DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Struhsaker as modified by KANG, the applicant states that the prior art does not disclose or suggest independent claims 1 and 9 in their entirety. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains the art rejection.
The Applicant argues that Struhsaker fails to disclose “determining a plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations,” as recited by independent claim 1.The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0015] of the Applicants specification states, “characteristics that are directional in nature (e.g., directional communication characteristics, directional signaling characteristics), such as gain characteristics, noise characteristics, beamwidth characteristics, or other characteristics that vary depending on an orientation of signaling relative to a physical positioning or orientation of the phased array.” Struhsaker discloses, “ By adjusting the relative complex gains of the sub-arrays, an effect equivalent to a virtual antenna pattern is created, and multiple such virtual patterns may be simultaneously formed and measured at the base-band” on [Col.4, ll.15-21]. Struhsaker clarifies on [Col.18, Par.8] that gain is adjusted inorder to steer the phased array. As the complex gains of the sub-arrays are adjusted multiple patterns are formed and the system collects a plurality of directional antenna characteristic data. As set forth in the previous 35 U.S.C. rejection, [Col.30 Par.4] further discloses that one of the measured direction characteristics is signal quality including received signal strength and signal to noise ratio. Struhsaker discloses determining a plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations. The Examiner maintains the art rejection.
The Applicant further argues that Kang fails to disclose” generating a communications performance map based at least in part on the determined signal quality metrics for the plurality of beamformed beam orientations and the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations,” as recited by independent claim 1. In support of this position the Applicant purports on page 11 of their remarks, “the classifications described in Kang are based on a situational measurement that uses different beams, and are not based on ‘[a] determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations.’ Rather, to use the classifications of "a good beam" and "a bad beam" for communication with a particular base station.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Identifying “beam sets” comprising a plurality of “ good” and “bad” beam orientations [0142, Kang] is a processes of generating a communications performance map. Paragraph [0140] of Kang clarifies that each beam classification is determined by measuring a “a channel quality index (CQI) for each beam.” As CQI incudes measuring reception strength for each particular beam and respective direction, it is a directional antenna characteristic. The Examiner maintains that Kang discloses the above limitation and maintains the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 25-26, 28-32 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Struhsaker(US10756443B1) in view of KANG(US20200007209A1).
Regarding claim 1, Struhsaker discloses
A method for communications in a satellite communication system, the method comprising: receiving, at a phased array antenna of an antenna assembly (“the satellite antenna 213A is a flat antenna comprising a plurality of antenna elements 213B that function as a phased antenna array.” [Col.14, ll.11-13]) that includes a positioner coupled between the phased array antenna and a mounting structure (“ a processor of the satellite communication terminal may control the beam direction by physically reorienting the satellite antenna (e.g., actuators)” [Col.30,ll.17-19]), a plurality of signals from a plurality of locations according to a plurality of beamformed beam orientations of the phased array antenna (FIG.1E, Parts. 119,106,120 & 144); determining, based at least in part on receiving the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations, a respective signal quality metric for each of the plurality of beamformed beam orientations (“signal derived estimate of signal quality of a received satellite signal may be used” [Col.30, ll.44-45]); determining a plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations , each of the plurality of directional antenna characteristics corresponding to a respective characteristic of the phased array antenna that depends on a respective orientation of signaling relative to a physical boresight of the phased array antenna (“ The predetermined range may be determined by a minimum signal strength, characteristics of the satellite or satellite antenna” [Col.29, ll.15-17] & “the received signal strength indicator (RSSI), the estimated signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), the bit rate error, the packet error rate, or any other appropriate signal derived estimate of signal quality of a received satellite signal” [Col.29, ll.43-47]);[…] and positioning, using the positioner coupled between the phased array antenna and the mounting structure, (“ a processor of the satellite communication
