DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, 7-9,14, and 15, in the reply filed on 08/31/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant traverses the Office’s characterization of the claimed invention with respect to Yao and shall address specific differences therebetween in response to an Office Action should rejections be made. This is not found persuasive because Groups I-V lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the polyimide random copolymer of claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Yao et al. (CN 103788651 A, cited in IDS, made of record 12/22/2023, machine translation in English used for citation). Yao teaches a polyimide that is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], wherein the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], wherein the dianhydride monomer is at least one of diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA), benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017], wherein the diamine monomer is optionally m-phenylenediamine (MDA) [0015], which reads on a polyimide polymer, that is optionally a polyimide random copolymer, characterized in that the copolymer has a structure represented by formula (I), in formula (I), m and n are each independently an integer of 0 or greater, provided that one of m and n is an integer of 1 or greater, X is any one selected from the group consisting of formulas (X3) and (X4), in formula (X3) and formula (X4), R5, R6, R9, and R10 are each independently H, Y is selected from formula (Y1), in formula (Y1), R7 and R8 are each independently H, Z and Z’ are optionally each independently selected from a formula (Z1).
Yao does not teach a specific embodiment wherein the polyimide polymer is a polyimide random copolymer, and where in formula (I), m and n are each independently an integer from 10 to 2000. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Yao’s dianhydride monomer that is polymerized to obtain Yao’s polyamic acid solution that is imidized to prepare Yao’s polyimide to be Yao’s diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA) or benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA) and Yao’s bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA), such that from 10 to 2000 repeating units in Yao’s polyimide are derived from Yao’s diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA) or benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), such that from 10 to 2000 repeating units in Yao’s polyimide are derived from Yao’s bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA), and such that the repeating units are randomly distributed in Yao’s polyimide. The proposed modification would read on wherein the polyimide polymer is a polyimide random copolymer, and where in formula (I), m and n are each independently an integer from 10 to 2000 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would have been beneficial for providing species of Yao’s dianhydride monomer that are suitable for obtaining Yao’s polyamic acid solution and Yao’s polyimide, and/or because it would have been beneficial for obtaining a high molecular weight of Yao’s polyamic acid solution because Yao teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], that the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], that the dianhydride monomer is at least one of diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA), benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017], that the synthesized polyamic acid solution has a high molecular weight [0019, 0027].
Yao does not teach a specific embodiment where in formula (I), Z and Z’ are each independently selected from the group consisting of iptycene-based structures and an optionally substituted formula (Z1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in thee art would have found it obvious to select Yao’s diamine monomer that is polymerized to obtain Yao’s polyamic acid solution that is imidized to prepare Yao’s polyimide to be Yao’s m-phenylenediamine (MDA). The proposed modification would read on where in formula (I), Z and Z’ are each independently selected from a formula (Z1) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success and/or because it would have been beneficial for providing a species of diamine monomer that is suitable for obtaining Yao’s polyamic acid solution and Yao’s polyimide because Yao teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], that the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], and that the diamine monomer is optionally m-phenylenediamine (MDA) [0015]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6, 10-13, and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/31/2026.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “0.95 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.5, preferably, 0.9 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.6” in line 3, which is indefinite because the term “preferably” makes it unclear if “0.9 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.6” is required. For further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “0.95 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.5 or 0.9 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.6”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the iptycene-based structure is selected from the group consisting of triptycene-based structures and pentiptycene-based structures; preferably, the iptycene-based structure as Y is formula (Y5) and/or the iptycene-based structures as Z and Z’ are each independently formula (Z2)” in lines 1-4, which is indefinite because the term “preferably” makes it unclear if “the iptycene-based structure as Y is formula (Y5)” is required. For further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “the iptycene-based structure is selected from the group consisting of triptycene-based structures and pentiptycene-based structures; the iptycene-based structure as Y is formula (Y5), and/or the iptycene-based structures as Z and Z’ are each independently formula (Z2)”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein said membrane is a separation membrane, preferably a gas separation membrane” in lines 1-2, which is indefinite because the term “preferably” makes it unclear if “a gas separation membrane” is required. For