DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 22, 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. In the present instance, the copy of Ko et al. “Effect of hydrocolloid addition through coaxial nozzle on plant based meat using 3D food printer” (published June 24, 2020) as cited on the Information Disclosure Statement filed December 22, 2023 is not legible. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The remainder of the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 22, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement submitted on December 22, 2023 other than the Ko et al. reference is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 13, 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “A method for producing a meat analogue through artificial muscle fiber insertion comprising” in lines 1-2. It appears the claim should recite “A method for producing a meat analogue through artificial muscle fiber insertion, the method comprising” in order to directly refer to the word that the transitional phrase “comprising” modifies.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “feeding the artificial muscle fiber composition into an inner nozzle of a dual nozzle 3D printer in which the inner nozzle is insertedly arranged inside an outer nozzle, feeding a plant based protein composition into the outer nozzle followed by 3D printing” in lines 3-6. It is unclear if the “3D printing” step is separate and distinct from the feeding step using a dual nozzle 3D printer” or if the “3D printing” step uses the dual nozzle 3D printer to conduct the 3D printing step. For purposes of examination Examiner interprets the claim to require the 3D printing step to use the dual nozzle 3D printer.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the balance distilled water” in line 4. It is unclear what “the balance” means in the context of distilled water.
Claims 6-7 both recites the limitation “the 3D printed product” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 8-9 both recites the limitation “the heated printed product” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Clarification is required.
Claims 3-5 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vancauwenberghe et al. “Development of a coaxial extrusion deposition for 3D printing of customizable pectin based food simulant” (published 2018) (herein referred to as “Vancauwenberghe et al.”) as further evidenced by Kjar et al. “Engineering of tissue constructs using coaxial bioprinting” (published September 8, 2020) (herein referred to as “Kjar et al.”) in view of Scionti US 2021/0345643, Randoph US 2021/0169096, and Dikovsky et al. US 2023/0240324.
Regarding Claim 1, Vancauwenberghe et al. discloses a method of 3D printing a pectin based food simulant by coaxial extrusion printing (Vancauwenberghe et al., Page 43). Kjar et al. provides evidence that it was known in the art that coaxial extrusion is broadly defined as any extrusion technique which simultaneously deposits two or more flow streams in concentric rings achieved by using a coaxial nozzle (Kjar et al., Page 460) wherein coaxial nozzles have an outer layer which produces the sheath and an inner layer which produces the core (Kjar et al., Page 461). Therefore, the disclosure of coaxial extrusion 3D printing taught by Vancauwenberghe et al. necessarily entails feeding a composition into an inner nozzle of a dual nozzle 3D printer in which the inner nozzle is arranged inside an outer nozzle and feeding another composition into the outer nozzle as evidenced by the broad definition of coaxial extrusion disclosed by Kjar et al. Additionally, Vancauwenberghe et al. discloses feeding the meat analogue plant based material into a coaxial extruder and then 3D printing (Vancauwenberghe et al., Page 43).
Vancauwenberghe et al. is silent regarding the 3D printing being applied to make a meat analogue through artificial muscle fiber insertion comprising mixing alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan in distilled water to prepare an artificial muscle fiber composition and feeding the muscle fiber composition into the inner nozzle of the coaxial extruder and feeding a plant based protein composition into the outer nozzle of the coaxial extruder.
Scionti discloses a method for producing a meat analogue (‘643, Paragraphs [0016] and [0229]) comprising mixing alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan and pectin (‘643, Paragraphs [0109]-[0111]) in distilled water (‘643, Paragraphs [0139]-[0140] and [0243]) to prepare an artificial muscle fiber composition (‘643, Paragraph [0100]) and feeding the artificial muscle fiber composition into a nozzle used in an extrusion process (‘643, Paragraph [0251]) and 3D printing (‘643, Paragraph [0159]).
Both Vancauwenberghe et al. and Scionti are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making meat analogue compositions using 3D printing microextrusion processes (‘643, Paragraph [0232]). Both meat analog making methods of Vancauwenberghe et al. and Scionti use pectin based foods. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Vancauwenberghe et al. and make the artificial muscle fiber insertion out of an aqueous mixture of alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan as taught by Scionti since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07). Scionti teaches that there was known utility in the food art to make artificial muscle fiber compositions used in making meat analogues with the claimed artificial muscle fiber ingredients of alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan. Scionti also discloses that carrageenan is a natural polysaccharide extracted from seaweed used for its gelling, thickening, and stabilizing properties (‘643, Paragraph [0242]). Additionally, Randolph discloses a plant based food product comprising one or more gelling/thickening agents comprising pectin, carrageenan, and/or alginic acid (‘096, Paragraph [0129]). It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Vancauwenberghe et al. and make the artificial muscle fiber insertion out of an aqueous mixture of alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan since Randolph teaches that plant based food compositions can use the claimed ingredients of carrageenan and alginic acid as gelling/thickening agents.
Further regarding Claim 1, Vancauwenberghe et al. modified with Scionti and Randolph is silent regarding feeding a plant based protein composition into the outer nozzle of the coaxial extruder.
Dikovsky et al. discloses a meat analogue comprising a sheath material composition comprising a sheath made of a plant based protein composition (TVP) (‘324, Paragraphs [0155]-[0156] and [0168]). The sheath material disclosed by Dikovsky et al. would be the material fed into the outer nozzle of the coaxial extruder of Vancauwenberghe et al.
Both modified Vancauwenberghe et al. and Dikovsky et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making meat analogue compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the coaxial extrusion process of modified Vancuawenberghe et al. and feed a plant based protein composition into the outer nozzle that forms the sheath material of the meat analogue since Dikovsky et al. teaches that the sheath material of meat analogues are made by a plant based protein composition containing TVP plant protein.
Regarding Claim 4, Vancauwenberghe et al. modified with Scionti, Randolph, and Dikovsky et al. is silent regarding the outer nozzle having a diameter of 1.4 to 1.6 nm and the inner nozzle having a diameter of 0.8 to 1.2 nm. However, claims directed to the size of the artificial muscle fiber insertion and sheath layer covering the artificial muscle fiber insertion of the meat analogue is held unpatentable over prior art coaxial food extrusion methods because limitations relating to the size of the artificial muscle fiber insertion and sheath layer covering the artificial muscle fiber insertion of the meat analogue is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art in view of In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.A.). Furthermore, differences in the size of the artificial muscle fiber insertion and sheath layer covering the artificial muscle fiber insertion of the meat analogue will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such size of the artificial muscle fiber insertion and sheath layer covering the artificial muscle fiber insertion of the meat analogue is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.).
