DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 15, 20, 57. Applicant added claims 59-63.
Applicant cancelled claims 3, 4, 9, 10, 17-19, 21-25, 27-56 and 58.
Status of claims:
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 11-16, 20, 26, 57 and 59-63 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 11-16, 20, 26, 57 and 59-63 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 11-16, 20, 26, 57 and 59-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20210119744) (hereinafter Wang) in view of Cirik (US20200314889) (hereinafter Cirik).
Per claim 1, Wang disclose a method for indicating a bandwidth part, performed by a network
device (paragraph 0080, the network device may configure a frequency domain resource of a BWP bundle by using the third information [configuration information, examiner interprets the preamble as a part of two part form of the claim]), and comprising: sending bandwidth part (BWP) indication information, wherein the BWP indication information indicates information of a BWP comprised in an associated frequency band associated with the BWP indication information (paragraph 0080-0082, i.e. the network device may configure a frequency domain resource of a BWP bundle by using the third information [configuration information], and the third information may include an identifier of the BWP bundle and a parameter of a BWP included in the BWP bundle, In this manner, when the status of the terminal device is the first state, if the identifier of the first frequency domain resource is the BWP 0 [or the BWP 1], the terminal device may determine, based on the identifier of the first frequency domain resource, that the second frequency domain resource is the BWP bundle 0)but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a plurality of frequency bands exist, and the plurality of frequency bands comprise: an initial frequency band, wherein the initial frequency band is a frequency band comprising an initial BWP: and a non-initial frequency band, wherein the non-initial frequency band is a frequency band other than the initial frequency band; wherein the initial BWP is a BWP employed by a UE for initial access; wherein, values are assigned to BWP IDs of respective BWPs in the initial frequency band from a first value, the first value is a value of the BWP ID of the initial BWP: and values are assigned to BWP IDs of respective BWPs in the non-initial frequency band from a second value, the second value is different from the first value; wherein one of indication fields in the BWP indication information is configured to indicate one frequency band index, or one of indication fields in the BWP indication information is configured to indicate a plurality of frequency band indexes.
In an analogous field of endeavor, wherein Cirik discloses a plurality of frequency bands exist (0520, i.e. a plurality of BWPs), and the plurality of frequency bands comprise: an initial frequency band, wherein the initial frequency band is a frequency band comprising an initial BWP (paragraph 0532 and 0533, , I.e. wireless device may receive configuration parameters of a set of at most N [e.g., N=4] bandwidth parts [BWPs], for receptions by the UE [e.g., DL BWP set] in the serving cell, in a DL bandwidth by parameter BWP-Downlink and a set of at most M [e.g., M=4)]BWPs for transmissions by the UE [e.g., UL BWP set]in an UL bandwidth by parameter BWP-Uplink and the initial active DL BWP may be provided by initialDownlinkBWP. For operation on the primary cell or on a secondary cell, a UE may be provided an initial active UL BWP by initialuplinkBWP. If the UE is configured with a supplementary UL carrier, the UE may be provided an initial active UL BWP on the supplementary UL carrier by initialUplinkBWP in supplementaryUplink.)and a non-initial frequency band, wherein the non-initial frequency band is a frequency band other than the initial frequency band (paragraph 0266, i.e. BWP2 (1020 and 1040) with a width of 10 MHz and subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz; BWP3 1030 with a width of 20 MHz and subcarrier spacing of 60 kHz.); wherein the initial BWP is a BWP employed by a UE for initial access (paragraph 0520, i.e. the BWP switching may be controlled by a PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant, by the bwp-InactivityTimer, by RRC signalling, or by the MAC entity upon initiation of Random Access procedure. In an example, upon RRC (re-)configuration of firstActiveDownlinkBWP-Id and/or firstActiveUplinkBWP-Id for SpCell or activation of an SCell, the DL BWP and/or UL BWP indicated by firstActiveDownlinkBWP-Id and/or firstActiveUplinkBWP-Id respectively may be active without receiving PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant); wherein, values are assigned to BWP IDs of respective BWPs in the initial frequency band from a first value, the first value is a value of the BWP ID of the initial BWP): and values are assigned to BWP IDs of respective BWPs in the non-initial frequency band from a second value (paragraph 0588 , Fig 23, In an example, Ci corresponds to cell i [e.g., a cell with serving cell index i], Bi,j corresponds to BWP j [e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j] in cell i and Si,j,k corresponds to sub-band k [e.g., a sub-band with sub-band ID k] of BWP j in cell i. i.e. S 1, 1, 2, examiner interprets in Fig 23, as being different from s1, 1, 1 , where s1, 1, 2 is interpreted as non-initial frequency band) , the second value is different from the first value (paragraph 0588 as described previously); wherein one of indication fields in the BWP indication information is configured to indicate one frequency band index (paragraph 0588, Fig 23, i.e. B1, 1[ Bi,j corresponds to BWP j (e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j) of many, such as B1, 2 or B1, m), or one of indication fields in the BWP indication information is configured to indicate a plurality of frequency band indexes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Cirik into the invention
of Wang, where Wang provides receiving first information by a terminal device, where the first information indicates an identifier of a first frequency domain resource, and the first frequency domain resource is contiguous in frequency domain. When a status of the terminal device is a first state, the terminal device with a network device on a second frequency domain resource based on the first information, where the second frequency domain resource includes a plurality of segments of contiguous frequency domain resources and Cirik provides wireless device receives one or more messages comprising configuration parameters indicating a plurality of configured grant configurations for one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) of a cell. A downlink control information is received. The downlink control information indicates activation or release of a first configured grant configuration, among the plurality of configured grant configurations, for a first BWP of the one or more BWPs in order to provide a better quality of service which improve network performance by enhancing the legacy transmission processes based on configured grants where the plurality of configured grant configurations may comprise a first configured grant configuration and a second configured grant configuration, see Cirik, paragraphs 0520, 0612 and 0613).