further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein said membrane is a separation membrane or a gas separation membrane”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the membrane is a hollow fiber membrane, preferably, the hollow fiber membrane includes a support layer and a dense layer attached to the outer surface of the support layer; preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is less than or equal to 1000nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 40-80%; more preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is 100-500nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 50-70%” in lines 1-6, which is indefinite because the terms “preferably” an “more preferably” make it unclear if “the hollow fiber membrane includes a support layer and a dense layer attached to the outer surface of the support layer”, “the thickness of the dense layer is less than or equal to 1000nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 40-80%”, and “the thickness of the dense layer is 100-500nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 50-70%” are required. For further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein the membrane is a hollow fiber membrane, wherein optionally, the hollow fiber membrane includes a support layer and a dense layer attached to the outer surface of the support layer; wherein optionally, the thickness of the dense layer is less than or equal to 1000nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 40-80%; wherein optionally, the thickness of the dense layer is 100-500nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 50-70%”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (CN 103788651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/14/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Yao teaches a polyimide that is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], wherein the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], wherein the dianhydride monomer is at least one of diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA), benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017], wherein the diamine monomer is optionally m-phenylenediamine (MDA) [0015], which reads on a polyimide polymer, that is optionally a polyimide random copolymer, characterized in that the copolymer has a structure represented by formula (I), in formula (I), m and n are each independently an integer of 0 or greater, provided that one of m and n is an integer of 1 or greater, X is any one selected from the group consisting of formulas (X3) and (X4), in formula (X3) and formula (X4), R5, R6, R9, and R10 are each independently H, Y is selected from formula (Y1), in formula (Y1), R7 and R8 are each independently H, Z and Z’ are optionally each independently selected from a formula (Z1).
Yao does not teach a specific embodiment wherein the polyimide polymer is a polyimide random copolymer, and where in formula (I), m and n are each independently an integer from 10 to 2000. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Yao’s dianhydride monomer that is polymerized to obtain Yao’s polyamic acid solution that is imidized to prepare Yao’s polyimide to be Yao’s diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA) or benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA) and Yao’s bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA), such that from 10 to 2000 repeating units in Yao’s polyimide are derived from Yao’s diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA) or benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), such that from 10 to 2000 repeating units in Yao’s polyimide are derived from Yao’s bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA), and such that the repeating units are randomly distributed in Yao’s polyimide. The proposed modification would read on wherein the polyimide polymer is a polyimide random copolymer, and where in formula (I), m and n are each independently an integer from 10 to 2000 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would have been beneficial for providing species of Yao’s dianhydride monomer that are suitable for obtaining Yao’s polyamic acid solution and Yao’s polyimide, and/or because it would have been beneficial for obtaining a high molecular weight of Yao’s polyamic acid solution because Yao teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], that the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], that the dianhydride monomer is at least one of diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA), benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017], that the synthesized polyamic acid solution has a high molecular weight [0019, 0027]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Yao does not teach a specific embodiment where in formula (I), Z and Z’ are each independently selected from the group consisting of iptycene-based structures and an optionally substituted formula (Z1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in thee art would have found it obvious to select Yao’s diamine monomer that is polymerized to obtain Yao’s polyamic acid solution that is imidized to prepare Yao’s polyimide to be Yao’s m-phenylenediamine (MDA). The proposed modification would read on where in formula (I), Z and Z’ are each independently selected from a formula (Z1) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success and/or because it would have been beneficial for providing a species of diamine monomer that is suitable for obtaining Yao’s polyamic acid solution and Yao’s polyimide because Yao teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], that the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], and that the diamine monomer is optionally m-phenylenediamine (MDA) [0015]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Regarding claim 2, Yano teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], wherein the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], wherein the dianhydride monomer is at least one of diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA), benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017], wherein the diamine monomer is optionally m-phenylenediamine (MDA) [0015], which reads on wherein m an n are each independently an integer of 0 or greater, provided that one of m and n is an integer of 1 or greater.