Regarding Claim 6, Scionti discloses heating (cooking) the 3D printed product (‘643, Paragraph [0235]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vancauwenberghe et al. “Development of a coaxial extrusion deposition for 3D printing of customizable pectin based food simulant” (published 2018) (herein referred to as “Vancauwenberghe et al.”) as further evidenced by Kjar et al. “Engineering of tissue constructs using coaxial bioprinting” (published September 8, 2020) (herein referred to as “Kjar et al.”) in view of Scionti US 2021/0345643, Randoph US 2021/0169096, and Dikovsky et al. US 2023/0240324 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Cheney et al. US 4,427,704 and Schmidt US 2002/0030016.
Regarding Claim 2, Scionti discloses alginic acid and/or carrageenan being present in the viscoelastic composition in an amount of from 0.2% to 40% by weight of the total viscoelastic composition (‘643, Paragraph [0170]), which encompasses the claimed concentration of 0.5 to 3.0% by weight of the alginic acid and 0.5 to 5.0% by weight of the carrageenan. Where the claimed concentration of alginic acid and carrageenan encompasses concentrations of alginic acid and carrageenan disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Although modified Vancauwenberghe et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed concentration of glucommanan, differences in these concentrations of the claimed polysaccharides of alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentrations of the claimed polysaccharides of alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Scionti discloses carrageenan is a natural polysaccharide extracted from seaweed that is widely used for their gelling, thickening, and stabilizing properties (‘643, Paragraph [0242]). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of carrageenan of the artificial muscle fiber composition based upon the desired gelling, thickening, and stabilizing properties. Additionally, Cheney et al. discloses a meat analogue comprising proteinaceous material dispersed in and bound together by a thermos irreversible gelled aqueous phase wherein the gelling system comprises a mixture of at least one glucomannan and at least one carrageenan (‘704, Column 3, lines 41-54) wherein certain forms of carrageenan, especially kappa and iota carrageenans but not lambda carrageenan can be used to form gels (‘704, Column 1, lines 25-40). Schmidt discloses carrageenan is a highly refined extract of seaweed from the rhodophyta family composed of a long chain of linked galactose residues resulting in a high molecular weight compound wherein the three types of commercial carrageenan are lambda, kappa, and iota (‘016, Paragraph [0027]) wherein kappa and iota carrageenan have the ability to form thermoreversibel gels upon cooling of hot solvent solutions and lambda carrageenan does not jellify as it is soluble in cold water wherein the gelation temperature of carrageenan depends on the type of carrageenan and the types and concentration of cations (‘016, Paragraph [0028]). The claims do not specify the particular type of carrageenan used in the artificial muscle fiber composition. Given that Cheney et al. and Schmidt discloses that the three different types of carrageenan have different gelling properties and given that the claims do not specify any particular type of carrageenan, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of carrageenan based upon the particular type of carrageenan used in the artificial muscle fiber composition which has different gelling properties based upon the particular type of carrageenan used.
Regarding Claim 3, Vancauwenberghe et al. modified with Scionti, Randolph, and Dikovsky et al. is silent regarding the artificial muscle fiber composition comprising the alginic acid, the carrageenan, and the glucomannan in a weight ratio of 1:2-3:1-2. However, Scionti discloses the microextruded product comprising a viscoelastic composition containing an edible pseudoplastic polymer of a polysaccharide of alginic acid, iota carrageenan, and glucomannan (‘643, Paragraphs [0109]-[0111]). Although modified Vancauwenberghe et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed weight ratio of alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan relative to one another, differences in these weight ratios will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentrations and weight ratios is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Scionti generically discloses the meat analogue containing the claimed polysaccharides of alginic acid, carrageenan, and glucomannan. Furthermore, Cheney et al. discloses a meat analogue comprising proteinaceous material dispersed in and bound together by a thermos irreversible gelled aqueous phase wherein the gelling system comprises a mixture of at least one glucomannan and at least one carrageenan (‘704, Column 3, lines 41-54) wherein certain forms of carrageenan, especially kappa and iota carrageenans but not lambda carrageenan can be used to form gels (‘704, Column 1, lines 25-40). Schmidt discloses carrageenan is a highly refined extract of seaweed from the rhodophyta family composed of a long chain of linked galactose residues resulting in a high molecular weight compound wherein the three types of commercial carrageenan are lambda, kappa, and iota (‘016, Paragraph [0027]) wherein kappa and iota carrageenan have the ability to form thermoreversibel gels upon cooling of hot solvent solutions and lambda carrageenan does not jellify as it is soluble in cold water wherein the gelation temperature of carrageenan depends on the type of carrageenan and the types and concentration of cations (‘016, Paragraph [0028]). The claims do not specify the particular type of carrageenan used in the artificial muscle fiber composition. Given that Cheney et al. and Schmidt discloses that the three different types of carrageenan have different gelling properties and given that the claims do not specify any particular type of carrageenan, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of carrageenan relative to the concentration of alginic acid and glucomannan based upon the particular type of carrageenan used in the artificial muscle fiber composition which has different gelling properties based upon the particular type of carrageenan used.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vancauwenberghe et al. “Development of a coaxial extrusion deposition for 3D printing of customizable pectin based food simulant” (published 2018) (herein referred to as “Vancauwenberghe et al.”) as further evidenced by Kjar et al. “Engineering of tissue constructs using coaxial bioprinting” (published September 8, 2020) (herein referred to as “Kjar et al.”) in view of Scionti US 2021/0345643, Randoph US 2021/0169096, and Dikovsky et al. US 2023/0240324 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Soucy et al. US 2011/0151083.
Regarding Claim 5, Vancauwenberghe et al. modified with Scionti, Randolph, and Djkovsky et al. is silent regarding the artificial muscle fiber composition being ejected at a speed of 0.02 to 0.04 ml/min.
