DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 22th 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Status:
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1-15 are amended.
Claims 1-15 are examined as follow:
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “A/D converter” in the specification involve abbreviation, such term should spell out the full term the first time it appears, followed by the abbreviation in parentheses.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, the term “its” in line 3, should change to “at least one processing tool” to avoid possible 112b issue.
In claim 10, the term “A/D converter” involve abbreviation, such term should spell out the full term the first time it appears, followed by the abbreviation in parentheses.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “evaluation unit” in claims 1 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit" coupled with functional language “evaluation” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “Evaluation unit" has been described in Page 3, 1st paragraph cited: “…sensor unit such that the at least one evaluation unit and the at least two sensor units are arranged in series. The inventive sensor arrangement may thereby be equipped with two or more sensors connected to a common evaluation unit, whereby the installation space and complexity of the sensor arrangement may be reduced…” and 4th Paragraph cited: “…This configuration allows to use a pre-fabricated or pre- assembled sensor device including a predefined number of sensor units connected to a common evaluation unit, and to easily adapt the number of sensor units, to the number of processing tools to be monitored by adding additional sensor units to the pre-assembled entity consisting of the predefined number of sensor units and the evaluation unit…” as some kind of controller and processor that can be wired, communicate and attached on a circuit board.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“connector means” in claim 3.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the term “preferably” is indefinite and it is unclear the cited limitation after the term “preferably” is considered cited or not, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification if required.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "or the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 3, the term “like” is indefinite and it is unclear the cited limitation after the term “like” is considered cited or not, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 4, the term “may” is indefinite and it is unclear the cited limitation after the term “may” is considered cited or not, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification if required.
Regarding claim 5, the term “may” is indefinite and it is unclear the cited limitation after the term “may” is considered cited or not, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification if required.
Regarding claim 6, the term “may” is indefinite and it is unclear the cited limitation after the term “may” is considered cited or not, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification if required.
Regarding claim 7, the term “preferably” is indefinite and it is unclear the cited limitation after the term “preferably” is considered cited or not, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification if required.
Regarding claim 8, the term “preferably” is indefinite and it is unclear the cited limitation after the term “preferably” is considered cited or not, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification if required.
Regarding claim 9, the term “preferably” is indefinite and it is unclear the cited limitation after the term “preferably” is considered cited or not, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Clarification if required.
For examination purposes, Examiner assumed that all such limitation after “preferably”, “like” and/or “may” is considered as optional. It is suggested that to further amend the claim to avoid using such terms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE202006012959U1 herein set forth as DE12959U1.
Regarding claim 1, DE12959U1 discloses a sensor arrangement (refer to fig.2) for a food processing machine (refer to the “for E.g. Food industry” in the title) having at least one processing tool (refer as “valve” in the abstract) reversibly performing a working movement (refer to the movement of the “valve” cited in the abstract) , the sensor arrangement (refer to fig.2) being provided for monitoring the at least one processing tool (refer the moving of the “valve” in the abstract), the sensor arrangement (refer to fig.2) includes: at least one evaluation unit (#59, fig.2) and at least one sensor unit (#66-70, fig.2); wherein the sensor arrangement (refer to fig.2) is adapted to be connected to at least one further sensor unit (#66-70, fig.2) such that the at least one evaluation unit (#59, fig.2) and the at least two sensor units (#66-70, fig.2) are arranged in series (refer to NPL-Machine translation Page 4 2nd Paragraph cited: “…The different possible Valve positions "Valve closed "," valve open "," first closing body clocked "," second Locking bodies clocked "can open be monitored in different ways. So it is possible associate each valve position with its own sensor that responds, when the respective valve position has been taken. That I during operation of the valve one or the other rod only in the axial direction move, it is advantageous to the sensors in the control unit in one row behind the other…”).
Regarding claim 2, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 further discloses wherein the at least one evaluation unit (#59, fig.2) and the at least two sensor units (#66-70, fig.2) are interconnected.
Regarding claim 3, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 further discloses wherein the at least one evaluation unit (#59, fig.2) and the at least two sensor units (#66-70, fig.2) are coupled to each other by connector means (refer to NPL-machine translation Page 8 line 9 to line 12 cited: “…characterized in that the control unit ( 59 ) has a memory or is connected to a memory in which the output signals of several or all sensors ( 65 - 70 ) are stored for predetermined valve positions, and that a comparator is provided which the current signals of the sensors ( 65 - 70 ) compares with the output signals stored for the given valve positions and reports matches…”).