Yao does not teach a specific embodiment wherein m and n are each independently an integer from 50 to 1000, and/or 0.95 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.5, preferably, 0.9 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.6. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Yao’s dianhydride monomer that is polymerized to obtain Yao’s polyamic acid solution that is imidized to prepare Yao’s polyimide to be Yao’s diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA) or benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA) and Yao’s bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA), such that from 50 to 1000 repeating units in Yao’s polyimide are derived from Yao’s diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA) or benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), such that from 50 to 1000 repeating units in Yao’s polyimide are derived from Yao’s bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA), and such that the repeating units are randomly distributed in Yao’s polyimide. The proposed modification would read on wherein m and n are each independently an integer from 50 to 1000 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would have been beneficial for providing species of Yao’s dianhydride monomer that are suitable for obtaining Yao’s polyamic acid solution and Yao’s polyimide, and/or because it would have been beneficial for obtaining a high molecular weight of Yao’s polyamic acid solution because Yao teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], that the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], that the dianhydride monomer is at least one of diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA), benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017], that the synthesized polyamic acid solution has a high molecular weight [0019, 0027]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Regarding claim 3, Yao satisfies the limitation wherein the iptycene-based structure is selected from the group consisting of triptycene-based structures and pentiptycene-based structures, preferably, the iptycene-based structure as Y is formula (Y5) and/or the iptycene-based structures as Z and Z’ are each independently formula (Z2), in formula (Y5), R15 and R16 are each independently H, an optionally substituted C1-C4 alkyl group, or an optionally substituted C6-C10 aryl group, and in formula (Z2), Ra and Rb are reach independently H, a C1-C4 alkyl group or a C1-C4 haloalkyl group as claimed. This is because the iptycene-based structure is not required to be present if Y is any one selected from formulas (Y1), (Y3), and (Y4), and if Z and Z’ are each independently selected from an optionally substituted formula (Z1), because Yao’s teachings read on Y is selected from formula (Y1), and because Yao renders it obvious that Z and Z’ are each independently selected from a formula (Z1) as explained above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the proposed modifications explained above for claim 1 read on wherein Z and Z’ are each independently selected from the structure represented by Z1 as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Yao teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], wherein the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], wherein the dianhydride monomer is at least one of diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA), benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017], wherein the diamine monomer is optionally m-phenylenediamine (MDA) [0015], which optionally reads on wherein X is Xb, Y is Ya, Z and Z’ are both Z1, or X is Xc, Y is Ya, Z and Z’ are both Z1 as claimed.
Yao does not teach a specific embodiment wherein X is Xb, Y is Ya, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xb, Y is Yd, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xc, Y is Ya, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xc, Y is Yc,Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xc, Y is Y4, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xc, Y is Yd, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xb, Y is Ya, Z and Z' are both Z3; or, X is Xb, Y is Yd, Z and Z' are both Z3; or, X is Xc, Y is Ya, Z and Z' are both Z3; or, X is Xc, Y is Yd, Z and Z' are both Z3. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Yao’s dianhydride monomer that is polymerized to obtain Yao’s polyamic acid solution that is imidized to prepare Yao’s polyimide to be Yao’s diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA) that is 3,3',4,4'-diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic anhydride or benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA) that is 3,3',4,4'-benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride and Yao’s bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) that is 4,4'-(Hexafluoroisopropylidene)diphthalic anhydride, such that from 10 to 2000 repeating units in Yao’s polyimide are derived from Yao’s diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA) or benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), such that from 10 to 2000 repeating units in Yao’s polyimide are derived from Yao’s bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA), and such that the repeating units are randomly distributed in Yao’s polyimide. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would have been beneficial for providing species of Yao’s dianhydride monomer that are suitable for obtaining Yao’s polyamic acid solution and Yao’s polyimide, and/or because it would have been beneficial for obtaining a high molecular weight of Yao’s polyamic acid solution because Yao teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], that the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], that the dianhydride monomer is at least one of diphenyl ether tetracarboxylic dianhydride (OPDA), benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017], that the synthesized polyamic acid solution has a high molecular weight [0019, 0027]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Yao does not teach a specific embodiment wherein X is Xb, Y is Ya, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xb, Y is Yd, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xc, Y is Ya, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xc, Y is Yc,Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xc, Y is Y4, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xc, Y is Yd, Z and Z' are both Z1; or, X is Xb, Y is Ya, Z and Z' are both Z3; or, X is Xb, Y is Yd, Z and Z' are both Z3; or, X is Xc, Y is Ya, Z and Z' are both Z3; or, X is Xc, Y is Yd, Z and Z' are both Z3. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in thee art would have found it obvious to select Yao’s diamine monomer that is polymerized to obtain Yao’s polyamic acid solution that is imidized to prepare Yao’s polyimide to be Yao’s m-phenylenediamine (MDA). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success and/or because it would have been beneficial for providing a species of diamine monomer that is suitable for obtaining Yao’s polyamic acid solution and Yao’s polyimide because Yao teaches that the polyimide is prepared by obtaining a polyamic acid solution, and thermally imidizing the polyamic acid solution in a conventional manner [0022], that the polyamic acid solution is obtained by polymerizing diamine monomer and dianhydride monomer in a 1:1 molar ratio [0013], and that the diamine monomer is optionally m-phenylenediamine (MDA) [0015]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
The proposed modification would read on wherein X is Xb, Y is Ya, Z and Z’ are both Z1, or X is Xc, Y is Ya, Z and Z’ are both Z1 as claimed.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Yao teaches that polyimide is widely used in separation membranes [0004], which suggests a membrane, characterized in that the membrane is made of the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1 as claimed, wherein said membrane is a separation membrane, preferably a gas separation membrane as claimed.
Yao does not teach a specific embodiment of a membrane, characterized in that the membrane is made of the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1, wherein said membrane is a separation membrane, preferably a gas separation membrane. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a separation membrane comprising Yao’s polyimide. The proposed modification would read on a membrane, characterized in that the membrane is made of the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1 as claimed, wherein said membrane is a separation membrane, preferably a gas separation membrane as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing an additional utility for Yao’s polyimide because Yao teaches that due to its excellent mechanical properties, thermal properties, dimensional stability, chemical resistance, radiation resistance, low temperature resistance, and electrical properties, polyimide is widely used in separation membranes [0004], and that polyimide is prepared [0022].
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (US 5,177,180, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Griffin teaches polyimides (2:54-55) having structural units of the formula (5:3-6)
and
, wherein R is a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon radical having from 6 to about 20 carbon atoms and halogenated derivatives thereof, and a and b each represent a whole number equal to or greater than 1 (5:50-54), wherein the predominant portion of the polymer chain comprises structural units of the formula
where the mole fraction m stands for a number greater than 0 and less than 1 (6:1-13), wherein the polyimide comprises the intercondensation product of reaction of mixed dianhydrides, wherein one of the mixed dianhydrides is an oxydiphthalic anhydride (OPDA), and the other dianhydride is 2,2-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl)-hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6FDA), and aromatic diamines (2:65-3:10), wherein the polyimides are derived from the dianhydride of formula
(3:52-63), the dianhydride of formula (3:66-67)
(4:1-9), and aromatic diamines of the formula
, wherein R is a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon radical having from 6 to about 20 carbon atoms (4:19-21), wherein the aromatic diamines which may be used in the polyimides, there are included meta-phenylenediamine (6:21-25), wherein meta-phenylenediamine is a preferred aromatic diamine (6:33-35), which reads on a polyimide copolymer, characterized in that the copolymer has a structure represented by formula (I), in formula (I), m and n are each independently an integer that is 1 or greater, X is any one selected from formula (X3), R5 and R6 are each independently H, Y is any one selected from formula (Y1), in formula (Y1), R7 and R8 are each independently H, Z and Z’ are each independently selected from optionally formula (Z1).
