DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 14-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meizhen et al. (CN Publication No. 10795961A) in view of Corley et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0114230).
Regarding claim 1, Meizhen discloses a method for processing a link in a conversation, the method comprising [see para. 0049; a data transmission method, user equipment, and service equipment for supporting the user's option operation of directly interacting with card messages in a conversation window]:
in response to sending a message containing a link to an instant messaging conversation [see para. 0051, 0055; In addition to ordinary IM messages, the enterprise instant messaging (IM) software currently on the market has also introduced card messages. These card messages mainly include multi-image and text messages and notification messages. These card messages can also support adding links. When users view the message, they can click to jump to an external browser or open an embedded browser to complete the entire process; RTX Card Message: This is a special IM message in the enterprise version of RTX. It supports mixed text and image layout, embedded hyperlinks, interactive actions, and other information. It is presented in the form of a card and supports page jump after clicking the card message], displaying a message card containing information about the link in an interface of the instant messaging conversation, the message card comprising a first storage control [see para. 0092, 0130; after the business device sends the card message to the first user device, the first user device displays the card message, and the user can directly perform option operations on the display interface of the first user device without opening the link of the card message, thereby greatly improving the user convenience. For example, the enterprise version of RTX uses interactive messages to help employees handle tasks pushed by the business system more conveniently, improve employees' office efficiency, and ensure that corporate employees greatly reduce the operating costs of card messages. Furthermore, users can directly operate on the card message options, which can simply be completed with one click and get the response of the business equipment, which not only reduces the bounce rate of the page, but also greatly improves the office efficiency of employees]; and in response to a first trigger operation for the first storage control, storing a link object corresponding to the link [see para. 0130; allows users to directly perform option operations when they receive a card message similar to an interactive message on their user device without opening the link and jumping to another web page to perform option operations]; however, Meizhen fails to explicitly teach storing a link object corresponding to the link; after the link object is successfully stored, changing a state of the first storage control from a storage state to a viewing state to obtain a viewing control; and in response to a first trigger operation for the viewing control, jumping to a storage location of a first document containing the link object and opening the first document.
Corley discloses storing a link object corresponding to the link [see para. 0053-0054 and figures 4-6; This includes formatted for display in a generally landscape orientation with a selection of multiple digital images; however, is configured to output in a portrait orientation with limited display area as an instant message. In this way, link previews for the same digital content available from the same network address may be generated differently to address the communication platform, via which, the link preview is to be communicated in which a link preview is configured to encourage a user to take an action, such as conversion of a good or service associated with the digital content available via the network address as digital marketing content. The preview generation module is configured to generate the link preview based on a variety of factors in order to increase a likelihood that a user undertakes an action upon viewing the link preview, e.g., conversion such as “clicking” on the link, subsequent purchase of a good or service associated with a network address, for which, the link preview is generated]; and after the link object is successfully stored, changing a state of the first storage control from a storage state to a viewing state to obtain a viewing control; and in response to a first trigger operation for the viewing control, jumping to a storage location of a first document containing the link object and opening the first document [see para. 0044, 0045; 0046, 0050; A user of the first client device navigate to a webpage and select a “share” feature via a user interface. Selection of the share feature causes output of options of communication platforms by the communication module via which, the user wishes to share a link to the webpage, e.g., via an instant message, post in a social media service. In response, the communication module communicates the link share request to a service provider system that implemented the selected communication platform. Receipt of the link share request by the service provider system causes the platform manager module to access the network address associated with the link share request in order to generate a link preview. The service provider system configured to support Open Graph tags, e.g., “og:title” for a title and “og:image” for an image. The title and image received by the service provider system in response to the request is then to be used in an OG tag scenario by the service provider system to generate the link preview, itself. However, in this example the content provider system generates the link preview, itself, which is then passed to the service provider system for use by the client devices as the digital image. As a result, the content provider system controls how the digital content is presented by the service provider system as part of the link preview; which corresponds to dynamic link preview generation based on customized data This gives a degree of control to the content provider system in generating the link preview that is not possible using conventional techniques. In another example, the content request requests digital content that is generally available via the network address, e.g., an entirety of a webpage. A digital content location module is utilized to locate digital content available via the network address, e.g., from a storage device. The preview generation module then renders the digital content (e.g., as an HTML page) however, the link preview is cached in a storage device for use in subsequent requests].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Meizhen and Corley before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, IM message used in communication process of Meizhen to include dynamic link preview generation, as taught by Corley. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to identifying the communication platform, the content provider system locates customization data that describes how the link preview is to be generated for the communication platform. In response, the content provider system renders digital content available via the network address to generate the link preview.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Corley discloses wherein storing a link object corresponding to the link comprises: saving a first document containing the link object to a first storage directory or a root directory of a predetermined storage space [see para. 0044, 0045; A user of the first client device, for example, may navigate to a webpage and select a “share” feature via a user interface. Selection of the share feature causes output of options of communication platforms by the communication module, via which, the user wishes to share a link to the webpage, e.g., via an instant message, post in a social media service, and so forth. In response, the communication module communicates the link share request to a service provider system that implemented the selected communication platform. Receipt of the link share request by the service provider system causes the platform manager module to access the network address associated with the link share request in order to generate a link preview].
