DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 1799.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 45-53, in the reply filed on 5/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 54-64 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/24/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement dated 12/26/2023 has been considered and made of record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a cell delivery unit” in claim 45;
“a reciprocating member” in claim 46;
“an element or a member configured for inducing vortexing, shaking or stirring, wherein the member is not a blade or a set of blades” in claim 47;
“a storage unit” in claim 48;
“a reciprocating unit” in claim 49.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46 depends from claim 45 and recites “a cell isolation chamber” and “a delivery unit”. Claim 45 already recites “a cell isolation chamber” and “a delivery unit”. As a result, it is not clear if these are additional structures or the same structures recited in claim 46. Claim 46 will be treated on its merits as though the claim elements in question are the same claim elements as recited in claim 45. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 45-50, 52 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tremolada (US 2013/0123747) (Attached PTO-892).
With respect to claim 45, the reference of Tremolada discloses:
A device (Fig. 10) comprising a cell isolation chamber (CIC)(washing and isolation chamber)(1) detachably associated with a cell delivery unit (syringe)(12) (Note: This claim element is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f), the disclosed corresponding structure is a syringe device), the CIC being adapted to receive a tissue to be mechanically and/or enzymatically manipulated to separate therefrom cells or cell populations, wherein the device is configured to allow cells isolated from the tissue in the cell isolation chamber to gravitationally collect in the detachable cell delivery unit, wherein the delivery unit is configured for delivery of the isolated cells in vivo or in vitro (The disclosed device is structurally capable of being used in this manner).
With respect to claims 46, 48 and 49, the device of the reference of Tremolada discloses that the delivery unit (syringe)(12) is detachably connected to the CIC (chamber)(1) through a valve assembly (9) wherein the delivery unit (syringe)(12) has a main body and a reciprocating member (plunger rod) (Note: This claim element is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f), the disclosed corresponding structure is a syringe device which would include a main body and reciprocating plunger rod.)
With respect to claim 47, the reference of Tremolada discloses that the device can include an element or member for inducing vortexing, shaking or stirring (¶[0142]-[0148]) (Note: This claim element is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f), the disclosed corresponding structure is discussed in ¶[0017]-[0020]of the instant specification which includes the same structures as discussed by the reference of Tremolada.)
With respect to claim 50, the reference of Tremolada discloses the barrel of the syringe device (12) has at least two openings, one of said opening being positioned along a path of material communication with said CIC and another at one end of the barrel being opposite to the plunger path (Fig. 10).
With respect to claims 52 and 53, the reference of Tremolada discloses the delivery unit (syringe)(12) is connected with the CIC through a connector member (9) which include “luer locks” (¶[0137]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tremolada (US 2013/0123747) (Attached PTO-892) in view of Huang (US 2016/0361476) (Attached PTO-892) and Schroeder et al. (WO 2011/006056) (Attached PTO-892).
The reference of Tremolada has been discussed above with respect to claim 45.
Claim 51 differs by reciting that a tubular body of the delivery unit (syringe) is provided with a membrane or filter.
The reference of Huang discloses that it is known in the art of processing and isolating cells to filter the cells provided the collection/delivery syringe (326) (¶[0135]).
The reference of Schroeder et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide an adipose cell delivery device (syringe)(14) with a filter (24) disposed in the syringe body (Fig. 7).
In view of these teachings and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the dispensing syringe of the system of the reference of Tremolada with a filter for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means of ensuring the correct size of cells are delivered from the syringe device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference of Fojtik (US 2011/0224642) (Attached PTO-892) is cited as prior art which pertains to a syringe device with two ports.
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB