer for the target duration expires, para. 0138-0144).
(2) Regarding claim 29:
Li discloses a user equipment (UE) (device 1200 as shown in figure 12), comprising:
a memory (memory 1204 in figure 12, para. 0170);
at least one transceiver (communication component 1218 as shown in figure 12, para. 0176); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (processor 1220 as shown in figure 12, para. 0169), the at least one processor configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a first request assistance data message to a location server, the first request assistance data message comprising a request for first positioning assistance (step 701 in figure 7, sending an on-demand PRS request message to an LMF device, in which the on-demand PRS request message is configured to request to obtain first PRS configuration information, para. 0135);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a provide assistance data message from the location server, the provide assistance data message indicating that the location server is not currently able to provide the first positioning assistance (step 702 in figure 7, determining that the LMF device is unable to provide the first PRS configuration information for the terminal based on a response message, in response to receiving the response message from the LMF device, para. 0136); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a second request assistance data message to the location server after expiration of a reattempt time from reception of the provide assistance data message, the second request assistance data message indicating a request for second positioning assistance, wherein the first positioning assistance is not received by the UE prior to the reattempt time (step 703 in figure 7, resending the on-demand PRS request to the LMF device at least at an interval of the target duration after receiving the response message; and/or, stopping sending the on-demand PRS request in response to determining that the terminal is located in the tar et cell. For another example, when a duration from the terminal receiving the response message to the terminal leaving the target cell has not reached the target duration, the terminal may resend the on-demand PRS request message to the LMF device when a timer for the target duration expires, para. 0138-0144).
(3) Regarding claim 57:
LI discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for transmitting (communication component 1218 as shown in figure 12, para. 0176) a first request assistance data message to a location server, the first request assistance data message comprising a request for first positioning assistance (step 701 in figure 7, sending an on-demand PRS request message to an LMF device, in which the on-demand PRS request message is configured to request to obtain first PRS configuration information, para. 0135);
means for receiving (communication component 1218 as shown in figure 12, para. 0176) a provide assistance data message from the location server, the provide assistance data message indicating that the location server is not currently able to provide the first positioning assistance (step 702 in figure 7, determining that the LMF device is unable to provide the first PRS configuration information for the terminal based on a response message, in response to receiving the response message from the LMF device, para. 0136); and
means for transmitting (communication component 1218 as shown in figure 12, para. 0176) a second request assistance data message to the location server after expiration of a reattempt time from reception of the provide assistance data message, the second request assistance data message indicating a request for second positioning assistance, wherein the first positioning assistance is not received by the UE prior to the reattempt time (step 703 in figure 7, resending the on-demand PRS request to the LMF device at least at an interval of the target duration after receiving the response message; and/or, stopping sending the on-demand PRS request in response to determining that the terminal is located in the tar et cell. For another example, when a duration from the terminal receiving the response message to the terminal leaving the target cell has not reached the target duration, the terminal may resend the on-demand PRS request message to the LMF device when a timer for the target duration expires, para. 0138-0144).
(4) Regarding claim 30:
Li discloses all subject matter of claim 29, and further discloses each of the first positioning assistance and the second positioning assistance comprise assistance data for one or more positioning methods (both first and second positioning assistance are on demand positioning reference signal for positioning, therefore both on demand positioning reference signal are data for positioning method, para. 0135, 0137).
(5) Regarding claim 32:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 29, and further discloses the first positioning assistance comprises a first on-demand positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration, wherein the second positioning assistance comprises a second on-demand PRS configuration (on demand positioning reference signal request message, para. 0135, 0137; the examiner interprets the on demand positioning reference signal request message as the claimed on demand PRS configuration, abstract).
(6) Regarding claim 36:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 32, and further discloses:
the second on-demand PRS configuration is the same as the first on-demand PRS configuration (on demand positioning reference signal request message on first and second time in step 701 and 703, para. 0135, 0137), or
the second on-demand PRS configuration is different from the first on-demand PRS configuration.
(7) Regarding claim 33:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 32, and further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, one or more parameters for the first on-demand PRS configuration in the first request assistance data message (The terminal may select one piece of PRS configuration information based on the on-demand PRS configuration information provided by the network side and send an on demand PRS request message to the LMF device, so that the LMF device provides the required PRS configuration information for the terminal based on the on-demand PRS request message, para. 0045, 0135; the examiner interprets the selection of the requested on-demand PRS configuration is indicated (parameter)); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, one or more parameters for the second on-demand PRS configuration in the second request assistance data message (At step 703, the on-demand PRS request is resent to the LMF device at an interval of at least the target duration after receiving the response message, para. 0138; the resend of the on-demand PRS request is resent, so the selection of the requested on-demand PRS configuration is indicated (parameter) in the resend (second) on-demand PRS configuration).
(8) Regarding claim 34:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 32, and further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a plurality of on-demand PRS configurations that can be activated to support positioning of the UE, wherein the first on-demand PRS configuration and the second on-demand PRS configuration are each members of the plurality of on-demand PRS configurations (In order to further improve the network efficiency and the positioning accuracy, an on-demand PRS is proposed. The network may send the on-demand PRS configuration supported by itself to the terminal. The terminal may select one piece of PRS configuration information based on the on-demand PRS configuration information provided by the network side and send an on demand PRS request message to the LMF device, so that the LMF device provides the required PRS configuration information for the terminal based on the on-demand PRS request message. In the embodiments of the disclosure, the LMF device may send predefined PRS configuration information to the terminal based on an LPP message (i.e., LPP provide assistance data message) or a positioning system message. The positioning system message is sent by the LMF to the base station, which is in turn broadcast by the base station to the terminal, para. 0045).
