Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 1/14/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 have been amended. Claim 16 is new. Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejections claim 15.
In light of amendment and argument the Examiner withdraws VANDECRUYS alone for anticipation or as a primary reference. VANDERCRUYS alone appears to show that the 2D perforations on one side is the same distribution as the second side (one to one).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 2,456,502A HALLIDAY et al., hereinafter HALLIDAY.
As for claims 1-6, HALLIDAY discloses a fiber (pulp) shaping tool [abstract]. The tool has a first curved surface comprising a first plurality of 2D perforations (48) and a second curved surface comprising a second plurality of 2D perforations (28) [Figure 7]. HALLIDAY discloses a flow structure defining a plurality of 3D perforations interconnecting the first (48) and second (28) 2D perforations such that fluid can flow therethrough [Figure 7]. The first plurality of 2D perforations (48) are greater in number and smaller in sized as compared to the second plurality of 2D perforations (28). The fiber molding tool of HALLIDAY has branched pathways within the lattice infill wherein multiple 2D perforations of the first plurality converge to a single 2D perforation of the second plurality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2,456,502A HALLIDAY et al., in view of WO 2018/237279A VANDECRUYS, hereinafter VANDECRUYS.
Nota bene: the ‘279 reference repeats some paragraph numbers. For the paragraph numbers that repeat the Examiner includes page numbers.
As for claim 7, HALLIDAY discloses a fiber (pulp) shaping tool [abstract]. The tool has a first curved surface comprising a first plurality of 2D perforations (48) and a second curved surface comprising a second plurality of 2D perforations (28) [Figure 7]. HALLIDAY discloses a flow structure defining a plurality of 3D perforations interconnecting the first (48) and second (28) 2D perforations such that fluid can flow therethrough [Figure 7]. The first plurality of 2D perforations (48) are greater in number and smaller in sized as compared to the second plurality of 2D perforations (28). The fiber molding tool of HALLIDAY has branched pathways within the lattice infill wherein multiple 2D perforations of the first plurality converge to a single 2D perforation of the second plurality.
HALLIDAY discloses that the tool can be made by additive manufacturing [abstract] and that it may be computer controlled [pg. 7 lines 18-32 and pg. 8 lines 7-10].
While disclosing computer control HALLIDAY does not disclose accessing a digital model and using the digital model to control the additive manufacture process by a processor.
VANDECRUYS discloses a method, comprising: accessing, with a processor, a digital model of a fiber molding tool to be fabricated, determining, with the processor [0048, 0095, Figure 1], a distribution of a first plurality of perforations on a first surface of the fiber molding tool, determining, with the processor, a distribution of a second plurality of perforations on a second surf ace of the fiber molding tool, wherein the distribution of the second plurality of perforations on the second surface is independent of the distribution of the first plurality of perforations on the first surface [p.2-3 par. 0006-0008], defining, with the processor, a flow structure extending between the first plurality of perforations and the second plurality of perforations through a thickness of the fiber molding tool such that a fluid is to flow from the first plurality of perforations through the flow structure to the second plurality of perforations [p.3 par. 0010], and modifying, with the processor [0095, 0099], the digital model [0104] of the fiber molding tool to include the first plurality of perforations, the second plurality of perforations and the flow structure [0070-0071];
At the time of the invention it would be obvious to combine the known structure of HALLIDAY with the additive manufacture process/apparatus of VANDECRUYS. It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The structural mold of HALLIDAY performs the same function when the additive process of VANDECRUYS is used to make it. In the instant case the person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as HALLIDY states an additive manufacturing process controlled by a computer can be used.
As for claim 8, VANDECRUYS discloses determining, with the processor [0095, 0099], the placement and size of the second plurality of perforations comprising extending a lattice structure from the first plurality of perforations towards the second surface, wherein passages in the lattice structure are sized and positioned to align with the first plurality of perforations, and modifying, with the processor, the digital model [0104] to include the lattice structure [p. 6-7 par. 0029].
As for claim 9, VANDECRUYS discloses a flow structure comprising intersection of a lattice volume with the digital model [0104] of the fiber molding tool [p.6-7 par. 0029].
As for claim 10, VANDECRUYS discloses defining, with the processor [0095], a flow structure extending between the first plurality of perforations and the second plurality of perforations comprising defining, for each perforation of the first plurality of perforations, a shortest path to the second surface of the fiber molding tool [pg. 3 par. 0010, 0095-0096, Figure 1].
As for claim 11, VANDECRUYS discloses defining, with the processor, a flow structure extending between the first plurality of perforations and the second plurality of perforations, comprising defining branched pathways between the first plurality of perforations and the second plurality of perforations [p. 10-11 par. 0024, 0095-0096].
As for claim 12, VANDECRUYS discloses generating, with the processor [0095], an additive manufacturing file for the fiber molding tool with the flow structure merged with the digital model [0104] of the fiber molding tool, and additively manufacturing the fiber molding tool to be fabricated with the exterior surface protrusions and flow structure [p.8-9 par. 0017, 0018, 0095-0096].
As for claim 13, VANDECRUYS discloses the distribution of the plurality of protrusions that are determined based of a thickness of the fiber molding tool [0073, 0075].
As for claim 14 and 16, HALLIDAY discloses a fiber (pulp) shaping tool [abstract]. The tool has a first curved surface comprising a first plurality of 2D perforations (48) and a second curved surface comprising a second plurality of 2D perforations (28) [Figure 7]. HALLIDAY discloses a flow structure defining a plurality of 3D perforations interconnecting the first (48) and second (28) 2D perforations such that fluid can flow therethrough [Figure 7]. The first plurality of 2D perforations (48) are greater in number and smaller in sized as compared to the second plurality of 2D perforations (28). The fiber molding tool of HALLIDAY has branched pathways within the lattice infill wherein multiple 2D perforations of the first plurality converge to a single 2D perforation of the second plurality.
HALLIDAY discloses that the tool can be made by additive manufacturing [abstract] and that it may be computer controlled [pg. 7 lines 18-32 and pg. 8 lines 7-010]
While disclosing computer control HALLIDAY does not disclose accessing a digital model and storing instructions to run the additive process on a non-transitory medium.
VANDECRUYS discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium [0100] encoded with instructions executable by a processor, the machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions to, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to access a digital model of a fiber molding tool to be fabricated [0095- 0096], determine a distribution of a first plurality of perforations on a first surface of the fiber molding tool, determine a distribution of a second plurality of perforations on a second surface of the fiber molding tool, wherein a distribution of the second plurality of perforations on the second surf ace are independent of a distribution of the first plurality of perforations on the first surface [p. 2-3 par. [0006- 0008], define a flow structure extending from the first plurality of perforations on the first surface through a thickness of the fiber molding tool such that a fluid is to flow from the first plurality of perforations through the flow structure to the second plurality of perforations [p.3 par. 0010], modify the digital model [0104] of the fiber molding tool to include the first
plurality of perforations, the second plurality of perforations, and the flow structure, and generate an additive manufacturing file for the fiber molding tool with the flow structure merged with the digital model of the fiber molding tool [0095-0096].
At the time of the invention it would be obvious to combine the known structure of HALLIDAY with the additive manufacture process/apparatus of VANDECRUYS. It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The structural mold of HALLIDAY performs the same function when the additive process of VANDECRUYS is used to make it. In the instant case the person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as HALLIDY states an additive manufacturing process controlled by a computer can be used.
As for claim 16, the lattice ribs of HALLIDAY and passageways are thicker towards the second surface [Figure 7].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748