terminal may control the beam direction by physically reorienting the satellite antenna (e.g., actuators)” [Col.30,ll.17-19])
Struhsaker discloses determining a signal quality metrics and physically orienting the antenna, but does not appear to explicitly disclose generating a communications performance map or explicitly using this map to orient the antenna. KANG discloses generating a communications performance map based at least in part on the determined signal quality metrics for the plurality of beamformed beam orientations and the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations (“at operation 2020, the terminal may determine whether the CQI for each beam is larger (or equal to or larger) than the predetermined threshold value THR” [0140] & FIG.20, parts. 2030 & 2040) the phased array antenna in a physical orientation relative to the mounting structure, that is determined based at least in part on the generated communications performance map (“if the currently used beam is included in the good beam set, the terminal, at operation 2060, may maintain the current state” [0142])
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of a communications performance map used to orient an antenna so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map. KANG discloses the method further comprising, generating, based at least in part on generating the communications performance map, an indication (FIG.20, Parts. 2050 & 2080) for a user to reposition the phased array antenna from a first physical orientation associated with the received plurality of signals to a second physical orientation (“ after operation 2080, the terminal may adjust the direction of the antenna 115 to the optimum beam direction through the mechanical tilt.” [0144]).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of using a communications performance map to generate an indication to reposition an antenna as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker discloses wherein, positioning the phased array antenna comprises: commanding an actuator of the positioner (“ a processor of the satellite communication terminal may control the beam direction by physically reorienting the satellite antenna (e.g., actuators)” [Col.30,ll.17-19]) coupled between the phased array antenna and the mounting structure to reposition the phased array antenna from a first physical orientation associated with the received plurality of signals to a second physical orientation (“ By rotating the satellite communication terminal 210 and adjusting the orientation of the satellite antenna 213A, the beam direction of the satellite antenna 213A may be manually steered within a predetermined angular range of the geostationary satellite” [Col.13, ll.48-52]).
Regarding claim 4, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker discloses wherein, further comprising: determining, at a satellite terminal in communication with the phased array antenna […] the physical orientation of the phased array antenna for the positioning (“any other appropriate signal derived estimate of signal quality of a received satellite signal may be used to calculate the satellite antenna orientation” [Col.29, ll.46-48]).
Struhsaker discloses determining discloses determining antenna orientation using signal quality metrics, but does not appear to explicitly disclose generating a communications performance map or explicitly using this map in the orientation determination. KANG discloses generating a communications performance map ([0140] & FIG.20, parts. 2030 & 2040).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of a communications performance map used to orient an antenna so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 5, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map or a probability distribution of target satellite locations. KANG discloses wherein, determining the physical orientation of the phased array antenna for the positioning (“after operation 2080, the terminal may adjust the direction of the antenna 115 to the optimum beam direction through the mechanical tilt” [0144]) based at least in part on the generated communications performance map and a probability distribution of target satellite locations (“a beam having the best antenna gain or a beam having the best signal reception strength is called a center beam or an optimum beam,” [0043])
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of generating a communications performance map and a probability distribution of target satellite locations so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 6, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map or blockage map. KANG discloses wherein, generating the communications performance map comprises: generating a blockage (“if the CQI is equal to or smaller than the predetermined threshold value, the terminal, at operation 2040, may classify the beam into a bad beam” [0140]) map based at least in part on the determined signal quality metrics for the plurality of beamformed beam orientations and the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations (“terminal may measure a channel quality index (CQI) for each beam” [0138]).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of a communications performance map and blockage map so as to gain the advantage of improving quality of service [0072, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map or blockage map. KANG discloses wherein, aligning the physical boresight of the phased array antenna with an unobstructed portion of the blockage map (“the terminal may adjust the direction of the antenna 115 to the optimum beam direction through the mechanical tilt.” [0144])
