DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 26, 2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informality:
Phrase "from the base station” in limitation “continuing to transmit the one or more downlink reference signals periodically from the base station during a time period that includes at least one random access occasion of a plurality of random access occasions” should be deleted. The phrase is redundant since the claim is directed to method at a base station.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11, 15, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites, inter alia, “transmitting, for the random access procedure, a random access channel outside of the second time period based at least in part on the identifying”. It is not clear how one can transmit a random access channel for the random access procedure. Generally, different signals/messages are being transmitted in the random access procedure. Examiner requests Applicant to review this limitation (as well as specification, e.g., para. [0100] of the Application Publication) to see if specific signal transmitted on a random access channel was omitted here inadvertently.
Claims 10-11 are rejected for their dependencies to claim 9.
Claim 15 recites “wherein the random access procedure comprises four-step random access transmissions and two-step random access transmissions”. Random access procedure does not comprise of both four-step random access transmissions and two-step random access transmissions. The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Examiner advises the Applicant to amend “and” to “or” instead;
Claim 20 recites, “receiving a random access channel outside of the time period” Based on the similar reasons as above claim 9 rejection, the metes and bounds of claim are not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 6, 8-14, 16, 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (WO2022241658A1, hereinafter Zou) in view of Lee et al. (US20230300888A1, hereinafter Lee).
For claim 1, Zou teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) ([Para. 7], a half-duplex data transmission method is provided, which is applied to a terminal device in half-duplex mode), determining that the UE is to participate in a random access procedure with the base station during a random access occasion while the UE is operating in a half-duplex communications mode ([Para. 57], In random access, the terminal device may send a random access preamble (Preamble) to the network device on a physical random access channel (Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH) resource. [Para. 128], the first uplink transmission includes PRACH transmission, the first downlink transmission includes synchronization signal block (SSB) reception. [Para. 117], the terminal device preferentially executes the first uplink transmission on the resources where the transmission directions conflict [Examiner’s Note: The terminal determines starting RACH procedure by transmitting preamble on PRACH channel]. [Para. 66], the network device can configure semi-static uplink resources, such as PRACH resources, and semi-static downlink resources, such as SSB resources for the half-duplex terminal equipment); identifying that a first downlink reference signal of the one or more downlink reference signals is scheduled during a second time period that includes at least one random access occasion that corresponds with a reference signal for which the UE is configured to monitor ([Para. 87], The first semi-static configuration and the second semi-static configuration are used to configure transmission directions of time-domain resources. [Para. 66], the network device can configure semi-static uplink resources, such as PRACH resources, and semi-static downlink resources, such as SSB resources for the half-duplex terminal equipment. [Examiner’s Note: The PRACH configuration and SSB configuration constitute the correspondence between ROs and SSBs as is further taught in Lee]. [Para. 94], the time position corresponding to the uplink symbol included in the first resource and the time position corresponding to the downlink symbol included in the second resource completely overlap, it can be considered that the first resource and the second resource exist transmission direction conflict. [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received. [Examiner’s Note: The time of the PRACH sent preferentially is the second time period]), wherein the second time period is a subset of the first time period ([Para. 94], the time position corresponding to the uplink symbol included in the first resource and the time position corresponding to the downlink symbol included in the second resource completely overlap, it can be considered that the first resource and the second resource exist transmission direction conflict. [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received. [Examiner’s Note: When uplink and downlink resources completely overlap, the uplink time is a subset of the downlink time. PRACH occasion is the second time period. The first time period includes downlink times while the UE is configured to monitor SSBs if a conflict does not occur, as Lee teaches]), and refraining from monitoring for the first downlink reference signal during at least the second time period in favor of proceeding with the random access procedure based at least in part on the identifying ([Para. 88], the terminal device may determine, according to the first semi-static configuration and the second semi-static configuration, whether there is a time-domain resource in which transmission directions conflict. [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received).
Although teaching performing uplink transmission and refraining from monitoring the conflicting reference signal, Zou does not explicitly disclose comprising: monitoring for one or more downlink reference signals periodically transmitted from a base station during a first time period.