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Meizhen discloses wherein, the predetermined storage space is a storage space used to save a cloud file in an instant messaging tool; wherein there is an entrance to access the predetermined storage space in a user interface of an instant messaging tool [see para. 0051, 0052; In addition to ordinary IM messages, the enterprise instant messaging (IM) software currently on the market has also introduced card messages. These card messages mainly include multi-image and text messages and notification messages. These card messages can also support adding links. When users view the message, they can click to jump to an external browser or open an embedded browser to complete the entire process. Take Tencent Group as an example. Real Time eXchange (RTX), the enterprise version of Tencent Message Service, serves as a daily communication and collaboration tool for Tencent employees. Every day, each employee must process countless IM messages. Card messages pushed by the business system are particularly important, impacting both their work and their lives].
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Corley discloses wherein the method further comprises: popping up a message prompt box and displaying storage progress information in the message prompt box while the link object is being stored; and displaying a storage success message and a storage location of a stored document in the message prompt box after the link object is successfully stored [see para. 0053-0054; The link preview is configured to take advantage of use as a post in a newsfeed as part of a social network system. This includes formatted for display in a generally landscape orientation with a selection of multiple digital images. The link preview, however, is configured to output in a portrait orientation with limited display area as an instant message. In this way, link previews for the same digital content available from the same network address may be generated differently to address the communication platform, via which, the link preview is to be communicated in which a link preview is configured to encourage a user to take an action, such as conversion of a good or service associated with the digital content available via the network address as digital marketing content. The preview generation module in this example is configured to generate the link preview based on a variety of factors in order to increase a likelihood that a user undertakes an action upon viewing the link preview, e.g., conversion such as “clicking” on the link, subsequent purchase of a good or service associated with a network address, for which, the link preview is generated].
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Meizhen wherein the method further comprises: in response to a second trigger operation for the viewing control, displaying a prompt message for clicking to view the first document [see para. 0051, 0130; In addition to ordinary IM messages, the enterprise instant messaging (IM) software currently on the market has also introduced card messages. These card messages mainly include multi-image and text messages and notification messages. These card messages can also support adding links. When users view the message, they can click to jump to an external browser or open an embedded browser to complete the entire process and allows users to directly perform option operations when they receive a card message similar to an interactive message on their user device without opening the link and jumping to another web page to perform option operations].
Regarding claims 6, and 19 Corley discloses wherein the method further comprises: displaying a radio control in response to a second trigger operation for the first storage control, options of the radio control comprising an option to open a first document after the first document is stored and an option not to open the first document after the first document is stored; wherein the first document is a document containing the link object [see para. 0055-0056; The preview generation module, for instance, may generate a link preview that includes an offer for “free shipping” and another link preview as “10% off” for the same communication platform. As part of A/B testing, the preview generation module then learn which options perform best in achieving the desired result in which a customization data module generates a model that is used to control customizations applied to link previews. And implementation in which a model is generated to describe user interaction with link previews to customize generation of subsequent link previews. This customization may be based on a user that initiated generation of the link, a user that is to receive the link].
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Corley discloses wherein the message card further comprises a copying link control and/or a preview control; the method further comprises: in response to an operation triggering the copying link control, copying the link; and/or in response to an operation triggering the preview control, displaying preview information for the link object of the link [see figures 4-6].
