DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly state whether election of species was made with or without traversal, therefore the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicants elected composition of pest control from each group:
Group A: isocycloseram
Group B: imiprothrin
Group C: cyhalothrin.
Examiner did not find 102 prior art for applicant elected species, but 103 prior art was found. Therefore Markush search was not extended to other species according to Markush search practices.
Elected species read on claims 1-3 and 9.
Claim 4-8 and 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/16/2026.
Current Status of 18/574,130
This Office Action is in response to the amended claims of 06/16/2026.
Claims 1-2 are original and claims 3-15 are new.
Claim 4-8 and 10-15 are withdrawn
Claims 1-3 and 9 are examined in this office action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 03/11/2024 and 07/31/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Effected filing date is 07/06/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
DAIDO, HIDENORI (WO2017122687)
In view of
Jechke, P (Pest Manag Sci 2021; 77: 6476, published online 28 September 2020)
DAIDO, HIDENORI et.al. discloses an arthropod control composition comprising broflanilide (corresponding to group (A) in claim 1) (paragraph [0009]) and deltamethrin or permethrin (corresponding to group (C) in claim 1), and discloses that, in terms of other insecticidal components and synergists, this may further contain two or more of permethrin, phenothrin, cyfluthrin, cyhalothrin(applicant elected species of group C in claim 1)(paragraph [0054], imiprothrin(applicant elected species of group B in claim 1), tetramethrin (paragraph [0054] partially teaching claim 1. Daido further state application of the composition on wall surface teaching claim 2.
Jechke et. al teaches isocycloseram (applicant elected species of group A) as a broad-spectrum arylisoxazoline insecticide and acaricide (page 67, section 2.3.2 paragraph 1), partially teaching claim 3.
Although Daido et.al. teaches combination of compounds in group A, Group B and Group C for pest control, Daido does not teach the exact ratio of Group A , Group B and Group C.
Although Jechke et.al. teaches combination of compound isocycloseram (applicant elected species of group A) as a broad-spectrum arylisoxazoline insecticide and acaricide, Jechke does not teach composition to have compound of group B and Group C.
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing different concentration of disinfectant.
A person skilled in art would be motivated to develop a composition for pest control found in the teaching of Daido et.al, where the composition comprising broflanilide (corresponding to group (A) in claim 1) (Daido et.al. paragraph [0009]) and deltamethrin or permethrin (corresponding to group (C) in claim 1), and discloses that, in terms of other insecticidal components and synergists, this may further contain two or more of permethrin, phenothrin, cyfluthrin, cyhalothrin (applicant elected species of group C in claim 1)( Daido et.al. paragraph [0054], imiprothrin (applicant elected species of group B in claim 1), tetramethrin (Daido et.al. paragraph [0054]; and change the compound of Group A from broflanilide to isocycloseram (applicant elected species of group A) as a broad-spectrum arylisoxazoline insecticide and acaricide (Jechke, P, page 67, section 2.3.2 paragraph 1). Applicants are expected to experiment with different insecticides in the composition found in Daido et.al, including isocycloseram and develop a method of controlling pest, thus teaching claims 1-3 and 9. Furthermore the composition is expected to have similar properties as claims 1. Therefore it is prima facie obvious to combine Daido et.al. Jeckhe P to develop composition of claims 1-3 and 9.
Claims 1 are directed to ratio of between compounds of group A: group B: Group C. Examiner interprets these attributes as variables the artisan would normally be expected to routinely optimize. Generally, ratio of different compounds in a composition will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such attributes are critical. The specification does not indicate the dosage and frequency of the dosage to be critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed as written.
/R.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625