DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7-10,and 13-14are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al.(WO 2013/096555 A1, hereinafter Anderson).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a method for receiving data units by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a first data unit based on a Group-Radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) from a network(page 49, line1-11, wherein the CSR-gRNTI includes the G-RNTI)s; decoding the first data unit and identifying a logical channel related to the first data unit based on the G-RNTI (figure 23), ; based on decoding the first data unit failing, transmitting a negative response related to the first data unit to the network(page 33, lines 4-9, wherein the not received includes the negative response and the retry includes the decoding and selection of other resources, page 62, lines 22-32 includes the NACK); receiving a second data unit based on a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTD) from a network; decoding the second data unit; and based on the second data unit being a retransmitted data unit of the first data unit, identifying the logical channel based on the G-RNTI ( figure 22,page36, lines 20-22, wherein the other resource includes the CRNTD from a network, page 49, lines 15-35 wherein the group addressing includes the second data being identified based on the CSR-gRNTI).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson discloses based on the second data unit not being a retransmitted data unit of the first data unit, identifying the logical channel based on the C-RNTI (page 49, lines 1-10 wherein the reconfiguration is based on the csr-Rnti includes the c-RNTI not related to the group).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson discloses wherein the first data unit comprises a broadcasted data unit(figure 17, page 38, lines 12-16, point to multipoint) , and the second data unit comprises a unicasted data unit (figure 17, page 38, lines 14-15 , point to point).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson discloses based on decoding the retransmitted data unit succeeding, transferring the second data unit through the logical channel to an upper layer (page 38, lines 20-28).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: receiving a first data unit based on a Group-Radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) from a network( page 49, line1-11, wherein the CSR-gRNTI includes the G-RNTI); decoding the first data unit and identifying a logical channel related to the first data unit based on the G-RNTI (figure 23); based on decoding the first data unit failing, transmitting a negative response related to the first data unit to the network (page 33, lines 4-9, wherein the not received includes the negative response and the retry includes the decoding and selection of other resources, page 62, lines 22-32 includes the NACK); receiving a second data unit based on a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTD from a network; decoding the second data unit; and based on the second data unit being a retransmitted data unit of the first data unit, identifying the logical channel based on the G-RNTI ( figure 22,page36, lines 20-22, wherein the other resource includes the CRNTD from a network, page 49, lines 15-35 wherein the group addressing includes the second data being identified based on the CSR-gRNTI).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson discloses , wherein the operations further comprise: based on the second data unit not being a retransmitted data unit of the first data unit, identifying the logical channel based on the C-RNTI (page 49, lines 1-10 wherein the reconfiguration is based on the csr-Rnti includes the c-RNTI not related to the group).
Regarding claim 9, Anderson discloses wherein the first data unit comprises a broadcasted data unit,( figure 17, page 38, lines 12-16, point to multipoint) , and the second data unit comprises a unicasted data unit (figure 17, page 38, lines 14-15 , point to point).
Regarding claim 10, Anderson discloses wherein the operations further comprise: based on decoding the retransmitted data unit succeeding, transferring the second data unit through the logical channel to an upper layer (page 38, lines 20-28).
Regarding claim 13, Anderson discloses a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: receiving a first data unit based on a Group-Radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) from a network ( page 49, line1-11, wherein the CSR-gRNTI includes the G-RNTI); decoding the first data unit and identifying a logical channel related to the first data unit based on the G-RNTI (figure 23); based on decoding the first data unit failing, transmitting a negative response related to the first data unit to the network; receiving a second data unit based on a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTD) from a
network; decoding the second data unit; and based on the second data unit being a retransmitted data unit of the first data unit, identifying the logical channel based on the G-RNTI ( figure 22,page36, lines 20-22, wherein the other resource includes the CRNTD from a network, page 49, lines 15-35 wherein the group addressing includes the second data being identified based on the CSR-gRNTI).
Regarding claim 14, Anderson discloses a computer readable storage medium storing at least one computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for a user equipment (UE), the operations comprising: receiving a first data unit based on a Group-Radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) from a network; decoding the first data unit and identifying a logical channel related to the first data unit based on the G-RNTI (figure 23); based on decoding the first data unit failing, transmitting a negative response related to the first data unit to the network (page 33, lines 4-9, wherein the not received includes the negative response and the retry includes the decoding and selection of other resources, page 62, lines 22-32 includes the NACK); receiving a second data unit based on a Cell-RNTI (C-RNTD from a network; decoding the second data unit; and based on the second data unit being a retransmitted data unit of the first data unit, identifying the logical channel based on the G-RNTI ( figure 22,page36, lines 20-22, wherein the other resource includes the CRNTD from a network, page 49, lines 15-35 wherein the group addressing includes the second data being identified based on the CSR-gRNTI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al.(WO 2013/096555 A1, hereinafter Anderson) in view of Kadiri et al. (US 2021/0068004 A1, hereinafter Kadiri).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Anderson discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein identifying the logical channel comprises identifying the logical channel from a logical channel pool related to the G-RNTI. Kadiri discloses wherein identifying the logical channel comprises identifying the logical channel from a logical channel pool related to the G-RNTI (¶[0058, wherein the LCID includes the logical channel pool). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the logical channel pool as disclosed by Kadiri along with the system of Anderson. The logical channel pool may be implemented through software to provide for transmission (¶[0058], Kadiri).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Anderson discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein a header of each of the first and second data units includes a field related to a logical channel identifier, and the logical channel identifier identifies the logical channel from the logical channel pool related to the G-RNTI. Kadiri discloses wherein a header of each of the first and second data units includes a field related to a logical channel identifier, and the logical channel identifier identifies the logical channel from the logical channel pool related to the G-RNTI (¶[0056],¶[0062]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the logical channel pool as disclosed by Kadiri along with the system of Anderson. The logical channel pool may be implemented through software to provide for transmission (¶[0058], Kadiri).
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412