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of aligning a physical boresight of the antenna with an unobstructed portion of the blockage map so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map or blockage map. KANG discloses wherein, positioning the phased array antenna comprises: aligning a scan volume (FIG.2, Part.115) of the phased array antenna relative to an unobstructed field of view of the blockage map (“the terminal may adjust the direction of the antenna 115 to the optimum beam direction through the mechanical tilt.” [0144]).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of aligning a scan volume with an unobstructed portion of the blockage map so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9, Struhsaker discloses
An apparatus for communications in a satellite communication system, the apparatus comprising: a phased array antenna (“the satellite antenna 213A is a flat antenna comprising a plurality of antenna elements 213B that function as a phased antenna array.” [Col.14, ll.11-13]); and a controller (“The satellite communication terminal 210 includes a computing device” [Col.25, ll.44-45])configured to: receive a plurality of signals from a plurality of locations at the phased array antenna according to a plurality of beamformed beam orientations of the phased array antenna (FIG.1E, Parts. 119,106,120 & 144); determine, based at least in part on receiving the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations, a respective signal quality metric(“signal derived estimate of signal quality of a received satellite signal may be used” [Col.30, ll.44-45]); determine a plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations, each of the plurality of directional antenna characteristics corresponding to a respective characteristic of the phased array antenna that depends on a respective orientation of signaling relative to a physical boresight of the phased array antenna(“ The predetermined range may be determined by a minimum signal strength, characteristics of the satellite or satellite antenna” [Col.29, ll.15-17] & “the received signal strength indicator (RSSI), the estimated signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), the bit rate error, the packet error rate, or any other appropriate signal derived estimate of signal quality of a received satellite signal” [Col.29, ll.43-47]);
Struhsaker discloses determining a signal quality metrics and physically orienting the antenna, but does not appear to explicitly disclose generating a communications performance map or explicitly using this map to orient the antenna. KANG discloses, generate a communications performance map based at least in part on the determined signal quality metrics for the plurality of beamformed beam orientations and the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations (“at operation 2020, the terminal may determine whether the CQI for each beam is larger (or equal to or larger) than the predetermined threshold value THR” [0140] & FIG.20, parts. 2030 & 2040); and determine a physical orientation for the phased array antenna based at least in part on the generated communications performance map (“if the currently used beam is included in the good beam set, the terminal, at operation 2060, may maintain the current state” [0142])
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of a communications performance map used to orient an antenna so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker discloses the apparatus further comprising, a positioning system coupled between the phased array antenna and a mounting structure operable to position the phased array antenna (“ a processor of the satellite communication terminal may control the beam direction by physically reorienting the satellite antenna (e.g., actuators)” [Col.30,ll.17-19])
Struhsaker discloses a positioning system, but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the determined physical orientation is based in part on a communications performance map. KANG discloses the determination of physical orientation [0144].
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of aligning the phased array antenna with the determined physical orientation so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 11, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 10. Struhsaker discloses the apparatus further comprising, the controller is configured to: command an actuator of the positioning system to align the phased array antenna (“ a processor of the satellite communication terminal may control the beam direction by physically reorienting the satellite antenna (e.g., actuators)” [Col.30,ll.17-19])
Struhsaker discloses a positioning system including an actuator, but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the determined physical orientation is based in part on a communications performance map. KANG discloses the determination of physical orientation [0144].