Griffin does not teach that the polyimide copolymer is a polyimide random copolymer. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Griffin’s structural units of the formula
and
to be arranged randomly in Griffin’s polyimides. The proposed modification would read on the polyimide copolymer is a polyimide random copolymer as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Griffin teaches that the polyimides (2:54-55) have structural units of the formula (5:3-6)
and
(5:50-54), that the predominant portion of the polymer chain comprises structural units of the formula
where the mole fraction m stands for a number greater than 0 and less than 1 (6:1-13), that the polyimide comprises the intercondensation product of reaction of mixed dianhydrides, wherein one of the mixed dianhydrides is an oxydiphthalic anhydride (OPDA), and the other dianhydride is 2,2-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl)-hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6FDA), and aromatic diamines (2:65-3:10), that the polyimides are derived from the dianhydride of formula
(3:52-63), the dianhydride of formula (3:66-67)
(4:1-9), and aromatic diamines of the formula
, wherein R is a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon radical having from 6 to about 20 carbon atoms (4:19-21), and because the only possible arrangements of Griffin’s structural units in Griffin’s polyimides are random, alternating, and block. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Griffin does not teach with sufficient specificity that m and n are each independently an integer from 10 to 2000. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Griffin’s a and b in Griffin’s structural units of the formula
and
to be a whole number equal to or greater than 10 and equal to or less than 2000. The proposed modification would read on m and n are each independently an integer from 10 to 2000 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success and/or because it would have been beneficial for providing a value for Griffin’s a and b that is suitable for Griffin’s structural units because Griffin teaches that that a and b each represent a whole number equal to or greater than 1 (5:50-54). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Griffin does not teach a specific embodiment wherein Z and Z’ are each independently selected from the group consisting of iptycene-based structures and are optionally substituted formula (Z1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Griffin’s aromatic diamines that are reacted to produce Griffin’s polyimides to be meta-phenylenediamine. The proposed modification would read on wherein Z and Z’ are each independently selected from formula (Z1) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success and/or because it would have been beneficial for providing a species of aromatic diamines that are suitable for producing Griffin’s polyimides because Griffin teaches that R is a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon radical having from 6 to about 20 carbon atoms and halogenated derivatives thereof (5:50-54), that the aromatic diamines are of the formula
, wherein R is a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon radical having from 6 to about 20 carbon atoms (4:19-21), that the aromatic diamines which may be used in the polyimides, there are included meta-phenylenediamine (6:21-25), and that meta-phenylenediamine is a preferred aromatic diamine (6:33-35). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Regarding claim 2, Griffin teaches that the polyimides (2:54-55) have structural units of the formula (5:3-6)
and
, wherein a and b each represent a whole number equal to or greater than 1 (5:50-54), wherein the predominant portion of the polymer chain comprises structural units of the formula
where the mole fraction m stands for a number greater than 0 and less than 1, preferably at least between about 0.10 and about 0.50 (6:1-15), wherein the polyimide comprises the intercondensation product of reaction of mixed dianhydrides, wherein one of the mixed dianhydrides is an oxydiphthalic anhydride (OPDA), and the other dianhydride is 2,2-bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl)-hexafluoropropane dianhydride (6FDA), and aromatic diamines (2:65-3:10), wherein the polyimides are derived from the dianhydride of formula
(3:52-63), the dianhydride of formula (3:66-67)
(4:1-9), and aromatic diamines of the formula
(4:19-21), which reads on wherein m and n are each independently an integer of 1 or greater and 1 > n/(m+n) > 0, preferably 0.5 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.1.
