DETAILED ACTION
Terms
Non-3GPP access network – WIFI, WIMAX, Ethernet, Bluetooth
Network slice – dedicated virtual network for specific application
PLMN – public cellular network operated by MNO
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.0.0 (2021-03) in view of Salkintzis (WO-2020098954-A1), Jager (US-20200351756), Bernardos (US-20200228968).
As to claim 1, 11: 3GPP teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: determine to connect with a first network slice in a first Public Land Mobile Network ("PLMN") via a non-3GPP access network (6.3.12.1, 6.3.12.2 The steps below specify the steps executed by the UE when the UE wants to select and connect to a PLMN over trusted non-3GPP access); transmit a first request to each non-3GPP access network in a first list of non-3GPP access networks, the first request requesting cellular network information (6.3.12a.2 The N5CW device discovers the PLMN List-4 advertised by all discovered WLAN access networks by sending an ANQP query to each discovered WLAN access network. The ANQP query shall request "3GPP Cellular Network" information. If a WLAN access network supports interworking with one or more PLMNs, the ANQP response received by the N5CW device includes a "3GPP Cellular Network" information element containing one or more of the following lists: PLMN List-1, PLMN List-2, PLMN List-3 and PLMN List-4. The PLMN List-1, PLMN List-2 and PLMN List-3 are defined in clause 6.3.12. The PLMN List-4 includes the PLMNs with which "5G connectivity-without-NAS" is supported); receive a first response from at least one non-3GPP access network in the first list of non-3GPP access networks, each first response comprising a first list of PLMNs (6.3.12a.2) with which trusted fifth-generation (5G) connectivity is supported (section 4.2.8.1 A non-3GPP access network may advertise the PLMNs for which it supports trusted connectivity and the type of supported trusted connectivity (e.g 5G connectivity)), … with which trusted 5G connectivity is supported, .,.. construct a second list of non-3GPP access networks (6.312a.2 The N5CW device puts the available WLAN access networks in priority order. The N5CW device constructs this prioritized list by using the WLANSP rules (if they have been received via 3GPP access), or any other implementation specific means), … select a first non-3GPP access network from the second list of non-3GPP access networks (6.3.12a.2 the N5CW device selects a WLAN access network (e.g. an SSID) to connect to)
3GPP may not explicitly teach a plurality of supported network slices for each PLMN … wherein each non-3GPP access network in the second list supports trusted connectivity with the first network slice in the first PLMN; … and transmit a registration request to the first PLMN via the first non-3GPP access network, wherein the registration request indicates that registration with the first network slice is required. However, Salkintzis teaches a plurality of supported network slices for each PLMN (fig.7a, [0034, 83, 108, 112] the processor 505 creates the first list of available PLMNs by discovering a plurality of available non-3GPP access networks and determining, for each available non-3GPP access network, a set of PLMNs which are connectable without using the NAS protocol and one or more network slices supported by each PLMN in the set) … wherein each non-3GPP access network in the second list supports trusted connectivity with the first network slice in the first PLMN; … and transmit a registration request to the first PLMN via the first non-3GPP access network, wherein the registration request indicates that registration with the first network slice is required ([0126] the UE 205 sends a request message to the selected SSID that contains the first PLMN and the first S-NSSAI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement network slices for each PLMN, taught by Salkintzis, into the PLMN selection system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable user access to specific optimized applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Salkintzis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
3GPP may not explicitly teach and a plurality of slice priority values, wherein each supported network slice of the plurality of supported network slices is associated with a respective slice priority value. However, Jager teaches and a plurality of slice priority values, wherein each supported network slice of the plurality of supported network slices is associated with a respective slice priority value (abstract The service assigns network slice priority values to network slices that are associated with an application or a portion of an application pertaining to end devices).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement slice priority values, taught by Jager, into the communication system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable UE to choose best or preferred network. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Jager in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Although Jager teaches slice priority values, 3GPP, Jager may not explicitly teach based on the plurality of slice priority values. However, Bernardos teaches based on the plurality of slice priority values ([0102] At 304, a WTRU may (e.g., based on received information), for example, determine that non-3GPP access may provide one or more network slices that may fit its requirement better.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement selecting non-3GPP access based on requirements, taught by Bernardos, into the slice priority values, taught by Jager, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and obtain optimal service matching for UE. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jager and Bernardos in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP 23.501 in view of Salkintzis (WO-2020098954-A1), Jager (US-20200351756), Bernardos (US-20200228968).
As to claim 2, 12: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein to receive the first response, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a generic container that comprises the first list of PLMNs (6.3.12a.2).
3GPP may not explicitly teach and the plurality of supported network slices. However, Salkintzis teaches and the plurality of supported network slices (fig.7a, [0034, 83, 108, 112]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement network slices for each PLMN, taught by Salkintzis, into the PLMN selection system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable user access to specific optimized applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Salkintzis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 3, 13: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 2.
