DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has thoroughly reviewed applicant’s arguments but firmly believes the cited reference to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations i.e. that transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE. Examiner respectfully direct the Application to paragraph 0105, Lyu et al where discloses that all UEs managed in a gNB DU cell group with a CU-DU distribution architecture may be divided into three subgroups: a subgroup 1, a subgroup 2, and a subgroup 3, and the three subgroups respectively correspond to the three service modes: the eMBB, the mMTC, and the URLLC. UEs in a cell also form different paged UE subgroups according to the service modes. Different paging management and processing units of the gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups: gNB DUs are implemented in two manners: Manner 1: One gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13-14.
In paragraphs 0025-0026, further, Nader et al discloses, gNB initiated paging, the gNB-Control Unit (CU) conveys the information to the gNB-Distributed Unit (DU). Control by the NW of PEI applicability area configured in a UE via dedicated configuration. An area e.g. RAN registration area, or a list of cells is configured in a dedicated message such as RRC Release to which the PEI transmission is applicable. In paragraphs 0168, 0228, Nader et al discloses, transmitting, to the wireless device, a message indicating that the wireless device is to monitor for PEI and/or WUS in the at least one last cell used by the wireless device.
Additionally, the examiner has given the claim language its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpreted by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 12-17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu et al (20230209500) in view of Nader et al (20240244529).
Regarding claim 1, Lyu et al discloses, a method in a distributed unit (gNB DU, fig. 8-10) of a distributed base station of a radio access network (gNB, fig. 8-10), the distributed base station including the DU and a central unit (gNB CU, fig. 8-10), for paging a user equipment (UE, , fig. 8-10) when a radio connection between the distributed base station and the UE is not active (¶ 0052, idle mode RRC_IDLE state or an inactive mode), the method comprising:
receiving, by the DU from the CU, a paging message indicating whether the UE supports paging subgrouping (¶ 0102-0105, a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. The gNB DU triggers, based on the service mode indication carried in the F1AP paging message, a target paging processing unit corresponding to the service mode indication and based on paging from the core network, all UEs managed in a gNB cell group with a CU-DU fusion architecture may be divided into three subgroups, gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13); and
paging the UE in accordance with whether the UE supports paging sub grouping (¶ 0102-0105, the service mode indication is eMBB, and then a paging processing unit 3 (eMBB) in the gNB DU is triggered. The paging processing unit 3 initiates paging of all UEs related to the eMBB service mode and managed by the paging processing unit 3, where the paged UEs include a target UE identity and Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11).
Lyu et al does not specifically disclose transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Nader et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0024-0026, 0168, 0228, transmitting, to the wireless device, a message indicating that the wireless device is to monitor for PEI and/or WUS in the at least one last cell used by the wireless device; PEI applicability during mobility via dedicated configuration sent to the UE, e.g. as part of UE paging capabilities, and also conveyed in the Paging message to the gNB in case of CN initiated paging, gNB initiated paging, the gNB-Control Unit (CU) conveys the information to the gNB-Distributed Unit DU). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method introduces the configurability of PEI and applicability of PEI upon mobility on a per user equipment basis, thus enhancing as taught by Nader et al.
Regarding claims 2, 9, 13, 16, Lyu et al discloses, wherein receiving the paging message includes: receiving the paging message including a paging subgroup identity of the UE (table1, ¶ 0099, 0102-0105, the service mode indication is eMBB, and then a paging processing unit 3 (eMBB) in the gNB DU is triggered. The paging processing unit 3 initiates paging of all UEs related to the eMBB service mode and managed by the paging processing unit 3, where the paged UEs include a target UE identity and Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 14, 17, Lyu et al discloses, wherein receiving the paging message includes: receiving the paging message defined by a protocol conforming to signaling between the CU and the DU (¶ 0073, 0101-0104, FIG. 7, a logic architecture of a 5G base station (generation Node-B, gNB) uses a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) separation mode. Based on configuration of a protocol stack function, the CU-DU logic architecture may be divided into a CU-DU distribution architecture and a CU-DU fusion architecture and a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity).