Griffin does not teach with sufficient specificity that m and n are each independently an integer from 50 to 1000, and/or, 0.95 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.5, preferably 0.9 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.6. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Griffin’s m in Griffin’s structural units of the formula
to be a number greater than or equal to 0.50 and less than or equal to 0.95 or to be a number that is 0.50. The proposed modification would read on wherein 0.95 ≥ n/(m+n) ≥ 0.5 or m/(m+n) = 0.5 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success and/or because it would have been beneficial for providing a value of Griffin’s m that is suitable for Griffin’s polyimide because Griffin teaches that the predominant portion of the polymer chain comprises structural units of the formula
where the mole fraction m stands for a number greater than 0 and less than 1, preferably at least between about 0.10 and about 0.50 (6:1-15). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Regarding claim 3, Griffin satisfies the limitation wherein the iptycene-based structure is selected from the group consisting of triptycene-based structures and pentiptycene-based structures, preferably, the iptycene-based structure as Y is formula (Y5) and/or the iptycene-based structures as Z and Z’ are each independently formula (Z2), in formula (Y5), R15 and R16 are each independently H, an optionally substituted C1-C4 alkyl group, or an optionally substituted C6-C10 aryl group, and in formula (Z2), Ra and Rb are reach independently H, a C1-C4 alkyl group or a C1-C4 haloalkyl group as claimed. This is because the iptycene-based structure is not required to be present if Y is any one selected from formula (Y1), if Z and Z’ are each independently selected from an optionally substituted formula (Z1), because Griffin’s teachings read on Y is any one selected from formula (Y1), and because Griffin renders it obvious that Z and Z’ are each independently selected from a formula (Z1) as explained above for claim 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Griffin’s teachings explained above for claim 1 read on wherein X is any one selected from the structure Xc, and, Y is any one selected from the structure Ya, and the proposed modifications explained above for claim 1 read on wherein Z and Z’ are each independently selected from the structure represented by Z1 as claimed, wherein X is Xc, Y is Ya, Z and Z’ are both Z1 as claimed.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (US 5,177,180, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yao et al. (CN 103788651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/14/2026).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Griffin renders obvious the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1 as explained above.
Griffin does not teach a membrane, characterized in that the membrane is made of the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1, wherein said membrane is a separation membrane, preferably a gas separation membrane. However, Yao teaches that polyimide is widely used in separation membranes [0004]. Griffin and Yao are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a polyimide. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a separation membrane comprising Griffin’s polyimide. The proposed modification would read on a membrane, characterized in that the membrane is made of the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1 as claimed, wherein said membrane is a separation membrane, preferably a gas separation membrane as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing an additional utility for Griffin’s polyimide because Griffin teaches polyimides having substantially improved glass transition temperature (2:54-56), and because Yao teaches that due to its excellent mechanical properties, thermal properties, dimensional stability, chemical resistance, radiation resistance, low temperature resistance, and electrical properties, polyimide is widely used in separation membranes [0004].
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (US 5,177,180, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Seiryo (US 5,151,190).
Regarding claims 7-9, Griffin renders obvious the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1 as explained above.
Griffin does not teach a membrane, characterized in that the membrane is made of the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1, wherein said membrane is a separation membrane, preferably a gas separation membrane, wherein the membrane is a hollow fiber membrane, preferably, the hollow fiber membrane includes a support layer and a dense layer attached to the outer surface of the support layer; preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is less than or equal to 1000nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 40-80%; more preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is 100-500nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 50-70%. However, Seiryo teaches a hollow fiber membrane (5:33-34; 11:58-60) made of an aromatic polyimide (5:16-20) and that is a polyimide-type separating membrane (11:58-60). Griffin and Seiryo are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a polyimide. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a hollow fiber membrane that is a polyimide-type separating membrane made of Griffin’s polyimide. The proposed modification would read on a membrane, characterized in that the membrane is made of the polyimide random copolymer according to claim 1 as claimed, wherein said membrane is a separation membrane, preferably a gas separation membrane as claimed, wherein the membrane is a hollow fiber membrane, preferably, the hollow fiber membrane includes a support layer and a dense layer attached to the outer surface of the support layer; preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is less than or equal to 1000nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 40-80%; more preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is 100-500nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 50-70% as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing an additional utility for Griffin’s polyimide because Griffin teaches polyimides having substantially improved glass transition temperature (2:54-56), and because Seiryo teaches a hollow fiber membrane (5:33-34; 11:58-60) made of an aromatic polyimide (5:16-20) and that is a polyimide-type separating membrane (11:58-60).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (CN 103788651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/14/2026) as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Shao et al. (US 2011/0277631 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Yao renders obvious the membrane according to claim 7 as explained above. Yao teaches that polyimide is widely used in separation membranes [0004].
