DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “each primary beam is axially and radially offset from each respective secondary beam” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Applicant’s specification teaches: “a secondary beam 41B circumferentially offset towards the outside and axially offset towards the front with respect to the primary beam 41A.” (page 9 of the specification). This disclosure does not teach the secondary beam radially offset from the primary beam as claimed; it teaches the secondary beam circumferentially offset from the primary beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The original disclosure fails to teach “each primary beam is axially and radially offset from each respective secondary beam” (claims 1, 10). Applicant’s specification teaches: “a secondary beam 41B circumferentially offset towards the outside and axially offset towards the front with respect to the primary beam 41A.” (page 9 of the specification). This disclosure does not teach the secondary beam radially offset from the primary beam as claimed; it teaches the secondary beam circumferentially offset from the primary beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0109644 (Pretty) in view of US 2016/0025039 (Boileau), US 2020/0277916 (Caruel), US 4442987 (Legrand), and GB2570913 (Mitchell).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, Pretty teaches a propulsion unit for an aircraft (Fig 1A, para 31), comprising a mast (mast/pylon 110); an internal fairing (Fig 3; 137), an external fairing (141) and a lateral fairing (242), the internal fairing delimiting radially inwards a flow conduit of a secondary flow (para 33-34; bypass flowpath is the flow conduit), the external fairing delimiting the conduit radially outwards (Fig 3, para 33-34), the lateral fairing extending on either side of the mast so as to delimit two circumferential ends of the conduit (para 33-37, Fig 3; only one side shown but the other side of the mast comprises the same arrangement, including the lateral fairing; the bypass flowpath extends around the circumference of the engine, and therefore the lateral fairing delimits the circumferential ends); a thrust reverser that comprises a structure able to move between an advanced position, making it possible to direct the secondary flow towards the rear of the propulsion unit in order to generate a thrust, and a retracted position, making it possible to redirect part of the secondary flow towards the front of the propulsion unit in order to generate a counter-thrust (para 33-37; thrust reverser structure comprising 130, 136, 138, 141); a support structure connected to the mast and being intended to be connected to a turbine engine of the propulsion unit so as to be able to follow the movements of the turbine engine with respect to the mast (para 31-37; support structure 135 is connected to the turbine engine and therefore follows the movements of the turbine engine); and wherein the lateral fairing comprises a plurality of panels arranged on either side of the mast and each connected to the mast in a connection defining at least one degree of freedom (Fig 3, para 35-38; lateral fairing is connected to the mast 110 via a pivot hinge to provide access to the engine; there are a plurality of panels – one on either side of the mast), wherein the movable structure of the reverser is supported by the support structure forming a cradle including two longitudinal members extending respectively on either side of the mast, each of the two longitudinal members being fixed to the mast, and forming respectively two primary beams that comprise respectively means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser (135 is construed as a “cradle” which includes two longitudinal members, forming two primary beams, one on each side of the mast and fixed to the mast – see para 37; Fig 3 shows the cradle supporting the thrust reverser cowl 141), wherein said connection is a pivot, slide or sliding pivot connection (Fig 3, para 35-37; pivot connection), wherein the external fairing forms one or more cowls of the movable structure of the reverser (para 33-37), a turbine engine (para 32-33), wherein the turbine engine is a turbojet engine (para 31-33).
