DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 25-35 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 25 recite the limitation "the same quasi-co-location chain”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner advises Applicant to change “the same quasi-co-location chain” to “a same quasi-co-location chain” in Claims 1 and 25 to provide proper antecedent basis.
Claims 32, 34 and 35 recite the limitation “the quasi-co-location assumption”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the independent claim in which these claims depend on. Examiner advises Applicant to introduce “a quasi-co-location assumption” in Claim 25 to provide proper antecedent basis for Claims 32, 34 and 35.
***All dependent claims that depend on an independent/dependent claim that has been objected to are also objected. Appropriate correction is required.***
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 19, 25-27 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2021/0159991 A1), Zhou hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1,
Zhou teaches a method of a communication node or element in a communication system (Fig. 1 & Abstract - A method, a computer-readable medium, and an apparatus are provided for wireless communication at a user equipment. Examiner interprets the UE as the communication node/element), which is configured for beam-based operation on an unlicensed spectrum, the method comprising: (Fig. 1 & ¶0028-¶0029 – Please see “unlicensed frequency spectrum” and ¶0030 - The mmW base station 180 may utilize beamforming 182 with the UE 104 to compensate for the extremely high path loss and short range);
obtaining a pathloss measurement configuration, including a reference signal for pathloss measurement; (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0057 (referencing Fig. 4) - FIG. 4 illustrates an example communication flow 400 between a base station 402 and a UE 404 that includes signalling 405 to enable MAC-CE updates for pathloss reference signals. Please see ¶0057);
validating practicability of pathloss measurement based on the configured reference signal; (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0070 (referencing Fig. 4) - In some examples, the UE 404 may determine the pathloss reference signal resource based on the default SRI ID based on the number of configured pathloss reference signals for PUSCH … This determination of the RS resource for pathloss measurement may be applied based on the UE's support for the feature of MAC-CE based update for PUSCH pathloss reference signal(s). Examiner interprets the UE’s determination of the RS resource for pathloss measurement as validating practicability, using the BRI of practicability to mean feasible, capable of being done, or being accomplished without unreasonable difficulty);
and controlling pathloss measurement, wherein pathloss is measured based on the configured reference signal in a case where the configured reference signal is practicable, (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0065 (referencing Fig. 4) - For example, the base station 402 may use RRC signaling to configure a set of pathloss reference signals for the UE, at 403 … The UE may perform L3 filtering per activated pathloss reference signal 411, e.g., as part of measuring the pathloss at 413. The L3 filtering may help the UE to determine a more stable pathloss value, at 413, for the PUSCH power control … The UE 404 may use the mapping to determine, at 409, the pathloss reference signal resource to use for performing the pathloss estimate, at 413. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”); or pathloss measurement is skipped or pathloss is measured based on another reference signal being on the same quasi-co-location chain as the configured reference signal in a case where the configured reference signal is not practicable.
Re. Claims 2 and 26, Zhou teaches Claims 1 and 25.
Zhou further teaches validating comprises: checking presence of the configured reference signal, wherein the configured reference signal is practicable when being present, (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0064 (referencing Fig. 4) - The UE 404 may be configured with multiple pathloss reference signals by RRC signaling from the base station, at 403, and one of the configured pathloss reference signals may be activated/updated by a MAC-CE for a particular SRS resource set, at 407 based on the enablement of the MAC-CE updates, at 405. ¶0065 - For example, the UE 404 may identify, at 409, a reference signal resource index for the pathloss reference signal using information received in the MAC-CE, at 407. Examiner interprets the UE being able to identify the configured reference signal as checking for its presence, therefore the configured reference signal is practicable);
and/or checking validity of the configured reference signal, wherein the configured reference signal is practicable when being valid (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0064 (referencing Fig. 4) - The UE 404 may be configured with multiple pathloss reference signals by RRC signaling from the base station, at 403, and one of the configured pathloss reference signals may be activated/updated by a MAC-CE for a particular SRS resource set, at 407 based on the enablement of the MAC-CE updates, at 405. ¶0065 - The UE may perform L3 filtering per activated pathloss reference signal 411, e.g., as part of measuring the pathloss at 413. The L3 filtering may help the UE to determine a more stable pathloss value … ¶0080 - The method may enable the UE to make more accurate pathloss reference signal estimates through enabling more dynamic updates of the pathloss reference signal. Examiner interprets the UE receiving the configured reference signal and able to perform filtering per reference signal, as part of measuring the path loss, and determining a more stable pathloss value as the configured reference signal being practicable, where Examiner interprets validity as whether a transmitted message or data packet sent from a source to a destination is accurately received).
