DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
The most recent claim set for this application was submitted 07/12/2024, however, this is a duplicate copy of the unamended claims submitted 12/26/2023. The claims currently under examination are the amended claims dated 12/26/2023. Confirmation that these are the claims to be examined was given by phone by Attorney Chad Rink on 10/20/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, the word “of” should be deleted from line 3 (“…is performed to make a total amount of the oil and the silica precursor used in the step 1
In claim 14, “pass” should read “passes” in line 2 (“…wherein a number of passes…”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 8-9, the claims recite the phrase “batch type agitation tank”. The addition of the work “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(b).III.E. In the instant case, the definite expression “batch agitation tank” is rendered indefinite because of the addition of the word “type”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the oil dispersion liquid" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the oil dispersion liquid” in the claim because it is unclear if this is referring back to the total “oil mixture liquid” or the “oil” as introduced in claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitations “the water phase component” in lines 2-3 and “the oil phase component” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Further regarding claim 11, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “a mass ratio of the water phase component containing the surfactant and water and the oil phase component containing the oil and the silica precursor of the oil mixture liquid used in the step 1”, and the claim also recites (water phase component/oil phase component) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To overcome this rejection, the parathesis can be removed from the claim.
Claim 21 recites “Cavitron or Milder” in line 2. The use of the trademarks renders the claim indefinite because the claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be properly used to describe any particular material or product. See MPEP 2173.05(u).
The remaining claims are rejected for depending on the indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Yamazaki (US 2016/0303531 A1) in view of Anan et al. (US 5,965,676).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki discloses methods for producing fragrance microcapsules with an oil core and a silica shell [abstract] [0007]-[0009] [0108]-[0111]. The methods include preparing an aqueous solution of stearyltrimethylammonium chloride (a surfactant) and mixing with an oil phase that contained a fragrance material (oils) and tetraethoxysilane (a silicone precursor). The resultant mixed solution was emulsified using a homomixer to form droplets and the emulsion (emulsion liquid) was transferred into a separable flask equipped with an agitation blade (a batch type agitation tank) to produce the microcapsules with an oil core and a silica shell [0108]-[0111].
Yamazaki does not disclose that the mixer is an “in-line emulsifier” as required by claim 1.
Anan discloses droplet formation of a dispersing phase component into a continuous phase component with an in-line mixer (i.e., in-line emulsifier) (abstract). Anan teaches that the in-line mixer leads to the formation of particles which display a narrow particle diameter distribution (col 1, lines 56-62; col 2, lines 47-59).
Since Yamazaki generally teaches droplet formation with a mixer, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the in-line mixer, taught by Anan, within the teachings of Yamazaki, because Anan teaches that the in-line mixer leads to the formation of particles which display a narrow particle diameter distribution (col 1, lines 56-62; col 2, lines 47-59).
Examiner’s Note regarding claims 2 and 17: “reaction rate of the silica precursor” is defined in the instant specification as “the proportion of the silica precursor that at least partially reacts in the emulsion liquid. For example, in the case where a tetraalkoxysilane is used as the silica precursor, the tetraalkoxysilane that is partially hydrolyzed is deemed to have reacted, from which the reaction rate is calculated” [0008].
Regarding claims 2 and 17, while Yamazaki does not explicitly disclose the reaction rate of the tetraethoxysilane silica precursor in the examples at [0108]-[0111], Yamazaki does disclose pH values of the emulsions are 3.9 [0108] or 4.2 [0111]. Yamazaki shows in Figure 3 that the hydrolysis reaction is a function of the pH value and pH values of 3.9 and 4.2 have reaction rates close to zero. Therefore, it would be reasonably expected that the reaction rate of the silica precursor within the teachings of Yamazaki would have a reaction rate of 80% or less, as required by claim 2 and a reaction rate of 55% or less as required by claim 17.
In the alternative, the reaction rate of the silica precursor would have been achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation. Yamazaki shows in Figure 3 that the hydrolysis reaction of the tetraalkoxysilane is a function of the pH value and further teaches that the extent of the hydrolysis reaction influences the polymerization (i.e., density) of the crosslinked product [0037]-[0044]. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of the tetraalkoxysilane reaction rate and controlling it by varying the pH (Fig 3) [0037]-[0044] have been taught by the prior art; as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum reaction rate to achieve the desired polymerization of the crosslinked product via routine experimentation within the teachings of Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 3, while Yamazaki does not disclose an in-line emulsifier/dispenser which has a rotor and a stator, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the in-line emulsifier, taught by Anan, within the teachings of Yamazaki, as previously discussed, and Anan teaches that the in-line mixer apparatus is equipped with a rotor and stator (Fig 1; Fig 5; col 5, lines 44-55).
