Detailed Action1
America Invents Act Status
Rejections under 35 USC 112
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 5 each state the coating layer has a first coating layer and a second coating layer alternately located in a thickness direction, wherein each of the first and second coating layers have two layers also alternately located in the thickness direction. While Applicant’s originally filed disclosure teaches each of the first and second coating layers have two layers alternately located in the thickness direction, Applicant’s originally filed disclosure does not teach the first and second coating layers also alternately located in the thickness direction (wherein “alternately” is interpreted in line with its standard meaning in the art, and also as used in Applicant’s originally filed disclosure, i.e. the layers are repeatedly positioned/stacked one after the other). Contrarily, Applicant’s originally filed disclosure teaches one first coating layer 23 and one second coating layer 24 on the first coating layer (see e.g. fig. 3 & ¶ [0019] of Applicant’s originally filed specification).
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites a composition of (TixSi100-x)/N. In light of Applicant’s originally filed disclosure it is unclear how the composition can be divided by N. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as: (TixSi100-x)N. This is supported by Applicant’s figure 7 and ¶ [0051] & [0096] of Applicant’s originally filed specification.
Rejections under 35 USC 102
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPub No. 2021/0001410 (“Takeshita”).
Regarding claim 6, Takeshita discloses a coated tool (¶ [0001]), comprising: a base body (12) (fig. 1, ¶ [0099] & [0101]), and a coating layer (11) located on the base body (fig. 1, ¶ [0099]), wherein the coating layer comprises crystals having a cubic structure (¶ [0074] & [0114]), the coating layer has a striped structure in cross-sectional observation by a transmission electron microscope (fig. 1, ¶ [0117]-[0118] & [0140]-[0141], wherein given the thicknesses of the layers the striped structure formed by the layers will be noticeable by a transmission electron microscope), the striped structure of the coating layer comprises two layers which have a composition of (TixSi100-x)N, are different from each other in terms of content x of Ti, and contain crystals having the cubic structure (¶ [0146], [0152] & [0159]; see also Table 3 on page 16).
Claim 6 also recites when a lattice constant of a crystal having the cubic structure in one layer of the two layers is referred to as a first lattice constant and a lattice constant of a crystal having the cubic structure in the other layer of the two layers is referred to as a second lattice constant, a difference between a magnitude of the first lattice constant and a magnitude of the second lattice constant is greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 0.1%. This is either inherent and/or one of skill in the art would reasonably infer this limitation to be met.
With respect to inherency, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01).
In this case, each of Takeshita and Applicant's invention teach producing coating layers via a physical vapor deposition process such as an ion plating method or sputter method (see ¶ [0077]-[0079] of Takeshita; see ¶ [0045] & [0065] of Applicant's originally filed specification), wherein the coating layers have a cubic crystal structure and have the composition (TixSi100-x)N. In addition, each of the two layers are formed from the same elements with a small difference in the ratio of the number of atoms, e.g. 5 atom % difference (see ¶ [0159] of Takeshita; see ¶ [0033]-[0041], [0061] & [0095]-[0096] of Applicant's originally filed specification). Given the substantial similarity of the structure of the coating and the method to apply the layers, the lattice constant limitation is inherent.
Assuming arguendo that the lattice constant limitation is not inherent, one of skill in the art would reasonably infer that Takeshita teaches the lattice constant limitation due to the structure of the two layers, the method of applying the two layers, and the minor structural differences between the two layers (see MPEP 2144.01). Takeshita also teaches that the crystal lattice can be continuous between the C and D layers due to the similarity of the layers (see ¶ [0160]).
Rejections under 35 USC 1032
In the alternative, claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshita in view of USPGPub No. 2018/0281078 (“Hirano”).
Regarding claim 6, as detailed in the 102 rejection above, Takeshita teaches all the limitations. Assuming arguendo that Takeshita fails to teach when a lattice constant of a crystal having the cubic structure in one layer of the two layers is referred to as a first lattice constant and a lattice constant of a crystal having the cubic structure in the other layer of the two layers is referred to as a second lattice constant, a difference between a magnitude of the first lattice constant and a magnitude of the second lattice constant is greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 0.1%, this would be obvious in view of Hirano.
Hirano is also directed to a coated cutting tool have a coating with two alternating layers, and wherein the two layers contain the same elements with different atom %’s, wherein the elements include Ti and Si (fig. fig. 1, ¶ [0001], [0036] & [0038]). The atom % difference between Ti and Si can be less than .05 (¶ [0033] & [0036]-[0037]; see also Tables 1-2 on page 8). This structure allows for the suppression of peeling-off of the layers since there is greater adhesion, therefore the fracture resistance of the coated cutting tool is improved (¶ [0034]).
In this case, each of Takeshita and Hirano are directed to a coated tool having a coating that includes two layers alternately stacked on each other, wherein the two layers comprise the same elements (both comprising Ti and Si) with a small difference in the atom % of each element. While Takeshita teaches the atom % difference is >= .05 (see ¶ [0159]), Hirano teaches that it is known and predictable for the atom % difference to be less than .05, and that this can improve fracture resistance and suppress peeling-off of the layers as detailed above. Thus, it would be obvious to modify Takeshita so that the atom % difference between Ti and Si in the two alternating layers is less than .05.
Given the above modification, the limitation at issue is either inherent and/or one of skill in the art would reasonably infer this limitation to be met.
With respect to inherency, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01).
In this case, each of Takeshita and Applicant's invention teach producing coating layers via a physical vapor deposition process such as an ion plating method or sputter method (see ¶ [0077]-[0079] of Takeshita; see ¶ [0045] & [0065] of Applicant's originally filed specification), wherein the coating layers have a cubic crystal structure and have the composition (TixSi100-x)N. In addition, each of the two layers are formed from the same elements with a small difference in the ratio of the number of atoms, e.g. less than 5 atom % difference. Given the substantial similarity of the structure of the coating and the method to apply the layers, the lattice constant limitation is inherent.
Assuming arguendo that the lattice constant limitation is not inherent, one of skill in the art would reasonably infer that Takeshita teaches the lattice constant limitation due to the structure of the two layers, the method of applying the two layers, and the minor structural differences between the two layers (see MPEP 2144.01). Takeshita also teaches that the crystal lattice can be continuous between the C and D layers due to the similarity of the layers (see ¶ [0160]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 16, 2026 (“the remarks”) have been fully considered. The examiner agrees that the previous prior art rejections no longer teach claims 1 and 5, thus the previous prior art rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE A COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726
1 The following conventions are used in this office action. All direct quotations from claims are presented in italics. All information within non-italicized parentheses and presented with claim language are from or refer to the cited prior art reference unless explicitly stated otherwise.
2 In 103 rejections, when the primary reference is followed by “et al.”, “et al.” refers to the secondary references. For example, if Jones was modified by Smith and Johnson, subsequent recitations of “Jones et al.” mean “Jones in view of Smith and Johnson”.
3 Hereafter all uses of the word “obvious” should be construed to mean “obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.”