Lee is directed to providing method for transmitting/receiving random access channel, and device therefor. More specifically, Lee teaches comprising: monitoring for one or more downlink reference signals periodically transmitted from a base station during a first time period ([Para. 0083], an SSB is periodically transmitted according to the SSB periodicity. [Para. 0149], The beam acquisition process may be performed as follows. [Para. 0150], 1) The BS transmits a synchronization block for each wide beam to allow the UE to discover the BS in the initial access stage, that is, in order for the UE to find the optimal wide beam to be used in the first stage of the beam acquisition by performing cell search or cell acquisition and measuring the channel quality of each wide beam. [Para. 0151], 2) The UE performs the cell search on the synchronization block for each beam and acquires a DL beam based on the detection result for each beam. [Para. 0195], The MIB may include control information for CORESET #0 scheduling SIB1 (System Information Block 1). In addition, SIB1 may include basic information for random access. Among the above control information and basic information, various SSBs can be mapped to one RO [Examiner’s Note: The first time period is the time in which that the UE performs beam acquisition by detection of SSB beams. The MIB and SIB1 information includes the correspondence between SSBs and ROs]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou, so that the UE receives periodically transmitted SSB in SSB beam sweeps, as taught by Lee. The modification would have provided for transmitting and receiving a random access channel (RACH) for RedCap UE (Lee [Para. 0005 and 0007]).
For claim 6, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein refraining from monitoring for the first downlink reference signal comprises (Zou [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received): refraining from monitoring a serving cell of the UE (Zou [Para. 85], The network device sends the first semi-static configuration to the terminal device; Zou [Para. 86], The network device sends the second semi-static configuration to the terminal device. Zou [Para. 189], the terminal device is configured to receive a first semi-static configuration and a second semi-static configuration of the network device. Zou [Para. 190], there is a transmission direction conflict between the first resource corresponding to the first uplink transmission and the second resource corresponding to the first downlink transmission, including: Zou [Para. 191], There is at least one symbol overlap between the first resource and the second resource, part or all of the symbols in the at least one symbol are configured as the first transmission direction in the first semi-static configuration, and in the second semi-static configuration configured as a second transmission direction, wherein the first transmission direction and the second transmission direction are different. Zou [Para. 202], If the priority of the uplink transmission direction is higher than the priority of the downlink transmission direction, it is determined to perform the first uplink transmission preferentially. Zou [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received [Examiner’s Note: The network device that configures the terminal to transmit preamble is the serving base station]), a neighboring cell of the UE, or both for one or more UE-specific control signals based at least in part on refraining from monitoring for the first downlink reference signal.
For claim 8, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: refraining from monitoring for the first downlink reference signal during the first time period in favor of proceeding with the random access procedure (Lee [Para. 0083], an SSB is periodically transmitted according to the SSB periodicity. [Para. 0149], The beam acquisition process may be performed as follows. Lee [Para. 0150], 1) The BS transmits a synchronization block for each wide beam to allow the UE to discover the BS in the initial access stage, that is, in order for the UE to find the optimal wide beam to be used in the first stage of the beam acquisition by performing cell search or cell acquisition and measuring the channel quality of each wide beam. Lee [Para. 0151], 2) The UE performs the cell search on the synchronization block for each beam and acquires a DL beam based on the detection result for each beam. Lee [Para. 0195], The MIB may include control information for CORESET #0 scheduling SIB1 (System Information Block 1). In addition, SIB1 may include basic information for random access. Among the above control information and basic information, various SSBs can be mapped to one RO [Examiner’s Note: The first time period is the time in which that the UE performs beam acquisition by detection of SSB beams]. Zou [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou, so that the UE receives periodically transmitted SSB in SSB beam sweeps, as taught by Lee. The modification would have provided for transmitting and receiving a random access channel (RACH) for RedCap UE (Lee [Para. 0005 and 0007]).
For claim 9, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: identifying that one or more other downlink reference signals of the one or more downlink reference signals have corresponding random access occasions that are scheduled during the first time period but outside of the second time period (Zou ([Para. 94], the time position corresponding to the uplink symbol included in the first resource and the time position corresponding to the downlink symbol included in the second resource completely overlap, it can be considered that the first resource and the second resource exist transmission direction conflict [Examiner’s Note: The complete overlapping time is the second time period]. Zou [Para. 142], The terminal device sets the RO with the transmission direction conflict as unavailable. Zou [Para. 163], the terminal device performs mapping from SSB to RO. Zou [Para. 164], In the PRACH opportunity association period, the terminal device maps all SSBs associated to different ROs at least once. Zou [Para. 167], the RO that is set as unavailable does not participate in the mapping from SSB to RO, that is, the SSB is not mapped to the unavailable RO. The ROs mapped to the SSB are all capable of sending PRACH RO [Examiner’s Note: The SSB beams that do not conflict with ROs and mapped are the identified downlink reference signals. The second time period is the overlapping time. The mapped SSBs are outside of the overlapping time, the second time period]), transmitting, for the random access procedure, a random access channel outside of the second time period based at least in part on the identifying (Zou ([Para. 94], the time position corresponding to the uplink symbol included in the first resource and the time position corresponding to the downlink symbol included in the second resource completely overlap, it can be considered that the first resource and the second resource exist transmission direction conflict [Examiner’s Note: The complete overlapping time is the second time period]. Zou [Para. 142], The terminal device sets the RO with the transmission direction conflict as unavailable. Zou [Para. 167], the RO that is set as unavailable does not participate in the mapping from SSB to RO, that is, the SSB is not mapped to the unavailable RO. In this case, the ROs mapped to the SSB are all capable of sending PRACH RO).
