DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0062778 to Mille.
Regarding claims 1-4, Mille teaches a battery case made of metal (the case is inclusive of element 210, which is formed of metal, ¶0046, 0077; gasket 216 eliminates short circuits between elements, ¶0040, 0060) provided with an explosion-proof valve, the explosion-proof-valve comprising
A folded part 210a (Figs. 2, 2a, ¶0038) which is continuous with a plate part (see Marked-up fig. 2A below) configuring the battery case and formed by folding the plate part
A thin plate part (see Marked-up Fig. 2 below) which is continuous with the folded part 210a and arranged (concentrically, as can be seen best in Fig. 3) inside the folded part
A thick plate part (Marked-up Fig. 2) which is continuous with the thin plate part and formed thicker than the thin plate part in a middle of the explosion-proof valve
A breaking groove 210c which is arranged in the thin plate part and configured to rupture when a predetermined pressure is exerted thereon (¶0039, 0048).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Plate part)][AltContent: textbox (Thin plate part)][AltContent: textbox (Thick plate part)]
[AltContent: ]
Per claim 2, Mille teaches the limitations of claim 1. The folded part 210a and the thin plate part have a circular shape (Fig. 3).
Per claim 3, Mille teaches the limitations of claim 1. A shape of the thick plate part is similar to shape of the folded part 210a and the thin plate part (each part is circular in shape, Fig. 3; MPEP §2126).
Per claim 4, Mille teaches the limitations of claim 1. A concave groove having an arc shape (groove 108 of Fig. 1 has an arc shape at its end) is formed outside the thick plate part (Fig. 1, 0031; MPEP §2126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mille as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Mille teaches the limitations of claim 1. Mille teaches that the thickness of a plate part can be chosen according to whether it is intended to be strong enough to be folded or whether it is intended to be weak enough to break (¶0026, 0050, 0071, 0074). Therefore it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness of the thick plate part and the thickness of the plate part independently, and therefore the ratio of the thicknesses, so that each part can perform the function of that part.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding claim 6, Mille teaches the limitations of claim 1. Mille teaches that the area of a plate part can be chosen to ensure that enough planar surface is present so that the plate can be efficiently worked and processed (¶0050, 0068), and interact with other elements of the battery (¶0030-0036). Therefore it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to vary the area of the thick plate part and the area of the thin plate part independently, and therefore the ratio of the areas, so that each part can perform be efficiently worked and interact suitably with other elements of the battery.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Conclusion
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726