(9) Regarding claim 41:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 29, and further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the reattempt time in the provide assistance data message (the response message that the LMF sends to the terminal includes a target duration. In this case, the terminal may resend an on-demand PRS request message to the LMF device at an interval of at least the target duration. The LMF may reject the on-demand PRS request message from the terminal within a period of time corresponding to the target duration, para. 0081; the examiner interprets the target duration as the claimed reattempt time);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the reattempt time from a base station in system information; or
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the reattempt time in a prior provide assistance data message received before transmission of the first request assistance data message.
(10) Regarding claim 42:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 29, and further discloses the reattempt time is:
an absolute time (the response message that the LMF sends to the terminal includes a target duration. In this case, the terminal may resend an on-demand PRS request message to the LMF device at an interval of at least the target duration. The LMF may reject the on-demand PRS request message from the terminal within a period of time corresponding to the target duration, para. 0081; the examiner interprets the target duration as the claimed absolute time),
a number of seconds,
a number of minutes, or
a number of hours.
(11) Regarding claim 43:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 29, and further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a second time from the location server in the provide assistance data message (target duration, para. 0081), the second time indicating a time by which the location server expects to provide the second positioning assistance to the UE (The LMF may reject the on-demand PRS request message from the terminal within a period of time corresponding to the target duration, para. 0081, since the LMF would not provide (reject) the on demand PRS request message within the target duration, the examiner interprets after the target duration, the LMF indicates a time the LMF expect to provide the second positioning assistance to the terminal).
(12) Regarding claim 46:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 29, and further discloses the second request assistance data message indicates that the second request assistance data message is a repetition of the first request assistance data message (At step 703, the on-demand PRS request is resent to the LMF device at an interval of at least the target duration after receiving the response message, para. 0138; since it is a resent of the on-demand PRS request, so it is requesting the same on demand PRS configuration information, the examiner interprets demand the same PRS configuration information as an indication the second request assistance data message is a repetition of the first request assistance data message).
(13) Regarding claim 35:
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 35, and further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the plurality of on-demand PRS configurations from the location server in one or more provide assistance data messages (In order to further improve the network efficiency and the positioning accuracy, an on-demand PRS is proposed. The network may send the on-demand PRS configuration supported by itself to the terminal. The terminal may select one piece of PRS configuration information based on the on-demand PRS configuration information provided by the network side and send an on demand PRS request message to the LMF device, so that the LMF device provides the required PRS configuration information for the terminal based on the on-demand PRS request message. In the embodiments of the disclosure, the LMF device may send predefined PRS configuration information to the terminal based on an LPP message (i.e., LPP provide assistance data message) or a positioning system message. The positioning system message is sent by the LMF to the base station, which is in turn broadcast by the base station to the terminal, para. 0045); or
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the plurality of on-demand PRS configurations by broadcast from a base station in one or more positioning system information blocks (posSIBs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (PCT/CN2021/107701, filing date of 7/21/2021) (the examiner is using EP4376508 A1 as a translated copy of PCT/CN2021/107701 and the quoted citation is of EP4376508 A1) in view of Kim (US 12,557,124 B2).
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 29, but fails to disclose the one or more positioning methods include assisted global navigation satellite system (A-GNSS), observed time-difference of arrival (OTDOA), downlink time-difference of arrival (DL-TDOA), downlink angle-of-departure (DL-AoD), multi-cell round-trip-time (RTT), enhanced cell identity (E-CID), real-time kinematic (RTK), state space representation (SSR), wireless local area network (WLAN), Bluetooth, sensors, or any combination thereof.
However, Kim discloses the LMF is connected to an enhanced serving mobile location center (E-SMLC), and the E-SMLC may enable the LMF to access an E-UTRAN. For example, the E-SMLC may enable the LMF to support observed time difference of arrival (OTDOA), which is one of positioning methods in the E-UTRAN, by using DL measurements obtained by the target UE through signals transmitted by the eNB and/or the PRS-dedicated TPs in the E-UTRAN, col. 26, lines 36-44.
It is desirable to the one or more positioning methods include observed time-difference of arrival (OTDOA) because it improves the reliability of the estimated position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kim in the UE of Li for the benefit of improving the reliability of the estimated position.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (PCT/CN2021/107701, filing date of 7/21/2021) (the examiner is using EP4376508 A1 as a translated copy of PCT/CN2021/107701 and the quoted citation is of EP4376508 A1).
LI discloses all subject matter of claim 32, but fails to explicitly disclose receive, via the at least one transceiver, a second provide assistance data message from the location server, the second provide assistance data message indicating at least that the location server activated the second on-demand PRS configuration.
However, Li discloses the terminal resend the on demand PRS request to the LMF (step 703 in figure 7), therefore it is a second request for the on-demand PRS request. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that when the LMF is available to provide the on demand PRS configuration when it receives the resend on demand PRS request, the LMF will forward the request on demand PRS configuration to the terminal, thus satisfied the claimed limitation of the second provide assistance data message indicating at least that the location server activated the second on-demand PRS configuration for the benefit of providing assistance to the terminal for determination of the location of the terminal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38-40, and 44-45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hasegawa et al. (US 2024/0187903 A1) discloses methods and WTRU for positioning with reduced latency in wireless communication systems.
Tsuda et al. (US 2020/0280951 A1) discloses terminal device, infrastructure equipment and methods.
Rao et al. (US 2024/0179583 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for supporting service continuity.
Baek (WO/2022/139092 A1) discloses a method by which terminal transmits and receives signals related to positioning in wireless communication system supporting sidelink, and device thereof.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 2/18/2026