DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26, 27, 29, 35, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 26, 27, 29, 35, 39 and 40, each claim recites a relative location of the respectively claimed structure. However, the preceding claims fail to define any specific orientation of location of the previously claimed structure, wherein the location would be dependent upon the orientation of the apparatus and/or viewpoint of a user (i.e. the left side from one orientation will be the right side if viewed from the opposite side of the claimed invention). It is suggested that the applicant amend at least one of the preceding claims to define a specific orientation (such as defining the accommodating space as extending into the pedestal assembly from a front of the pedestal in claim 21), and then clarifying the later respective locations with clarifying limitations (such as “when viewed from a front of the pedestal” in claim 26).
Further regarding claims 29 and 40, the limitations that the respective components “bypass the base” is further unclear because the components (air return tube in claim 29 and first and second pipelines in claim 40) are connected to the base, whereas the term “bypass” suggests that the pass by or do not contact the base. It is suggested that the applicant amend the claims to clarify the intended structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27, 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 113062091 A) in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (11,927,965; filed 16 August 2021; to be referred to hereinafter as EA).
Regarding claim 21, Cao discloses a pedestal assembly (2) comprising: a base (2-1) comprising an accommodation space for accommodating a cleaning robot (3), the accommodation space being provided with a dust collecting port (not shown but inherently provided to collect debris from the robotic cleaner, as disclosed by Cao); and a dust collecting component (2-11) comprising a dust collecting container (2-10) communicated with the dust collecting port. However, Cao fails to disclose that the dust collecting container is arranged on any one of lateral sides of the accommodation space. EA discloses (in Figs. 15A-C, 19A-19B and 22A-22B) similar robotic cleaner (4303) and a base having a dust collecting component for receiving the robotic cleaner in an accommodation space therein for removing debris from the cleaner and collecting the debris in a container (4301), and teaches that the dust collecting container may be positioned on any one of lateral sides of the accommodation space (Figs. 15A-C, 19A-19B on one lateral side and 22A-22B on the other) to reduce the overall height of the base, to allow the base to fit under a cabinet (Fig. 20A) having limited space thereunder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optionally provide the dust collecting container for the dust collecting component of Cao on a lateral side of the base, as taught by EA, and/or to provide the assembly of EA in the pedestal of Cao, to reduce the height of the base, allowing the pedestal to have a lower overall height, which would allow the pedestal to be lower, thus allowing the cleaner (1) to be positioned closer to the ground when on the pedestal, which would be understood to anyone of ordinary skill in the art to allow for easier access thereto.
Regarding claim 22, both Cao and EA further disclose an accommodation space defined by an accommodation cavity to receive the robotic cleaner therein, the dust collecting container is arranged outside the accommodation cavity, and while Cao fails to discloses the location of the dust collecting port, EA further discloses that the dust collecting port is arranged on a sidewall of the accommodation cavity, which will allow the dust collecting port to engage with the dust collecting outlet of the robotic cleaner. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to position the dust collecting port on a similar sidewall of the dust collecting component of Cao, to provide a similar function for the a robotic cleaner having the same structure as disclosed by EA.
Regarding claim 23, both Cao and EA further disclose that a height of the dust collecting container is less than or equal to a height of a top surface of the base, which will be necessary to position the dust collecting container on a lateral side of the accommodation space to reduce the height, as taught by EA.
Regarding claim 24, EA further discloses that the dust collecting container comprises a dust collecting housing (portion of the base surrounding the container (4301), and also discloses an alternative embodiment wherein the dust collecting container includes a bag (trash bag 1504), wherein the examiner hereby takes official notice that vacuum cleaner bags are almost universally formed to be air permeable to function as a filter to collect debris and dust, while allowing air to pass through, such that it would have been obvious for the container (4301) to also include a bag, which function as a filter element being arranged in the dust collecting housing. Additionally, due to the location and orientation of the dust collecting container (4301) in the base, when positioned under a cabinet or in a pedestal of Cao, the dust collecting container and filter would obviously be removable in a drawable manner out of the front of the base in order to avoid removal of the base from the cabinet or pedestal or lifting of the cabinet or cleaner from the base. Thus, when the dust collecting container is provided with a bag filter, the filter element will be configured to filter and accommodate impurities in a gas flow, and wherein a drawing port for drawing the filter element (from the base) is provided on a front side of the dust collecting housing, as shown in Fig. 22B of EA.