For claim 10, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 9. The references further teach further comprising: selecting, for the random access procedure, a second downlink reference signal of the one or more other downlink reference signals based at least in part on the random access occasion corresponding to the second downlink reference signal being scheduled during the first time period but outside of the second time period (Zou ([Para. 94], the time position corresponding to the uplink symbol included in the first resource and the time position corresponding to the downlink symbol included in the second resource completely overlap, it can be considered that the first resource and the second resource exist transmission direction conflict [Examiner’s Note: The complete overlapping time is the second time period]. Zou [Para. 163], the terminal device performs mapping from SSB to RO. Zou [Para. 164], In the PRACH opportunity association period, the terminal device maps all SSBs associated to different ROs at least once. Zou [Para. 167], the RO that is set as unavailable does not participate in the mapping from SSB to RO, that is, the SSB is not mapped to the unavailable RO. In this case, the ROs mapped to the SSB are all capable of sending PRACH RO [Examiner’s Note: The SSB beams that are mapped are the selected downlink reference signals that are for ROs sending PRACH]).
For claim 11, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 10. The references further teach wherein the at least one random access occasion corresponds to the selected second downlink reference signal (Zou [Para. 163], the terminal device performs mapping from SSB to RO. Zou [Para. 164], In the PRACH opportunity association period, the terminal device maps all SSBs associated to different ROs at least once. Zou [Para. 167], the RO that is set as unavailable does not participate in the mapping from SSB to RO, that is, the SSB is not mapped to the unavailable RO. In this case, the ROs mapped to the SSB are all capable of sending PRACH RO [Examiner’s Note: The SSBs mapped to the ROs are the selected reference signals]).
For claim 12, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 10. The references further teach further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, an indication that the UE initiated the random access procedure (Zou [Para. 57], In random access, the terminal device may send a random access preamble (Preamble) to the network device on a physical random access channel (Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH) resource. Zou [Para. 128], the first uplink transmission includes PRACH transmission).
For claim 13, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein monitoring for the one or more downlink reference signals comprises: configuring the monitoring for radio link monitoring, beam failure detection, channel condition monitoring (Zou [Para. 82], the first downlink transmission may be any downlink transmission based on a semi-static configuration including: Zou [83], Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) reception), cross link interference, or a combination thereof.
For claim 14, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the one or more downlink reference signals comprise a synchronization signal block, a channel state information reference signal, a tracking reference signal, a phase tracking reference signal, or a demodulation reference signal (Zou [Para. 82], the first downlink transmission may be any downlink transmission based on a semi-static configuration including : Zou [Para. 83], SSB reception), a channel state information reference signal, a tracking reference signal, a phase tracking reference signal, or a demodulation reference signal.
For claim 16, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1, The references further teach wherein the half-duplex communications mode in which the UE is operating is a half-duplex frequency division duplex communications mode (Zou [Para. 66], If the half-duplex mode needs to be supported in the Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) system, in this case, for the half-duplex terminal equipment, how to perform data transmission is an urgent problem to be solved [Examiner’s Note: Zou provides solution for data transmission in half-duplex mode needs to be supported in the Frequency Division Duplex system]).