Re. Claim 19,
Zhou teaches a method of a communication control node or element in a communication system, (¶0002 - The present disclosure relates generally to communication systems … ¶0007 - In another aspect of the disclosure, a method, a computer-readable medium, and an apparatus are provided for wireless communication at a base station) which is configured for beam-based operation on an unlicensed spectrum, the method comprising: (Fig. 1, 3 & ¶0028-¶0029 – Please see “unlicensed frequency spectrum” and ¶0030 - The mmW base station 180 may utilize beamforming 182 with the UE 104 to compensate for the extremely high path loss and short range);
providing a pathloss measurement configuration, including a reference signal for pathloss measurement, for a communication control node or element (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0064 (referencing Fig. 4) - The UE 404 may be configured with multiple pathloss reference signals by RRC signaling from the base station, at 403, and one of the configured pathloss reference signals may be activated/updated by a MAC-CE for a particular SRS resource set, at 407 based on the enablement of the MAC-CE updates, at 405. ¶0065 - The base station 402 may update pathloss reference signals per SRS resource indicator (SRI) associated with a PUSCH transmission using a MAC-CE, at 407 … The UE may perform L3 filtering per activated pathloss reference signal 411, e.g., as part of measuring the pathloss at 413. Examiner interprets the UE as the communication control node or element receiving the pathloss measurement configuration and the base station providing).
Re. Claim 25,
Zhou teaches an apparatus of a communication node or element in a communication system, which is configured for beam-based operation on an unlicensed spectrum, (Fig. 1 & ¶0028-¶0029 – Please see “unlicensed frequency spectrum” and ¶0030 - The mmW base station 180 may utilize beamforming 182 with the UE 104 to compensate for the extremely high path loss and short range); the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, is configured to cause the apparatus to perform: (Fig. 3);
obtaining a pathloss measurement configuration, including a reference signal for pathloss measurement, (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0057 (referencing Fig. 4) - FIG. 4 illustrates an example communication flow 400 between a base station 402 and a UE 404 that includes signalling 405 to enable MAC-CE updates for pathloss reference signals. Please see ¶0057);
validating practicability of pathloss measurement based on the configured reference signal, (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0070 (referencing Fig. 4) - In some examples, the UE 404 may determine the pathloss reference signal resource based on the default SRI ID based on the number of configured pathloss reference signals for PUSCH … This determination of the RS resource for pathloss measurement may be applied based on the UE's support for the feature of MAC-CE based update for PUSCH pathloss reference signal(s). Examiner interprets the UE’s determination of the RS resource for pathloss measurement as validating practicability, using the BRI of practicability to mean feasible, capable of being done, or being accomplished without unreasonable difficulty);
and controlling pathloss measurement, wherein pathloss is measured based on the configured reference signal in a case where the configured reference signal is practicable, (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0065 (referencing Fig. 4) - For example, the base station 402 may use RRC signaling to configure a set of pathloss reference signals for the UE, at 403 … The UE may perform L3 filtering per activated pathloss reference signal 411, e.g., as part of measuring the pathloss at 413. The L3 filtering may help the UE to determine a more stable pathloss value, at 413, for the PUSCH power control … The UE 404 may use the mapping to determine, at 409, the pathloss reference signal resource to use for performing the pathloss estimate, at 413. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”); or pathloss measurement is skipped or pathloss is measured based on another reference signal being on the same quasi-co-location chain as the configured reference signal in a case where the configured reference signal is not practicable.
Re. Claim 27, Zhou teaches Claim 26.
Zhou further teaches checking presence yields that the configured reference signal is present when an indication is obtained, (Abstract - The UE receives an indication from a base station that a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) activation of a pathloss reference signal is enabled. The UE receives a MAC-CE activating the pathloss reference signal. The UE determines the pathloss reference signal based on the MAC-CE and the indication that indicates that the MAC-CE activation of the pathloss reference signal is enabled);
which indicates that the configured reference signal is part of short control signaling,
and/or an indication is obtained, which indicates that the configured reference signal is within a served beam (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0030 - The mmW base station 180 may utilize beamforming 182 with the UE 104 to compensate for the extremely high path loss and short range. ¶0057 - As presented herein, a base station may provide an indication to the UE informing the UE whether a feature for updating the pathloss reference signals via MAC-CE is enabled … As an example, if the UE 404 receives an indication in RRC signalling that pathloss reference signal updates (e.g., for SRS and/or PUSCH) are enabled, the UE may receive indications updating the pathloss reference signal in a MAC-CE, e.g., at 407. Please also see ¶0068. Examiner interprets a reference signal activated via MAC-CE and successfully received by the UE during beamformed communication is understood to be within a serving beam. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or”).