Regarding claim 4, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 further discloses wherein the at least two sensor units (#66-70, fig.2) may be arranged on the same side of the at least one evaluation unit (#59, fig.2).
Regarding claim 6, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 further discloses wherein each sensor unit (#66-70, fig.2) may include at least one of an optical, inductive or capacitive sensor (refer to NPL-machine translation Page 2 6th paragraph cited: “…Under a sensor object is understood here to be an object to which the chosen ones Selectively address position sensors. When using reflection light barriers These are objects with a sufficiently reflective surface capacitive proximity sensors is it z. As to metallic objects and inductive Proximity sensors they can be magnets. Particularly preferred are for purposes The invention Hall sensors, which on permanent magnets as sensor objects speak to…”).
Regarding claim 8, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 further discloses wherein each sensor unit (#66-70, fig.2) comprises a recess (refer to “recess” annotated in the zoomed in fig.2 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202006012959U1 herein set forth as DE12959U1.
Regarding claim 5, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 does not specifically disclose wherein the at least two sensor units may be arranged on opposite sides of the at least one evaluation unit.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the location of the at least one evaluation unit to be the opposite of the at least two sensor, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to MPEP 716.02(f), in order to adjust the shape of the invention, such that it would fit in narrower or required space.
Claims 7, 9, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202006012959U1 herein set forth as DE12959U1, in view of Herrmann et al (US2019/0316938A1) herein set forth as Herrmann.
Regarding claim 7, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, DE12959U1 does not explicitly disclose wherein each sensor unit include an inductive sensor with at least one induction coil.
In the field of proximity sensor, Herrmann discloses the teaching of using inductive sensor unit that with at least one induction coil (refer to Paragraph 0009 cited: “…the linear displacement sensor comprises an induction element…” and 0024 cited: “…the method can be implemented by a controller which can be arranged on the measuring sensor element and/or the correction sensor element, for example on the associated printed circuit boards in addition to the measuring coil and the at least one correction coil.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DE12959U1’s sensor with wherein each sensor unit may include an inductive sensor with at least one induction coil, as taught by Herrmann, in order to take advantage of the capability of an inductive sensor, and also provide better adaptability for DE12959U1’s sensor arrangement for different operational environmental, such that a more reliable sensor suitable for a specific operational environment.
Regarding claim 9, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, DE12959U1 already disclosed each sensor unit comprises a recess in claim 8.
DE12959U1 does not explicitly discloses wherein each sensor unit includes an inductive sensor with at least one induction coil, and wherein the induction coil is arranged around the recess (refer to Paragraph 0009 cited: “…the linear displacement sensor comprises an induction element…” and 0024 cited: “…the method can be implemented by a controller which can be arranged on the measuring sensor element and/or the correction sensor element, for example on the associated printed circuit boards in addition to the measuring coil and the at least one correction coil.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DE12959U1’s sensor with wherein each sensor unit includes an inductive sensor with at least one induction coil, and wherein the induction coil is arranged around the recess, as taught by Herrmann, in order to take advantage of the capability of an inductive sensor, and also provide better adaptability for DE12959U1’s sensor arrangement for different operational environmental, such that a more reliable sensor suitable for a specific operational environment.
Regarding claim 11, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 further discloses each sensor unit (#66-70, fig.2) are arranged on a carrier unit (#64, fig.2).
DE12959U1 does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one evaluation unit is arranged on a carrier unit.
In the field of proximity sensor, Herrmann discloses wherein the at least one evaluation unit is arranged on a carrier unit (refer to Paragraph 0024 cited: “…the method can be implemented by a controller which can be arranged on the measuring sensor element and/or the correction sensor element, for example on the associated printed circuit boards in addition to the measuring coil and the at least one correction coil.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DE12959U1’s location of the at least one evaluation unit to be arranged on a carrier unit, as taught by Herrmann, In order to keep the evaluation unit close and together with the sensors, such that would reduce wiring or connector length between the evaluation unit and the sensors, saving manufacturing cost and material.
Regarding claim 12, the modification of DE12959U1 and Herrmann discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 11, DE12959U1 does not explicitly disclose the carrier unit is formed by a printed circuit board.
In the field of proximity sensor, Herrmann further discloses wherein the carrier unit is formed by a printed circuit board (refer to Paragraph 0016 cited: “…the invention the measuring sensor element comprises a printed circuit board on which the measuring coil is configured as a planar coil, and/or the correction sensor element comprises a printed circuit board on which the at least one correction coil is configured as a planar coil…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DE12959U1 with wherein the carrier unit is formed by a printed circuit board, as taught by Herrmann, in order to allow easier manufacturing the sensor unit and adopting a commonly used electronic manufacturing method.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202006012959U1 herein set forth as DE12959U1, in view of Moon (US2021/0145303A1) herein set forth as Moon.
Regarding claim 10, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 does not explicitly disclose wherein each sensor unit includes an A/D converter.
In a related field of sensing indication, Moon discloses wherein each sensor unit includes an A/D converter (refer to Paragraph 0155 cited: “…whilst the sensor 314 typically includes one or more amplifiers for amplifying sensed response signals and analogue to digital converters (ADCs) to digitize the analogue response signals and providing digitized response signals to the processing device…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DE12959U1’s sensor units with wherein each sensor unit includes an A/D converter, as taught by Moon, in order to provide a more compacted sensor that can provide signal converting, such that would reduce the requirement of a converter and the extra wiring or connector to and from the converter, and has a direct connection to the digital signal processor.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202006012959U1 herein set forth as DE12959U1, in view of Herrmann et al (US2019/0316938A1) herein set forth as Herrmann, and further in view of Bytheway et al (US2021/0223887A1) herein set forth as Bytheway.
Regarding claim 13, the modification of DE12959U1 and Herrmann discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 11, DE12959U1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the carrier unit is formed at least partially by a ribbon cable.
In the field of proximity sensor, Bytheway discloses the use of ribbon cable (refer to Paragraph 0078 cited: “…The three-dimensional input device 512 may be connected to the computing device through a Universal Serial Port connection, a wireless connection, a coaxial cable connection, a ribbon cable connection, another type of connection, or combinations thereof. …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DE12959U1’s control with wherein the carrier unit is formed at least partially by a ribbon cable, as taught by Bytheway, in order to utilize a commonly used connection method, such that would simplify the connection and provide a more secure connection.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202006012959U1 herein set forth as DE12959U1, in view of Byezkowski (US2018/0106641A1) herein set forth as Byezkowski.
Regarding claim 14, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 does not explicitly disclose A food processing machine comprising at least one processing tool reversibly performing a working movement, a hold-down device for holding down a food product to be processed, and at least one sensor arrangement according to claim 1, which is associated with the hold-down device.
In the field of utilizing sensors to control food product processing, Byezkowski discloses a food processing machine (#10, fig.12) comprising at least one processing tool (#44, fig.12) reversibly performing a working movement, a hold-down device (#14, fig.12) for holding down a food product (refer as food items throughout the specification) to be processed, and at least one sensor arrangement (referring “hall effect sensor” in the abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use DE12959U1’s sensor arrangement in Byezkowski, in order to increase the utility of the sensor arrangement and also increase the market value and demand of such invention, such that by increase the possible usage on other food processing machine would increase the marketability of the invention.
Regarding claim 15, DE12959U1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, DE12959U1 does not explicitly disclose A hold-down device for holding down a food product to be processed in a food processing machine, including at least one sensor arrangement according to claim 1 which is associated with the hold-down device.
In the field of utilizing sensor, Byezkowski discloses a hold-down device (#14, fig.12) for holding down a food product (refer as food items throughout the specification) to be processed in a food processing machine (#10, fig.12), including at least one sensor arrangement (referring “hall effect sensor” in the abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use DE12959U1’s sensor arrangement in Byezkowski, in order to increase the utility of the sensor arrangement and also increase the market value and demand of such invention, such that would increase the marketability of the invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hansen, III et al (US6460567B1) discloses a sealed motor valve that also utilizing sensor to monitor the working position of the valve, that may read on most of the limitation cited in the claim 1.
Smith et al (US5469737A) discloses another operating valve that also use sensor to monitor the position of the valve that also read on a lot of the limitation cited in claim 1.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 July 28th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761