DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0379860 to Rao et al. (“Rao”).
As to claim 16 (and similarly applied to claims 1 and 9), Rao discloses a method for calculating a position measurement in a wireless network, the method comprising: detecting, by processing circuitry of a user equipment (UE), a positioning reference signal (PRS) received from a base station (gNB) during a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE and when the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; and performing, by the processing circuitry, a positioning measurement based on the PRS (Fig. 9, steps 938 and 940; ¶0491). (Rao also discloses: an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) for calculating a position measurement in a wireless network, the apparatus comprising: a memory; and processing circuitry coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry configured to perform the method described (Fig. 1B; ¶0046 and ¶0051; see also ¶¶0556-0559); and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause processing circuitry of a base station (gNB), upon execution of the instructions by the processing circuitry, to perform the method described (Fig. 1D; ¶0073 and ¶0077; see also ¶¶0556-0559). Thus, claims 1 and 9 are similarly rejected.)
As to claim 17 (and similarly applied to claims 2 and 10), Rao discloses the method of claim 16, wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is based on a paging cycle associated with the RRC inactive state (Fig. 9 and ¶¶0487-0491).
As to claim 14, Rao discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein execution of the instructions further causes the processing circuitry to: encode a second PRS for transmission to the UE during a second DRX cycle of the UE and when the UE is in the RRC inactive state, wherein the second PRS is associated with a second positioning measurement at a second time during the second DRX cycle (Fig. 9 and ¶¶0487-0491; "the WTRU may be (pre)configured with one or more PRS configurations comprising different parameters (e.g., periodicity, resources) which may be associated and aligned with different DRX cycles" (¶0487) and "For continuing to receive the DL PRS the WTRU may change to a different DRX cycle, which may be determined based on the PRS configuration ID and the configured mapping between the PRS configuration ID and the DRX cycle ID, for example. The WTRU may continue making measurements of the received DL PRS without transitioning to RCC connected mode … and send to the network the measurement report" (¶0490); Examiner notes that the WTRU may receive and perform positioning measurements for multiple (i.e., a second) PRS(s) associated with different (i.e., a second) DRX cycle(s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0225462 to Manolakos et al. (“Manolakos462”).
As to claim 3, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 2.
Rao does not disclose: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is further based on a periodicity of a measurement gap during which the positioning measurement is to be performed.
However, Manolakos462 discloses: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is further based on a periodicity of a measurement gap during which the positioning measurement is to be performed (Fig. 8, step 830; ¶¶0215-0216 and ¶¶0221-0222).
Rao and Manolakos462 are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: connection management, including manipulation of established connections, e.g. transitions between radio resource control [RRC] states, discontinuous transmission [DTX], and/or discontinuous reception [DRX]; arrangements affording multiple use of the transmission path, i.e. allocating subchannels; and/or locating users, terminals, or network equipment for network management purposes. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rao to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos462 to include: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is further based on a periodicity of a measurement gap during which the positioning measurement is to be performed. Doing so would provide "increased positioning performance (e.g., reduced latency, reduced power consumption, etc.) … [and] in some aspects, the UE can optimize positioning capability parameters or other operational parameters for operating while in the RRC unconnected state" (Manolakos462, ¶0234). Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Manolakos462 and Rao as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 18 (and similarly applied to claim 11), Rao discloses the method of claim 16.
Rao does not disclose: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is further based on a periodicity of a measurement gap during which the positioning measurement is to be performed.
However, Manolakos462 discloses: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is further based on a periodicity of a measurement gap during which the positioning measurement is to be performed (Fig. 8, step 830; ¶¶0215-0216 and ¶¶0221-0222)
Rao and Manolakos462 are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: connection management, including manipulation of established connections, e.g. transitions between radio resource control [RRC] states, discontinuous transmission [DTX], and/or discontinuous reception [DRX]; arrangements affording multiple use of the transmission path, i.e. allocating subchannels; and/or locating users, terminals, or network equipment for network management purposes. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rao to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos462 to include: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is further based on a periodicity of a measurement gap during which the positioning measurement is to be performed. Doing so would provide "increased positioning performance (e.g., reduced latency, reduced power consumption, etc.) … [and] in some aspects, the UE can optimize positioning capability parameters or other operational parameters for operating while in the RRC unconnected state" (Manolakos462, ¶0234). Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Manolakos462 and Rao as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 4, 5, 12, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0223085 to Siomina.