Re. Claim 43,
Zhou teaches an apparatus of a communication control node or element in a communication system, (¶0002 - The present disclosure relates generally to communication systems … ¶0007 - In another aspect of the disclosure, a method, a computer-readable medium, and an apparatus are provided for wireless communication at a base station) which is configured for beam-based operation on an unlicensed spectrum, the apparatus comprising; at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, is configured to cause the apparatus to perform: (Fig. 1, 3 & ¶0028-¶0029 – Please see “unlicensed frequency spectrum” and ¶0030 - The mmW base station 180 may utilize beamforming 182 with the UE 104 to compensate for the extremely high path loss and short range);
providing a pathloss measurement configuration, including a reference signal for pathloss measurement, for a communication control node or element (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0064 (referencing Fig. 4) - The UE 404 may be configured with multiple pathloss reference signals by RRC signaling from the base station, at 403, and one of the configured pathloss reference signals may be activated/updated by a MAC-CE for a particular SRS resource set, at 407 based on the enablement of the MAC-CE updates, at 405. ¶0065 - The base station 402 may update pathloss reference signals per SRS resource indicator (SRI) associated with a PUSCH transmission using a MAC-CE, at 407 … The UE may perform L3 filtering per activated pathloss reference signal 411, e.g., as part of measuring the pathloss at 413. Examiner interprets the UE as the communication control node or element receiving the pathloss measurement configuration and the base station providing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 28-35 and 44-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0053775 A1), Lee hereinafter.
Re. Claims 20 and 44, Zhou teaches Claims 19 and 43.
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach the processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, is configured to cause the apparatus to perform:/providing, for the communication control node or element, a channel occupancy time configuration of the communication control node or element, relating to one or more reference signals.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches the processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, is configured to cause the apparatus to perform:/providing, for the communication control node or element, a channel occupancy time configuration of the communication control node or element, relating to one or more reference signals (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0067 - The DL-RS#1 (and/or DL-RS#2) may provide the indication to the UE 200 in an implicit manner. For example, the UE 200 may determine that a channel provided by the BS 100 (e.g., the channel occupied by the BS 100) for the UE 200 is correlated with the DL-RS#1 in response to receiving the DL-RS#1 by using the spatial domain receive filter 231 corresponding to the DL-RS#1, wherein if a received power or a received quality of the DL-RS#1 received by the spatial domain receive filter 231 is exceeded a pre-determined threshold, the UE 200 may determine that the spatial domain receive filter 231 is corresponded to the DL-RS#1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 28, Zhou teaches Claim 27.
Zhou further teaches the indication, which indicates that the configured reference signal is within the served beam, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0030 - The mmW base station 180 may utilize beamforming 182 with the UE 104 to compensate for the extremely high path loss and short range. ¶0057 - As presented herein, a base station may provide an indication to the UE informing the UE whether a feature for updating the pathloss reference signals via MAC-CE is enabled … As an example, if the UE 404 receives an indication in RRC signalling that pathloss reference signal updates (e.g., for SRS and/or PUSCH) are enabled, the UE may receive indications updating the pathloss reference signal in a MAC-CE, e.g., at 407. Please also see ¶0068. Examiner interprets a reference signal activated via MAC-CE and successfully received by the UE during beamformed communication is understood to be within a serving beam);
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach comprises an indication, which indicates that at least one reference signal providing a quasi-co- location assumption of a channel occupancy time of a serving communication control node or element is earlier on the same quasi-co-location chain as the configured reference signal or has the same quasi-co-location chain as the configured reference signal.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches comprises an indication, which indicates that at least one reference signal providing a quasi-co- location assumption of a channel occupancy time of a serving communication control node or element is earlier on the same quasi-co-location chain as the configured reference signal or has the same quasi-co-location chain as the configured reference signal (Fig. 3-8, 11 & ¶0062 - Accordingly, if a channel or a data burst is correlated with the spatial domain reference signal corresponding to the beam 22 (e.g., the channel (or the data burst) and the spatial domain reference signal are spatial correlated or have the same spatial quasi co-location (QCL) assumption), the UE 200 may access said channel or data burst by using the same spatial domain receive filter (e.g., spatial domain receive filter 231) to achieve better quality of the DL reception, since the channel or data burst is served by the beam spatial correlated with the spatial domain reference signal. Please also see ¶0063-¶0064. ¶0106 - … the UE 200 may access the PDSCH#A by using a spatial domain receive filter according to a predefined state … of an indication (e.g., Transmission Configuration Indication, TCI) which is configured for indicating a QCL assumption for PDSCH reception. Examiner interprets that when a channel or data burst is spatially correlated or quasi-co-located (QCL) with a reference signal, the UE can be informed of that correlation via an indication derived from downlink reference signals and then the UE can reuse the same spatial receive filter associated with the reference signal to receive the channel with improved quality, so ¶0062-¶0064 support a shared QCL and the one reference signal providing the QCL assumption has the same QCL chain as the configured reference signal. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 29, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 28.