Regarding claims 4, 11, Lyu et al discloses, wherein receiving the paging message includes receiving a UE capability information element (IE) included in the paging message (see above, further, ¶ 0078, table 1).
Regarding claims 5, 20, Lyu et al discloses, wherein the UE capability IE indicates whether the UE supports paging sub grouping (see above, further, ¶ 0078, 0099, table 1, UE Radio Capability for Paging and paging message carrying a service mode indication and a target UE identity).
Regarding claims 7, 12, see claim 1, further, Lyu et al discloses, wherein the paging message further indicates whether the UE supports detecting Paging (see above, further, ¶ 0078, 0099, table 1, UE Radio Capability for Paging and paging message carrying a service mode indication and a target UE identity) and Nader et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0024-0026, 0168, 0228, receiving, from a network node, a message comprising an indication that of whether the wireless device is to monitor for a Paging Early Indicator, PEI, and/or a Wake-Up Signal, WUS, for the wireless device in a cell only when the cell is a last cell used by the wireless device; and transmitting, to the wireless device, a message indicating that the wireless device is to monitor for PEI and/or WUS in the at least one last cell used by the wireless device; PEI applicability during mobility via dedicated configuration sent to the UE, e.g. as part of UE paging capabilities, and also conveyed in the Paging message to the gNB in case of CN initiated paging, gNB initiated paging, the gNB-Control Unit (CU) conveys the information to the gNB-Distributed Unit DU). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to The method introduces the configurability of PEI and applicability of PEI upon mobility on a per user equipment basis, thus enhancing as taught by Nader et al.
Regarding claim 8, Lyu et al discloses, a method in a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station of a radio access network (RAN), the distributed base station including the CU and a distributed unit (DU), for paging a user equipment (UE) when a radio connection between the distributed base station and the UE is not active, the method (see detail in claim 1, fig. 8-13) comprising:
determining, by the CU, to page the UE (¶ 0073, 0099-0105, a gNB CU receives, from an AMF, an NGAP paging message carrying a service mode indication and a target UE identity, the gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. F1AP provides a signaling service between a gNB-CU node and a gNB-DU node); and
in response to the determining, transmitting the paging message to the DU to instruct the DU to page the UE, the paging message indicating whether the UE supports paging subgrouping (¶ 0102-0105, a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. The gNB DU triggers, based on the service mode indication carried in the F1AP paging message, a target paging processing unit corresponding to the service mode indication and based on paging from the core network, all UEs managed in a gNB cell group with a CU-DU fusion architecture may be divided into three subgroups, gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13).
Lyu et al does not specifically disclose transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Nader et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0024-0026, 0168, 0228, transmitting, to the wireless device, a message indicating that the wireless device is to monitor for PEI and/or WUS in the at least one last cell used by the wireless device; PEI applicability during mobility via dedicated configuration sent to the UE, e.g. as part of UE paging capabilities, and also conveyed in the Paging message to the gNB in case of CN initiated paging, gNB initiated paging, the gNB-Control Unit (CU) conveys the information to the gNB-Distributed Unit DU). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to The method introduces the configurability of PEI and applicability of PEI upon mobility on a per user equipment basis, thus enhancing as taught by Nader et al.
Regarding claim 15, Lyu et al discloses, a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station operating in a radio access network (RAN), the DU comprising processing hardware and configured to page a user equipment (UE) when a radio connection between the distributed base station and the UE is not active, including:
receive, from the CU, a paging message indicating whether the UE supports paging subgrouping (¶ 0102-0105, a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. The gNB DU triggers, based on the service mode indication carried in the F1AP paging message, a target paging processing unit corresponding to the service mode indication and based on paging from the core network, all UEs managed in a gNB cell group with a CU-DU fusion architecture may be divided into three subgroups, gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13), and
page the UE in accordance with whether the UE supports paging sub grouping (¶ 0102-0105, a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. The gNB DU triggers, based on the service mode indication carried in the F1AP paging message, a target paging processing unit corresponding to the service mode indication and based on paging from the core network, all UEs managed in a gNB cell group with a CU-DU fusion architecture may be divided into three subgroups, gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13).