Soucy et al. discloses a method of extruding food products (‘803, Paragraph [0037]) wherein foods having different viscosities are extruded (‘803, Paragraph [0039]) using a variable speed piston (‘083, Paragraph [0041]) wherein expansion rate is dependent on piston speed and nozzle orifice size (“083, Paragraph [0098]) wherein there is an optimum extrusion flow rate for any particular die size such that the size is selected to optimize discharge speed (‘083, Paragraph [0106]).
Both modified Vancauwenberghe et al. and Soucy et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of extruding foods. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of modified Vancauwenberghe et al. and adjust the ejection speed of the nozzle since differences in the ejection speed of the meat analogue will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ejection speed of the meat analogue is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Soucy et al. teaches that there was known utility in the food extrusion art to adjust the discharge speed of foods based on their viscosities.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vancauwenberghe et al. “Development of a coaxial extrusion deposition for 3D printing of customizable pectin based food simulant” (published 2018) (herein referred to as “Vancauwenberghe et al.”) as further evidenced by Kjar et al. “Engineering of tissue constructs using coaxial bioprinting” (published September 8, 2020) (herein referred to as “Kjar et al.”) in view of Scionti US 2021/0345643, Randoph US 2021/0169096, and Dikovsky et al. US 2023/0240324 as applied to claim 6 above in further view of Sterner et al. US 2020/0154745.
Regarding Claim 7, Vancauwenberghe et al. modified with Scionti, Randolph, and Dikovsky et al. is silent regarding the 3D printed product being heated at 150 to 200°C for 20 to 30 minutes.
Sterner et al. discloses a method of making a meat analog comprising a vegetable based food product containing legumes, vegetables, and/or cereals (‘745, Paragraph [0024]) wherein legumes are heated in an oven at about 325° Fahrenheit until the enrobed legumes reach a temperature of about 172° Fahrenheit (‘745, Paragraph [0061]), which converts to an oven temperature of about 163°C, which falls within the claimed heated/cooking temperature of 150 to 200°C.
Both modified Vancauwenberghe et al. and Sterner et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making meat analogs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cooking temperature of the process of modified Vancauwenberghe et al. and heat/cook the 3D printed product to the claimed heating temperatures as taught by Sterner et al. since where the claimed heating/cooking temperatures of meat analogues overlaps heating/cooking temperatures of meat analogues disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Although Sterner et al. does not explicitly disclose the heating time being conducted for the claimed 20 to 30 minute duration, differences in the heating/cooking time of the meat analogue will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such heating/cooking time of the meat analogue is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would heat/cook the meat analogue of modified Vancauwenberghe et al. for a duration sufficient to sufficiently cook the meat analogue to the desired internal temperature.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vancauwenberghe et al. “Development of a coaxial extrusion deposition for 3D printing of customizable pectin based food simulant” (published 2018) (herein referred to as “Vancauwenberghe et al.”) as further evidenced by Kjar et al. “Engineering of tissue constructs using coaxial bioprinting” (published September 8, 2020) (herein referred to as “Kjar et al.”) in view of Scionti US 2021/0345643, Randoph US 2021/0169096, and Dikovsky et al. US 2023/0240324 as applied to claim 6 above in further view of Soma et al. US 2021/0345649.
Regarding Claim 8, Scionti discloses heating (cooking) the 3D printed product (‘643, Paragraph [0235]). However, Vancauwenberghe et al. modified with Scionti, Randolph, and Dikovsky et al. is silent regarding cooling the heated printed product.
Soma et al. discloses a plant based meat analogue that is heated (cooked) and then cooled to room temperature (‘649, Paragraph [0201]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Vancauwenberghe et al. and cool the heated printed product as taught by Soma et al. in order to allow the consumer to touch the meat analogue product without burning their hands.
Regarding Claim 9, Soma et al. discloses cooling the heated product to room temperature (‘649, Paragraph [0201]), which falls within the claimed cooling temperature of 20 to 30°C. Where the claimed cooling temperatures after heating overlaps cooling temperatures after heating disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Although Soma et al. does not explicitly teach the cooling time being 10 to 20 minutes, differences in the cooling time after heating will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such cooling time after heating is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the cooling time after heating to allow the heated product to cool down to a sufficient temperature such that the user does not burn their hands when contacting the heated/cooked product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. “Preparation and characterization of surimi based imitation crab meat using coaxial extrusion three-dimensional food printing” (published May 20, 2021) discloses a method of 3D printing imitation crab meat (Kim et al., Page 3) with a coaxial nozzle which can also be applied to other 3D printed foods requiring a filament structure such as meat analogues (Kim et al., Page 8).
Liu et al. “Linking rheology and printability of a multicomponent gel system of carrageenan-xanthan-starch in extrusion based additive manufacturing” (published August 18, 2018) discloses a multicomponent system comprising carrageenan, xanthan gum, and starch for an extrusion based 3D food printer wherein hydrocolloids are used as additives to improve printing behavior of the food formulations (Liu et al., Page 423).
Hotchkiss et al. “The use of carrageenan in food” (published January 2016) discloses carrageenan has a specific set of properties that differentiates it from other hydrocolloids and renders it useful in certain foods, i.e. an ability to form gels with potassium and calcium ions and formation of thermoreversible gels and synergistic behavior with other food hydrocolloids (Hotchkiss et al., Page 230) wherein kappa, iota, and lambda carrageenans have different properties (Hotchkiss et al., Page 235).
Chen et al. “Application of soy protein isolate and hydrocolloids based mixtures as promising food material in 3D food printing” (published March 22, 2019) discloses a study on extrusion based 3D printing using a composition containing sodium alginate and different concentrations of gelatin wherein SPI soy protein isolate mixtures showed shear thinning behavior and the addition of sodium alginate and different concentrations of gelatin led to a significant increase in the viscosity and mechanical strength (Chen et al., Page 84).
Hu et al. “Partial removal of acetyl groups in konjac glucomannan significantly improved the rheological properties and texture of konjac glucomannan and kappa carrageenan blends” (published 2018) discloses deacetylated konjac glucomannan (Da-KGM) with different degrees of deacetylation wherein the viscosities of mixed sols of Da-KGM and kappa carrageenan deceased with increasing degree of deactylation and the partial removal of acetyl groups from konjac glucomannan could significantly improve the hardness and springiness of mixed gels of KGM and kappa carrageenan (Hu et al., Abstract on Page 1165).
