Status of Claims/Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5 and 7 are currently pending and claim 6 is canceled in response to the claim amendments filed on 06/15/2026. The claim amendments have introduced new issues to claims 1-5 and 7, thus overcame the 102 rejections as presented in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 02/13/2026. Upon further consideration of, new ground(s) of rejections are detailed below.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections:
Applicants’ claim amendments and remarks filed on 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicants traverse the 101 rejection and requests reconsideration and withdrawal; however, the response fails to present any arguments. See Remarks at 5. The claim amendments introduce new issues, thus upon further consideration of, new ground(s) of rejections are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Independent claims 1 and 7:
1. A movement route determination device that determines, in a case where a degree of freedom of axes of a machine tool is higher than a degree of freedom determined by an NC machining program and a parameter, a movement route for the axes based on the NC machining program and the parameter, the movement route determination device comprising a processor that is configured to:
acquire information regarding a machining condition including at least a contour machining route of a workpiece by analyzing the NC machining program;
calculate an evaluation formula for determining the movement route;
calculate, as a constraint condition for determining the movement route, at least the contour machining route specified by the NC machining program and a relational expression of the axes, the relational expression being based on machine configuration data of the machine tool; and
search for and determine the movement route such that the evaluation formula is minimized or maximized within a searchable range and the movement route passes through the contour machining route specified by the NC machining program.”
7. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program for a computer that determines, in a case where a degree of freedom of axes of a machine tool is higher than a degree of freedom determined by an NC machining program and a parameter, a movement route for the axes based on the NC machining program and the parameter, the non- transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program causing the computer to perform operations that comprise:
acquiring information regarding a machining condition including at least a contour machining route of a workpiece by analyzing the NC machining program;
calculating an evaluation formula for determining the movement route;
calculating, as a constraint condition for determining the movement route, at least the contour machining route specified by the NC machining program and a relational expression of the axes, the relational expression being based on machine configuration data of the machine tool; and
searching for and determining the movement route based on the evaluation formula and the constraint condition such that the evaluation formula is minimized or maximized within a searchable range and the movement route passes through the contour machining route specified by the NC machining program.
Step 1:
Claim 1 is drawn to a movement route determination device and claim 7 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program for a computer, therefore each of claims 1 and 7 falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Nonetheless, claims 1 and 7 are directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more.
Each of claims 1 and 7 recites a function of “acquire information…by analyzing the NC machining program”, “calculate an evaluation formula for determining the movement route”, “calculate…a relational expression of the axes”, and “search for and determine the movement route…[when] the evaluation formula is minimized or maximized within a searchable range and [when] the movement route passes through the contour machining route specified by the NC machining program” that under their broadest reasonable interpretation, enumerate a mathematical and mental concept. Other than reciting a generic “computer” (recited only in the preamble of claim 7), nothing in the claims preclude the steps from the mathematical concept and/or mental process and evaluation. The step to “acquire information…by analyzing the NC machining program” is interpreted as an abstract mental step where a human can visually observe the machining program before and during execution using screen graphics on the CNC controller to extract information such as shape data of the workpiece. The steps to calculate the evaluation formula and to calculate a relational expression based on the various conditions are interpreted as mathematical concept as disclosed in the Specification (i.e., equations 1-10 at [0041-0059]) (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Finally, given points on a graph, a human can visually and mentally search [find or look] for the most efficient route [path] from a starting point to a destination based on various setting conditions (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). Thus, these claimed functions are the judicial exceptions that are no more than a mental and/or mathematical abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong 2-Step 2B:
Each of claims 1 and 7 as a whole does not recite any additional elements or functions that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicially recognized exceptions.
Dependent claims 2-5:
Step 1:
Claims 2-5 are drawn to the movement route determination device, therefore each of these claims falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter). Nonetheless, dependent claims 2-5 are also ineligible for the same reasons given with respect to claim 1.
