DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendment correspondence filed 12/26/2023.
Claims 1-3, 7-13, 17-18, 22-23, 27, 30-31, 38, & 40-41 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2023 & 5/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-13, 17-18, 22-23, 27, 30-31, 38, & 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al (US20210250913A1) in view of Belleschi et al (US20210219320A1).
Regarding claim 1 (and method claim 38), Ganesan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories (claim 1 processor and memory); and
one or more processors (claim 1 processor and memory), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive, on one or more sidelink channels, a set of messages indicating a corresponding set of resource reservations ([0032]-[0034], [0038]-[0039], UE is explicitly configured to listed to other UEs and receive sidelink control messages (SPI/SCI) indicating resources or transmission patterns that are selected and reserved for a time period; each received SPI corresponds to a resource reservation by another UE; UE listens to other UEs and receives sidelink control messages indicating a specific resource or transmission pattern being selected and reserved for a predetermined time period; SPI/SCI is sent on PSCCH and indicates reserved resources/patterns); and
But Ganesan fails to teach transmit, to a second UE, a resource information message that indicates a subset of the set of resource reservations.
However, Belleschi teaches transmit, to a second UE, a resource information message that indicates a subset of the set of resource reservations ([0039]-[0041], disclosure the receive[Wingdings font/0xE0]process[Wingdings font/0xE0]transmit pattern where a UE receives SCI indicating a candidate set of radio resources, reservation for future transmissions; in response, UE sends a feedback message conveying information about those resources to another UE; the feedback message does not retransmit all received reservations, but instead conveys derived information for a selected portion/set (subset) (candidate set, alternative set, status-indicated set)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 2 (and method claim 40), Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are associated with one or more messages, from the set of messages, that were received earlier than remaining messages, from the set of messages, associated with resource reservations, of the set of resource reservations, not included in the subset.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are associated with one or more messages, from the set of messages, that were received earlier than remaining messages, from the set of messages, associated with resource reservations, of the set of resource reservations, not included in the subset ([0034], [0037]-[0039], explicitly describes multiple SCI messages, sensing windows, and prioritization/selection among received reservations; resource selection is performed after excluding and ranking reservations received over time; UE excludes resources indicated by decoded scheduling assignments (SCI) received during the sensing window (temporal ordering); UE selects a candidate set (subset) from remaining resources after processing received SCI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 3, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are selected based at least in part on a maximum quantity of resource reservations.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are selected based at least in part on a maximum quantity of resource reservations ([0034], UE selects s subset of resources from the resource pool where the subset may correspond to about 20% of the total resources; teaches selecting only a limited subset of resources from the resource pool—the subset size is constrained (e.g. a fraction of the total pool) which is functionally equivalent to a maximum quantity threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 7 (and method claim 41), Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are selected based at least in part on a time window.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are selected based at least in part on a time window ([0034]-[0035], UE performs sensing over a sensing time window preceding resource reselection, and processes reservations (SCI) received within that window; resource exclusion and subset selection are explicitly ties to the time window used for sensing and reservation collection; subset selection is explicitly time-window-based).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 8, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein a length of the time window is a preconfigured value stored in the one or more memories.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein a length of the time window is a preconfigured value stored in the one or more memories ([0035], the sensing time window is describes as configured/predefined and used repeatedly for sensing and selection; sensing time window is discussed as a defined window whose size may be fixed or configured, implying storage as a configuration parameter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 9, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication of a length of the time window.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication of a length of the time window ([0032]-[0033], UE operates under network-assisted sidelink operation, where configuration parameters (including sensing behavior) may be signaling by the network; receipt if configuration implicitly includes receiving an indication of sensing-window length; resource selection follows standardized sidelink procedures (mode 4) which rely on configured sensing parameters).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 10, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine a length of the time window based at least in part on a maximum transmission resource available, a maximum modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a fixed MCS, a network congestion parameter, a traffic pattern, an indication from an application layer of the UE, or a combination thereof.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine a length of the time window based at least in part on a maximum transmission resource available, a maximum modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a fixed MCS, a network congestion parameter, a traffic pattern, an indication from an application layer of the UE, or a combination thereof ([0033]-[0035], reference explains the window size impacts congestion, detection probability, energy consumption, and traffic suitability; further teaches adapting sensing behavior based on traffic type, congestion, and UE capability, which naturally motivates determining window length based on such parameters; larger vs smaller sensing windows trade off congestion detection, latency and energy, directly tying window size to system conditions; selection depends on interference, RSSI, congestion, and traffic behavior).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 11, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are selected based at least in part on signal strengths associated with the set of messages, distances associated with the set of messages, identifiers included in the set of messages, sizes associated with the set of resource reservations, amount of resources reserved with the set of messages, periodicities of the resources reserved with the set of messages, or a combination thereof.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are selected based at least in part on signal strengths associated with the set of messages, distances associated with the set of messages, identifiers included in the set of messages, sizes associated with the set of resource reservations, amount of resources reserved with the set of messages, periodicities of the resources reserved with the set of messages, or a combination thereof ([0034], [0039], [0041], explicitly teaches selection/exclusion based on signal strength (RSRP/RSSI), congestion level, resource size/candidate size, periodic reservations, priority identifiers (PPPP); Resources excluded or ranked based on RSRP/RSSI thresholds; SCI includes priority identifiers and reservations for multiple future time slots (periodicity); multi-level indicator reflects interference strength/congestion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 12, Ganesan teaches the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are associated with a retransmission count that satisfies a retransmission threshold ([0030]-[0032], [0040]-[0041], discusses repeated transmissions over reserved resources and mechanisms to improve reliability and avoid collision; while not using the exact phrase “retransmission count,” it discloses multiple transmissions over reserved patterns and conflict handling, implying tracking retransmissions; reservation of resources for multiple future transmissions to improve reliability; conflict resolution and reliability improvement mechanisms that inherently depend on transmission attempts).