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Meizhen discloses wherein the preview control is a first preview control or a second preview control; in response to an operation triggering the preview control, displaying preview information for the link object of the link comprises: in response to an operation triggering the first preview control, displaying the preview information in the message card in the interface of the instant messaging conversation [see para. 0053; The card messages pushed by the business system to the enterprise version of Tencent Communicator (RealTime eXchange, RTX) can support users to directly perform interactive option operations in the conversation window, reducing the page bounce rate, thereby greatly improving the user's office efficiency]; or in response to an operation triggering the second preview control, popping up a layer in the interface of the instant messaging conversation and displaying the preview information in the popped-up layer [see para. 0073; The user directly operates on the interactive message in the conversation window of the RTX client. Here, the operation identifiers of different options are indicated, such as "very good" and "average". The user can select "very good" or "average". The RTX client responds to the user's operation and determines the result of the first option. Assuming that the user selects "very good", the first option result determined by the RTX client is "very good"].
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Meizhen discloses wherein the information about the link contained in the message card comprises at least one of: an icon that is a sign pattern of a webpage corresponding to the link; a hyperlink that opens a browser and jumps to a webpage corresponding to the link after being triggered; or a tag used to identify a type of a webpage corresponding to the link [para. 0051, 0052; In addition to ordinary IM messages, the enterprise instant messaging (IM) software currently on the market has also introduced card messages. These card messages mainly include multi-image and text messages and notification messages. These card messages can also support adding links. When users view the message, they can click to jump to an external browser or open an embedded browser to complete the entire process].
Regarding claim 10, Corley discloses wherein before displaying a message card containing information about the link in an interface of the instant messaging conversation, the method further comprises: parsing the link to obtain the information about the link; and rendering the message card comprising the information about the link and the first storage control [see para. 0044, 0045; A user of the first client device navigate to a webpage and select a “share” feature via a user interface. Selection of the share feature causes output of options of communication platforms by the communication module, via which, the user wishes to share a link to the webpage, e.g., via an instant message, post in a social media service, and so forth. In response, the communication module communicates the link share request to a service provider system that implemented the selected communication platform. Receipt of the link share request by the service provider system causes the platform manager module to access the network address associated with the link share request in order to generate a link preview].
Regarding claim 14, Meizhen discloses a system comprising at least one computing device and at least one storage device storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform acts comprising [see para. 0155; the central processor 1702 may be configured to communicate with the storage medium 1704 and execute a series of instruction operations in the storage medium 1704 on the user device]:
in response to sending a message containing a link to an instant messaging conversation [see para. 0051, 0055; In addition to ordinary IM messages, the enterprise instant messaging (IM) software currently on the market has also introduced card messages. These card messages mainly include multi-image and text messages and notification messages. These card messages can also support adding links. When users view the message, they can click to jump to an external browser or open an embedded browser to complete the entire process; RTX Card Message: This is a special IM message in the enterprise version of RTX. It supports mixed text and image layout, embedded hyperlinks, interactive actions, and other information. It is presented in the form of a card and supports page jump after clicking the card message], displaying a message card containing information about the link in an interface of the instant messaging conversation, the message card comprising a first storage control [see para. 0092, 0130; after the business device sends the card message to the first user device, the first user device displays the card message, and the user can directly perform option operations on the display interface of the first user device without opening the link of the card message, thereby greatly improving the user convenience. For example, the enterprise version of RTX uses interactive messages to help employees handle tasks pushed by the business system more conveniently, improve employees' office efficiency, and ensure that corporate employees greatly reduce the operating costs of card messages. Furthermore, users can directly operate on the card message options, which can simply be completed with one click and get the response of the business equipment, which not only reduces the bounce rate of the page, but also greatly improves the office efficiency of employees]; and in response to a first trigger operation for the first storage control, storing a link object corresponding to the link [see para. 0130; allows users to directly perform option operations when they receive a card message similar to an interactive message on their user device without opening the link and jumping to another web page to perform option operations]; however, Meizhen fails to explicitly teach storing a link object corresponding to the link; after the link object is successfully stored, changing a state of the first storage control from a storage state to a viewing state to obtain a viewing control; and in response to a first trigger operation for the viewing control, jumping to a storage location of a first document containing the link object and opening the first document.
