DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments merit additional citations or explanation in view of the prior art already cited and therefore may be considered new grounds for rejection. Applicant’s amendments overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 in view of Fraden, Applicant argues that Fraden’s sensor sits on rigid extension, and any restoring force is provided by extended ribs (element 7) which do not carry a sensor component as claimed.
This is not found persuasive. From Fraden ¶[0043]:
“Extension 3 may be either rigid or somewhat flexible to accommodate variations of the ear canal shapes, while ear plug 1 is acting like a spring conforming its own contour to the ear canal shape and applying pressure on extension 3, pushing it against the ear canal wall.”
Therefore, Fraden teaches a bendable extension, 3, carrying sensors as claimed, which is movable against a restoring force. The restoring force is a material property, and applicant has not claimed any particular material or restoring force and therefore the extension of Frader, which is “somewhat” flexible and accommodates variations of ear canal shapes meets the claimed requirements.
With respect to claim 24, Applicant further alleges that Fraden does not teach “moving the at least one wing element of the section from a basic position against its restoring force.” However, as for claim 13, this is considered met by the insertion of the “somewhat rigid” extension of Fraden into an ear. Similarly, the rejection for new claim 25 addresses the motion of the extension:
Fraden further teaches wherein the at least one wing element is unbent in the basic position and is at least partially bent when positioned in the external auditory canal (¶[0043] “Extension 3 may be either rigid or somewhat flexible to accommodate variations of the ear canal shapes, while ear plug 1 is acting like a spring conforming its own contour to the ear canal shape and applying pressure on extension 3, pushing it against the ear canal wall.” Therefore, the examiner considers that the “somewhat flexible” extension bends in order to accomplish accommodating the variations of the ear canal shapes and is not bent when not accommodating ear canal shapes).
The remaining remarks are directed to whether Aase teaches these elements which are considered taught by Fraden and are therefore not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-19, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fraden (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0209516) hereinafter referred to as Fraden.
Regarding claim 13, Fraden teaches device for measuring physiological parameters which is insertable into an external auditory canal of a human (¶[0043] plug and extension inserted into ear canal), comprising
a hose line for insertion into the external auditory canal of a human (element 13, channel, see Fig. 3) and
a housing connected to the hose line, into which at least a sensor device for measuring a physiological parameter (Figs. 2-3 housing element 2, Figs. 1-2) is integrated,
the hose line having a section at a distal end facing the eardrum when worn (Fig. 3, lightguide element 17), the section having at least one wing element (Fig. 3, sensor extension element 3) with at least one first sensor component for measuring physiological parameters (¶[0043] PPG sensor, Fig. 4) being positioned on the at least one wing element (Fig. 3, sensor extension element 3 comprising at least one element of PPG sensor, Fig. 4),
wherein the at least one wing element has a restoring force (¶[0043] resilient ear plug has a restoring force, Fig. 2, extended ribs with extension element 3), and is movable from a basic position against the restoring force (¶[0043] extension 3 is “somewhat” flexible, therefore movable against a restoring force dictated by the material properties of the extension and is not as flexible as plug, 1, described in ¶[0042] and ¶[0059] as “pliant, flexible, and resilient”), such that, when the device is introduced into the external auditory canal and the at least one wing element is moved against the restoring force, the at least one first sensor component positioned on the at least one wing element is brought into contact with an inner wall of the external auditory canal by the restoring force of the at least one wing element (¶[0043] “Extension 3 may be either rigid or somewhat flexible to accommodate variations of the ear canal shapes, while ear plug 1 is acting like a spring conforming its own contour to the ear canal shape and applying pressure on extension 3, pushing it against the ear canal wall.”).
when the device is worn, the at least one first sensor component can be brought into contact with an inner wall of the external auditory canal (¶[0043]) by the restoring force of the wing element (¶[0019] compresses both the first temperature sensor and the optical assembly against ear canal walls, ¶[0043]).
Regarding claim 14, Fraden teaches device according to claim 13.
Fraden further teaches wherein the wing element comprises at least one second sensor component (¶[0065] thermal and optical components including 2 LEDs for each wavelength of light, thermistor), so that, when the device is worn, the at least one second sensor component is brought into contact with an inner wall of the external auditory canal by the restoring force the at least one wing element (¶[0019] compresses both the first temperature sensor and the optical assembly against ear canal walls, ¶[0043]).
Regarding claim 15, Fraden teaches device according to claim 13.
Fraden further teaches additionally comprising at least one third sensor component at the distal end of the section (¶[0065] thermal and optical components including 2 LEDs for each wavelength of light, thermistor), wherein, when the device is worn, the at least one third sensor component is stably positioned in the external auditory canal (¶[0019] compresses both the first temperature sensor and the optical assembly against ear canal walls, ¶[0043]).