3GPP may not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of supported network slices comprises a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (“S- NSSAI”) list that identifies a set of network slices for each PLMN in the first list of PLMNs. However, Salkintzis teaches wherein the plurality of supported network slices comprises a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (“S- NSSAI”) list that identifies a set of network slices for each PLMN in the first list of PLMNs ([0105, 106, 122] the S-NSSAIs supported by the first PLMN may be either provided in the PLMN list 724).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement network slices for each PLMN, taught by Salkintzis, into the PLMN selection system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable user access to specific optimized applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Salkintzis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 4, 14: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 1.
3GPP may not explicitly teach wherein each PLMN in the first list of PLMNs identifies a respective PLMN with which 5G connectivity is supported by the non-3GPP access network that sent the first list of PLMNs. However, Salkintzis teaches wherein each PLMN in the first list of PLMNs identifies a respective PLMN with which 5G connectivity is supported by the non-3GPP access network that sent the first list of PLMNs ([0068] A PLMN List-3 includes PLMNs with which "5G connectivity" is supported. A non-3GPP access network supports "5G connectivity" with a PLMN when it deploys a TNGL function that can connect with an AML function and an UPL function in this PLMN via N2 and N3 interfaces, respectively (e.g., deploys a Type 2 interworking function)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement network slices for each PLMN, taught by Salkintzis, into the PLMN selection system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable user access to 5G services. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Salkintzis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 5, 15: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 1.
3GPP may not explicitly teach wherein the first list of PLMNs comprises a set of PLMN information elements, and wherein each PLMN information element includes a PLMN identity and a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (“S-NSSAI’) list. However, Salkintzis teaches wherein the first list of PLMNs comprises a set of PLMN information elements, and wherein each PLMN information element includes a PLMN identity and a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (“S-NSSAI’) list ([0070, 83, 122] 3GPP cellular network information element).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement network slices for each PLMN, taught by Salkintzis, into the PLMN selection system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable user access to specific optimized applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Salkintzis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 6, 16: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 5.
3GPP may not explicitly teach wherein each S-NSSAI in the S-NSSAI list comprises a slice service type (“SST”) and further comprises a slice differentiator (“SD”) or a priority value, or both. However, Salkintzis teaches wherein each S-NSSAI in the S-NSSAI list comprises a slice service type (“SST”) and further comprises a slice differentiator (“SD”) or a priority value, or both ([0126] the S-NSSAI is composed of a Slice/Service Type and an optional Slice Differentiator).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement network slices for each PLMN, taught by Salkintzis, into the PLMN selection system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable user access to specific optimized applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Salkintzis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 7, 17: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 1.
3GPP may not explicitly teach wherein to select the first non-3GPP access network, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to apply one or more selection policy rules to select a highest priority non-3GPP access network from the second list of non- 3GPP access networks. However, Salkintzis teaches wherein to select the first non-3GPP access network, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to apply one or more selection policy rules to select a highest priority non-3GPP access network from the second list of non- 3GPP access networks ([0084, 120, 124] from the prioritized list of non-3GPP access networks, the UE 205 selects the highest priority non-3GPP access network that supports 5G connectivity-without-NAS to the first PLMN and with the first S-NSSAI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement network slices for each PLMN, taught by Salkintzis, into the PLMN selection system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable user access to specific optimized applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Salkintzis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 8, 18: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 1.
3GPP may not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to establish a data connection with the first network slice. However, Salkintzis teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to establish a data connection with the first network slice ([0061]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement network slices for each PLMN, taught by Salkintzis, into the PLMN selection system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable user access to specific optimized applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Salkintzis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 9, 19: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the first non-3GPP access network comprises a trusted Wireless Local Area Network (“WLAN”) access network, and wherein the data connection with the first network slice comprises a packet data unit (“PDU”) session established via the trusted WLAN ([0039, 57, 60, 66, 103]).
Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP 23.501, Salkintzis (WO-2020098954-A1), Jager (US-20200351756), Bernardos (US-20200228968) in view of Karampatsis (US-20210152615).
As to claim 10, 20: 3GPP teaches the UE of claim 1.
3GPP may not explicitly teach wherein a determination to connect with the first network slice occurs in response to a reception of an internal request to establish a data connection with a first network slice, the request generated by one of: a UE application, or a UE Route Selection Policy (“URSP”) rule in the UE, wherein the URSP rule indicates that the data connection with the first network slice should be established over a non-3GPP access network. However, Karampatsis teaches wherein a determination to connect with the first network slice occurs in response to a reception of an internal request to establish a data connection with a first network slice, the request generated by one of: a UE application, or a UE Route Selection Policy (“URSP”) rule in the UE, wherein the URSP rule indicates that the data connection with the first network slice should be established over a non-3GPP access network ([0159] the SDP offer includes the UE IP address of the PDU session established by the UE 205 to connect to the identified network interface (a 5G network slice which may be selected based on the ICSI/IARI to S-NSSAI configuration or URSP rules)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement URSP rules, taught by Karampatsis, into the 3GPP communication system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable routing application traffic to the network slice. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Karampatsis in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466