Per claim 2, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Wang discloses the BWP indication information further indicates frequency band information of the frequency band associated with the BWP indication information (paragraph 0095, i.e. BWP 0 with a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz ).
Per claim 5, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Cirik discloses a BWP identification (ID) of the initial BWP is different from a BWP ID of any BWP other than the initial BWP in a cell (same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0588, Fig 23, i.e. B1, 1[ Bi,j corresponds to BWP j [e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j] of many, such as B1, 2 or B1, m).
Per claim 6, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Cirik discloses the BWP indication information comprises: a first type of BWP index, wherein the first type of BWP index comprises a BWP ID obtained by uniformly numbering all BWPs in a cell (paragraph 0588, i.e. Fig 23, i.e. in c1, uniformly as B1 for BWP ID, refer to claim 1 rationale) ; or a second type of BWP index, wherein the second type of BWP index at least comprises a frequency band index and a BWP ID obtained by numbering BWPs comprised in a frequency band indicated by the frequency band index.
Per claim 7, refer to the same rationale as explained claim 1,see Cirik, paragraph 0588, the confirmation MAC CE in FIG. 23 has a fixed size. In an example, Ci corresponds to cell i (e.g., a cell with serving cell index i), Bi,j corresponds to BWP j (e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j) in cell i and Si,j,k corresponds to sub-band k (e.g., a sub-band with sub-band ID k) of BWP j in cell I, B1, 1[ Bi,j corresponds to BWP j [e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j] of many, such as B1, 2 or B1, m.
Per claim 8, refer to the same rationale as explained claim 7, see Cirik, paragraph 0588, Bi,j corresponds to BWP j (e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j) in cell i and Si,j,k corresponds to sub-band k (e.g., a sub-band with sub-band ID k) of BWP j in cell I, B1, 1[ Bi,j corresponds to BWP j [e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j] of many, such as B1, 2.
Per claim 11, the combination disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Cirik discloses in a case that one indication field is configured to indicate the plurality of frequency band indexes, different bit values of the one indication field indicate indexes of different sets of frequency bands In an example, the one or more messages may indicate the identifier of the sub-band. In an example, the confirmation may comprise a bitmap, a bit in the bitmap corresponding to a sub-band in a plurality of sub-bands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Cirik into the invention
of Wang provide a better quality of service which improve network performance by enhancing the legacy transmission processes based on configured grants where the plurality of configured grant configurations may comprise a first configured grant configuration and a second configured grant configuration, see Cirik, paragraphs 0582, 0612 and 0613).
Per claim 12, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Cirik discloses the information of the BWP comprises: a BWP index; one of indication fields in the BWP indication information is configured to indicate one BWP index (paragraph 0588, Fig 23, Bi,j corresponds to BWP j (e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j) in cell i and Bi,j also have a value of ‘1’, similar to claim 6 rationale) or one of indication fields in the BWP indication information is configured to indicate a plurality of BWP indexes.