Regarding claim 25, EA further discloses that the dust collecting component comprises a dust collecting tube (best seen in Fig. 22A between suction motor 4300 and robotic cleaner 4303), wherein the dust collecting port is communicated with an internal space of the dust collecting container by the dust collecting tube.
Regarding claim 26, EA further discloses that the dust collecting container is positioned at a right side of the accommodation cavity (when viewed from a rear of the base of Figs. 22A-22B or from a front of Figs. 15A-15C and 19A-19B), and is spaced apart from the accommodation cavity, and the dust collecting tube is arranged in a spacing between the dust collecting container and the accommodation cavity (as seen in all of Figs. 15A-15C, 19A-19B and 22A-22B).
Regarding claim 27, EA further discloses that the dust collecting component comprises a dust collecting motor (4300) disposed behind the dust collecting container.
Regarding claim 41, Cao further discloses a support frame (2-6, 2-7, 2-8) for supporting at least one laundry processor (1); and a pedestal assembly according to claim 21, the pedestal assembly being disposed within the support frame.
Regarding claim 42, Cao further discloses a laundry processing apparatus comprising: at least one laundry processor (1); and the pedestal device according to claim 41, wherein the pedestal device is arranged below the at least one laundry processor, and the at least one laundry processor is supported on the support frame.
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 113062091 A) in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (11,927,965; filed 16 August 2021) as applied to claim 27, and in view of Won et al. (2014/0109339).
Regarding claim 28, both Cao and EA fail to disclose an air return port. Won discloses another similar debris removing base for collecting debris from a robotic cleaner, and teaches that the debris may be sucked from the cleaner by a dust collecting motor (air mover), similar to Cao and EA, or alternatively may be sucked from the cleaner, while the air mover also blows air into another port on the robotic cleaner, which is well known in the art to improve removal of debris from the cleaner and also to increase the speed of removal by stirring up the debris within the robot cleaner. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a similar blowing function to the base assembly of Cao, as modified by EA, comprising an air return port (480A, B or C, as taught by Won) arranged on a sidewall of the accommodation cavity (Fig. 8 of Won), and the dust collecting component comprises an air return tube (shown by Won, but not numbered, which would be necessary to return the air from the suction motor to the air return port), wherein the air return port is communicated with an air outlet of the dust collecting motor through the air return tube (as taught by Won; claim 35).
Regarding claim 29, when the air return ports taught by Won are provided as 408A and 408C, to surround the suction port for improved evacuation, and the dust collecting container is arranged on a right side of the base (as discussed supra for claim 26), the air return port (408C will be arranged at a left-rear corner of the sidewall of the accommodation cavity (as shown in Fig. 8 of Won), and the air return tube will “bypass” the base from a rear of the base (extending from the suction motor on the right side to the opposed side return port, which will obviously pass along a rear area of the base, external to the accommodating cavity, in the same manner as the applicant’s disclosed invention) and will be connected to the air return port to provide the return air function taught by Won.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 113062091 A) in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (11,927,965; filed 16 August 2021) and Won et al. (2014/0109339) as applied to claim 28, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 114652246 A).