Claim 7 is rendered prima facie obvious because Yamazaki discloses the methods include the silicone precursor tetraethoxysilane [0108]-[0111], which is a tetralkoxysilane.
Claim 8 is rendered prima facie obvious because Yamazaki discloses the pH modifier sodium hydroxide is added to the emulsion(s) to adjust the pH value to values such as 3.9 [0108] or 4.2 [0111]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed. The emulsion is transferred into a separable flask equipped with an agitation blade (a batch agitation tank) to produce the microcapsules [0108]-[0111].
Claim 11 is rendered prima facie obvious because Yamazaki discloses 1.74 g of the surfactant and 98.26 g of water (total amount of aqueous phase = 100 g) and 40 g of the fragrance material and 10 g of tetraethoxysilane (total amount of oil phase = 50 g) [0108]-[0111]. This is a ratio of the water phase component/oils phase component of 2/1, which falls within the claimed range of 1/1 to 99/1.
Regarding claim 13, while Yamazaki does not disclose the use of an in-line emulsifier/dispenser where the components are mixed in in-line mode and then supplied to the in-line emulsifier, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the in-line emulsifier, as taught by Anan, within the teachings of Yamazaki, as previously discussed, and Anan discloses that the components are mixed in-line and then supplied to the emulsifier (Fig 1; Example 1).
Regarding claim 14, while Yamazaki does not disclose the use of an in-line emulsifier wherein a number of passes is 1 or more, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the in-line emulsifier, as taught by Anan, within the teachings of Yamazaki, as previously discussed, and Anan teaches that the number of passes is 1 (Fig 1; Example 1).
Claim 15 is rendered prima facie obvious because Yamazaki discloses the average particle size of emulsified droplets in the emulsion (before being added to the agitation tank) was 2.7 µm [0108] or 3.4 µm [0111]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 16 is rendered prima facie obvious because Yamazaki discloses the emulsion is transferred into a separable flask equipped with an agitation blade [0108]-[0111]. The flask with the agitation blade would act as a “disperser”, as claimed.
Claims 4, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Yamazaki (US 2016/0303531 A1) in view of Anan et al. (US 5,965,676) and further in view of Maa et al. (Journal of Controlled Release, 1996, 38:219-228).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Yamazaki in view of Anan was previously discussed.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of Yamazaki and Anan do not disclose the claimed rotation energy of the rotor per a capacity of an emulsifying/dispersing chamber and an amount of oil.
Maa teaches that when using rotor/stator homogenization to form droplets the rotational speed and the total emulsion volume influence the size of the emulsion droplets (pg. 220, left column; pg. 228, left column).
The rotational speed (which is directly related to the rotational energy) and the total emulsion volume are recognized to be result effective as Maa teaches that these are parameters which influence the size of emulsion droplets. As such, result effective variables can be optimized by routine experimentation and it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the rotation energy of the rotor per a capacity of an emulsifying/dispersing chamber and an amount of oil, within the combined teachings of the prior art to achieve the desired size of the emulsion droplets via routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings of the prior art do not disclose that the emulsification time of step 1 is 12 hours or less.
Maa teaches that when using rotor/stator homogenization to form droplets the residence time influences the size of the emulsion droplets (pg. 220, left column).
The residence time in the rotor/stator homogenizer is recognized to be result effective as Maa teaches that this is a parameter which influence the size of emulsion droplets. As such, result effective variables can be optimized by routine experimentation, and it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the emulsification time within the combined teachings of the prior art to achieve the desired size of the emulsion droplets via routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings of the prior art do not disclose that the emulsification is performed by an external circulation system.
Maa teaches that an externally circulated homogenization process was used to produce encapsulated droplets (abstract). Maa teaches that the homogenization by rotor/stator with external circulation helps solve the problem of non-uniform mixing commonly occurring in large-scale emulsification (pg. 220, right column, top; Section 3.2, pg. 227-228).
