DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
Claims 1–6 and 17–20 are being treated on their merits.
Claims 7–16 are withdrawn from consideration.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0291079 A1.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7–16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected electrical storage device, heat transfer material, and packaging, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09 September 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 09 September 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different class/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries) and the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification. A different field of search and different classifications demonstrate a serious burden. Further, the application is a national stage application submitted under 35 U.S.C. 371 and is subject to the principles of unity of invention. The principles of unity of invention do not require that a serious burden be present. See MPEP 1893.03(d). A lack of unity of invention was demonstrated in view of Yoo (US 2018/0047954 A1).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The view numbers of FIGS. 1, 2, and 4–6 are not larger than the letters, numbers, and reference characters used in the drawing. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIG. 7 are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: 30A (e.g., [0050], [0037]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: HEAT TRANSFER MATERIAL INCLUDING METAL-CONTAINING HEAT TRANSFER LAYER, PACKAGING AND POWER STORAGE DEVICE INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 30A is referred to as a second surface in paragraph [0050]. Reference character 32A is used to designate a second surface; and reference character 30A is not in the drawings. Reference character 32A should be used to designate a second surface in paragraph [0050].
Reference character 30A is referred to as a fourth surface in paragraph [0067]. Reference character 34A is used to designate a fourth surface; and reference character 30A is not in the drawings. Reference character 34A should be used to designate a fourth surface in paragraph [0067].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 17–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " a second surface having an area larger than that of the first surface." It is unclear what the term "that" is referring to.
Claims 17–20 are directly dependent from claim 2 and include all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claims 17–20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–6 and 17–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaguchi et al. (US 2013/0130087 A1, hereinafter Kawaguchi).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses an electrical storage device (40, [0060]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (10, [0028]);
an outer packaging (14) including an exterior film (14) that seals the electrode assembly (10, [0029]); and
wherein the exterior film (14) includes at least a base material layer, an exterior barrier layer, and a heat-sealable resin layer (FIG. 1B, [0048]),
the exterior barrier layer is formed of a material containing a metal (FIG. 1B, [0048]),
a heat transfer material (21, 22b) attached to at least a part of a surface of the outer packaging (14, [0052]),
wherein the heat transfer material (21, 22b) includes a heat transfer layer (21) formed of a material containing a metal (FIG. 4, [0054]), and
a thickness of the heat transfer layer (21, [0054]) is equal to or larger than a thickness of the exterior barrier layer (FIG. 1B, [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Kawaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrical storage device:
wherein the outer packaging (14) includes a first surface, and a second surface having an area larger than that of the first surface (FIG. 1B, [0027]), and
the heat transfer material (21, 22b) is attached to at least the second surface (FIG. 4, [0060]).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Kawaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrical storage device:
wherein the heat transfer material (21, 22b) is formed in a cover shape (FIG. 4, [0060]).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Kawaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrical storage device:
wherein the outer packaging (14) includes a cooling surface cooled by a cooling mechanism (FIG. 4, [0060]), and
the heat transfer material (21, 22b) is attached to at least a part of a portion of a surface of the outer packaging (14) other than the cooling surface so as to expose the cooling surface (FIG. 4, [0060]).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Kawaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrical storage device:
wherein the thickness of the exterior barrier layer is 100 μm or less (FIG. 1B, [0048]).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Kawaguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrical storage device:
wherein the heat transfer material (21, 22b) includes a base material layer (22b) laminated on the heat transfer layer (21, [0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inagaki (US 2002/0061436 A1) discloses an electrical storage device (2, [0060]) comprising an electrode assembly (10, [0063]); an outer packaging (11) including an exterior film (11) that seals the electrode assembly (10, [0063]); and wherein the exterior film (11) includes at least a base material layer, an exterior barrier layer, and a heat-sealable resin layer (FIG. 3, [0101]), the exterior barrier layer is formed of a material containing a metal (FIG. 3, [0101]), a heat transfer material (6) attached to at least a part of a surface of the outer packaging (11, [0062]), wherein the heat transfer material (6) includes a heat transfer layer (6) formed of a material containing a metal (FIG. 2, [0066]), and a thickness of the heat transfer layer (6, [0067]) is equal to or larger than a thickness of the exterior barrier layer (FIG. 3, [0103]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725