The combination of Cao, EA and Won, as discussed supra, will provide the air return tube extending along a rear of the base, external to the accommodating cavity, as discussed supra, but fails to disclose a drying channel. Yang discloses another similar debris removing base for collecting debris from a robotic cleaner, and teaches that the base preferably includes a dryer fan and channel(s) (7) to dry any moisture from the cleaner head of the robot after cleaning in a tank (33) in the accommodating space that provides fluid to clean the cleaner head of the robot. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a similar tank, dryer fan and channel(s), as taught by Yang, to the base of Cao as modified by EA and Won, to provide further functions of cleaning the cleaner head of the robot and then drying the cleaner head, which will effectively refresh the cleaning function of the cleaner head. Thus, when the dryer fan and channel(s) (7)of Yang are provided to the base configuration taught by EA in a similar position taught by Yang, immediately behind the accommodating space, then the air return tube (as discussed for claims 28-29) would be positioned at a location with at least a portion of the air return tube behind at least one of the drying channels taught by Yang.
Claims 31, 32 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 113062091 A) in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (11,927,965; filed 16 August 2021) as applied to claims 21 and 22, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 114652246 A).
Regarding claim 31, as discussed above for claim 30, Yang provides motivation to further include a drying component (7), the drying component comprising a fan and a drying channel, as discussed supra, wherein an air inlet (335 of Yang in Fig. 14) is provided on a rear sidewall of the accommodation cavity, the air inlet being communicated with an air outlet on a rear end of the fan through the drying channel. However, although none of the applied prior art teach that the fan is arranged horizontally on a top surface of the base, the claimed location is merely a rearrangement of parts, wherein it would have been obvious to relocate the dryer fan taught by Yang, to a different location when providing the base of Cao with a low-height configuration as taught by EA. Further, MPEP 2144.04, section VI-C indicates that relocation of a part, from a location disclosed by the prior art, would be obvious if it does not change the function of the prior art. Therefore, relocating the dryer fan to effectively any location that would allow the fan to connect to the dryer channels, would be obvious, including the fan being arranged horizontally on a top surface of the base (due to the small size, compared to the dust collector, this location would still allow for reduced height of the base of Cao, as taught by EA).
Regarding claim 32, each of Cao, EA and Yang further disclose charging terminals (2-11-2, 4304 and 336, respectively) provided on the rear sidewall of the accommodation cavity, and Yang further discloses that there are two drying channels, the two drying channels being arranged side by side in a left-right direction with outlets (335), the charging terminals being located between the outlets of the two drying channels (as seen in Fig. 14). Therefore, it further would have been obvious to provide similar components to the base of Cao, to provide the robot head cleaning function taught by Yang.
Regarding claim 37, as discussed supra for claim 30, Yang teaches the cleaning tank (33), which is provided in a bottom wall of the accommodation space, and further teaches that the liquid cleaning system includes the a water drainage component (5; although translated to “vacuum pump”, the component 5 is understood by the context of the disclosure to be a drain pump for the tank 33) comprising: a pump body (5), and a water drainage channel (51) communicated with the cleaning tank (33), and a water inlet end of the water drainage channel extends into the cleaning tank from top to bottom and sucks liquid in the cleaning tank upwards under an effect of the pump body. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to provide similar components to the base of Cao, to provide the robot head cleaning function taught by Yang.
Regarding claim 38, Yang further discloses that the pump body comprises a water drainage pump, the water drainage component comprises a water storage container (11) disposed upstream of the water drainage pump (pump 5 shown downstream to create suction in the collection portion 112 of container 11 to collect the fluid from the tank 33), and the pedestal assembly comprises a water inlet component (6), the water inlet component comprising a branch passage and a water inlet passage for supplying water to the cleaning tank (from clean water portion 111), the water inlet passage being communicated with the water storage container (111 is part of container 11) through the branch passage. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to provide similar components to the base of Cao, to provide the robot head cleaning function taught by Yang.
Regarding claim 39, Yang further discloses that the water drainage component is positioned on a right-rear side of the base (when viewed from a front of the base, similar to Fig. 13), the water drainage pump is positioned on a right side of the water storage container, and a water outlet of the water drainage pump is oriented towards a rear of the base Therefore, it further would have been obvious to provide similar components to the base of Cao, to provide the robot head cleaning function taught by Yang.