Corley discloses storing a link object corresponding to the link [see para. 0053-0054 and figures 4-6; This includes formatted for display in a generally landscape orientation with a selection of multiple digital images; however, is configured to output in a portrait orientation with limited display area as an instant message. In this way, link previews for the same digital content available from the same network address may be generated differently to address the communication platform, via which, the link preview is to be communicated in which a link preview is configured to encourage a user to take an action, such as conversion of a good or service associated with the digital content available via the network address as digital marketing content. The preview generation module is configured to generate the link preview based on a variety of factors in order to increase a likelihood that a user undertakes an action upon viewing the link preview, e.g., conversion such as “clicking” on the link, subsequent purchase of a good or service associated with a network address, for which, the link preview is generated]; and after the link object is successfully stored, changing a state of the first storage control from a storage state to a viewing state to obtain a viewing control; and in response to a first trigger operation for the viewing control, jumping to a storage location of a first document containing the link object and opening the first document [see para. 0044, 0045; A user of the first client device navigate to a webpage and select a “share” feature via a user interface. Selection of the share feature causes output of options of communication platforms by the communication module via which, the user wishes to share a link to the webpage, e.g., via an instant message, post in a social media service. In response, the communication module communicates the link share request to a service provider system that implemented the selected communication platform. Receipt of the link share request by the service provider system causes the platform manager module to access the network address associated with the link share request in order to generate a link preview. The service provider system configured to support Open Graph tags, e.g., “og:title” for a title and “og:image” for an image. The title and image received by the service provider system in response to the request is then to be used in an OG tag scenario by the service provider system to generate the link preview, itself. However, in this example the content provider system generates the link preview, itself, which is then passed to the service provider system for use by the client devices as the digital image. As a result, the content provider system controls how the digital content is presented by the service provider system as part of the link preview; which corresponds to dynamic link preview generation based on customized data. This gives a degree of control to the content provider system in generating the link preview that is not possible using conventional techniques. In another example, the content request requests digital content that is generally available via the network address, e.g., an entirety of a webpage. A digital content location module is utilized to locate digital content available via the network address, e.g., from a storage device. The preview generation module then renders the digital content (e.g., as an HTML page) however, the link preview is cached in a storage device for use in subsequent requests].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Meizhen and Corley before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, IM message used in communication process of Meizhen to include dynamic link preview generation, as taught by Corley. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to identifying the communication platform, the content provider system locates customization data that describes how the link preview is to be generated for the communication platform. In response, the content provider system renders digital content available via the network address to generate the link preview.
Regarding claim 23 is an independent claim and relates to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores programs or instructions that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform acts comprising. Since the features of claim 23 are substantially the same as those of claim 14 except for the category of invention, the same reasoning as in claim 14 applies to claim 23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/08/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Meizhen and Corley do not teach or suggest “..a storage control to be triggered or storing a link object corresponding to the generated link previews ..”. Examiner respectfully disagree, Corley discloses “..A user of the first client device navigate to a webpage and select a “share” feature via a user interface. Selection of the share feature causes output of options of communication platforms by the communication module via which, the user wishes to share a link to the webpage, e.g., via an instant message, post in a social media service. In response, the communication module communicates the link share request to a service provider system that implemented the selected communication platform. Receipt of the link share request by the service provider system causes the platform manager module to access the network address associated with the link share request in order to generate a link preview. The service provider system configured to support Open Graph tags, e.g., “og:title” for a title and “og:image” for an image. The title and image received by the service provider system in response to the request is then to be used in an OG tag scenario by the service provider system to generate the link preview, itself. However, in this example the content provider system generates the link preview, itself, which is then passed to the service provider system for use by the client devices as the digital image. As a result, the content provider system controls how the digital content is presented by the service provider system as part of the link preview; which corresponds to dynamic link preview generation based on customized data. This gives a degree of control to the content provider system in generating the link preview that is not possible using conventional techniques. In another example, the content request requests digital content that is generally available via the network address, e.g., an entirety of a webpage. A digital content location module is utilized to locate digital content available via the network address, e.g., from a storage device. The preview generation module then renders the digital content (e.g., as an HTML page) however, the link preview is cached in a storage device for use in subsequent requests].
In light of the description (figures 7 and 8), it can be argued that “As a result, the content provider system controls how the digital content is presented by the service provider system as part of the link preview; which corresponds to dynamic link preview generation based on customized data. This gives a degree of control to the content provider system in generating the link preview that is not possible using conventional techniques. In another example, the content request requests digital content that is generally available via the network address, e.g., an entirety of a webpage. A digital content location module is utilized to locate digital content available via the network address, e.g., from a storage device. The preview generation module then renders the digital content (e.g., as an HTML page) however, the link preview is cached in a storage device for use in subsequent requests; therefore, this claim will be interpreted accordingly.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Meizhen’s IM message used in communication process of Meizhen used in combination of Corley’s dynamic link preview generation. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to identifying the communication platform, the content provider system locates customization data that describes how the link preview is to be generated for the communication platform. In response, the content provider system renders digital content available via the network address to generate the link object storage preview.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Accordingly, the claimed invention as represented in the claims does not represent a patentable distinction over the prior arts of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171