Pretty implies but does not explicitly teach operation of the thrust reverser (e.g. the advanced and retracted positions), or the means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser and in that said panels are secured to the primary beams by securing means, or the movable structure of the reverser comprises diversion cascades, or each of the primary beams comprises two secondary beams connected to each other by a fin. However, Boileau teaches a thrust reverser that comprises a structure able to move between an advanced position, making it possible to direct the secondary flow towards the rear of the propulsion unit in order to generate a thrust, and a retracted position, making it possible to redirect part of the secondary flow towards the front of the propulsion unit in order to generate a counter-thrust and means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser and the movable structure of the reverser comprises diversion cascades (para 12-17, 69-72, Fig 1-2; thrust reverser moves from an advanced, direct jet position to a retracted, indirect jet position; means for guiding the movable cowl and cascades includes rails – para 31-36, 80), and each primary beam is connected to a respective secondary beam by a fin (annotated below, para 77-78), wherein each respective primary beam and secondary beam are longitudinal members which extend axially from each respective fin in opposite axial directions (as annotated below, the primary beam extends from the fin axially in the aft direction and the secondary beam extends from the fin axially in the forward direction), and wherein each primary beam is axially and radially offset from each respective secondary beam (as annotated below; the secondary beam is axially offset from the secondary beam; as discussed above, Applicant’s specification and drawings appear to teach the primary beam and secondary beam being circumferentially offset; however, if Applicant’s secondary beam can be construed as being “radially offset” from the primary beam, so too can Boileau’s – e.g. offset in a radial direction relative to an axis that extends through the fitting 5). Legrand teaches that panels of a lateral fairing and beams may be secured by securing means (Fig 2; col 2 l. 61-col 3 l. 3; securing means including bolts or screws securing lateral fairing 2 to a beam 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a thrust reverser that comprises a structure able to move between an advanced position, making it possible to direct the secondary flow towards the rear of the propulsion unit in order to generate a thrust, and a retracted position, making it possible to redirect part of the secondary flow towards the front of the propulsion unit in order to generate a counter-thrust and means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser and securing means securing the panels to the primary beams, and the movable structure of the reverser comprises diversion cascades, and each primary beam is connected to a respective secondary beam by a fin, wherein each respective primary beam and secondary beam are longitudinal members which extend axially from each respective fin in opposite axial directions, and wherein each primary beam is axially and radially offset from each respective secondary beam, as taught by Boileau and Legrand. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing a thrust reverser that comprises a structure able to move between an advanced position, making it possible to direct the secondary flow towards the rear of the propulsion unit in order to generate a thrust, and a retracted position, making it possible to redirect part of the secondary flow towards the front of the propulsion unit in order to generate a counter-thrust and means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser and securing means securing the panels to the primary beams, and the movable structure of the reverser comprises diversion cascades, and each primary beam is connected to a respective secondary beam by a fin, wherein each respective primary beam and secondary beam are longitudinal members which extend axially from each respective fin in opposite axial directions, and wherein each primary beam is axially and radially offset from each respective secondary beam, yields predictable results.
Pretty in view of Legrand and Boileau fails to teach each of the two longitudinal members being fixed to each other. However, Caruel teaches two longitudinal beams that are fixed to each other (para 91-92, Fig 5-6; connecting rods 47 and 48 fix two longitudinal beams 44, 45 to each other). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make each of the two longitudinal members being fixed to each other in order to take up mechanical forces, as taught by Caruel. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making each of the two longitudinal members being fixed to each other yields predictable results (structural support).
Pretty in view of Boileau, Legrand, and Caruel fails to teach said panels of the lateral fairing are axially spaced along a respective one of the longitudinal members. However, Mitchell teaches a lateral fairing comprising axially spaced panels (annotated below, pages 8-12 of the specification; panels are connected to the mast in a connection with at least one degree of freedom – hinged; panels may also have a beam or track for a translating thrust reverser element). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a plurality of panels of the lateral fairing axially spaced along a respective one of the longitudinal members in order to reduce weight and cost and increase efficiency, as taught by Mitchell. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing a plurality of panels of the lateral fairing axially spaced along a respective one of the longitudinal members yields predictable results (thrust reversal, structural support, noise reduction).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0109644 (Pretty) in view of US 2016/0025039 (Boileau), US 2020/0277916 (Caruel), US 4442987 (Legrand) and GB2570913 (Mitchell) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2006/0038065 (Howe).