Majzoobi et al. “Improving the quality of meat free sausage using kappa carrageenan konjac mannan and xanthan gum” (published 2017) discloses a meat free sausage comprising soy protein isolate (Majzoobi et al., Page 1270) and a hydrocolloids comprising different concentrations of kappa carrageenan and konjac mannan which influences hardness and chewiness while reducing springiness and cohesiveness of the sausages wherein the different molecular sizes and structures of the hydrocolloids affects the ability to interact with water, soy proteins, starch, and other components of the sausage that affects textural properties (Majzoobi et al., Page 1273) wherein the sausage comprises up to 0.6% kappa carrageenan or konjac mannan (Majzoobi et al., Page 1274).
Cornock et al. “Coaxial additive manufacture of biomaterial composite scaffolds for tissue engineering” (published 2014) discloses coaxial melt extrusion printing capable of encapsulating low stiffness alginate hydrogels with a thermoplastic biopolymer into core shell configurations using alginic acid solutions (Cornock et al., Page 2).
Shen et al. “Effects of different carrageenan types on the rheological and water holding properties of tofu” (published December 21, 2016) discloses carrageenan has several types with diverse rheological properties and is suitable for food texture modification (Shen et al., Page 122).
Lamas “How scientists make plant based foods taste and look more like meat” <https://theconversation.com/how-scientists-make-plant-based-foods-taste-and-look-more-like-meat-156839> (published May 5, 2021) discloses plant based meat products that undergo the Maillard reaction responsible for the distinctive meaty aroma and savory flavor wherein the temperature of the pan or grill breaks down protein structure to coagulate and contract (Lamas, Pages 1-2).
Pang “Smash Your Beyond and Impossible Burgers” <https://www.americastestkitchen.com/articles/3136-beyond-impossible-smashed-smash-burgers> (published March 15, 2021) discloses a method of cooking plant based burger patties to induce the Maillard reaction that makes up browning in protein (Pang, Page 1).
Uzunagioglu et al. US 2024/0298667 discloses a plant based protein composition (meat alternative formulation) comprising a mixture of hydrocolloids of carrageenan and glucomannan in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 5 wt% of the plant based protein composition (meat alternative formulation) (‘667, Paragraph [0010]) wherein the hydrocolloid further comprises glucomannan (‘667, Paragraph [0220]).
Baier US 2024/0049749 discloses a method of preparing a connective tissue analog from a hydrocolloid base comprising a carrageenan and glucomannan (‘749, Paragraph [0010]) and a crosslinking agent of alginic acid capable of facilitating the formation of bonds/links between different molecules (‘749, Paragraph [0104]).
Matsusaki et al. US 2023/0119663 discloses a method of making an artificial three dimensional muscular tissue (‘663, Paragraph [0001]) disposed in a gel (‘663, Paragraph [0044]) which gel is obtained by dispersing a polymer substance such as a protein or a polysaccharide or a synthetic polymer in a water containing medium wherein the polymer constituting the gel comprises glucomannan, carrageenan, and alginic acid (‘663, Paragraph [0047]).
Liepa US 4,001,441 discloses a method of making meat analogues using spinning and extrusion methods wherein the aligned fibers are coated with an edible binder.
Janvary et al. US 2016/0235090 discloses a meat analogue or meat extender that more closely simulates the fibrous structure of animal meat (‘090, Paragraph [0006]) wherein the food product comprises a thickening or gelling agent of alginic acid and carrageenan (‘090, Paragraph [0092]) wherein the protein fibers are substantially aligned and has an average Warner Bratzler shear force that is substantially similar to that of whole meat muscle (‘090, Paragraph [0127]).
Schlebusch US 2013/0216689 discloses the endomysium is the membranes that form a sheath around each individual muscle fiber, perimysium is bundles of muscle fibers and epimysium are entire muscles (‘689, Paragraph [0004]).
Hscich et al. US 2012/0093994 discloses a meat analogue composition comprising a thickening or gelling agent of alginic acid and carrageenan (‘994, Paragraph [0091]).
Sugino et al. US 4,362,752 discloses a simulated food in the form of fish meat paste having a fibrous material of 3D reticulate structure wherein the fibrous material is made from polysaccharides and vegetable proteins of mannan and alginic acid.
Geistlinger et al. US 2017/0035076 discloses a meat structured protein product comprising substantially aligned protein fibers and polysaccharides (‘076, Paragraph [0007]) wherein the polysaccharide comprises alginic acid and carrageenan (‘076, Paragraph [0055]) and does not contain added artificial crosslinking agent such as glucomannan (‘076, Paragraph [0075]).
McMindes et al. US 2014/0170283 discloses a protein composition in vegetable products (‘283, Paragraph [0002]) that is gluten free and uses crosslinking glucomannan agent to facilitate filament formation in a gluten free starting material (‘283, Paragraph [0020]) wherein the restructured meat compositions further comprises a thickening or a gelling agent comprising alginic acid and carrageenan (‘283, Paragraph [0106]).
Sandoval et al. US 2008/0118607 discloses a plant based protein composition (simulated meat composition comprising a structured plant protein product) (‘607, Paragraph [0002]) produced using gluten free starting materials and glucomannan crosslinking agents to facilitate filament formation because gluten is typically used in filament formation during the extrusion process (‘607, Paragraph [0018]) wherein the plant based protein composition (simulated animal meat composition) further comprises a thickening or a gelling agent of alginic acid and carrageenan (‘607, Paragraph [0080]).
Akita et al. US 2007/0269571 discloses a paste for a meat not containing processed food (‘571,Paragraph [0001]) comprising a gelling agent of glucomannan, carrageenan, and alginic acid (‘571, Paragraph [0047]) wherein glucomannan can be irreversibly gelled only by treating by alkaline as a gelling agent to induce a chemical structure change in which an acetyl group bonded as an ester linkage is eliminated (‘571, Paragraph [0050]) wherein the minimum concentration of water solution of glucomannan which can be gelled by an alkaline treatment is about 0.5% (‘571, Paragraph [0051]).
McMindes et al. US 2010/0166940 discloses a plant based protein composition (simulated animal meat composition) (‘940, Paragraph [0002]) comprising an edible crosslinking agent to facilitate filament formation in a gluten free starting material that is extruded (‘940, Paragraph [0025]).