For claim 22, Zou teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) ([Para. 7], In a first aspect, a half-duplex data transmission method is provided, which is applied to a terminal device in half-duplex mode. [Para. 9], a terminal device is provided, configured to execute the method in the foregoing first aspect. [Para. 253] and [FIG. 10], the communication device 600 may specifically be the mobile terminal), comprising: at least one processor ([Para. 247], The communication device 600 shown in FIG. 10 includes a processor 610); memory coupled to the at least one processor ([Para. 248], the communication device 600 may further include a memory 620. Wherein, the processor 610 can invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to ([Para. 248], Wherein, the processor 610 can invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620, so as to implement the method in the embodiment of the present application): determine that the UE is to participate in a random access procedure with the base station during a random access occasion while the UE is operating in a half-duplex communications mode ([Para. 57], In random access, the terminal device may send a random access preamble (Preamble) to the network device on a physical random access channel (Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH) resource. [Para. 128], the first uplink transmission includes PRACH transmission, the first downlink transmission includes synchronization signal block (SSB) reception. [Para. 117], the terminal device preferentially executes the first uplink transmission on the resources where the transmission directions conflict [Examiner’s Note: The terminal determines starting RACH procedure by transmitting preamble on PRACH channel]. [Para. 66], the network device can configure semi-static uplink resources, such as PRACH resources, and semi-static downlink resources, such as SSB resources for the half-duplex terminal equipment); identify that a first downlink reference signal of the one or more downlink reference signals is scheduled during a second time period that includes at least one random access occasion that corresponds with a reference signal for which the UE is configured to monitor ([Para. 87], The first semi-static configuration and the second semi-static configuration are used to configure transmission directions of time-domain resources. [Para. 66], the network device can configure semi-static uplink resources, such as PRACH resources, and semi-static downlink resources, such as SSB resources for the half-duplex terminal equipment. [Examiner’s Note: The PRACH configuration and SSB configuration constitute the correspondence between ROs and SSBs as is further taught in Lee]. [Para. 94], the time position corresponding to the uplink symbol included in the first resource and the time position corresponding to the downlink symbol included in the second resource completely overlap, it can be considered that the first resource and the second resource exist transmission direction conflict. [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received. [Examiner’s Note: The time of the PRACH sent preferentially is the second time period]), wherein the second time period is a subset of the first time period ([Para. 94], the time position corresponding to the uplink symbol included in the first resource and the time position corresponding to the downlink symbol included in the second resource completely overlap, it can be considered that the first resource and the second resource exist transmission direction conflict. [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received. [Examiner’s Note: When uplink and downlink resources completely overlap, the uplink time is a subset of the downlink time. PRACH occasion is the second time period. The first time period includes downlink times while the UE is configured to monitor SSBs if a conflict does not occur, as Lee teaches]), and refrain from monitoring for the first downlink reference signal during at least the second time period in favor of proceeding with the random access procedure based at least in part on the identifying ([Para. 88], the terminal device may determine, according to the first semi-static configuration and the second semi-static configuration, whether there is a time-domain resource in which transmission directions conflict. [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received).
Although teaching performing uplink transmission and refraining from monitoring the conflicting reference signal, Zou does not explicitly disclose monitor for one or more downlink reference signals periodically transmitted from a base station during a first time period.
Lee is directed to providing method for transmitting/receiving random access channel, and device therefor. More specifically, Lee teaches monitor for one or more downlink reference signals periodically transmitted from a base station during a first time period ([Para. 0083], an SSB is periodically transmitted according to the SSB periodicity. [Para. 0149], The beam acquisition process may be performed as follows. [Para. 0150], 1) The BS transmits a synchronization block for each wide beam to allow the UE to discover the BS in the initial access stage, that is, in order for the UE to find the optimal wide beam to be used in the first stage of the beam acquisition by performing cell search or cell acquisition and measuring the channel quality of each wide beam. [Para. 0151], 2) The UE performs the cell search on the synchronization block for each beam and acquires a DL beam based on the detection result for each beam. [Para. 0195], The MIB may include control information for CORESET #0 scheduling SIB1 (System Information Block 1). In addition, SIB1 may include basic information for random access. Among the above control information and basic information, various SSBs can be mapped to one RO [Examiner’s Note: The first time period is the time in which that the UE performs beam acquisition by detection of SSB beams. The MIB and SIB1 information includes the correspondence between SSBs and ROs]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou, so that the UE receives periodically transmitted SSB in SSB beam sweeps, as taught by Lee. The modification would have provided for transmitting and receiving a random access channel (RACH) for RedCap UE (Lee [Para. 0005 and 0007]).
For claim 27 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, claim 27 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 6.
Claims 2-3 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (WO2022241658A1, hereinafter Zou) in view of Lee et al. (US20230300888A1, hereinafter Lee), and further in view of Ma et al. (WO2022188767A1, hereinafter Ma).
For claim 2, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein refraining from monitoring for the first downlink reference signal comprises: refraining from monitoring for the first downlink reference signal during the second time period in favor of proceeding with the random access procedure (Zou [Para. 139] On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received).
Although teaching refraining from receiving SSB during PRACH occasion for uplink transmission, Zou and Lee do not explicitly disclose wherein the second time period comprises the at least one random access occasion and a switch gap before and after the at least one random access occasion.