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of aligning the phased array antenna with the determined physical orientation so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map. KANG discloses the apparatus wherein, the controller is configured to: generate, based at least in part on generating the communications performance map, an indication (FIG.20, Parts. 2050 & 2080) for a user to reposition the phased array antenna from a first physical orientation associated with the received plurality of signals to a second physical orientation (“ after operation 2080, the terminal may adjust the direction of the antenna 115 to the optimum beam direction through the mechanical tilt.” [0144]).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of using a communications performance map to generate an indication to reposition an antenna as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map or a probability distribution of target satellite locations. KANG discloses wherein, the controller is configured to: determine the physical orientation for the phased array antenna (“after operation 2080, the terminal may adjust the direction of the antenna 115 to the optimum beam direction through the mechanical tilt” [0144]) at least in part on the generated communications performance map and a probability distribution of target satellite locations (“a beam having the best antenna gain or a beam having the best signal reception strength is called a center beam or an optimum beam,” [0043])
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of generating a communications performance map and a probability distribution of target satellite locations so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 14, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map or blockage map. KANG discloses wherein, to generate the communications performance map, the controller is configured to: generate a blockage map (“if the CQI is equal to or smaller than the predetermined threshold value, the terminal, at operation 2040, may classify the beam into a bad beam” [0140])based at least in part on the determined signal quality metrics for the plurality of beamformed beam orientations and the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations(“terminal may measure a channel quality index (CQI) for each beam” [0138]).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of a communications performance map and blockage map so as to gain the advantage of improving quality of service [0072, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 15, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 14. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map or blockage map. KANG discloses wherein, to position the phased array antenna, the controller is configured to: align the physical boresight of the phased array antenna with an unobstructed portion of the blockage map (“the terminal may adjust the direction of the antenna 115 to the optimum beam direction through the mechanical tilt.” [0144])
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of aligning a physical boresight of the antenna with an unobstructed portion of the blockage map so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 16, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 14. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map or blockage map. KANG discloses wherein, to position the phased array antenna, the controller is configured to: align a scan volume (FIG.2, Part.115) of the phased array antenna relative to an unobstructed field of view of the blockage map(“the terminal may adjust the direction of the antenna 115 to the optimum beam direction through the mechanical tilt.” [0144]).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of aligning a scan volume with an unobstructed portion of the blockage map so as to gain the advantage of improving signal quality [0053, Kang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 25, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker discloses wherein, each of the plurality of directional antenna characteristics comprises an antenna attenuation characteristic of the phased array antenna (“received signal strength indication (RSSI)” [Col.9, l.13]), an antenna gain characteristic of the phased array antenna (“ a complex gain” [Col.20, l.19]) an antenna noise characteristic of the phased array antenna (“estimated signal-to-noise ratio (SNR)” [Col.29, l.44-45]), or an antenna beamwidth characteristic of the phased array antenna (“a radiation pattern inherent to the physical components of the antenna (e.g., size, distribution, or phase offset of one or more antenna elements 213B)” [Col.13, ll.43-45]) or a combination thereof that depends on the respective orientation of signaling relative to the physical boresight of the phased array antenna (“The predetermined range may be determined by a minimum signal strength, characteristics of the satellite or satellite antenna, or relative position of the satellite communication terminal, but is not limited to these factors” [Col.29, ll.15-19])
Regarding claim 26, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map. KANG discloses wherein, generating the communications performance map comprises: scaling, for each beamformed beam orientation of the plurality (“the terminal may determine whether the CQI for each beam is larger (or equal to or larger) than the predetermined threshold value THR” [0140]), the signal quality metric for the beamformed beam orientation based at least in part on the directional antenna characteristic of the phased array antenna associated with the beamformed beam orientation (“at operation 2010, may measure the reception strength for each beam. For example, the terminal may measure a channel quality index (CQI) for each beam” [0138]).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of scaling the signal quality metric for the beamformed beam orientation based at least in part on the directional antenna characteristic of the phased array antenna so as to gain the advantage of reducing computational complexity. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 28, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker discloses wherein, receiving the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations comprises: receiving the plurality of signals in a frequency band that is not used for communication via the phased array antenna (“when a low battery level is detected, the communication frequency may be reduced” [Col.12, ll.66-67]).
Regarding claim 29, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker discloses wherein, receiving the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations comprises: receiving transmissions by one or more transmitting devices from the plurality of locations (FIG.1E, Parts, 128, 130 & 144)
Regarding claim 30, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker discloses wherein, receiving the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations comprises: receiving a plurality of transmissions from a non-stationary device (FIG.1E, Parts117).
Regarding claim 31, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker discloses wherein, each of the plurality of directional antenna characteristics comprises an antenna attenuation characteristic of the phased array antenna (“received signal strength indication (RSSI)” [Col.9, l.13]), an antenna gain characteristic of the phased array antenna (“ a complex gain” [Col.20, l.19]), an antenna noise characteristic of the phased array antenna (“estimated signal-to-noise ratio (SNR)” [Col.29, l.44-45]), or an antenna beamwidth characteristic of the phased array antenna (“a radiation pattern inherent to the physical components of the antenna (e.g., size, distribution, or phase offset of one or more antenna elements 213B)” [Col.13, ll.43-45]), or a combination thereof that depends on the respective orientation of the signaling relative to the physical boresight of the phased array antenna (“The predetermined range may be determined by a minimum signal strength, characteristics of the satellite or satellite antenna, or relative position of the satellite communication terminal, but is not limited to these factors” [Col.29, ll.15-19]).