As to claim 19 (and similarly applied to claims 4 and 12), Rao discloses the method of claim 16.
Rao does not disclose: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is based on a least common multiple between a periodicity of the PRS and a periodicity of the DRX cycle.
However, Siomina discloses: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is based on a least common multiple between a periodicity of the PRS and a periodicity of the DRX cycle (Fig. 8; ¶0213 and Eq. 4: measurement time is determined using LCM between periodicity of positioning signal(s) and DRX cycle; see also ¶¶0219-0220).
Rao and Siomina are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: connection management, including manipulation of established connections, e.g. transitions between radio resource control [RRC] states, discontinuous transmission [DTX], and/or discontinuous reception [DRX]; arrangements affording multiple use of the transmission path, i.e. allocating subchannels; and/or locating users, terminals, or network equipment for network management purposes. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rao to incorporate the teachings of Siomina to include: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is based on a least common multiple between a periodicity of the PRS and a periodicity of the DRX cycle. Doing so would provide improved measurement performance due to avoiding or reducing the need to blindly detect configured signals that may be not received due to DRX configuration (see Siomina, ¶0236 and ¶¶0219-0220). Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Siomina and Rao as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 20 (and similarly applied to claims 5 and 13), Rao in view of Siomina discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the periodicity of the PRS and the periodicity of the DRX cycle are different (Siomina, Fig. 8; ¶0213 and Eq. 4: measurement time is determined using LCM between periodicity of positioning signal(s) and DRX cycle; see also ¶¶0219-0220).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0067569 to Manolakos et al. (“Manolakos569”).
As to claim 6, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: detect a second PRS received from a second gNB … when the UE is in the RRC inactive state (Fig. 13: WTRU in INACTIVE state receives multiple PRS from multiple gNBs; see also Figs. 1A-D, ¶¶0033-0036 and ¶¶0073-0076).
Rao does not disclose: wherein the positioning measurement is a first positioning measurement for a first frequency layer, and the second PRS received from the second gNB is on a second frequency layer during a second DRX cycle of the UE; and perform a second positioning measurement based on the second PRS.
However, Manolakos569 discloses: wherein the positioning measurement is a first positioning measurement for a first frequency layer (Figs. 6-7, PRS 712 and/or 713; ¶¶0120-0121), and the second PRS received from the second gNB is on a second frequency layer during a second DRX cycle of the UE (Figs. 6-7, PRS 722 and/or 723; ¶¶0120-0121); and perform a second positioning measurement based on the second PRS (Fig. 7; ¶0121).
Rao and Manolakos569 are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: connection management, including manipulation of established connections, e.g. transitions between radio resource control [RRC] states, discontinuous transmission [DTX], and/or discontinuous reception [DRX]; arrangements affording multiple use of the transmission path, i.e. allocating subchannels; and/or locating users, terminals, or network equipment for network management purposes. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rao to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos569 to include: wherein the positioning measurement is a first positioning measurement for a first frequency layer, and the second PRS received from the second gNB is on a second frequency layer during a second DRX cycle of the UE; and perform a second positioning measurement based on the second PRS. Doing so would "[allow] power [to be] saved measuring positioning signals by implementing different discontinuous reception parameters, e.g., for different frequency ranges … facilitate data reception while reducing power consumption relative to multiple discontinuous reception groups while conserving power consumption … [allow] power consumption [to be] adjusted to accommodate positioning signal measurement based on one or more further criteria such as importance of positioning signal measurement and/or timing of positioning signal reception" (Manolakos569, ¶0039). Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Manolakos569 and Rao as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 7, Rao in view of Manolakos569 discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a total measurement time based on the positioning measurement and the second positioning measurement (Manolakos569, Fig. 7 and ¶0121, RSTD measurement).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0158200 to Bachu et al. (“Bachu”).
As to claim 8, Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Rao does not disclose: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is based on a maximum number of PRS resources.
However, Bachu discloses: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is based on a maximum number of PRS resources (¶¶0050-0051).
Rao and Bachu are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: connection management, including manipulation of established connections, e.g. transitions between radio resource control [RRC] states, discontinuous transmission [DTX], and/or discontinuous reception [DRX]; arrangements affording multiple use of the transmission path, i.e. allocating subchannels; and/or locating users, terminals, or network equipment for network management purposes. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rao to incorporate the teachings of Bachu to include: wherein a time when the positioning measurement is performed is based on a maximum number of PRS resources. Doing so would "[simplify] detector complexity at a mobile device" (Bachu, ¶0051). Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Bachu and Rao as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0184452 to Bitra et al. (“Bitra”).