Zotter et al. US 2022/0330573 discloses a high protein food product including components that can substitute for conventional whole muscle animal meat products using plant based hydrocolloid films to replicate the mechanical properties of internal structure and texture of whole muscle animal meat (‘573, Paragraph [0018]) wherein bundles of muscle fibers are called fascicles and are covered by a perimysium sheath and muscle fibers are covered by the endomysium and muscle grain and muscle fascicles are known to vary significantly between muscle types and fascicles vary in size from approximately 1-10 mm and a larger bundle size translates into a firmer meat texture and fascicle size is correlated to sensory tenderness and shear force texture in meat and the thickness of the perimysium is correlated to shear force in chicken and pork wherein thicker perimysium melts more slowly and thicker regions have a different composition such as more collagen, more heat stable elastin or more cross links (‘573, Paragraph [0096]) wherein the size of oil droplets in the matrix formed by the oil in hydrocolloid gel is about the same size as individual segments of muscle fibers in a whole cut meat product and upon dehydration creates a segmentation pattern in the meat portion or the fat portion resembling the animal meat product (‘573, Paragraph [0151]) wherein a hydrocolloid film is integrated into the structure of a plant based meat analog to create the appearance, texture, and bite of a whole muscle cut of animal meat (‘573, Paragraph [0008]).
Razza et al. US 2025/0207096 a method and composition for the in vitro preparation of fibrous muscle tissue for cultured meat production (‘096, Paragraph [0001]) wherein a suitable biomaterial matrix that provides 3D printability as well as matrix degradation to create space for cell proliferation, matrix remodeling capacity, and cell differentiation wherein it is demonstrated that by proper selection of nozzle size and extrusion pressure the shear stress during extrusion bioprinting of mouse myoblast cells can achieve cell orientation when using oxidized alginate gelatin (‘096, Paragraph [0011]).
Matthews et al. US 6,042,466 discloses a method of making a co-extruded meat product having a core of a first extrudable food substrate and one or more continuous outer layers of the same or different extrudable food substrates disposed wholly or partly around the core wherein at least one of the outer layers consists of fibrous meat or fat emulsion (‘466, Column 1, lines 52-62) wherein an extrusion nozzle co-extrudes a core of a first extrudable food substrate with one or more continguous outer layers of the same or different extrudable food substrate disposed wholly or partly around the core (‘466, Column 1, lines 63-67) wherein at least one of the outer layers consists of a fibrous meat or fat emulsion which extrusion nozzle comprises a first inner extrusion conduit for extruding said first substrate therethrough and one or more outer extrusion conduits disposed wholly or partly around the inner conduit for extruding said one or more outer layers (‘466, Column 2, lines 1-16).
Ben-Shitrit et al. US 2022/0125072 discloses a method of 3d printing meat analogues wherein a 3D printed slab is treated using sous vide at 90°C for 45 minutes and then fried until having an inner temperature of 70°C.
DeJong et al. US 2019/0328001 discloses a method for preparing a multilayer confectionary product comprising a paste confectionery center surrounded by an intermediate layer of chewy candy material surrounded in turn by a layer of amorphous candy material (‘001, Paragraph [0001]) comprising a coextruding step carried out by using a coextrusion system comprising a nozzle made by two elongated pipes of an inner pipe and an outer pipe (‘001, Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]) wherein the chewy candy material comprises at least one hydrocolloid such as alginic acid, carrageenan, and/or other vegetable proteins (‘001, Paragraph [0044]).
Huang et al. US 2018/0353384 discloses a coaxial nozzle comprising a core channel, an annular channel, and a sheath channel configured to output one or more capsules into a collection bath (‘384, Paragraph [0006]) having an inner diameter of about 0.5 mm and an outer diameter of about 1.5 mm (‘384, Paragraph [0061]).
Lai US 2004/0022899 discloses an elongate noodle with a core material of a different composition that an outer material wherein the core material is meat or vegetables (‘899, Paragraph [0029]) made using a frieze nozzle located substantially coaxially with a second nozzle surrounding the first nozzle (‘899, Paragraph [0033]).
Matheu et al. US 2020/0063093 discloses a 3D biological material having a thickness or diameter of from about 0.1 µm to about 9 mm (‘093, Paragraph [0287]).
Foresti et al. US 2019/0160813 acoustophoretic printing for 3D printing (‘813, Paragraph [0044]) for food manufacturing (‘813, Paragraph [0067]) using a nozzle having a nozzle opening having a diameter in the range from about 1 micron to about 1 mm (“093, Paragraph [0058])
Zhang et al. US 2018/0199614 discloses a method of forming 3D printing of a thawed surimi system (‘614, Paragraph [0002])
Tamayol et al. US 2024/0165879 discloses a method of bioprinting multimaterials (‘879, Paragraph [0002]) using coaxial extrusion (‘879, FIG. 1G)
Hosseini et al. US 2024/0148034 discloses cultivated meat is often described using terms such as cultured meat, tissue mass, cellular or cell based meat, and synthetic meat (‘034, Paragraph [0024]) wherein myoblasts seeded with grooves on microcarriers are grown together to form substantially aligned myotubes, e.g. are substantially parallel to each other resulting in muscle fibers that can be grown on the microcarriers (‘034, Paragraph [0050]).
Levenberg et al. US 2024/0074456 discloses a 3D scaffold comprising a plurality of layers, each layer comprising a plurality of elongated extruded members aligned in the same direction in parallel to each other wherein the layers are vertically stacked one on top of the other and spaced apparat from each other wherein such a configuration of the 3D scaffold enables facilitating a formation of a multilayer expansion in the form of a 3D multilayer structure of muscle fibers that adhere to the 3D scaffold and/or to each other to form connected muscle multilayer fibers wherein the elongated and parallel configuration of the extruded members resembled the orientation of muscle fibers of skeletal muscles of a variety of animals (‘456, Paragraph [0244]).
Ruhs et al. US 2023/0301337 discloses scaffolding achieved by mechanically introducing channels into an edible matrix wherein as the fungal mycelium grows into the long thin channels meat like fibers are formed and the resulting mycelium based fibers mimic the muscle fibers of meat (‘337, Paragraph [0139]).