Since the combined teachings of the prior art generally teach rotor/stator homogenization to produce droplets, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an external circulation system, within the combined teachings of the prior art, because Maa teaches that the homogenization by rotor/stator with external circulation helps solve the problem of non-uniform mixing commonly occurring in large-scale emulsification (pg. 220, right column, top; Section 3.2, pg. 227-228).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Yamazaki (US 2016/0303531 A1) in view of Anan et al. (US 5,965,676) and further in view of Hiroshi et al. (JP 3589914 B2) and “NATIONAL INDUSTRIAL CHEMICALS NOTIFICATION AND ASSESSMENT SCHEME” (08/22/2002).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Yamazaki in view of Anan was previously discussed.
Regarding claim 5, Yamazaki does not disclose that the amount of the oil mixture liquid used in step 1 is 100 kg or more.
Hiroshi discloses a fragrance particle composition which is produced with 100 kg of Tixosil 38 (silica powder), 25 kg of a fragrance component, 350 kg of sodium lauryl sulfate (surfactant), 10 kg of polyethylene glycol, and 15 kg of water (abstract; [0034]).
“National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme” teaches that a standard size for manufactured fragrance preparations is, for example, 180 kg (pg. 4, section 5).
Since Yamazaki generally teaches a fragrance particle composition it would have been prima facie obvious to use more than 100 kg of the oil mixture liquid because Hiroshi discloses a fragrance particle composition with 100 kg of Tixosil 38 (silica powder), 25 kg of a fragrance component, 350 kg of sodium lauryl sulfate (surfactant), 10 kg of polyethylene glycol, and 15 kg of water (abstract; [0034]). The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use more than 100 kg because “National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme” teaches that a standard size for manufactured fragrance preparations is, for example, 180 kg (pg. 4, section 5). Greater than 100 kg scale preparation of silica fragrance particles is known (Hiroshi) and it would have been obvious to scale up the fragrance particle composition to manufacturing scale (such as 180 kg) within the combined teachings of the prior art.
Claims 9-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Yamazaki (US 2016/0303531 A1) in view of Anan et al. (US 5,965,676) and further in view of Yan et al. (US 2012/0295790 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Yamazaki in view of Anan was previously discussed.
As discussed, Yamazaki discloses 1.74 g of the surfactant, 98.26 g of water, 40 g of the fragrance material and 10 g of tetraethoxysilane in the emulsion liquid [0108]-[0111].
Regarding claims 9-10, Yamazaki does not disclose that the emulsion liquid obtained in step 1 is diluted by adding water thereto, as required by claim 9, wherein the dilution is preformed to make a total amount of the oil and the silica precursor used in step 1 to be 35 parts by mass or less per 100 parts by mass of the emulsion liquid after the dilution, as required by claim 10.
Yan discloses a method of forming microcapsules comprised of a core material with an active ingredient encapsulated within a silica shell [abstract]. The method includes homogenizing a surfactant, water, oils, and a silica compound with a high-shear mixer and stirring in a mixing vessel [0055]-[0058]. Yan teaches that it is preferred that the microcapsule suspension produced be diluted with enough water to make a mixture that can be stirred easily. Yan teaches that the amount of water needed to produce such a mixture is in an amount of from about 25 % to about 50 % by weight as compared to the microcapsule suspension weight [0042]-[0044].
Since Yamazaki generally discloses a method of forming microcapsules comprising a core material encapsulated within a silica shell where the method includes homogenizing a surfactant, water, oils, and a silica compound and then stirring in a mixing vessel, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use about 25 % to about 50 % by weight of water compared to the microcapsule suspension weight to dilute the emulsion, within the teachings of Yamazaki, because Yan teaches that the addition of this amount of water allows for the mixture to be easily stirred [0042]-[0044]. Adding the amount of water taught by Yan to the emulsion liquid of Yamazaki would result in a total amount of the oil and the silica precursor being 35 parts by mass or less per 100 parts by mass of the emulsion liquid after dilution. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Further regarding claim 9, as previously discussed, Yamazaki discloses the emulsion is transferred into a separable flask equipped with an agitation blade (a batch type agitation tank) to produce the microcapsules [0108]-[0111].
Regarding claim 18, Yamazaki does not disclose the temperature of the emulsification step.
However, Yan teaches the emulsification is performed at room temperature (which is taught as 20°C [0021]) with the addition of the silica compound at 50°C [0055]-[0058]. Yan teaches that the temperatures used are appropriate temperature conditions to form the microcapsules [0038].