Zhou further teaches the indication, which indicates that the configured reference signal is within the served beam, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0030 - The mmW base station 180 may utilize beamforming 182 with the UE 104 to compensate for the extremely high path loss and short range. ¶0057 - As presented herein, a base station may provide an indication to the UE informing the UE whether a feature for updating the pathloss reference signals via MAC-CE is enabled … As an example, if the UE 404 receives an indication in RRC signalling that pathloss reference signal updates (e.g., for SRS and/or PUSCH) are enabled, the UE may receive indications updating the pathloss reference signal in a MAC-CE, e.g., at 407. Please also see ¶0068. Examiner interprets a reference signal activated via MAC-CE and successfully received by the UE during beamformed communication is understood to be within a serving beam);
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach is based on detection of a physical downlink control channel with a demodulation reference signal on the same quasi-co-location chain as the configured reference signal, and/or content of downlink control information on a physical downlink control channel.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches is based on detection of a physical downlink control channel with a demodulation reference signal on the same quasi-co-location chain as the configured reference signal, (Fig. 1-2, 4-8 & ¶0069 - The UE 200 may obtain an indication, such as the DL-RS#1, for indicating whether a data burst (or a channel) correlated (e.g., spatial quasi co-located) with the SSB#1 is available. The DL-RS#1 indicates that a data burst correlated with the SSB#1 is available to the UE 200, wherein the data burst is provided by the BS 100 for the UE 200. The UE 200 may access a channel during an occupancy time 51 if the DL-RS#1 indicates that the channel is available, wherein any of a DL signal and/or channel (e.g., PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or CSI-RS) carried by the data burst during the occupancy time 51 would be correlated (e.g., spatial correlated or spatial quasi co-located) with the SSB#1. Examiner interprets the UE may access a channel during occupancy time based on an indication provided by the detection of DL-RS#1, where any DL signal or PDCCH transmitted during this time is QCL with SSB#1, ensuring the indication is derived from a reference signal on the same QCL chain as the configured signal. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or”).
and/or content of downlink control information on a physical downlink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 30, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 29.
Zhou further teaches checking validity yields that the configured reference signal is valid when the configured reference signal has or relates to a downlink or flexible resource (Fig. 2A, 2C & ¶0037 - In the examples provided by FIGS. 2A, 2C, the 5G/NR frame structure is assumed to be TDD, … where D is DL, U is UL, and X is flexible for use between DL/UL, and subframe 3 being configured with slot format 34 (with mostly UL). While subframes 3, 4 are shown with slot formats 34, 28, respectively, any particular subframe may be configured with any of the various available slot formats 0-61. Slot formats 0, 1 are all DL, UL, respectively. Other slot formats 2-61 include a mix of DL, UL, and flexible symbols. UEs are configured with the slot format (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling) through a received slot format indicator (SFI). Examiner interprets the UE configuration defines the type of transmissions expected, meaning a reference signal mapped to downlink or flexible symbols (where reception is allowed) is effectively valid for the UE to use when the slots are configured for downlink or flexible symbols, and a reference signal mapped in an uplink-only symbol would not be expected to be received, so the UE would not consider it valid for downlink processing).
Re. Claim 31, Zhou teaches Claim 25.