Regarding claim 16, Fraden teaches device according to claim 13.
Fraden further teaches additionally comprising an elastic umbrella for positioning in the external auditory canal (Fig. 3, extending ribs element 7 form an umbrella), wherein the elastic umbrella is detachably connected to the section (Fig. 2, detachable connection to the remainder of the earpiece).
Regarding claim 17, Fraden teaches the device according to claim 16.
Fraden further teaches wherein the elastic umbrella comprises a recess adapted in size and shape to receive the section therein (Fig. 2, recesses element 8), thereby connecting the elastic umbrella with the section in a detachable manner (Fig. 3 showing assembly).
Regarding claim 18, Fraden teaches device according to claim 16.
Fraden further teaches wherein the elastic umbrella comprises one or more holes (Fig. 13, channel), so that, when the device is worn, the at least one first sensor component is brought into contact with an inner wall of the external auditory canal through the one or more holes (Fig. 3, thermocouple).
Regarding claim 19, Fraden teaches device according to claim 16.
Fraden further teaches wherein the elastic umbrella has one or more depressions with a residual material with a low material thickness (Fig. 3, edge of ribs 7 are lower thickness), so that, when the device is worn, the at least one first sensor component is be brought into measuring connection to an inner wall of the external auditory canal via the residual material of the one or more depressions (Fig. 2, wing element 3 at edge of element 8, in contact with auditory canal).
Regarding claim 23, Fraden teaches device according to claim 13.
Fraden further teaches wherein the at least one wing element essentially consists of an inelastic material (¶[0050] glass or polycarbonate resin) and comprises at least one spring element for providing the restoring force (¶[0047] probe cover element 31 is conforming and therefore provides a restoring force as it resiliently conforms to a contour).
Regarding claim 24, the claim is directed to a method comprising substantially the same subject matter as claim 13 and is rejected under substantially the same sections of Fraden.
Regarding claim 25, Fraden teaches a device according to claim 13.
Fraden further teaches wherein the at least one wing element is unbent in the basic position and is at least partially bent when positioned in the external auditory canal (¶[0043] “Extension 3 may be either rigid or somewhat flexible to accommodate variations of the ear canal shapes, while ear plug 1 is acting like a spring conforming its own contour to the ear canal shape and applying pressure on extension 3, pushing it against the ear canal wall.” Therefore, the examiner considers that the “somewhat flexible” extension bends in order to accomplish accommodating the variations of the ear canal shapes and is not bent when not accommodating ear canal shapes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraden.
Regarding claim 20, Fraden teaches device according to claim 19.
Fraden further teaches the at least one first sensor component is at least one light sensor (¶[0065] thermal and optical components including 2 LEDs for each wavelength of light, thermistor).
Fraden, in another embodiment, further teaches wherein the residual material of the one or more depressions is translucent (¶[0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the first embodiment of Fraden to use a transparent ear plug, as taught in the second embodiment of Fraden, because it simplifies the design and use of the device (Fraden ¶[0054]).
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraden as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Aase et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0230450) hereinafter referred to as Aase.
Regarding claim 21, Fraden teaches device according to claim 13.
Fraden teaches one wing element, the one wing element carrying at least one first sensor component positioned thereon (Fig. 3, sensor extension element 3, ¶[043] PPG sensor, Fig. 4).
Fraden does not teach at least two wing elements.
Attention is drawn to the Aase reference, which teaches at least two wing elements (Fig. 14, clip tip comprises a plurality of flexi-fingers/petals, ¶[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the wing of Fraden to include a plurality of wings, as taught by Aase because Aase teaches that the flexi-fingers act as a securing mechanism ensuring comfortable extended wearing (Aase ¶[0087]).
It’s further obvious to arrive at a combination where the device of Fraden comprises two wing elements, each of which carries at least one first sensor component positioned thereon because courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Applicant discloses no criticality as to the number of wing elements or any particular or unexpected benefit to two or more wing elements. In the present instance, duplicating a part and its sensor would function precisely as expected with one part and one sensor, therefore PHOSITA would have a reasonable expectation of success. In conclusion, such a modification would have been obvious to PHOSITA at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 22, Fraden teaches device according to claim 13.
Fraden does not teach wherein the at least one wing element essentially consists of an elastic material.
Attention is drawn to the Aase reference, which teaches a wing element (Fig. 14, clip tip comprises a plurality of flexi-fingers/petals, ¶[0024]) consisting essentially of an elastic material (¶[0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the wing of Fraden to include the wing consisting essentially of an elastic material, as taught by Aase because Aase teaches that the flexi-fingers act as a securing mechanism ensuring comfortable extended wearing (Aase ¶[0087]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3792