Ma is directed to providing method executed by user equipment, and user equipment. More specifically, Ma teaches wherein the second time period comprises the at least one random access occasion and a switch gap before and after the at least one random access occasion ([Para. 17], when using the uplink random access channel resource to send the uplink random access signal, do not receive a signal that overlaps with the OFDM symbol used by the uplink random access channel resource in the time domain. [Para. 112], the terminal does not receive downlink signals that overlap at least one symbol with N1 symbols preceding the uplink signal symbols. [Para. 113], In order to send the uplink signal on a given symbol, the terminal needs to switch to the uplink at least at the time of t1+t2=51200Tc before the first symbol of the uplink signal. The terminal can determine the number of symbols of N1 according to the parameters used by the network equipment, so that the terminal has enough time to perform state transition. [Para. 117], the terminal does not receive downlink signals that overlap with at least one symbol of N2 symbols after the symbol position of the uplink signal. [Para. 118], In order to receive the downlink signal after sending the uplink signal, the terminal can at most be t2 after the last symbol of the uplink signal. The terminal may determine the length of N2 symbols according to network parameters, so that the terminal has enough time to perform possible state transitions [Examiner’s Note: N1 and N2 symbols are the switch gaps before and after random access occasion]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou and Lee, so that the switch gaps are included in determining conflict, as taught by Ma. The modification would have provided transmitting uplink signals, receiving downlink signals and configuring random access resources for half-duplex user equipment (Ma [Para. 8]).
For claim 3, Zou, Lee and Ma teach the method of claim 2. The references further teach wherein refraining from receiving the first downlink reference signal comprises: refraining from monitoring for the first downlink reference signal during the second time period based at least in part on a capability of the UE that indicates a size of the switch gap before and after the at least one random access occasion (Zou [Para. 139], On ROs with transmission direction conflicts, the terminal device does not receive the SSB. The PRACH is sent preferentially, and the SSB is not received. Ma [Para. 17], when using the uplink random access channel resource to send the uplink random access signal, do not receive a signal that overlaps with the OFDM symbol used by the uplink random access channel resource in the time domain. Ma [Para. 112], the terminal does not receive downlink signals that overlap at least one symbol with N1 symbols preceding the uplink signal symbols. [Para. 113], For example, the timing offset value in the network uses a value of t1=25600Tc, and the terminal needs a maximum value of t2=25600Tc for downlink-to-uplink handover. In order to send the uplink signal on a given symbol, the terminal needs to switch to the uplink at least at the time of t1+t2=51200Tc before the first symbol of the uplink signal [Examiner’s Note: t2 is the capability of the terminal that indicates a part of the size of switch gap before random access occasion]. The terminal can determine the number of symbols of N1 according to the parameters used by the network equipment, so that the terminal has enough time to perform state transition. [Para. 117], the terminal does not receive downlink signals that overlap with at least one symbol of N2 symbols after the symbol position of the uplink signal. [Para. 118], the terminal needs a maximum value of t2=25600Tc for uplink-to-downlink conversion. In order to receive the downlink signal after sending the uplink signal, the terminal can at most be t2 after the last symbol of the uplink signal [Examiner’s Note: t2 is the capability of the terminal that indicates a part of the size of switch gap after random access occasion]. The terminal may determine the length of N2 symbols according to network parameters, so that the terminal has enough time to perform possible state transitions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou and Lee, so that the switch gaps are based on the capability of a terminal that indicates the size of switch gaps, as taught by Ma. The modification would have provided transmitting uplink signals, receiving downlink signals and configuring random access resources for half-duplex user equipment (Ma [Para. 8]).
For claims 23-24 are apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-3. Therefore, claims 23-24 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-3.
Claims 5 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (WO2022241658A1, hereinafter Zou) in view of Lee et al. (US20230300888A1, hereinafter Lee), and further in view of Zhou et al. (US20190053288A1, hereinafter Zhou).
For claim 5, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: delaying a radio link monitoring procedure or a beam failure detection procedure based at least in part on refraining from receiving the first downlink reference signal during the second time period (Zou [Para. 80-81], the first uplink transmission may include: PRACH transmission. Zou [Para. 82-83], the first downlink transmission may include: Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) reception. Zou [Para. 121], The first uplink transmission is performed on resources with conflicting transmission directions, and the first downlink transmission is not performed on resources with conflicting transmission directions [Examiner’s Note: Not performing Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) reception indicates not performing radio link monitoring]).
Although indicating not performing radio link monitoring by not performing CSI-RS reception, Zou and Lee do not explicitly disclose delaying a radio link monitoring procedure or a beam failure detection procedure based at least in part on refraining from receiving the first downlink reference signal during the second time period.