Claims 2-5 recites further the abstract mathematical concept of “calculates, as the evaluation formula, a function having at least one of a position, a velocity, an acceleration, or a jerk for the axes” (claim 2), “calculates, as the evaluation formula, a function that multiplies weights for the respective axes” (claim 3), “calculates a constraint condition specified by a velocity control parameter” (claim 4), and “calculates a constraint condition related to positions for the axes, and calculation of the constraint condition by the constraint condition calculation unit” (claim 5) (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). And lastly, claim 5 also recites the abstract mental concept of “search for the movement route by the route search unit are repeated a plurality of times” (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Step 2A, Prong 2-Step 2B:
Each of claims 2-5 as a whole does not recite any additional elements or functions that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicially recognized exceptions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pitz et al. (US-2017/0269571-A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 7, Pitz teaches a movement route determination device and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program for a computer that determines, in a case where a degree of freedom of axes of a machine tool is higher than a degree of freedom determined by an NC machining program and a parameter, a movement route for the axes based on the NC machining program and the parameter, the non- transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program causing the computer to perform operations (figs.1-2) that comprise:
acquiring information regarding a machining condition including at least a contour machining route of a workpiece by analyzing the NC machining program (automatic machining of the workpiece is predefined by a parts program or NC program which specifies the desired shape of the workpiece to be produced and the technology to be used [0027]);
calculating an evaluation formula for determining the movement route (the machine tool controller is given instructions by means of the parts program for calculating the geometry at interpolation points according to functions or path elements (point-to-point, straight line, circle) with information concerning axis speed and other specifications, such as the control of auxiliary functions, for example (e.g. M8 command: coolant ON), etc. The geometry commands or movement commands are interpreted or processed in the controller and given to the machine tool for execution [0029]);
calculating, as a constraint condition for determining the movement route, at least the contour machining route specified by the NC machining program and a relational expression of the axes, the relational expression being based on machine configuration data of the machine tool (generate setpoint values or reference variables for the individual movement axes of the machine tool from the specifications of the parts program, taking into account the dynamic conditions of the machine tool itself which are stored as machine data in the controller [0028]; generate the setpoint values for a desired relative movement between tool and workpiece, a plurality of steps have to be carried out for each motion axis of the machine tool. Motion curves or motion paths are calculated from the program information. From these, reference variables for the displacement-time movement in the coordinates or axes is generated [0030]); and
searching for and determining the movement route based on the evaluation formula and the constraint condition such that the evaluation formula is minimized or maximized within a searchable range and the movement route passes through the contour machining route specified by the NC machining program (calculated for each axis on the basis of dynamics data of the controlled machine tool, e.g. maximum acceleration and maximum speed for each axis. This second tolerance sub-space 20.2 created from the dynamics data of the machine tool is determined by the distance required by an axis at maximum acceleration to achieve the maximum speed. The minimum of the tolerances from the first tolerance sub-space 20.1 and the second tolerance sub-space 20.2 is then found. The result is the (resulting) tolerance space 20 [0042]; after optimization, the motion path 8 becomes “rounder” in the area of potential optimization 14. For example, the originally e.g. “angular” course of the motion path is modified by arcs or spline functions. This produces smaller speed changes while simultaneously reducing the throughput time for the motion path in this area. Only the passage points of the motion path 8 to the tolerance space 20 are fixed and therefore predefined as fixed points for a correspondingly optimized course of the motion path [0055]).
With respect to claim 2, Pitz teaches further wherein the processor calculates, as the evaluation formula, a function having at least one of a position, a velocity, an acceleration, or a jerk for the axes (calculated for each axis on the basis of dynamics data of the controlled machine tool, e.g. maximum acceleration and maximum speed for each axis. This second tolerance sub-space 20.2 created from the dynamics data of the machine tool is determined by the distance required by an axis at maximum acceleration to achieve the maximum speed. The minimum of the tolerances from the first tolerance sub-space 20.1 and the second tolerance sub-space 20.2 is then found. The result is the (resulting) tolerance space 20 [0042]; At each point in time t, a motion path 8 is determined which, in addition to the distance s(t), also gives at least the speed v(t). In addition, at each point time t, the acceleration a(t) and/or the jerk r(t) can also be determined [0052]).
With respect to claim 4, Pitz teaches further wherein the processor calculates a constraint condition specified by a velocity control parameter (calculating the geometry at interpolation points according to functions or path elements (point-to-point, straight line, circle) with information concerning axis speed and other specifications, such as the control of auxiliary functions, for example (e.g. M8 command: coolant ON), [0029]).
With respect to claim 5, Pitz teaches further wherein the processor calculates a constraint condition related to positions for the axes, and calculation of the constraint condition by the processor and search for the movement route by the processor are repeated a plurality of times (When the parts program is initiated on another occasion for identical machining, the machine tool controller normally has no prior knowledge about the earlier execution, i.e. the machine tool controller always calculates all the operations/loops, etc. in the same way as when the parts program executes them for the first time [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3/1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitz et al. (US-2017/0269571-A1) in view of ODA et al. (US 2017/0300029-A1).
With respect to claim 3/1, Pitz does not appear to teach calculate, as the evaluation formula, a function that multiplies weights for the respective axes.
However, it is known by ODA to teach a movement route determination device that determines, in a case where a degree of freedom of axes of a machine tool is higher than a degree of freedom determined by a machining program and a parameter, a movement route for the axes based on the machining program and the parameter, the movement route determination device (ODA: control device 70, fig.19; a tool path generation method and a machine tool 90 to cut and machine a workpiece 91 where a plurality of the movement points P are set in accordance with the machining program and a path connecting the movement points P corresponds to the tool path, [0043]) comprising: an evaluation formula calculation unit configured to calculate an evaluation formula for determining the movement route (ODA: coordinate value of the moving average of the movement points Pn is expressed by equation (1) and equation (2), where the coordinate value of the movement points Pn is expressed as (xn, yn), [0048]) and calculates, as the evaluation formula, a function that multiplies weights for the respective axes (ODA: Weights by which an X-coordinate value and a Y-coordinate value of each of the movement points are multiplied can be set to be larger for the coordinate value of the movement point to be corrected and set to be small for the coordinate value as away from the movement point to be corrected, [0058], fig.4 illustrates a graph of the weights by which the respective coordinate values are multiplied. A lateral axis indicates the movement points on the tool path. The weight of the coordinate value of the movement point P, to be corrected is set to be the highest, and is set to decrease linearly as away from the movement point Pn, [0059]; the moving average is calculated by multiplying the coordinate values of the respective movement points by the weight, figs.2-3 and [0060]).
Because ODA’s teaching is also directed to a movement route determination device (ODA: control device 70; Pitz: figs.1-2), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of a function that multiplies weights for the respective axes as taught by ODA with the movement route determination device as taught by Pitz for the purpose of reducing the inboard turning phenomenon of the tool path (ODA: [0056,0060]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 August 14, 2026