DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I with the addition of compound 009
as the elected compound species in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the pending claims necessarily possess unity, or that all pending claims are automatically entitled to examination based solely on the amendment and the asserted between elected compound 009 and compound 001. This is not found persuasive because the original election of species practice was based on the determination that multiple disclosed species were patentably distinct. Deletion of previously claimed embodiment does not, by itself, establish that all remaining claimed subject matter is directed to a single patentably indistinct inventive or otherwise eliminate the effect of the prior election.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6, 18, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
The present invention claims priority to the following applications: Chinese Patent Application No. 202210101639.3 filed with China National Intellectual Property Administration on Jan. 27, 2022, and Chinese Patent Application No. 202210340109.4 filed with China National Intellectual Property Administration on Apr. 1, 2022, and Chinese Patent Application No. 202110706921 .X filed with China National Intellectual Property Administration on Jun. 24, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 and 10-19 are pending Claims 7-9 are canceled. Claims 6 and 18-19 are withdrawn. Claims 1-5 and 10-17 are examined in accordance to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US11,787,834 B2) in view of Ai-Harbi et al. (Bioorganic Chemistry, 90 (2019) 103088, pages 1-9) and Song et al. (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry, Letters, 2020, 126826, pages 1-7).
Ahmed teaches compounds of Formula (I), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, as glucocorticoid receptor agonists, wherein the compound of Formula I, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is useful for treating autoimmune and inflammatory diseases, such as atopic dermatitis and rheumatoid arthritis. (See Abstract and lines 27-35 of column 1.) Moreover, Ahmed teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of Formula I, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient. (See lines 39-43 of column 12.) Ahmed further teaches compound 8
as one of the compounds species of formula I. (See Table 18a columns 89/90.)
Ahmed does not teach the elected compound. The difference between Ahmed compound and the elected compound is as follow:
Ahmed Compound Elected Compound
However, Al-Harbi teaches benzodioxole moiety is a privileged medicinal scaffold exhibiting numerous pharmacological activities, including anti-inflammatory activity. (See Abstract, last paragraph of the left column and second paragraph of the right column of page 1; and figure 1.) Moreover, Al-Harbi teaches benzodioxole derivatives have been investigated as anticancer agents because of their favorable bioavailability and low toxicity (See second paragraph of the left column of page 2.)
Song teaches medicinal chemists intentionally introduced benzodioxole into lead compound as a routine structure-activity technique (fig. 3 and page 2.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select compound 8 of Ahmed as a suitable lead compound, because Ahmed teaches compound 8 as one of the specifically exemplified glucocorticoid receptor agonist compounds of formula I. Because Ahmed identifies compound 8 as a representative species of its disclosed glucocorticoid receptor agonists, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered compound 8 as a suitable starting point or lead compound for further medicinal chemistry optimization. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the terminal aromatic substituent of Ahmed’s selected compound 8 by incorporating the known 1,3-benzodioxole-containing aromatic pharmacophore taught by Al-Harbi, as further exemplified by Song, because Al-Harbi teaches that 1,3-benzodioxole moiety is a privileged medicinal scaffold exhibiting numerous pharmacological activities, including anti-inflammatory activity, and is deliberately incorporated into lead compounds to produce biologically active agents possessing favorable bioavailability and toxicity profiles. Song teaches that incorporation of a 1,3-benzodioxole group into lead compounds was routine structure-activity optimization strategy employed by medicinal chemist to obtain compound with improved biological properties. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to modify Ahmed’s glucocorticoid receptor agonist by substituting the terminal aromatic pharmacophore with a known benzodioxole-containing aromatic system while retaining the remaining glucocorticoid receptor agonist scaffold, with a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining another biologically active glucocorticoid receptor agonist.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 and 10-17 are not allowed.
/JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628