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach the processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, is configured to cause the apparatus to perform: obtaining a channel occupancy time configuration of a serving communication control node or element, relating to one or more reference signals, wherein validating comprises checking correspondence of the configured reference signal with the one or more reference signals, and the configured reference signal is practicable when corresponding to at least one of the one or more reference signals.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches the processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, is configured to cause the apparatus to perform: obtaining a channel occupancy time configuration of a serving communication control node or element, relating to one or more reference signals, (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0069 - The UE 200 may access a channel during an occupancy time 51 if the DL-RS#1 indicates that the channel is available, wherein any of a DL signal and/or channel (e.g., PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or CSI-RS) carried by the data burst during the occupancy time 51 would be correlated (e.g., spatial correlated or spatial quasi co-located) with the SSB#1);
wherein validating comprises checking correspondence of the configured reference signal with the one or more reference signals, and the configured reference signal is practicable when corresponding to at least one of the one or more reference signals (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0067 - The DL-RS#1 (and/or DL-RS#2) may provide the indication to the UE 200 in an implicit manner. For example, the UE 200 may determine that a channel provided by the BS 100 (e.g., the channel occupied by the BS 100) for the UE 200 is correlated with the DL-RS#1 in response to receiving the DL-RS#1 by using the spatial domain receive filter 231 corresponding to the DL-RS#1, wherein if a received power or a received quality of the DL-RS#1 received by the spatial domain receive filter 231 is exceeded a pre-determined threshold, the UE 200 may determine that the spatial domain receive filter 231 is corresponded to the DL-RS#1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 32, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 31.
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach the channel occupancy time configuration comprises: a quasi-co-location assumption of a channel occupancy time of the serving communication control node or element, and/or an indication of one or more additional reference signals which are spatially correlated with at least one reference signal providing the quasi-co-location assumption.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches the channel occupancy time configuration comprises: a quasi-co-location assumption of a channel occupancy time of the serving communication control node or element,
and/or an indication of one or more additional reference signals which are spatially correlated with at least one reference signal providing the quasi-co-location assumption (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0065 - … Spatial correlation information among signals may be configured by the higher layer signaling. For example, a higher layer signaling transmitted from the BS 100 may indicate to the UE 200 that signals such as DL-RS, SSB, CSI-RS, or SRS are quasi co-located with each other. If the UE 200 knows that a DL-RS is quasi co-located with a spatial domain reference signal (e.g., a SSB), the UE 200 may determine, in response to receiving the DL-RS, a channel quasi co-located with the spatial domain reference signal has been occupied for the UE 200. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 33, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 32.
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach the indicated one or more additional reference signals comprise one or more channel state information reference signals and/or comprise or are contained in one or more blocks of a synchronization signal and/or a physical broadcast channel.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches the indicated one or more additional reference signals comprise one or more channel state information reference signals and/or comprise or are contained in one or more blocks of a synchronization signal and/or a physical broadcast channel (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0061 - A serving area of the BS 100 could be divided into multiple divisions such as the beams 21-23, wherein each of beams 21-23 corresponding to a spatial domain reference signal. The spatial domain reference signal may be a signal such as a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a sounding reference signal (SRS), wherein the SSB may comprise a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a second synchronization signal (SSS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Please also see Claim 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 34, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 33.
Zhou further teaches checking comprises: checking whether the configured reference signal is among the one or more reference signals, (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0064 (referencing Fig. 4) - The UE 404 may be configured with multiple pathloss reference signals by RRC signaling from the base station, at 403, and one of the configured pathloss reference signals may be activated/updated by a MAC-CE for a particular SRS resource set, at 407 based on the enablement of the MAC-CE updates, at 405. ¶0065 - For example, the UE 404 may identify, at 409, a reference signal resource index for the pathloss reference signal using information received in the MAC-CE, at 407);
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach including the at least one reference signal providing the quasi-co-location assumption and the indicated one or more additional reference signals.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches including the at least one reference signal providing the quasi-co-location assumption and the indicated one or more additional reference signals (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0072 - Referring to FIG. 5B, spatial domain reference signals SSB#0, SSB#1, and SSB#2 are transmitted through the beam 21, 22, and 23 by the BS 100 respectively … That is, the BS 100 may transmit the DL-RS#1 through the beam 22 and may transmit the DL-RS#2 through the beam 23 according to the LBT results. ¶0073 - The UE 200 may obtain an indication for indicating whether a data burst (or a channel) correlated with the SSB#1 is available in response to receiving the DL-RS#1 and obtain an indication for indicating whether a data burst (or a channel) correlated with the SSB#2 is available in response to receiving the DL-RS#2, wherein the DL-RS#1 indicates that the data burst correlated (e.g., spatial correlated or spatial quasi co-located) with the SSB#1 is available to the UE 200, the DL-RS#2 indicates that the data burst correlated (e.g., spatial correlated or spatial quasi co-located) with the SSB#2 is available to the UE 200, and the data bursts respectively corresponding to the SSB#1 and the SSB#2 are occupied by the BS 100 for the UE 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 35, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 34.