Zhou is directed to providing resource configuration of beam failure recovery request transmission. More specifically, Zhou teaches delaying a radio link monitoring procedure or a beam failure detection procedure based at least in part on refraining from receiving the first downlink reference signal during the second time period ([Para. 0255] a multi-beam BFR-PRACH configuration. A wireless device may monitor multiple transmission beams that a base station may configure for the wireless device. One or more of the beams configured for the wireless device may be associated with a specific CSI-RS. If the wireless device detects a beam failure event on a serving beam, and if a new candidate beam is identified, the wireless device may use the BFR-PRACH on a second CSI-RS, to transmit a BFR request, indicating the new candidate beam as a candidate beam. The wireless device may determine a beam failure event based on a measurement regarding one or more of a CSI-RS [Examiner’s Note: Beam failure procedure is based on CSI-RS reception]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou and Lee, so that beam failure procedure is based on CSI-RS measurement, as taught by Zhou. The modification would have allowed beam failure recovery to be performed in a timely and efficient manner (Zhou [Para. 0002]).
For claim 26 is an apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, claim 26 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 5.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (WO2022241658A1, hereinafter Zou) in view of Lee et al. (US20230300888A1, hereinafter Lee), and further in view of Park et al. (US20190253949A1, hereinafter Park).
For claim 7, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: continuing to monitor for the first downlink reference signal periodically transmitted from the base station based at least in part on a completion of the random access procedure (Zou [Para. 82], the first downlink transmission may be any downlink transmission based on a semi-static configuration including: Zou [83], Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) reception).
Although teaching scheduling reception of downlink reference signals and transmission of uplink signals, the references do not explicitly disclose further comprising: continuing to monitor for the first downlink reference signal periodically transmitted from the base station based at least in part on a completion of the random access procedure.
Park is directed to providing beam failure information for radio configuration. More specifically, Park teaches further comprising: continuing to monitor for the first downlink reference signal periodically transmitted from the base station based at least in part on a completion of the random access procedure ([0326], the base station may transmit to a wireless device configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise parameters of a plurality of CSI-RS signal format and/or resources. Configuration parameters of a CSI-RS may comprise one or more parameters indicating CSI-RS periodicity. A plurality of CSI-RS signals may be configured. In an example, the one or more message may indicate the correspondence between SS blocks and CSI-RS signals. A UE in RRC-connected mode may be configured with CSI-RS signals and may be measure pathloss based on CSI-RS signals).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou and Lee, so that the UE in RRC connected state receives CSI-RS transmitted periodically, as taught by Park. The modification would have enhanced a radio link failure report by providing information of a beam failure recovery failure, so that a base station is able to identify a cause of wireless device's connection failure (Park, [Para. 0305]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (WO2022241658A1, hereinafter Zou) in view of Lee et al. (US20230300888A1, hereinafter Lee), and further in view of He et al. (US20220408292A1, hereinafter He).
For claim 15, Zou and Lee teach the method of claim 1. Although teaching scheduling reception of downlink reference signals and transmission of uplink signals, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the random access procedure comprises four-step random access transmissions and two-step random access transmissions.
He is directed to providing method and apparatus for random access. More specifically, He teaches wherein the random access procedure comprises four-step random access transmissions and two-step random access transmissions ([Para. 0005], A wireless communication network such as a NR/5G network may be able to support flexible network configurations. Different signaling approaches (e.g., a four-step approach, a two-step approach, etc.) may be used for a RA procedure of a terminal device such as a user equipment (UE) to set up a connection with a network node such as a base station (BS). [Para. 0116] In the case of time division duplexing (TDD), PRACH occasions in the UL part are always valid, and a PRACH occasion is valid as long as it does not precede or collide with an SSB in the RACH slot and there are at least N symbols after the DL part and the last symbol of an SSB).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou and Lee, so that random access includes two-step and four-step procedures, as taught by He. The modification would have implemented random access procedure with enhanced resource utilization and improved transmission efficiency and flexibility (He [Para. 0125]).
Claims 17, 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (WO2022241658A1, hereinafter Zou) in view of Ericsson (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e R1-2104181, hereinafter Ericsson).
For claim 17, Zou teaches a method for wireless communications at a base station ([Para. 8], In a second aspect, a half-duplex data transmission method is provided. [Para. 11], a network device is provided, configured to execute the method in the foregoing second aspect), comprising: the UE operating in a half-duplex communications mode ([Para. 7], a half-duplex data transmission method is provided, which is applied to a terminal device in half-duplex mode. [Para. 181], when there is a transmission direction conflict between the resources corresponding to the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission, the half-duplex terminal device can determine the priority target transmission on the resources with the conflicting transmission direction according to the priority of the transmission direction).
Although teaching that terminal operates in half-duplex mode, Zou does not explicitly disclose determine that a user equipment (UE) is participating in a random access procedure with the base station during a random access occasion; and refrain from transmitting one or more downlink reference signals during the random access occasion based at least in part on the determination.