Since Yamazaki generally discloses a method of forming microcapsules comprising a core material encapsulated within a silica shell where the method includes homogenizing a surfactant, water, oils, and a silica compound, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the temperature taught by Yan, within the teachings of Yamazaki, because Yan teaches that the temperatures used are appropriate temperature conditions to form the microcapsules [0038]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Additionally, generally, differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05.II.A. In the instant case, the general condition of the temperature was taught by Yan [0055]-[0058] and temperature is well known in the art to be results effective (i.e., affects reaction rate and compound stability), as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have arrived at the claimed temperature via routine experimentation.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Yamazaki (US 2016/0303531 A1) in view of Anan et al. (US 5,965,676) and further in view of Hiroshi et al. (JP 3589914 B2), “NATIONAL INDUSTRIAL CHEMICALS NOTIFICATION AND ASSESSMENT SCHEME” (08/22/2002), and Maa et al. (Journal of Controlled Release, 1996, 38:219-228).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Yamazaki in view of Anan was previously discussed.
As discussed, it would be reasonably expected that the reaction rate of the silica precursor within the teachings of Yamazaki would have a reaction rate of 80 % or less or in the alternative, the reaction rate of the silica precursor would have been achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation. Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the in-line emulsifier having a rotor and a stator, as taught by Anan, within the teachings of Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings of Yamazaki and Anan do not disclose the amount of oil mixture liquid used is 100 kg or more or the emulsification is performed by an external circulation system.
Hiroshi discloses a fragrance particle composition which is produced with 100 kg of Tixosil 38 (silica powder), 25 kg of a fragrance component, 350 kg of sodium lauryl sulfate (surfactant), 10 kg of polyethylene glycol, and 15 kg of water (abstract; [0034]).
“National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme” teaches that a standard size for manufactured fragrance preparations is, for example, 180 kg (pg. 4, section 5).
Since Yamazaki generally teaches a fragrance particle composition it would have been prima facie obvious to use more than 100 kg of the oil mixture liquid because Hiroshi discloses a fragrance particle composition with 100 kg of Tixosil 38 (silica powder), 25 kg of a fragrance component, 350 kg of sodium lauryl sulfate (surfactant), 10 kg of polyethylene glycol, and 15 kg of water (abstract; [0034]). The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use more than 100 kg because ”National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme” teaches that a standard size for manufactured fragrance preparations is, for example, 180 kg (pg. 4, section 5). Greater than 100 kg scale preparation of silica fragrance particles is known (Hiroshi) and it would have been obvious to scale up the fragrance particle composition to manufacturing scale (such as 180 kg) within the combined teachings of the prior art.
The combined teachings of Yamazaki, Anan, Hiroshi and “National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme” do not disclose the emulsification is performed by an external circulation system.
Maa teaches that an externally circulated homogenization process was used to produce encapsulated droplets (abstract). Maa teaches that the homogenization by rotor/stator with external circulation helps solve the problem of non-uniform mixing commonly occurring in large-scale emulsification (pg. 220, right column, top; Section 3.2, pg. 227-228).
Since the combined teachings of the prior art generally teach rotor/stator homogenization to produce droplets, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an external circulation system, within the combined teachings of the prior art, because Maa teaches that the homogenization by rotor/stator with external circulation helps solve the problem of non-uniform mixing commonly occurring in large-scale emulsification (pg. 220, right column, top; Section 3.2, pg. 227-228).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Yamazaki (US 2016/0303531 A1) in view of Anan et al. (US 5,965,676) and further in view of Hiroshi et al. (JP 3589914 B2), “NATIONAL INDUSTRIAL CHEMICALS NOTIFICATION AND ASSESSMENT SCHEME” (08/22/2002), Maa et al. (Journal of Controlled Release, 1996, 38:219-228), and Yan et al. (US 2012/0295790 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Yamazaki in view of Anan was previously discussed.
As discussed, it would be reasonably expected that the reaction rate of the silica precursor within the teachings of Yamazaki would have a reaction rate of 55 % or less or in the alternative, the reaction rate of the silica precursor would have been achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation. Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the in-line emulsifier having a rotor and a stator, as taught by Anan, within the teachings of Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings of Yamazaki and Anan do not disclose the amount of oil mixture liquid used is 100 kg or more, the emulsification is performed by an external circulation system, or the liquid mixture applied to the emulsification is 0°C to 50°C.
Hiroshi discloses a fragrance particle composition which is produced with 100 kg of Tixosil 38 (silica powder), 25 kg of a fragrance component, 350 kg of sodium lauryl sulfate (surfactant), 10 kg of polyethylene glycol, and 15 kg of water (abstract; [0034]).