Per claim 13, the combination discloses the method of claim 12, wherein Cirik discloses in a case that one indication field is configured to indicate the plurality of BWP indexes, different bit values of the one indication field indicate indexes of different sets of BWPs (paragraph 0271, i.e. For example, for a DL BWP or an UL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs or one or more UL BWPs, respectively, a base station may semi-statistically configure a UE for a cell with one or more parameters indicating at least one of following: a subcarrier spacing; a cyclic prefix; a number of contiguous PRBs; an index in the set of one or more DL BWPs and/or one or more UL BWPs; a link between a DL BWP and an UL BWP from a set of configured DL BWPs and UL BWPs and paragraph 0274, i.e. if a DCI comprises a BWP indicator field, a BWP indicator field value may indicate an active DL BWP, from a configured DL BWP set, for one or more DL receptions. If a DCI comprises a BWP indicator field, a BWP indicator field value may indicate an active UL BWP, from a configured UL BWP set, for one or more UL transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Cirik into the invention
of Wang provide a better quality of service which improve network performance by enhancing the legacy transmission processes based on configured grants where the plurality of configured grant configurations may comprise a first configured grant configuration and a second configured grant configuration, which includes BWP index of an active UL/DL BWP of one or more UL/DL BWP’s in a set see Cirik, paragraphs 0271, 0274, 0612 and 0613).
Per claim 14, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 12, however sending the BWP indication, see paragraph 0274, sending BWP indication via DCI.
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 6.
Per claim 26, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 12.
Per claim 57, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Per claim 59, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the frequency band is a frequency band associated with a cell (paragraph 0588, Fig 23, i.e. the confirmation MAC CE in FIG. 23 has a fixed size. In an example, Ci corresponds to cell i (e.g., a cell with serving cell index i), Bi,j corresponds to BWP j (e.g., a BWP with BWP ID j) in cell i and Si,j,k corresponds to sub-band k (e.g., a sub-band with sub-band ID k) of BWP j in cell i. or a frequency band associated with the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Cirik into the invention
of Wang provide a better quality of service which improve network performance by enhancing the legacy transmission processes based on configured grants where the plurality of configured grant configurations may comprise a first configured grant configuration and a second configured grant configuration which includes frequency or sub-band indication as relates to a cell, see Cirik, paragraphs 0588, 0612 and 0613).
Per claim 60, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Cirik discloses the plurality of frequency bands are continuous frequency bands; or the plurality of frequency bands are discontinuous frequency bands (paragraph 0319, i.e. functions that may need to be supported by one or more signals for LAA operation with discontinuous downlink transmission may include one or more of the following: detection of the LAA downlink transmission (including cell identification) by UEs; time & frequency synchronization of UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Cirik into the invention of Wang provide a better quality of service which improve network performance by enhancing the legacy transmission processes based on configured grants where the plurality of configured grant configurations may comprise a first configured grant configuration and a second configured grant configuration which includes downlink discontinuous frequency which detect thresholds levels to determine if a channel is occupied of clear for access., see paragraph 0318 , 0319, 0612 and 0613.
Per claim 61, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Cirik discloses the initial BWP is a default BWP of the UE that implements a BWP automatic fallback function (paragraph 0550, i.e. For a serving cell, a UE may be provided by defaultDownlinkBWP-Id a default DL BWP among the configured DL BWPs. If a UE is not provided a default DL BWP by defaultDownlinkBWP-Id, the default DL BWP may be the initial active DL BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Cirik into the invention
of Wang provide a better quality of service which improve network performance by enhancing the legacy transmission processes based on configured grants where the plurality of configured grant configurations may comprise a first configured grant configuration and a second configured grant configuration which includes default DL as the initial active DL/ BWP for maintaining performance by switching from initial DL BWP to another DL BWP in some cases when timers expire , see Cirik, paragraphs 0529,0550, 0612 and 0613).
Per claim 62, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 61, refer to paragraphs 0265 and 0266, i.e. configured by a UE employing a BA may not be large. For example, a receive and/or transmit bandwidths may not be as large as a bandwidth of a cell. Receive and/or transmit bandwidths may be adjustable. For example, a UE may change receive and/or transmit bandwidths, e.g., to shrink during period of low activity to save power. For example, a UE may change a location of receive and/or transmit bandwidths in a frequency domain, e.g. to increase scheduling flexibility. For example, a UE may change a subcarrier spacing, e.g. to allow different services. A base station may indicate, to a UE, which of the one or more (configured) BWPs is an active BWP. Of three BWPs configured: BWP1 (1010 and 1050) with a width of 40 MHz and subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz; BWP2 (1020 and 1040) with a width of 10 MHz and subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz; BWP3 1030 with a width of 20 MHz and subcarrier spacing of 60 kHz., examiner interprets with the flexibility adjustable bandwidths it could be higher first BWP or lower second BWP or vice versa.
Per claim 63, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 62.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647