Bryson et al. US 2022/0369666 discloses a method of making fibrous meat analogs by directional freezing of a hydrocolloid or protein gel wherein the hydrocolloid gel is directionally frozen to induce meat or fish like muscle fiber formation and texture change to the hydrocolloid gel due to the formation of ice crystals that align the hydrogel fibers and then infusing a soluble protein into the textured hydrogel by immersion of the hydrogel in a protein solution for a specific time at a preselected temperature so that the aligned ice crystals are replaced by the soluble protein in the textured hydrogel and subsequent heating of the infused hydrogel induces gelation wherein using a hydrocolloid with a melting temperature above the gelling temperature of the protein maintains size, structure, and fibration of the product (‘666, Paragraph [0011]) wherein the protein fiber is an elongated protein gel with a high aspect ratio in the similar size range as muscle fibers found in meat or fish (‘666, Paragraph [0070]) and the hydrocolloid gel layers include using alternating layers of hydrocolloid get, i.e. one to make the myotome (muscle fibers) and the other to make the myocommata (white interstitial connective tissue) (‘666, Paragraph [0147]) wherein kappa carrageenan has one sulfate group per disaccharide, iota carrageenan has two while lambda carrageenan has three wherein kappa carrageenan forms strong and rigid gels in the presence of potassium ions and reacts with dairy proteins while iota carrageenan forms soft gels in the presence of calcium ions and lambda carrageenan does not gel but is useful for thickening dairy products (‘666, Paragraph [0081]).
Bryson et al. US 11,241,024 discloses a method of making fibrous meat analogs by directional freezing of a hydrocolloid or protein gel wherein the hydrocolloid gel is directionally frozen to induce meat or fish like muscle fiber formation and texture change to the hydrocolloid gel due to the formation of ice crystals that align the hydrogel fibers and then infusing a soluble protein into the textured hydrogel by immersion of the hydrogel in a protein solution for a specific time at a preselected temperature so that the aligned ice crystals are replaced by the soluble protein in the textured hydrogel and subsequent heating of the infused hydrogel induces gelation wherein using a hydrocolloid with a melting temperature above the gelling temperature of the protein maintains size, structure, and fibration of the product.
Nadeau et al. US 2014/0242228 discloses meat analogue pieces comprising a striated structure possessing visible bands or striations that resemble the patterns created by the parallel fibers of skeletal muscle (‘228, Paragraph [0019]).
Boyer et al. US 3,870,808 discloses a method of making a meat simulating textured food product comprising a step of making a protein slurry and freezing said slurry at a slow rate to allow for a relatively slow crystal growth so that fairly large ice crystals are formed wherein the stresses produced in the protein by the large crystal growth crystalline mold the proteinaceous material into layers or stria and results in the formation of the fibrous meat like texture in the product and the crystals expand forcing areas of the proteinaceous material apart creating voids in the proteinaceous material occupied by the ice crystals and compacting other areas of the protein to form a dense crystalline molded meat like structure similar to the fibrous muscle tissue areas found in natural meats wherein faster freezing rates are used if a very fine texture is desired wherein the proteinaceous material is subjected to a heat exchange to set the structure in the protein by heat wherein the mass of the material should be heated to a temperature sufficiently high to allow the mass to irreversibly set which depends on the size and shape of the proteinaceous mass such that the temperature varies from the minimum required to set the protein to a maximum above which the protein will burn and/or degrade wherein structures made from soy protein are heated to a temperature between 150F-375F for a period of between 5 minutes to an hour or more wherein the heating must take place rapidly enough to set the protein before the structure melts or breaks down wherein the dense proteinaceous areas having definite markings are highly similar to the well defined myofibrillar muscle tissue in natural meat.
Pilgaonkar et al. US 2011/0189109 discloses hydrocolloids are often called gums and are hydrophilic polymers of vegetable origin to increase the viscosity of water by either binding water molecules or by absorbing and encapsulating the water into their interwoven macromolecules at the same time restricting the mobility of the water and functions as a thickener and gelling aqueous solution, stabilizing foams, emulsions and dispersions and inhibit ice and sugar crystal formation and controlled release of flavors (‘109, Paragraph [0002]).
Maj et al. US 2024/0074454 discloses a method of making a meat analogue (‘454, Paragraph [0001]) comprising a fibrous muscle tissue analogue, a binder, and a fat analogue comprising the same crosslinking agent to improve binding between the different parts of the meat analogue wherein the crosslinking agent comprises a hydrocolloid of a kappa carrageenan, konjac glucomannan, or soy protein wherein use of kappa carrageenan in each of the fibrous muscle tissue analogue provides a firmer meat analogue (‘454, Paragraph [0154]) wherein the meat analogue is made using an apparatus comprising a high temperature texturizer configured to apply heat and pressure to a base material comprising a non-animal derived protein and cause denaturing of the non-animal derived protein and formation of a fibrous muscle tissue analogue and a separator adapted to partially separate at least some of the fibers of the fibrous muscle tissue analogue (‘454, Paragraphs [0057]-[0059]).
Tokuhisa et al. US 2022/0346422 discloses a protein material for the substrate of a shrimp like food to give the substrate a shrimp like muscle fiber type pleasantness wherein when the protein material is derived from glucomannan and is less than 1 wt% the gel texture is stronger and when the protein material amount is more than 3 wt% the gel strength becomes weaker and the gel becomes softer (‘422, Paragraph [0078]).
Akita US 2009/0017182 discloses a method of improving the flavor of jelly prepared by gelling a soybean protein water solution with glucomannan in the presence of alkaline as a coagulant and having a continuous three dimensional network structure (‘182, Paragraph [0002]) having a cross striated muscle that is a conglomeration comprising elongated muscle fibers having a thickness of 10 to 100 microns and the length of about 1 to 5 cm and plasma filled therein and an elastic transparent thin film covering the surface thereof (‘182, Paragraph [0021]).
Horrocks et al. US 3,898,345 discloses a method of making an artificial meat like protein food from spun protein of a product possessing a similar appearance and fibrous texture to that of cooked muscle meat (‘345, Column 1, lines 4-12) made from a coagulant material used in an emulsion containing carrageenan wherein the coagulating solution contains edible cations such as potassium, calcium or aluminum ions carried out hot or cold wherein elevated temperatures increases the coagulation rate and the quantity of cation reactive polymer to be added to the emulsion ranges from 0.1 and 3% and the cation concentration in the coagulating solution ranges from 0.2 to 20% (‘345, Column 4, lines 13-25).