Claims 33 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 113062091 A) in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (11,927,965; filed 16 August 2021) as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 114652246 A), as applied to claims 30-32 and 37-39 and further in view of Zheng et al. (CN 215914461U) and Sasahara et al. (JP2005-143789A).
As discussed supra, Yang teaches a cleaning tank provided in a bottom wall of the accommodation space, and a water inlet component comprising: a water inlet passage for supplying water to the cleaning tank, but fails to discloses a water inlet valve of pressure relief container. Zheng discloses a similar base station for collecting debris from a robotic cleaner and cleaning the robot head, also having a water inlet and teaches the flow of water therethrough is controlled by a water inlet valve connected with a water tank. Zheng further teaches that the tank is filled when the water level is lower than a predetermined level and is used to supply water (see Zheng paragraphs [0002], [0023]-[0024], [0045], [0049]). Since the tank is used to store water filled from the faucet, said water storage tank can be considered as being configured to relieve a pressure and slow down flow of water along the water inlet pipeline from the water inlet valve to the cleaning portion. Furthermore, Sasahara discloses the benefits of using a water storage tank to store water, including not having the tap water pressure directly applied so that no pressure-resistant structure is required (see Sasahara paragraphs [0005]-[0008], [0013]). Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the water supply system for the head cleaning tank taught by Yang, with a valve for the water supply tank, and to configure the water supply tank as taught by Zheng and Sasahara, to function as a pressure relief tank, to relieve a pressure and slow down flow of water along the water inlet pipeline from the water inlet valve to the cleaning portion while providing the benefits of using a water storage tank to store water, including not having the tap water pressure directly applied so that no pressure-resistant structure is required.
Regarding claim 40, Yang further discloses that the accommodation space is defined by an accommodation cavity to receive the robot cleaner therein, and wherein each of a left sidewall and a right sidewall of the accommodation cavity is provided with a water inlet (334), the water inlet passage comprises a first pipeline and a second pipeline (portion 6 shown to define two separate pipelines) that communicate with the pressure relief container (water supply tank), the first pipeline bypasses the base from a right rear of the base and is connected to the water inlet on a right side of the base and the second pipeline bypasses the base from a left rear of the base and is connected to the water inlet on a left side of the base. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to provide similar components to the base of Cao, to provide the robot head cleaning function taught by Yang.
Claims 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 113062091 A) in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (11,927,965; filed 16 August 2021), Yang et al. (CN 114652246 A), Zheng et al. (CN 215914461U) and Sasahara et al. (JP2005-143789A) as applied to claim 33, and further in view of Qian et al. (2023/0389769; earliest foreign priority dated 10 February 2021).
Regarding claim 34, none of the previously applied prior art teaches a detergent dispensing device. Qian discloses yet another similar base station for collecting debris from a robotic cleaner and cleaning the robot head and teaches a detergent dispensing device (tank 13) disposed at a top of the base, wherein a liquid outlet of the detergent dispensing device is communicated with the pressure relief container (clean water tank) so as to pump a detergent into the pressure relief container to provide water and/or detergent to the head cleaning system. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a similar detergent dispending device to the head cleaning systems taught by Yang and Zheng, to optionally provide detergent, which is known to improve cleaning function to water.
Regarding claim 35, as discussed supra relative to claim 31, MPEP 2144.04, section VI-C indicates that relocation of a part, from a location disclosed by the prior art, would be obvious if it does not change the function of the prior art. Therefore, relocation of any of the components set forth in claim 35 to effectively any location that would allow the components to perform their intended functions, would be obvious, including the water inlet valve and the pressure relief container being arranged at the top of the base on a left-rear side of the base, and the water inlet valve, the pressure relief container and the detergent dispensing device are arranged successively in a line from rear to front.
Regarding claim 36, the detergent tank taught by Qian may be considered to be a detergent cartridge for storing a detergent and the dispensing pump will effectively function by sucking the detergent in the detergent cartridge (when the water pump of Qian function to supply detergent).
Conclusion
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 9 January 2026