Zhou further teaches when the configured reference signal is among the one or more reference signals, (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0064 (referencing Fig. 4) - The UE 404 may be configured with multiple pathloss reference signals by RRC signaling from the base station, at 403, and one of the configured pathloss reference signals may be activated/updated by a MAC-CE for a particular SRS resource set, at 407 based on the enablement of the MAC-CE updates, at 405. ¶0065 - For example, the UE 404 may identify, at 409, a reference signal resource index for the pathloss reference signal using information received in the MAC-CE, at 407);
the pathloss is measured based on the configured reference signal using at least one of: the at least one reference signal providing the quasi-co-location assumption,
the indicated one or more additional reference signals, (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0065 - Then, the base station 402 may activate a pathloss reference signal per SRI, at 407, each activated pathloss reference signal being from the configured set of pathloss reference signals. The UE may perform L3 filtering per activated pathloss reference signal 411, e.g., as part of measuring the pathloss at 413. The L3 filtering may help the UE to determine a more stable pathloss value, at 413, for the PUSCH power control. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
and reference signals sharing the same quasi-co-location assumption in the channel occupancy time of the serving communication control node or element.
Re. Claim 45, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 44.
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach the channel occupancy time configuration comprises: a quasi-co-location assumption of a channel occupancy time of the communication control node or element, and an indication of one or more additional reference signals which are spatially correlated with at least one reference signal providing the quasi-co-location assumption.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches the channel occupancy time configuration comprises: a quasi-co-location assumption of a channel occupancy time of the communication control node or element, (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0065 - For example, a higher layer signaling transmitted from the BS 100 may indicate to the UE 200 that signals such as DL-RS, SSB, CSI-RS, or SRS are quasi co-located with each other. If the UE 200 knows that a DL-RS is quasi co-located with a spatial domain reference signal (e.g., a SSB), the UE 200 may determine, in response to receiving the DL-RS, a channel quasi co-located with the spatial domain reference signal has been occupied for the UE 200. Please also see ¶0071-¶0073);
and an indication of one or more additional reference signals which are spatially correlated with at least one reference signal providing the quasi-co-location assumption (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0064 - In an embodiment, the UE 200 may obtain, from a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), the indication for indicating whether a channel (or a data burst) correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available. ¶0062 - Accordingly, if a channel or a data burst is correlated with the spatial domain reference signal corresponding to the beam 22 (e.g., the channel (or the data burst) and the spatial domain reference signal are spatial correlated or have the same spatial quasi co-location (QCL) assumption), the UE 200 may access said channel or data burst by using the same spatial domain receive filter (e.g., spatial domain receive filter 231) to achieve better quality of the DL reception, since the channel or data burst is served by the beam spatial correlated with the spatial domain reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 46, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 45.
Yet, Zhou does not explicitly teach the indicated one or more additional reference signals comprise one or more channel state information reference signals and/or comprise or are contained in one or more blocks of a synchronization signal and/or a physical broadcast channel.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches the indicated one or more additional reference signals comprise one or more channel state information reference signals and/or comprise or are contained in one or more blocks of a synchronization signal and/or a physical broadcast channel (Fig. 2-3, 5-7, 10, 17 & ¶0061 - A serving area of the BS 100 could be divided into multiple divisions such as the beams 21-23, wherein each of beams 21-23 corresponding to a spatial domain reference signal. The spatial domain reference signal may be a signal such as a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a sounding reference signal (SRS), wherein the SSB may comprise a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a second synchronization signal (SSS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Please also see Claim 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Zhou. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method for downlink reception in an unlicensed band where the method includes receiving an indication for indicating whether a channel correlated with a spatial domain reference signal is available; and accessing the channel if the indication indicates the channel is available (Abstract, Lee).
Re. Claim 47, Zhou and Lee teach Claim 46.
Zhou further teaches the configured reference signal is a channel state information reference signal (Fig. 2A & ¶0040 - As illustrated in FIG. 2A, some of the REs carry reference (pilot) signals (RS) for the UE. The RS may include … channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) for channel estimation at the UE. ¶0055 - Pathloss reference signals may be configured for an uplink signal of the UE, for an uplink channel of the UE, etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ETSI TS 138 211 V15.2.0 – Please see Page 10, Section 4.3.2 (Slots).
Ye et al. (US 2022/0407651 A1) – Please see Abstract, ¶0024 and Fig. 1-3.
Ryu et al. (US 2020/0389849 A1) – Please see Abstract, ¶0002-¶0248 & Fig. 1-17.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465