Sanctorum et al. US 2023/0322904 discloses a method of making a muscle tissue substitute comprising the steps of crosslinking purified myoglobin with pea vicilin protein via transglutaminase and forming a heated the of pea vicilin protein to which purified myoglobin is added and thoroughly mixed during cooling down of the heated gel to room temperature or coextrusion of purified myoglobin with pea vicilin protein wherein the muscle, fat, and connective tissue substitutes are combined in desired ratios in a meat grinder to produce the meat substitute and then cooking the meat substitute (‘904, Paragraph [0398]).
Vrljic et al. US 2018/0027851 discloses a muscle tissue replica prepared by preparing a gel of lentil proteins by mixing lentil proteins with potassium phosphate buffer, sodium chloride, and canola oil and gelling the mixture by heating at 95°C and slow cooling to room temperature at a rate of 1°C/minute and then pouring the gel into a vessel and freezing then drying in a freeze dryer and autoclaving to make a texturized muscle tissue replica formed from plant proteins (‘851, Paragraph [0460]).
Matsuno US 2023/0292809 discloses a plant based meat substitute comprising an edible oil or fat contained in a core portion further containing distilled water (‘809, Paragraph [0112]) to improve the texture and taste of the plant based meat substitute (‘809, Paragraph [0177]).
Malmros et al. US 2024/0188586 discloses a meat analogue composition comprising water added as a separate component to the composition or derived from other components of the composition wherein the water is preferably demineralized or distilled water (‘586, Paragraph [0050]).
Tricoli et al. US 2017/0100912 discloses a method of making a nanostructured material and a support by coextrusion or coaxial electrospinning or using multiple nozzles simultaneously and then depositing onto that an attaching layer (‘912, Paragraph [0248]) wherein the electrospinning of the material is carried out under conditions so as to produce nanofibers having a diameter of 25 nm or less wherein the extrusion rate, concentration rate, and voltage is such as to produce nanofibers having a diameter of 25 nm or less (‘912, Paragraph [0264]).
Wang et al. US 2002/0006962 discloses smooth muscle comprises bundles of myofilaments that criss cross obliquely through the cell forming a lattice like network which bundles consist of thin filaments about 5-7 nm containing actin and tropomyosin and thick filaments about 12-16 nm containing myosin wherein smooth muscle actin and myosin contracts by a sliding filament mechanism similar to the which occurs in striated muscles (‘962, Paragraph [0010]).
Kumar et al. US 2020/0181818 discloses an extrusion method comprising a step of adjusting the speed of ejecting a sample solution through a nozzle (‘818, Paragraph [0046]).
Elfenbein et al. US 2022/0025334 discloses a method of making synthetic or processed food products using electrospinning (‘334, Paragraph [0003]) wherein the food product is a cultured food product made by forming polymer fibers using solution blow spinning, seeding cultured cells onto the polymer fibers to form synthetic muscle tissue, and processing the cultured cells and polymer fibers to produce the cultured food product wherein the synthetic muscle tissue comprises a first configuration comprising cultured muscle cells and nanofibers arranged in parallel alignment to simulate muscle fibers and the synthetic muscle tissue also comprises a second configuration comprising cultured adipose cells and nanofibers arranged to simulate adipose banding patterns wherein the polymer fibers are made with proteins and/or polysaccharides of carrageenan and glucomannan (‘334, Paragraph [0009]) wherein the polymeric fibers or scaffolds are generated using a fiber spinning technique of electrospinning or solution blow spinning or the polymeric fibers or scaffolds are generated using unidirectional freeze drying, electrospinning, solution blow spinning, 3D printing or extrusion, or any combination thereof (‘334, Paragraph [0047]).
Weissenbach et al. US 2024/0010983 discloses a clean meat product comprising carrageenan and/or pectin (‘983, Paragraph [0097]) wherein protein isolates are extruded through a coaxial needle (‘983, Paragraph [0120]).
Di Domenico et al. US 2008/0268104 discloses a food composition consisting of a cheese mixture, carrageenan, and pectin (‘104, Paragraphs [0009]-[0011]) wherein the carrageenan and pectin assists in shape retention at high temperature by binding and thereby retaining water within the food composition (‘104, Paragraph [0015]) wherein the food composition is coaxially coextruded to form a continuous extrudate (‘104, Paragraph [0024]).
Diaz et al. US 2017/0164650 discloses a method for producing an edible object by powder bed 3D printing and food products obtained therewith.
Chien et al. US 2014/0113373 discloses a 3D soy protein containing scaffold.
Forgacs et al. US 2014/0093618 discloses an engineered comestible meat made by making a cell paste with a desired cell density and viscosity using hydrogels (‘618, Paragraph [0081]) wherein multicellular bodies on a support substrate produce a desired three dimensional structure wherein the multicellular bodies are deposited in place by extrusion from a nozzle or positioned in contact with an automated bioprinter (‘618, Paragraph [0093]).
Marga US 9,332,779 discloses a method of making an edible food product comprising combining cultured muscle cells and plant derived hydrogels to form a mixture (‘779, Column 5, lines 4-9).
Sienkiewicz et al. US 4,449,906 discloses a method of making an extruded product using a multiple nozzle arrangement to make a multilayered slab of a meat analogue product (‘906, Column 1, lines 6-15) wherein insert strips are arranged within each of the extrusion nozzles to form flow directing or restricting devices (‘906, Column 4, lines 12-24) wherein the insert strips are provided with differing patterns along their lengths in order to compensate for different viscosities, flow rates, and rheological properties of the extruded solutions so as to provide for a desired flow distribution across the nozzle orifices (‘906, Column 8, lines 33-37).
Supran et al. US 3,834,849 discloses a fiber aligning extrusion nozzle for meat compositions.
Ingoglia et al. US 2019/0274340 discloses a heated meat analog (‘340, Paragraph [0007]) that is cooked to a temperature of about 50C to about 70C (‘340, Paragraph [0012]) and cooling to a temperature from about 20C to about 40C (‘340, Paragraph [0013]) wherein the meat analog comprises gums of kappa, iota, and/or lambda carrageenan (‘340, Paragraph [0059]).