Ericsson teaches determine that a user equipment (UE) is participating in a random access procedure with the base station during a random access occasion ([Page 10], For the case of valid RO overlaps with dynamically scheduled DL reception, One potential issue with this though is when gNB sends a PDCCH order to trigger random access. In that case it is reasonable that the UE follows the PDCCH order by prioritizing PRACH transmission over any overlapping DL reception); and refrain from transmitting one or more downlink reference signals during the random access occasion based at least in part on the determination ([Page 10], For the case of valid RO overlaps with dynamically scheduled DL reception. Option 1 may allow gNB to avoid scheduling DL overlapping with RO. One potential issue with this though is when gNB sends a PDCCH order to trigger random access. In that case it is reasonable that the UE follows the PDCCH order by prioritizing PRACH transmission over any overlapping DL reception. This implies that gNB may need to avoid doing DL scheduling for an unnecessarily long time, simply to ensure that the PRACH transmission is not cancelled due to some DL transmission. [Page 5, first paragraph for case 1], if the UE detects a DCI format indicating to the UE to receive CSI-RS [Examiner’s Note: Dynamically scheduled downlink transmission includes CSI-RS]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou, so that the base station can refrain from transmitting downlink reference signals during random access occasion based on the determination that the UE is participating random access procedure, as taught by Ericsson. The modification would have avoided collision between DL transmission and random occasion (Ericsson [Page 10]).
For claim 21, Zou and Ericsson teach the method of claim 17. The references further teach wherein the one or more downlink reference signals comprise a synchronization signal block, a channel state information reference signal (Zou [Para. 82], the first downlink transmission may be any downlink transmission based on a semi-static configuration including: [Para. 83], SSB reception), a tracking reference signal, a phase tracking reference signal, or a demodulation reference signal, a channel state information reference signal, a tracking reference signal, a phase tracking reference signal, or a demodulation reference signal.
For claim 28, Zou teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a base station ([Para. 252] and [FIG. 10], the communication device 600 may specifically be the network device), comprising: at least one processor ([Para. 247], The communication device 600 shown in FIG. 10 includes a processor 610), memory coupled to the at least one processor ([Para. 248], the communication device 600 may further include a memory 620. Wherein, the processor 610 can invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620), and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to ([Para. 248], Wherein, the processor 610 can invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620, so as to implement the method in the embodiment of the present application): the UE operating in a half-duplex communications mode ([Para. 7], a half-duplex data transmission method is provided, which is applied to a terminal device in half-duplex mode. [Para. 181], when there is a transmission direction conflict between the resources corresponding to the uplink transmission and the downlink transmission, the half-duplex terminal device can determine the priority target transmission on the resources with the conflicting transmission direction according to the priority of the transmission direction).
Although teaching that terminal operates in half-duplex mode, Zou does not explicitly disclose determine that a user equipment (UE) is participating in a random access procedure with the base station during a random access occasion; and refrain from transmitting one or more downlink reference signals during the random access occasion based at least in part on the determination.
Ericsson teaches determine that a user equipment (UE) is participating in a random access procedure with the base station during a random access occasion ([Page 10], For the case of valid RO overlaps with dynamically scheduled DL reception, One potential issue with this though is when gNB sends a PDCCH order to trigger random access. In that case it is reasonable that the UE follows the PDCCH order by prioritizing PRACH transmission over any overlapping DL reception); and refrain from transmitting one or more downlink reference signals during the random access occasion based at least in part on the determination ([Page 10], For the case of valid RO overlaps with dynamically scheduled DL reception. Option 1 may allow gNB to avoid scheduling DL overlapping with RO. One potential issue with this though is when gNB sends a PDCCH order to trigger random access. In that case it is reasonable that the UE follows the PDCCH order by prioritizing PRACH transmission over any overlapping DL reception. This implies that gNB may need to avoid doing DL scheduling for an unnecessarily long time, simply to ensure that the PRACH transmission is not cancelled due to some DL transmission. [Page 5, first paragraph for case 1], if the UE detects a DCI format indicating to the UE to receive CSI-RS [Examiner’s Note: Dynamically scheduled downlink transmission includes CSI-RS]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takeda, so that the base station can refrain from transmitting downlink reference signals during random access occasion based on the determination that the UE is participating random access procedure, as taught by Ericsson. The modification would have avoided collision between DL transmission and random occasion (Ericsson [Page 10]).
Claim 19 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (WO2022241658A1, hereinafter Zou) in view of Ericsson (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e R1-2104181, hereinafter Ericsson), and further in view of Park et al. (US20190253949A1, hereinafter Park).