As to claim 15, Rao discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14.
Rao does not disclose: wherein a total measurement time associated with the UE is based on a sum of the time and the second time.
However, Bitra discloses: wherein a total measurement time associated with the UE is based on a sum of the time and the second time (Fig. 3 and ¶¶0039-0041).
Rao and Bitra are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: connection management, including manipulation of established connections, e.g. transitions between radio resource control [RRC] states, discontinuous transmission [DTX], and/or discontinuous reception [DRX]; arrangements affording multiple use of the transmission path, i.e. allocating subchannels; and/or locating users, terminals, or network equipment for network management purposes. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rao to incorporate the teachings of Bitra to include: wherein a total measurement time associated with the UE is based on a sum of the time and the second time. Doing so would "provide improved location accuracy and shorter times to determining an initial location solution" (Bitra, ¶0022). Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Bitra and Rao as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
References Cited
Bitra, Suresh Kumar et al. (2018). Avoiding collisions of positioning signals (US 2018/0184452 A1). Filed 2016-12-22.
Bachu, Raja Sekhar et al. (2011). Positioning reference signals in a telecommunication system (US 2011/0158200 A1). Filed 2010-06-29.
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2022). Radio resource control (rrc) inactive and rrc idle mode positioning configuration (US 2022/0225462 A1). Filed 2021-09-22.
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2023). Positioning measurement/reporting with multiple discontinuous reception groups (US 2023/0067569 A1). Filed 2021-01-27.
Rao, Jaya et al. (2023). Methods and apparatus for power-efficient positioning in wireless communication systems (US 2023/0379860 A1). Filed 2021-10-14.
Siomina, Iana (2015). Methods for configuring and performing ul measurements accounting for low-activity state configuration of the transmitting node (US 2015/0223085 A1). Filed 2014-02-20.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Akkarakaran, Sony et al. (2024). On demand positioning reference signals and per band deployment aspects (US 11988760 B2). Filed 2023-04-13.
Bao, Jingchao et al. (2021). Positioning reference signal (prs) report with discontinuous reception (drx) (US 20210360733 A1). Filed 2021-05-10.
Chen, W et al. (2021). Method for supporting positioning of user equipment (ue) in wireless network, involves performing positioning measurements using processed aggregated prs, and transmitting location information based on positioning measurements (US 20210185632 A1). Filed 2020-11-24.
Cui, Jie et al. (2019). Location positioning protocol based positioning for ues in idle mode (US 20190373573 A1). Filed 2017-12-29.
Kazmi, Muhammad Ali et al. (2023). Activating positioning srs during drx inactive time (US 20230283425 A1). Filed 2021-08-02.
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2021). Interaction of discontinuous reception (drx) with positioning reference signal (prs) resources (US 20210050978 A1). Filed 2020-02-19.
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2021). Signaling details for prs stitching for positioning in a wireless network (US 20210185632 A1). Filed 2020-11-24.
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2023). Positioning reference signal selection for power savings (US 20230336296 A1). Filed 2021-07-13.
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2023). User equipment (ue) positioning for radio resource control (rrc) idle and inactive state during a positioning session (US 20230319767 A1). Filed 2021-10-14.
Si, Ye et al. (2024). Positioning method, terminal, and network-side device (US 20240031934 A1). Filed 2023-09-26.
Shimizu, Ryouichi et al. (2014). Radio base station (US 20140119310 A1). Filed 2013-01-24.
Shrivastava, Vinay Kumar et al. (2024). Method and system for provisioning radio resources for idle or inactive mode user equipment in wireless network (US 11876743 B2). Filed 2021-08-06.
Siomina, Iana (2018). Methods for configuring and performing ul measurements accounting for low-activity state configuration of the transmitting node (US 10159005 B2). Filed 2014-02-20.
Siomina, Iana (2019). Systems and methods for controlling ue inter-frequency measurements in gaps in presence of lbt (US 20190223216 A1). Filed 2017-05-26.
Vogedes, Jerome et al. (2024). New radio positioning reference signal enhancements (US 20240171340 A1). Filed 2022-03-25.
Yerramalli, Srinivas et al. (2024). Radio resource control (rrc) inactive mode positioning (US 20240015762 A1). Filed 2021-10-28.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL H. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649