Regarding claim 32, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly disclose a communications performance map. KANG discloses wherein, to generate the communications performance map, the controller configured to: scaling, for each beamformed beam orientation of the plurality (“the terminal may determine whether the CQI for each beam is larger (or equal to or larger) than the predetermined threshold value THR” [0140]), the signal quality metric for the beamformed beam orientation based at least in part on the directional antenna characteristic of the phased array antenna associated with the beamformed beam orientation (“at operation 2010, may measure the reception strength for each beam. For example, the terminal may measure a channel quality index (CQI) for each beam” [0138]).
KANG teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker with the teachings of KANG to incorporate the features of scaling the signal quality metric for the beamformed beam orientation based at least in part on the directional antenna characteristic of the phased array antenna so as to gain the advantage of reducing computational complexity. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 34, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker discloses wherein, to receive the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations, the controller is configured to: receive the plurality of signals in a frequency band that is not used for communication via the phased array antenna (“when a low battery level is detected, the communication frequency may be reduced” [Col.12, ll.66-67]).
Regarding claim 35, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker discloses wherein, to receive the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations, the controller is configured to: receive transmissions by one or more transmitting devices from the plurality of locations (FIG.1E, Parts, 128, 130 & 144).
Regarding claim 36, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker discloses wherein, to receive the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations, the controller is configured to: receive a plurality of transmissions from a non-stationary device (FIG.1E, Parts117).
Claims 27 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Struhsaker(US10756443B1) as modified by KANG(US20200007209A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Miller(US20170288769A1).
Regarding claim 27, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Struhsaker discloses the method further comprising, transmitting a plurality of second signals from the phased array antenna (“ In step 662, steps 652-660 continue in a recursive/iterative manner, each time continuing from the point found in the earlier round and generating a null at its location” [Col.26, ll.31-34])
Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly receiving a reflection of the transmitted signal at the phased array antenna. Miller discloses wherein, receiving the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations at the phased array antenna is based at least in part on receiving reflections of the plurality of second signals (“the reflector may be configured to reflect the signals transmitted between the feed array assembly and one or more target devices (e.g., user terminals and/or access node terminals)” [0020] & FIG.1A, parts 172 & 121)
Miller teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker as modified by KANG with the teachings of Miller to incorporate the features of receiving reflections of transmitted signals at the phased array antenna so as to gain the advantage of increasing the versatility of the communications satellites [0021, Miller].Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 33, Struhsaker as modified by KANG discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Struhsaker discloses the wherein, the controller is further configured to: transmit a plurality of second signals from the phased array antenna (“ In step 662, steps 652-660 continue in a recursive/iterative manner, each time continuing from the point found in the earlier round and generating a null at its location” [Col.26, ll.31-34])
Struhsaker does not appear to explicitly receiving a reflection of the transmitted signal at the phased array antenna. Miller discloses wherein receive the plurality of signals from the plurality of locations at the phased array antenna based at least in part on receiving reflections of the plurality of second signals(“the reflector may be configured to reflect the signals transmitted between the feed array assembly and one or more target devices (e.g., user terminals and/or access node terminals)” [0020] & FIG.1A, parts 172 & 121)
Miller teaches in the same field of endeavor of satellite communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Struhsaker as modified by KANG with the teachings of Miller to incorporate the features of receiving reflections of transmitted signals at the phased array antenna so as to gain the advantage of increasing the versatility of the communications satellites [0021, Miller].Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s Disclosure.
YU(US20200077285A1) is considered analogous art to the instant application as it discloses in [0048] “the user device 504 measures a signal quality of the wireless transmission”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646