DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the limitations “a movable cavity” as recited in claim 1 line 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Aquilonius (US 2011/0295416 A1).
Referring to claim 1. Aquilonius discloses a pill dispenser assembly (10; Figure 2) comprising:
a dispenser portion (bottom portion of 12) comprising a dispensing cavity (cavity space in bottom potion 12 which accepts the dispensing chamber portion 72 extending into the bottom portion of 12; Figures 12A and 12B), a movable cavity (72) configured to move a medication pill into the dispensing cavity (cavity space in bottom potion 12 to accept 72),
a processor (controller; Para. [0047]), and non-transitory computer readable memory (memory; the dosing and dispensing device includes a memory to store times of dosing and dose sizes provided and thereby maintain an electronic log function; Para. [0043]) in communication with the processor; and
a cartridge (14; Figure 2) comprising a shell portion (exterior wall portion of 14) and an angled barrier (see angled bottom wall of 14; Figure 2) extending within the shell portion (into 14; Figure 2), wherein the shell portion (exterior wall portion of 14) and the angled barrier (see angled bottom wall of 14; Figure 2) bound a primary cavity of the cartridge (interior of 14) that is sized to receive a plurality of medication pills (2; Figure 1),
wherein the cartridge (14; Figure 2) is configured to couple to the dispenser portion (bottom portion of 12), and
wherein the cartridge (14; Figure 2) is configured to secure the plurality of medication pills (2; Figure 1) from removal (member 72 is locked within 76; Figure 12A) from the primary cavity (pill storage cavity) when the cartridge (14; Figure 2) is decoupled from the dispenser portion (bottom portion of 12).
Referring to claim 2. Aquilonius discloses a pill dispenser assembly (10; Figure 2) comprising:
wherein the non-transitory computer readable memory (memory; the dosing and dispensing device includes a memory to store times of dosing and dose sizes provided and thereby maintain an electronic log function; Para. [0043]) includes instructions thereon, such that when the cartridge (14; Figure 2) is coupled to the dispenser portion (bottom portion of 12) and the instructions are executed by the processor (permits the controller to be pre-programmed to function in a number of predetermined modes of operation; Para. [0047]), the instructions cause (includes a programmable controller to prompt a user to dispense units of medicine 16; Para. [0117]) the pill dispenser assembly (10; Figure 2) to:
authenticate a user of the pill dispenser assembly (housing 12 prompts the user to enter a code into the dosing and dispensing device 10 via a data input device; Para. [0120]), and actuate (dispense pills), at least in part in response to authentication of the user, the dispenser portion (bottom portion of 12) to move the movable cavity and dispense the medication pill into the dispensing cavity such that the medication pill is removable from the pill dispenser assembly (initiate a dispense cycle of the dispenser).
Referring to claim 3. Aquilonius discloses a pill dispenser assembly (10; Figure 2) comprising:
wherein the instructions further comprise prescription information of the user, and wherein the processor is configured to actuate the dispenser portion to dispense the medication pill based at least in part on the prescription information (the dosing and dispensing device includes a memory to store times of dosing and dose sizes provided and thereby maintain an electronic log function. This in turn can be used to monitor dosage compliance. In such embodiments the dosing and dispensing device may not necessarily require the provision of an input device; Para. [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4,5,14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aquilonius (US 2011/0295416 A1) in view of Stachler (US 2017/0231870 A1).
Referring to claims 4, 14-17 and 20. Aquilonius discloses a pill dispenser assembly (10; Figure 2) comprising:
wherein the dispenser portion (bottom portion of 12) further comprises communication circuitry configured to communicate to an external computing device external to the pill dispenser assembly (This information provides an electronic log, which may be accessed by connecting the dosing and dispensing device 10 to a computer, and provides a means for monitoring dosage compliance; Para. [0134]).
Aquilonius does not disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to receive the prescription information from the external computing device.
Stachler discloses a medication dispensing device (1; Figure 1) wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to receive the prescription information from the external computing device (The use of the inventive device 1 also allows medical professionals to make changes to the patient's prescription. If the medical professional wishes to change the patient's prescription, including changing the amount of medication or the timing of the dosages, the medical professional may simply log into the cloud 300 access the patient's prescription information and make a change to the prescription. The device 1 may then retrieve the new prescription information from the cloud 300 and update the prescription information stored in the memory 225 changing the prescription. The medical professional may also be able to remotely access the device 1 and make any desired prescription changes; Para. [0068]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Aquilonius to include the processor receiving prescription information from the external computing device as taught by Stachler because the medication prescription can be updated by medical professionals when desired thus improving medication consumption adherence and monitoring of user condition.
Referring to claim 5. Stachler discloses a medication dispensing device (1; Figure 1) wherein the dispenser portion further comprises a biometric sensor (biometric sensor 200), and wherein the dispenser portion is configured to actuate to dispense the medication pill in response to an authentication signal provided from the biometric sensor (If the patient desires to take the medication, the patient or authorized caregiver simply places a finger on the biometric sensor 200, if the scanned fingerprint of the individual attempting to access the medication matches the fingerprint stored in the memory 225; Para. [0062]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aquilonius (US 2011/0295416 A1) in view of Stachler (US 2017/0231870 A1) and further in view of Dimartino (WO 2013/040075).
Referring to claim 9. Aquilonius in view of Stachler do not disclose wherein the dispenser portion further comprises a rechargeable battery and inductive charger.
Dimartino discloses drug dispenser (100) wherein the dispenser portion further comprises a rechargeable battery and inductive charger (rechargeable battery; Para. [0076] and inductive battery charger; Para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Aquilonius in view of Stachler to include the dispenser portion further comprises a rechargeable battery and inductive charger as taught by Dimartino because a rechargeable battery and inductive charger can effectively charge the battery when connected.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aquilonius (US 2011/0295416 A1) in view of Zonana (US 2013/0200033 A1).
Referring to claims 10 and 11. Aquilonius does not disclose wherein the dispenser portion further comprises a status indicator configured to provide a visual indication of a status of the pill dispenser assembly.
Zonana discloses a tablet dispenser (Figure 1) wherein the dispenser portion (1) further comprises a status indicator configured to provide a visual indication of a status of the pill dispenser assembly (device 100 can incorporate visual and/or audio indicators/reminders to alert the user as to the status of the device 100 and in particular, whether it is the appropriate time to dispense a pill. For example, a portion of the base 150 and/or the base portion 525 can be formed of a transparent or semi-transparent material and the device 100 can include one or more lights (e.g., LED) that are activated to illuminate and be visible through at least one of the base 150; Para. [0110]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Aquilonius to include the dispenser portion further comprises a status indicator configured to provide a visual indication of a status of the pill dispenser assembly as taught by Zonana because a status indicator comprising a color light indicator would make determining the status of the dispenser easier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651