For claim 19, Zou and Ericsson teach the method of claim 17. Although teaching refraining from transmitting downlink reference signals based on determination of UE participating random access procedure, the references do not explicitly disclose further comprising: continuing to transmit the one or more downlink reference signals periodically based at least in part on a completion of the random access procedure.
Park is directed to providing beam failure information for radio configuration. More specifically, Park teaches further comprising: continuing to transmit the one or more downlink reference signals periodically based at least in part on a completion of the random access procedure ([0326], the base station may transmit to a wireless device configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise parameters of a plurality of CSI-RS signal format and/or resources. Configuration parameters of a CSI-RS may comprise one or more parameters indicating CSI-RS periodicity. A plurality of CSI-RS signals may be configured. In an example, the one or more message may indicate the correspondence between SS blocks and CSI-RS signals. A UE in RRC-connected mode may be configured with CSI-RS signals and may be measure pathloss based on CSI-RS signals).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou and Ericsson, so that the UE in RRC connected state receives CSI-RS transmitted periodically, as taught by Park. The modification would have enhanced a radio link failure report by providing information of a beam failure recovery failure, so that a base station is able to identify a cause of wireless device's connection failure (Park, [Para. 0305]).
For claim 30, Zou and Ericsson teach the apparatus of claim 28. The references further teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (Zou [Para. 247], The communication device 600 shown in FIG. 10 includes a processor 610. Zou [Para. 248], Wherein, the processor 610 can invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620, so as to implement the method in the embodiment of the present application).
Although teaching refraining from transmitting downlink reference signals based on determination of UE participating random access procedure, the references do not explicitly disclose continue to transmit the one or more downlink reference signals periodically based at least in part on a completion of the random access procedure.
Park is directed to providing beam failure information for radio configuration. More specifically, Park teaches continue to transmit the one or more downlink reference signals periodically based at least in part on a completion of the random access procedure ([0326], the base station may transmit to a wireless device configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise parameters of a plurality of CSI-RS signal format and/or resources. Configuration parameters of a CSI-RS may comprise one or more parameters indicating CSI-RS periodicity. A plurality of CSI-RS signals may be configured. In an example, the one or more message may indicate the correspondence between SS blocks and CSI-RS signals. A UE in RRC-connected mode may be configured with CSI-RS signals and may be measure pathloss based on CSI-RS signals)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou and Ericsson, so that the base station continues to transmit to the UE in RRC connected state the CSI-RS periodically, as taught by Park. The modification would have enhanced a radio link failure report by providing information of a beam failure recovery failure, so that a base station is able to identify a cause of wireless device's connection failure (Park, [Para. 0305]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (WO2022241658A1, hereinafter Zou) in view of Ericsson (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e R1-2104181, hereinafter Ericsson), and further in view of Lee et al. (US20230300888A1, hereinafter Lee).
For claim 20, Zou and Ericsson teach the method of claim 17. Further, Zou further teaches and receiving a random access channel outside of the time period (Zou [Para. 94], the time position corresponding to the uplink symbol included in the first resource and the time position corresponding to the downlink symbol included in the second resource completely overlap, it can be considered that the first resource and the second resource exist transmission direction conflict [Examiner’s Note: The complete overlapping time is the second time period]. Zou [Para. 142], The terminal device sets the RO with the transmission direction conflict as unavailable. Zou [Para. 167], the RO that is set as unavailable does not participate in the mapping from SSB to RO, that is, the SSB is not mapped to the unavailable RO. In this case, the ROs mapped to the SSB are all capable of sending PRACH RO [Examiner’s Note: The second time period is the overlapping time. The mapped SSBs are outside of the overlapping time, the second time period]).
Although teaching refraining from transmitting downlink reference signals based on determination of UE participating random access procedure, the references do not explicitly disclose further comprising: continuing to transmit the one or more downlink reference signals periodically from the base station during a time period that includes at least one random access occasion of a plurality of random access occasions.
Lee is directed to providing method for transmitting/receiving random access channel, and device therefor. More specifically, Lee teaches further comprising: continuing to transmit the one or more downlink reference signals periodically from the base station during a time period that includes at least one random access occasion of a plurality of random access occasions ([Para. 0083], an SSB is periodically transmitted according to the SSB periodicity. [Para. 0195], The MIB may include control information for CORESET #0 scheduling SIB1 (System Information Block 1). In addition, SIB1 may include basic information for random access. Among the above control information and basic information, various SSBs can be mapped to one RO).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zou and Ericsson, so that the base station periodically transmits SSB including correspondingly mapped random access occasions, as taught by Lee. The modification would have provided for transmitting and receiving a random access channel (RACH) for RedCap UE (Lee [Para. 0005 and 0007]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 18, 25 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417