Regarding claim 3, Pretty in view of Boileau, Caruel, Legrand, and Mitchell fails to teach one or more linkages and/or cross members extending transversely so as to connect one or more of said panels extending on a first side of the mast to one or more others of said panels extending on a second side of the mast. However, Howe teaches one or more linkages and/or cross members extending transversely so as to connect one or more of said panels extending on a first side of the mast to one or more others of said panels extending on a second side of the mast (Fig 5, para 27, linkage 240 connecting upper bifurcation panels 244 on opposite sides of the mast). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide one or more linkages and/or cross members extending transversely so as to connect one or more of said panels extending on a first side of the mast to one or more others of said panels extending on a second side of the mast in order to maintain clearance, as taught by Howe. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing one or more linkages and/or cross members extending transversely so as to connect one or more of said panels extending on a first side of the mast to one or more others of said panels extending on a second side of the mast yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0109644 (Pretty) in view of US 2016/0025039 (Boileau), US 2020/0277916 (Caruel), US 4442987 (Legrand) and GB2570913 (Mitchell) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0098810 (Soria) and US 2017/0284216 (Khidekel).
Regarding claim 4, 8, Pretty in view of Boileau, Caruel, Legrand, and Mitchell fails to teach one or more of said panels are configured to crush a sealing member interposed between this or these panels and the internal fairing, wherein the sealing member is a gasket. However, Soria teaches that the making the panels separate from the internal fairing may reduce stress concentrations (para 29) and that seals may be placed between the panels (Fig 7A-D, para 39; 120) and the internal fairing (110). Khidekel teaches that gaskets may be used to seal between nacelle sections (para 31; bulb seal 320 construed as a gasket). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the panels separate from the internal fairing and provide one or more of said panels configured to crush a sealing member interposed between this or these panels and the internal fairing, wherein the sealing member is a gasket in order to reduce stress, and prevent leakage of secondary flow, as taught by Soria and Khidekel. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making one or more of said panels separate from the internal fairing and configured to crush a sealing member interposed between this or these panels and the internal fairing, wherein the sealing member is a gasket yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0109644 (Pretty) in view of US 2016/0025039 (Boileau), GB2570913 (Mitchell), and US 4442987 (Legrand).
Regarding claim 10, Pretty teaches a propulsion unit for an aircraft (Fig 1A, para 31), comprising a mast (mast/pylon 110); an internal fairing (Fig 3; 137), an external fairing (141) and a lateral fairing (242), the internal fairing delimiting radially inwards a flow conduit of a secondary flow (para 33-34; bypass flowpath is the flow conduit), the external fairing delimiting the conduit radially outwards (Fig 3, para 33-34), the lateral fairing extending on either side of the mast so as to delimit two circumferential ends of the conduit (para 33-37, Fig 3; only one side shown but the other side of the mast comprises the same arrangement, including the lateral fairing; the bypass flowpath extends around the circumference of the engine, and therefore the lateral fairing delimits the circumferential ends); a thrust reverser that comprises a structure able to move between an advanced position, making it possible to direct the secondary flow towards the rear of the propulsion unit in order to generate a thrust, and a retracted position, making it possible to redirect part of the secondary flow towards the front of the propulsion unit in order to generate a counter-thrust (para 33-37; thrust reverser structure comprising 130, 136, 138, 141); a support structure connected to the mast and being intended to be connected to a turbine engine of the propulsion unit so as to be able to follow the movements of the turbine engine with respect to the mast (para 31-37; support structure 135 is connected to the turbine engine and therefore follows the movements of the turbine engine); and wherein the lateral fairing comprises a plurality of panels arranged on either side of the mast and each connected to the mast in a connection defining at least one degree of freedom (Fig 3, para 35-38; lateral fairing is connected to the mast 110 via a pivot hinge to provide access to the engine; there are a plurality of panels – one on either side of the mast), wherein the movable structure of the reverser is supported by the support structure forming a cradle including two longitudinal members extending respectively on either side of the mast, each of the two longitudinal members being fixed to the mast, and forming respectively two primary beams that comprise respectively means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser (135 is construed as a “cradle” which includes two longitudinal members, forming two primary beams, one on each side of the mast; Fig 3 shows the cradle supporting the thrust reverser cowl 141).