Lepilleur et al. US 2009/0137438 discloses a meat substitute and analog (‘438, Paragraph [0283]) wherein kappa carrageenan produces a gel whereas lambda carrageenan does not gel but thickens instead wherein kappa carrageenan gels most efficiently with potassium ions and iota carrageenan gels most efficiently with calcium ions (‘438, Paragraph [0245]).
Musson et al. US 4,894,250 discloses it is known that glucomannans can interact with kappa and iota carrageenans to produce thermos reversible and thermos irreversible gels.
Redl et al. US 2019/0075820 discloses a method for obtaining an extended shelf life proteinaceous meat analogue (‘820, Paragraph [0012]) cooked at a temperature between 30 to 200C during 1 minute to 1 hour (‘820, Paragraph [0085]).
Murillo et al. US 2016/0106121 discloses a simulated bacon product (‘121, Paragraph [0009]) comprising loaves that are cooled for approximately 20 minutes before cold storage (‘121, Paragraph [0041]).
Shenouda US 4,423,083 discloses a method of making meat analogs comprising a step of cooling an aqueous protein/alginate mixture wherein the rate of cooling is generally not a factor with regard to the formation of well defined, well ordered elongated fibers where the cooling is substantially unidirectional wherein the rate of cooling affects the size and shape of the crystal wherein rapid cooling rates result in the formation of minute, microscopic ice crystals and slower cooling rates result in the formation of long, needle like crystals.
KR 2018/0061679 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed December 22, 2023) discloses a method of 3D molding food using 3D printing (‘679 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0001]) using heat extrusion methods (‘679 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0007]) wherein the food molding machine is equipped with a nozzle having at least two ejection passages through which ingredients are ejected so that in the molding step ingredients are independently ejected and printed through a plurality of ejection passages provided in the nozzle (‘679 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0019]) wherein the nozzle comprises an inner tube in a central part through which a first food material is ejected and an outer tube formed in a concentric shape with the inner tube so that a second food material is ejected through the gap with the inner tube (‘679 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0020]).
JP 2009/213356 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed December 22, 2023) discloses combining plant protein and water soluble polysaccharides increases water retention, imparts juiciness, and improves binding properties when subjected to high temperature and pressure treatment to become porous (‘356 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0023]) wherein the water soluble polysaccharide is sodium alginate, konjac manna, and/or carrageenan in combination and soy protein is the plant based protein wherein the ratio of plant protein to water soluble polysaccharide is 10:90 to 90:10 (‘356 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0024]).
KR 2021/0051351 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed December 22, 2023) discloses a method of manufacturing fish products using a 3D printer (‘351 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0001]) wherein surimi is a fish protein produced by removing the internal organs and bones of fish, grinding the meat, and washing it while concentrating only the myofibrillar proteins and mixing a freezing denaturant to enhance product shelf life (‘351 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0002]) wherein the fish meat surimi comprises konjac and/or iota carrageenan polysaccharide (‘351 Machine Translation, Paragraphs [0010]-[0011]).
KR 2021/0052438 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed December 22, 2023) discloses a protein based meat substitute (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0002]) made from a viscoelastic composition or material that can be microextruded having a final texture and mechanical properties similar to traditional meat or a food type with high fiber density (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0016]) comprising the steps of providing a viscoelastic composition comprising a protein and an edible pseudoplastic polymer in a suitable edible solvent, the viscoelastic composition comprises 19 to 49 weight percent protein and at least 45 weight percent of an edible solvent (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0019]), microextruding a viscoelastic composition through an orifice having a width or diameter of 10 µm to 1000 µm to obtain one or more microextruded elements and a step of stacking two or more layers containing microextruded elements such that the vertical cross section of the edible microextruded product shows intersecting microextruded elements within the layer or microextruded elements that overlap and are oriented differently between layers or two or more layers between the layers are oriented parallel to each other (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraphs [0020]-[0021]) wherein the protein is plant derived proteins, algae derived proteins and an edible pseudoplastic polysaccharide of alginate and/or carrageenan in an amount of 0.2% to 40% by weight relative to the total weight of the viscoelastic composition (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0035]) and a step of raising the temperature from room temperature to a temperature of lower than 95°C and applying stirring with high centrifugal force while maintaining the temperature and stirring for a period of time of 1 minute to 30 minutes (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0042]) wherein the edible pseudoplastic polymer is a polysaccharide of carrageenan and its derivatives such as kappa carrageenan, iota carrageenan, alginic acid, and/or konjac or konjac glucomannan (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0098]) wherein the pseudoplastic player is alginic acid and comprises algin polysaccharide chains of different lengths and different molecular weights (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0104]) wherein the plant derived protein is soybeans (‘438 Machine Translation, Paragraphs [0093] and [0101]).
KR 102123662 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed December 13, 2024) discloses a method of making a plant based meat having a simulated facia formed (‘662 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0001]) comprising an alginate dispersed in an ISP suspension that reacts with calcium ions in the film to form a hydrogel (‘662 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0075]).
KR 20200087344 discloses a raw material composition for a food 3D printer that is heated to form a food (‘344 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the raw material composition contains a hydrocolloid for meat that is printed by the food 3D printer and heated (‘344 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0029]) wherein components such as carbohydrates, proteins, and fats are very sensitive to heat and the quality of the product can be degraded during the heating process so the thermal stability of the raw material composition is important wherein thermal stability is the property of a material to resist loss of mechanical strength during heating processes after 3D printing wherein the thermal stability of a raw material composition for a food 3D printer is controlled through the mixing ratio such as by reducing the proportion of heat sensitive material utilizing the physicochemical properties of the hydrocolloid to maintain appropriate mechanical properties capable of resisting deformation during post processing processes within a range that does not affect the product quality characteristics (‘344 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0030]) wherein hydrocolloids are hydrophilic polymers that hydrate in water to exhibit viscosity or gelation and exhibits various properties depending on the characteristics such as polymer composition, molecular weight, functional groups and concentration wherein hydrocolloids include xanthan gum wherein the xanthan gum is 0.8% by weight or less based on the total weight of the raw material composition for the food 3D printer (‘344 Machine Translation, Paragraph [0031]).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792