DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2024/0276381)
Regarding Claim 5, Liu teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising a processor, configured to call and run program instructions stored in a memory (¶ [0117], see specifically memory), to execute:
receiving an indication of availability of Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) occasion in an idle/inactive state from a base station (BS) through Layer 1 (L1) based signaling (¶ [0002], see specifically paging DCI) in at least one of the following:
(a) whenever the UE is camped on a same serving cell for at least two paging occasions (POs); and
(b) upon receiving an indication that system information has changed but the UE still remains camped on the same serving cell (¶ [0002], see specifically paging DCI).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu teaches UE according to claim 5, wherein the indication of availability of TRS occasion is carried by paging Early Indication (PEI) when the UE is paging in non-consecutive way in successive PO of a paging frame (¶ [0054] – [0057], see specifically PEI.)
Regarding Claim 7, Liu teaches the indication of availability of TRS occasion is carried by paging Downlink Control Information (DCI) when the UE is paging in consecutive way in successive PO of a paging frame (¶ [0002], see specifically paging DCI)
Regarding Claim 8, Liu teaches the indication of availability of TRS occasion is per cell based (¶ [0036], see specifically SIB at a cell level.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaomi (3GPP R2-2102863) in view of Koskela (US 2024/0039669).
Regarding Claim 1 and 23, Xaiomi teaches a user equipment (UE), to execute:
receiving an indication of availability of Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) occasion in an idle/inactive state from a base station (BS) through System Information Block (SIB) based signaling (page 4, ¶ 2, see specifically idle/inactive UE’s) in at least one of the following:
(a) whenever the UE does not have a valid version of a stored SIB which is used to configure TRS resource;
(b) upon cell selection or cell-reselection performed by the UE (page 3, section 2.2, see specifically sell selection, cell selection, return from out of coverage); and
(c) when the UE returns from out of coverage (page 3, section 2.2, see specifically sell selection, cell selection, return from out of coverage);
Xaiomi fails to explicitly teach teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising a processor, configured to call and run program instructions stored in a memory.
Koskela from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising a processor, configured to call and run program instructions stored in a memory (¶ [0097], see specifically memory.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use the system of Koskela to send the SIB based information about TRS availability on a group level in the system of Xaiomi as taught by the system of Koskela.
The motivation is that using groups of devices allows for the organization of various devices that are related in order to signal availability to some devices in a particular way but not others in the same way.
Regarding Claim 2 and 24, Xiaomi teaches the indication of availability of TRS occasion is associated to presence or absence of a same SIB_X which is used to configure the TRS resource (page 4, ¶ 2 see specifically sib-x)
Regarding Claim 3 and 25, Xiaomi teaches the indication of availability of TRS occasion is configured by a bit carried by SIB_X which is used to configure the same TRS resource (page 4, ¶ 2 see specifically sib-x. note: examiner submits that all data is in the form of bits, and therefore any TRS resource in a data message would be based on one or more bits).
With respect to Claim 4 and 26, Xaiomi fails to explicitly teach the indication of availability of TRS occasion is per paging group based.
Koskela from the same or similar field of endeavor the indication of availability of TRS occasion is per paging group based (¶ [0097], see specifically memory.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use the system of Koskela to send the SIB based information about TRS availability on a group level in the system of Xaiomi as taught by the system of Koskela.
The motivation is that using groups of devices allows for the organization of various devices that are related in order to signal availability to some devices in a particular way but not others in the same way.
Conclusion
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409