Pretty implies but does not explicitly teach operation of the thrust reverser (e.g. the advanced and retracted positions), or the means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser and in that said panels are secured to the primary beams by securing means, or each of the primary beams comprises two secondary beams connected to each other by a fin. However, Boileau teaches a thrust reverser that comprises a structure able to move between an advanced position, making it possible to direct the secondary flow towards the rear of the propulsion unit in order to generate a thrust, and a retracted position, making it possible to redirect part of the secondary flow towards the front of the propulsion unit in order to generate a counter-thrust and means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser (para 12-17, 69-72, Fig 1-2; thrust reverser moves from an advanced, direct jet position to a retracted, indirect jet position; means for guiding the movable cowl and cascades includes rails – para 31-36, 80), each primary beam is connected to a respective secondary beam by a fin (annotated below, para 77-78), wherein each respective primary beam and secondary beam are longitudinal members which extend axially from each respective fin in opposite axial directions (as annotated below, the primary beam extends from the fin axially in the aft direction and the secondary beam extends from the fin axially in the forward direction), and wherein each primary beam is axially and radially offset from each respective secondary beam (as annotated below; the secondary beam is axially offset from the secondary beam; as discussed above, Applicant’s specification and drawings appear to teach the primary beam and secondary beam being circumferentially offset; however, if Applicant’s secondary beam can be construed as being “radially offset” from the primary beam, so too can Boileau’s – e.g. offset in a radial direction relative to an axis that extends through the fitting 5). Legrand teaches that panels of a lateral fairing and beams may be secured by securing means (Fig 2; col 2 l. 61-col 3 l. 3; securing means including bolts or screws securing lateral fairing 2 to a beam 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a thrust reverser that comprises a structure able to move between an advanced position, making it possible to direct the secondary flow towards the rear of the propulsion unit in order to generate a thrust, and a retracted position, making it possible to redirect part of the secondary flow towards the front of the propulsion unit in order to generate a counter-thrust and means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser and securing means securing the panels to the primary beams, wherein each primary beam is connected to a respective secondary beam by a fin, wherein each respective primary beam and secondary beam are longitudinal members which extend axially from each respective fin in opposite axial directions, and wherein each primary beam is axially and radially offset from each respective secondary beam, as taught by Boileau and Legrand. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing a thrust reverser that comprises a structure able to move between an advanced position, making it possible to direct the secondary flow towards the rear of the propulsion unit in order to generate a thrust, and a retracted position, making it possible to redirect part of the secondary flow towards the front of the propulsion unit in order to generate a counter-thrust and means for guiding the movable structure of the reverser and securing means securing the panels to the primary beams, wherein each primary beam is connected to a respective secondary beam by a fin, wherein each respective primary beam and secondary beam are longitudinal members which extend axially from each respective fin in opposite axial directions, and wherein each primary beam is axially and radially offset from each respective secondary beam, yields predictable results (thrust reversal, structural support).
Pretty in view of Boileau and Legrand fails to teach said panels of the lateral fairing are axially spaced along a respective one of the longitudinal members. However, Mitchell teaches a lateral fairing comprising axially spaced panels (annotated below, pages 8-12 of the specification; panels are connected to the mast in a connection with at least one degree of freedom – hinged; panels may also have a beam or track for a translating thrust reverser element). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a plurality of panels of the lateral fairing axially spaced along a respective one of the longitudinal members in order to reduce weight and cost and increase efficiency, as taught by Mitchell. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing a plurality of panels of the lateral fairing axially spaced along a respective one of the longitudinal members yields predictable results (thrust reversal, structural support, noise reduction).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that “[t]here is no beam that is a part of or extends from the rectangle of cascades 3”, Examiner respectfully asserts that a “beam” is a supporting member or “any of various relatively long pieces of metal, wood, stone, etc., manufactured or shaped especially for use as rigid members or parts of structures or machines” (dictionary.com). The side of a rectangle as in Boileau may be considered a beam, as it is a long piece and part of a support structure. Examiner further notes that Applicant’s primary beam appears to be integrally connected to the “fin” as shown in Fig 5. Furthermore, the primary beam and secondary beam as annotated above read on the claim limitations (extending axially from the fin in opposite axial directions).
Conclusion
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741