Yao does no teach that the membrane is a hollow fiber membrane, preferably, the hollow fiber membrane includes a support layer and a dense layer attached to the outer surface of the support layer; preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is less than or equal to 1000nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 40-80%; more preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is 100-500nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 50-70%. However, Shao teaches a polyimide hollow fiber membrane [0102, 0103, 0106, 0107, 0137, 0138], wherein the polyimide is optionally derived from 3,3’,4,4’-benzopheonone tetracarboxylic dianhydride [0067] and/or (4,4’-hexafluoroisopropylidene) diphthalic anhydride [0112]. Yao and Shao are analogous art because both references are in the same field of a polyimide copolymer. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a hollow fiber membrane comprising Yao’s polyimide, as suggested by Shao. The proposed modification would read on a hollow fiber membrane, preferably, the hollow fiber membrane includes a support layer and a dense layer attached to the outer surface of the support layer; preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is less than or equal to 1000nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 40-80%; more preferably, the thickness of the dense layer is 100-500nm and the porosity of the hollow fiber membrane is 50-70% as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing an additional utility for Yao’s polyimide because Shao teaches a polyimide hollow fiber membrane [0102, 0103, 0106, 0107, 0137, 0138], wherein the polyimide is optionally derived from 3,3’,4,4’-benzopheonone tetracarboxylic dianhydride [0067] and/or (4,4’-hexafluoroisopropylidene) diphthalic anhydride [0112], and because Yao teaches that due to its excellent mechanical properties, thermal properties, dimensional stability, chemical resistance, radiation resistance, low temperature resistance, and electrical properties, polyimide is widely used in separation membranes [0004], and that polyimide is prepared [0022], wherein the dianhydride monomer is at least one of benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), and bis(trifluoromethyl)tetracarboxylic dianhydride (6FDA) [0017].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, Yao et al. (CN 103788651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/14/2026) renders obvious the membrane according to claim 7 as explained above.
Yao does not teach a system for purifying helium gas, wherein the system includes a catalytic dehydrogenation separation unit, a polymer membrane separation unit and a palladium membrane separation unit, characterized in that the polymer membrane separation unit includes the membrane according to claim 7. The prior art of record do not teach or suggest a system for purifying helium gas, wherein the system includes a catalytic dehydrogenation separation unit, a polymer membrane separation unit and a palladium membrane separation unit, characterized in that the polymer membrane separation unit includes the membrane according to claim 7.
Regarding claim 7, Griffin et al. (US 5,177,180, cited in IDS) in view of Yao et al. (CN 103788651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/14/2026) or Griffin et al. (US 5,177,180, cited in IDS) in view of Seiryo (US 5,151,190) renders obvious the membrane according to claim 7 as explained above.
Griffin does not teach a system for purifying helium gas, wherein the system includes a catalytic dehydrogenation separation unit, a polymer membrane separation unit and a palladium membrane separation unit, characterized in that the polymer membrane separation unit includes the membrane according to claim 7. The prior art of record do not teach or suggest a system for purifying helium gas, wherein the system includes a catalytic dehydrogenation separation unit, a polymer membrane separation unit and a palladium membrane separation unit, characterized in that the polymer membrane separation unit includes the membrane according to claim 7.
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767