DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 (Fig.1-7), claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10 and 12-14 in the reply filed on August 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the restriction is done under 37 CFR 1.475(a) a national stage application, search or examination burden is not the reason to restrict, it is the lack of unity of invention under PCT Rule 13.1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
However, upon further examination, Examiner found that claim 12-13 are dependent on withdrawn claim 11. Since claim 11 is a different species of the elected species 1, therefore, claims 12-13 are also withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims Status:
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claims 2, 4, 7-8 and 11-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10 and 14 are examined as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 22, 2023 and July 28, 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “uniform heating mechanism” in claims 1 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “mechanism" coupled with functional language “uniform heating” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “uniform heating mechanism" has been described in Paragraph 0007 – 0010, 0047, 0052 as some kind of structure that distribute heat that may or may not be part of the heater or heating unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gima (US2021/0307123A1) herein set forth as Gima.
Regarding claim 1, Gima discloses a vehicular glass module (refer to fig.8A and B) for supporting, on a vehicle inner side, an information acquisition device (device #300, fig.8B) capable of receiving light from outside a vehicle, the vehicular glass module (windshield #20B, fig.8A and B) comprising: a glass panel (#20B, fig.8B) having an information acquisition region (#50, fig.8A and B) which faces the information acquisition device (device #300, fig.8B) and through which the light passes (refer to Paragraph 0102 cited: “…The device 300 is, for example, a camera or various types of sensors…”); and a heating unit (#30, #31B, #32B, #33Bs fig.8A and B) configured to heat at least the information acquisition region (#50, fig.8A and B) in the glass panel (windshield #20B, fig.8A and B), wherein: the glass panel (windshield #20B, fig.8A and B) includes a first glass plate (#22, fig.8B) on a vehicle outer side, a second glass plate (#21, fig.8B) on the vehicle inner side, the second glass plate (#21, fig.8B) facing the first glass plate (#22, fig.8B), and an interlayer (#23, fig.8B) disposed between the first glass plate (#22, fig.8B) and the second glass plate (#21, fig.8B) and made of thermoplastic resin (refer to Paragraph 63 cited: “…As the interlayer 23, a thermoplastic resin is frequently used, and as thermoplastic resins conventionally used for this type of application…”); the heating unit (#30, #31B, #32B, #33Bs fig.8A and B) includes a power supply section (refer to the two #33Bs in fig.8A) disposed on the glass panel (#20B, fig.8B), and a heater (#30 fig.8A and B) disposed along a plate surface of the glass panel (#20B, fig.8B) in the information acquisition region (#50, fig.8A and B) and configured to generate heat upon receipt of power supply from the power supply section (refer to #33B in fig.8A); and the heater (#30 fig.8A and B) is configured to be able to heat at least the whole information acquisition region (#50, fig.8A and B) and includes a uniform heating mechanism (referring #30 covering the whole surface of #50 in fig.8A) that uniformly heats the information acquisition region (#50, fig.8A and B).
Regarding claim 10, Gima discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Gima further discloses the heater (heater #30, fig.9A) is disposed between the first glass plate (#22, fig.8B) and the second glass plate (#21, fig.8B) and makes contact with the interlayer (#23, fig.9A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3,5- 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gima (US2021/0307123A1) herein set forth as Gima, in view of SCHULZ et al (US2017/0019955A1) herein set forth as SCHULZ.
Regarding claim 3, Gima discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Gima further discloses the uniform heating mechanism (referring #30 covering the whole surface of #50 in fig.8A) includes conductive coating (#30, fig.8A) and paired bus bars (#31B and #32B infig.8A) configured to supply electric power to the conductive coating (#30, fig.8A); the conductive coating (#30, fig.8A) has a first region (refer to the region where #50 located in fig. 8A) disposed to cover the whole information acquisition region (#50, fig.8A), and a second region (refer to the region of #30 in fig.8A) continuous with the first region (refer to the region where #50 located in fig. 8A) and disposed outside the information acquisition region (#50, fig.8A);
the paired bus bars (#31B and #32B infig.8A) are disposed to face each other (#31B and #32B infig.8A) with the first region (refer to the region where #50 located in fig. 8A) and the second region (refer to the region of #30 in fig.8A) being sandwiched between the paired bus bars (#31B and #32B infig.8A); and the paired bus bars (#31B and #32B infig.8A) are disposed such that the whole first region (refer to the region where #50 located in fig. 8A) and at least part of the second region (refer to the region of #30 in fig.8A) are contained in a virtual region (refer to “virtual region” annotated in fig. 8A Zoom in) obtained such that respective ends, on each side, of respective contact parts of the paired bus bars (#31B and #32B infig.8A) in contact with the conductive coating (#30, fig.8A) are connected to each other (refer to Fig.8A zoom in).