Regarding claim 13, Ganesan teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
discard, from the one or more memories, stored data associated with resource reservations, from the set of resource reservations, that are associated with a retransmission count that does not satisfy the retransmission threshold ([0038]-[0040], reservation information is maintained only for a predetermined time period and updated based on continued validity; once conditions are no longer met (e.g. collisions, conflicts, expired reservations), the reservation information is no longer retained; reservations are valid for a predetermined time period or expiration and removal; conflict resolution causes outdated or invalid reservations to be superseded or removed).
Regarding claim 17, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are associated with a hop count that satisfies a hop count threshold.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are associated with a hop count that satisfies a hop count threshold ([0004]-[0006], [0032]-[0034], the reference explicitly addresses multi-UE sidelink scenarios, where messages are received from different transmitted UEs, potentially via intermediate UEs (hidden/exposed node problems); resource status and reservation relevance depend on topological proximity and whether transmissions originate from nearby vs farther UEs, which is the functional equivalent of hop-based relevance filtering).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 18, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: discard, from the one or more memories, stored data associated with resource reservations, from the set of resource reservations, that are associated with a hop count that does not satisfy the hop count threshold.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: discard, from the one or more memories, stored data associated with resource reservations, from the set of resource reservations, that are associated with a hop count that does not satisfy the hop count threshold ([0034], [0040]-[0041], reservations that are determined to be irrelevant (e.g. originating from UEs outside effective interference range are excluded from further consideration; exclusion is discarding stored reservation data that does not meet proximity/topology criteria; hop-count-based irrelevance is simply one topological criterion for exclusion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 22, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are associated with a quantity of resources/subchannels that satisfies a resource/subchannel threshold.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the subset of the set of resource reservations are associated with a quantity of resources/subchannels that satisfies a resource/subchannel threshold ([0026]-[0027], [0034], repeatedly discusses candidate sets, resource pools, and selection of only a limited number of resources from a larger pool; the size of the selected set if bounded, which is directly equivalent to a resource/subchannel quantity threshold; a reservation may cover one or more radio resources, explicitly recognizing reservation size; UE selects a subset of resources from the resource pool, with the subset size constrained (e.g. ~20%); Selecting reservations only if they fit within a bounded subset size inherently applies a resource/subchannel threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 23, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
discard, from the one or more memories, stored data associated with resource reservations, from the set of resource reservations, that are associated with a quantity of resources/subchannels that does not satisfy the resource/subchannel threshold.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
discard, from the one or more memories, stored data associated with resource reservations, from the set of resource reservations, that are associated with a quantity of resources/subchannels that does not satisfy the resource/subchannel threshold ([0034], [0037]-[0039], resources that do not fit within the selected subset are excluded and not retained as candidate resources; exclusions are discarding stored reservation information associated with oversized or non-selected reservations; After ranking and selection, only the subset of candidate resources is retained; other are excluded; SCI-indicated reservations not selected into the candidate set are not used for subsequent transmission decisions; a reservation exceeding the allowed quantity necessarily fails the threshold and is therefore excluded).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 27, Ganesan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories (claim 1 processor and memory); and
one or more processors (claim 1 processor and memory), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
But Ganesan fails to teach transmit, to a user equipment (UE), at least one parameter to determine a subset, from a set of resource reservations, to include in a resource information message on one or more sidelink channels.
However, Belleschi teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE), at least one parameter to determine a subset, from a set of resource reservations, to include in a resource information message on one or more sidelink channels ([0039]-[0041], disclosure the receive[Wingdings font/0xE0]process[Wingdings font/0xE0]transmit pattern where a UE receives SCI indicating a candidate set of radio resources, reservation for future transmissions; in response, UE sends a feedback message conveying information about those resources to another UE; the feedback message does not retransmit all received reservations, but instead conveys derived information for a selected portion/set (subset) (candidate set, alternative set, status-indicated set)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 30, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one parameter includes a length of a time window.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one parameter includes a length of a time window ([0034]-[0035], UE performs sensing over a sensing time window preceding resource reselection, and processes reservations (SCI) received within that window; resource exclusion and subset selection are explicitly ties to the time window used for sensing and reservation collection; subset selection is explicitly time-window-based).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Regarding claim 31, Ganesan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the length of the time window is selected from a plurality of preconfigured values stored in the one or more memories.
However, Belleschi teaches the apparatus wherein the length of the time window is selected from a plurality of preconfigured values stored in the one or more memories ([0035], the sensing time window is describes as configured/predefined and used repeatedly for sensing and selection; sensing time window is discussed as a defined window whose size may be fixed or configured, implying storage as a configuration parameter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the sidelink resource reservation techniques of Ganesan, which teaches receiving sidelink control messages indicating resources reserved by neighboring UEs, with the resource-processing and feedback mechanisms of Belleschi, which teaches receiving reservation-related sidelink messages and transmitting a second message conveying selected resource information to another UE. Further, Belleschi teaches selecting only a bounded subset of resources from received reservations, which naturally motivates reporting only a subset—preferably those received earlier and within a maximum quality. The motivation to combine the references would be to efficiently coordinate sidelink transmissions by leveraging known sidelink reservation signaling while limiting signaling overhead and collisions through selective reporting of only a bounded, prioritized subset of received resource reservations to neighboring UEs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ashraf et al (US20210314962A1) discloses reference signal management for sidelink radio transmission
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419