DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerns (US 6,372,863) in view of Tang (CN 112812331). As the CN document is not in English, citations are made to the attached translation.
Kerns teaches styrene butadiene rubber (abstract) comprising a vinyl content of less than 1% (col. 3, ln. 5-20) and gives examples having a Mw of 222,000-636,000 (Table 3).
Kerns does not explicitly recite using a diboronic ester.
However, Tang teaches rubbers derived from dienes (¶ 16) which have been crosslinked (¶ 24-27) which a crosslinking agent that provides a dynamic covalent bonds (¶ 27) and includes crosslinking through a diborate having the structure
(Table 3) which meets general formula (1) when X is a phenylene group. Tang teaches examples where the amount of borate includes 7.1 and 13.6 kg borate per 142.9 and 136.4 kg polymer (Table 3) which meets the range of claim 2.
It would have been obvious to use the crosslinking system of Tang because it makes the recycling of the rubber easier (¶ 2-5).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halasa (US 7,064,171) in view of Tang (CN 112812331). As the CN document is not in English, citations are made to the attached translation.
Halasa teaches styrene butadiene rubber havinga vinyl content of 8-20 wt% and aMn of 200,000-475,000 (abstract) and a weight average molecular weight of 300,000-400,000 (col. 10, ln. 14-28).
Halasa does not explicitly recite using a diboronic ester.
However, Tang teaches rubbers derived from dienes (¶ 16) which have been crosslinked (¶ 24-27) which a crosslinking agent that provides a dynamic covalent bonds (¶ 27) and includes crosslinking through a diborate having the structure
(Table 3) which meets general formula (1) when X is a phenylene group. Tang teaches examples where the amount of borate includes 7.1 and 13.6 kg borate per 142.9 and 136.4 kg polymer (Table 3) which meets the range of claim 2.
It would have been obvious to use the crosslinking system of Tang because it makes the recycling of the rubber easier (¶ 2-5).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2015/0057391) in view of Tang (CN 112812331). As the CN document is not in English, citations are made to the attached translation.
Kang teaches rubber compositions comprising a raw material rubber which can include styrene-butadiene rubber (abstract) and a vulcanizing agent (¶ 20) where the styrene-butadiene rubber has a vinyl content of 15-18 wt% and a Mw of 260,000 to 320,000 (¶ 37) and the vulcanizing agent can include organic peroxides (¶46-48). The vulcanizing of Kang corresponds to the claimed crosslinking. Kang teaches mixing the components, including rubber and vulcanizing agent and heating to crosslink the composition (¶ 85).
Kang does not explicitly recite using a diboronic ester.
However, Tang teaches rubbers derived from dienes (¶ 16) which have been crosslinked (¶ 24-27) which a crosslinking agent that provides a dynamic covalent bonds (¶ 27) and includes crosslinking through a diborate having the structure
(Table 3) which meets general formula (1) when X is a phenylene group. Tang teaches examples where the amount of borate includes 7.1 and 13.6 kg borate per 142.9 and 136.4 kg polymer (Table 3) which meets the range of claim 2.
It would have been obvious to use the crosslinking system of Tang because it makes the recycling of the rubber easier (¶ 2-5).
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764