Gima does not explicitly disclose the conductive coating as transparent.
In the same field of vehicular glass module, SCHULZ discloses the use of transparent conductive coating (refer to Paragraph 0036 cited: “…The electrically conductive coating can, in principle, be any coating that is to be electrically contacted. If the pane according to the invention is intended to enable vision through it, as is the case, for example, with panes in the window area, the electrically conductive coating is preferably transparent. The electrically conductive coating is, preferably, transparent to electromagnetic radiation, particularly preferably to electromagnetic radiation of a wavelength of 300 to 1300 nm, and, in particular, to visible light …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gima’s invention with transparent conductive coating as conductive heating element, as taught by SCHULZ, in order to provide unobstructed window for sensor to detect or read light signals, such that would provide a better and more accurate detection or reading.
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Gima and SCHULZ discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, Gima further discloses the paired bus bars (first busbar #31B and second busbar #32B in fig. 8A) are disposed on two sides (refer to annotated “one pair side” and “other pair side” in fig. 8A zoom in below) away from each other (first busbar #31B and second busbar #32B in fig. 8A) facing each other (first busbar #31B and second busbar #32B in fig. 8A) among four sides (refer to annotated “one pair side” and “other pair side” in fig. 8A zoom in below) forming the virtual region (refer to “virtual region” annotated in fig. 8A Zoom in) .
Gima does not explicitly disclose the paired bus bars are disposed on two sides away from each other with a shorter distance out of two pairs of sides facing each other among four sides forming the virtual region.
In the same field of vehicular glass module, SCHULZ discloses the paired bus bars (refer to the two #11” in fig.4) are disposed on two sides (refer to the left and right side of #11” in fig.4) away from each other (refer to the two #11” in fig.4) with a shorter distance (refer to the distance of #14’ in fig.4) out of two pairs of sides facing each other (refer to the two #11” in fig.4) among four sides (refer to the four sides of #14 in fig.4) forming the virtual region (#14, fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gima’s invention with the paired bus bars are disposed on two sides away from each other with a shorter distance out of two pairs of sides facing each other among four sides forming the virtual region, as taught by SCHULZ, in order to provide different size or design of the window opening for sensor to detect light or camera, such that would create a certain desired shape for certain number of different possible sensor (refer MPEP 2144.04 IV).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Gima and SCHULZ discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, in light of claim 3 rejection, Gima further disclose the conductive heating element (#30, fig.8A) is formed in a rectangular shape (refer to the shape of #30 in fig.8A) along a plate surface of the glass panel (#24, fig.8A).
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Gima and SCHULZ discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, in light of claim 3 rejection, Gima further disclose the conductive heating element (#30, fig.9A) is attached to t#21, fig.9A).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gima (US2021/0307123A1) herein set forth as Gima, in view of Noguchi et al (US2003/0150848A1) herein set forth as Noguchi.
Regarding claim 14, Gima discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Gima does not explicitly disclose a shielding layer disposed in a peripheral edge region of the glass panel and having an opening at a position corresponding to the information acquisition region, wherein: the power supply section is covered with the shielding layer.
In the same field of vehicular glass module, Noguchi discloses a shielding layer (#6, fig.6) disposed in a peripheral edge region (refer to the peripheral edge region of #6 in fig.6) of the glass panel (#3, fig.6) and having an opening (#61, fig.6) at a position corresponding to the information acquisition region (refer to Paragraph 62 cited: “…a transmitter/receiver should be set so as to be in contact with the opening 61 in view of the outer appearance…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gima’s invention with a shielding layer disposed in a peripheral edge region of the glass panel and having an opening at a position corresponding to the information acquisition region, as taught by Noguchi, in order to provide shielding to hide wire and power line, such that would have a more pleasing looks windshield.
Noguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein: the power supply section is covered with the shielding layer.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gima’s invention with the power supply section is covered with the shielding layer, since Noguchi’s shielding is to cover up wire and metal part attached to the windshield, because covering up the power supply section with shielding would also make the windshield look more please and not ugly or exposing wire or power line.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carter et al (US5414240) discloses a vehicular glass module with heating element, but it only read on some of the limitations in claim 1.
Ramus et al (US4725710) discloses electrically heatable vision unit, that only read on some of the limitations in claim 1.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 September 17, 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761