“National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme” teaches that a standard size for manufactured fragrance preparations is, for example, 180 kg (pg. 4, section 5).
Since Yamazaki generally teaches a fragrance particle composition it would have been prima facie obvious to use more than 100 kg of the oil mixture liquid because Hiroshi discloses a fragrance particle composition with 100 kg of Tixosil 38 (silica powder), 25 kg of a fragrance component, 350 kg of sodium lauryl sulfate (surfactant), 10 kg of polyethylene glycol, and 15 kg of water (abstract; [0034]). The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use more than 100 kg because “National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme” teaches that a standard size for manufactured fragrance preparations is, for example, 180 kg (pg. 4, section 5). Greater than 100 kg scale preparation of silica fragrance particles is known (Hiroshi) and it would have been obvious to scale up the fragrance particle composition to manufacturing scale (such as 180 kg) within the combined teachings of the prior art.
The combined teachings of Yamazaki, Anan, Hiroshi and “National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme” do not disclose the emulsification is performed by external circulation system or the liquid mixture applied to the emulsification is 0°C to 50°C.
Maa teaches that an externally circulated homogenization process was used to produce encapsulated droplets (abstract). Maa teaches that the homogenization by rotor/stator with external circulation helps solve the problem of non-uniform mixing commonly occurring in large-scale emulsification (pg. 220, right column, top; Section 3.2, pg. 227-228).
Since the combined teachings of the prior art generally teach rotor/stator homogenization to produce droplets, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an external circulation system, within the combined teachings of the prior art, because Maa teaches that the homogenization by rotor/stator with external circulation helps solve the problem of non-uniform mixing commonly occurring in large-scale emulsification (pg. 220, right column, top; Section 3.2, pg. 227-228).
The combined teachings of Yamazaki, Anan, Hiroshi, “National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme”, and Maa do not disclose the liquid mixture applied to the emulsification is 0°C to 50°C.
Yan discloses a method of forming microcapsules comprised of a core material with an active ingredient encapsulated within a silica shell [abstract]. The method includes homogenizing a surfactant, water, oils, and a silica compound with a high-shear mixer and stirring in a mixing vessel [0055]-[0058]. Yan teaches the emulsification is performed at room temperature (which is taught as 20°C [0021]) with the addition of the silica compound at 50°C [0055]-[0058]. Yan teaches that the temperatures used are appropriate temperature conditions to form the microcapsules [0038].
Since Yamazaki generally discloses a method of forming microcapsules comprising a core material encapsulated within a silica shell where the method includes homogenizing a surfactant, water, oils, and a silica compound, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the temperature taught by Yan, within the teachings of Yamazaki, because Yan teaches that the temperatures used are appropriate temperature conditions to form the microcapsules [0038]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Additionally, generally, differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05.II.A. In the instant case, the general condition of the temperature was taught by Yan [0055]-[0058] and temperature is well known in the art to be results effective (i.e., affects reaction rate and compound stability), as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have arrived at the claimed temperature via routine experimentation.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Yamazaki (US 2016/0303531 A1) in view of Anan et al. (US 5,965,676), Hiroshi et al. (JP 3589914 B2), “NATIONAL INDUSTRIAL CHEMICALS NOTIFICATION AND ASSESSMENT SCHEME” (08/22/2002), Maa et al. (Journal of Controlled Release, 1996, 38:219-228), Yan et al. (US 2012/0295790 A1), and further in view of Fanselow et al. (AIP Conf. Proc. 1713, 140007, 2016).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Yamazaki in view of Anan, Hiroshi, “National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme, Maa, and Yan was previously discussed.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teachings of the prior art do not disclose that the in-line emulsifier is Cavitron.
Fanselow discloses forming droplets from a pre-emulsion the with the in-line emulsifier, Cavitron CD 1000 (abstract; pg. 1, bottom paragraph). Fanselow teaches that the rotor-stator device, Cavitron CD 1000, causes realized droplet breakup due to high shear and elongational stress (abstract; pg. 1, bottom paragraph).
Since the combined teachings of the prior art generally teach forming droplets from a pre-emulsion with a homomixer, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the in-line emulsifier, Cavitron CD 1000, within the teachings of the prior art, because Fanselow teaches Cavitron CD 1000 is used to form realized droplets from a pre-emulsion. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the in-line emulsifier because Fanselow teaches that the rotor-stator device, Cavitron CD 1000, causes realized droplet breakup due to high shear and elongational stress (abstract; pg. 1, bottom paragraph).
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612