Lyu et al does not specifically disclose transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Nader et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0024-0026, 0168, 0228, transmitting, to the wireless device, a message indicating that the wireless device is to monitor for PEI and/or WUS in the at least one last cell used by the wireless device; PEI applicability during mobility via dedicated configuration sent to the UE, e.g. as part of UE paging capabilities, and also conveyed in the Paging message to the gNB in case of CN initiated paging, gNB initiated paging, the gNB-Control Unit (CU) conveys the information to the gNB-Distributed Unit DU). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to The method introduces the configurability of PEI and applicability of PEI upon mobility on a per user equipment basis, thus enhancing as taught by Nader et al.
Regarding claims 21, 23, see claim 1, further, Lyu et al discloses, wherein the paging of the UE includes: transmitting, to the UE and after the PEI signal, a paging downlink control indication (see above, further, ¶ 0004, 0051, 0114, table 1, When UEs in a same service mode or a UE subgroup corresponding to a service mode for paging receives the paging, the UEs need to blindly detect a DCI format) and Nader et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0024-0026, 0168, 0228, receiving, from a network node, a message comprising an indication that of whether the wireless device is to monitor for a Paging Early Indicator, PEI, and/or a Wake-Up Signal, WUS, for the wireless device in a cell only when the cell is a last cell used by the wireless device; and transmitting, to the wireless device, a message indicating that the wireless device is to monitor for PEI and/or WUS in the at least one last cell used by the wireless device; PEI applicability during mobility via dedicated configuration sent to the UE, e.g. as part of UE paging capabilities, and also conveyed in the Paging message to the gNB in case of CN initiated paging, gNB initiated paging, the gNB-Control Unit (CU) conveys the information to the gNB-Distributed Unit DU). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to The method introduces the configurability of PEI and applicability of PEI upon mobility on a per user equipment basis, thus enhancing as taught by Nader et al.
Regarding claims 22, 24, see claim 1, further, Nader et al discloses, wherein the PEI signal is a wake-up signal (see above, further, ¶ 0030, 0065, 0159, enable the UE to continue to save power by monitoring WUS/PEI, because WUS/PEI is not frequently triggered due to paging escalation, i.e. due to the mobility of the UE. As another example, a technical advantage may be that certain embodiments enable the NW to save power because the number of WUS/PEI transmissions are limited e.g. to last used cell for mobility UEs).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 12-17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu et al (20230209500) in view of Ma et al (20240163844).
Regarding claim 1, Lyu et al discloses, a method in a distributed unit (gNB DU, fig. 8-10) of a distributed base station of a radio access network (gNB, fig. 8-10), the distributed base station including the DU and a central unit (gNB CU, fig. 8-10), for paging a user equipment (UE, , fig. 8-10) when a radio connection between the distributed base station and the UE is not active (¶ 0052, idle mode RRC_IDLE state or an inactive mode), the method comprising:
receiving, by the DU from the CU, a paging message indicating whether the UE supports paging subgrouping (¶ 0102-0105, a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. The gNB DU triggers, based on the service mode indication carried in the F1AP paging message, a target paging processing unit corresponding to the service mode indication and based on paging from the core network, all UEs managed in a gNB cell group with a CU-DU fusion architecture may be divided into three subgroups, gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13); and
paging the UE in accordance with whether the UE supports paging sub grouping (¶ 0102-0105, the service mode indication is eMBB, and then a paging processing unit 3 (eMBB) in the gNB DU is triggered. The paging processing unit 3 initiates paging of all UEs related to the eMBB service mode and managed by the paging processing unit 3, where the paged UEs include a target UE identity and Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11).
Lyu et al does not specifically disclose transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0127-0128, 0138, 0139 and 0151, UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability. In some embodiments, the UE capability includes at least one of the following: the number of receiving antennas, the number of transmitting antennas, whether coverage enhancement is supported, and the maximum supported (downlink or uplink) bandwidth. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the RedCap (Reduced Capability) UE detects the sequence-based PEI, the other common UEs detect the DCI-based PEI and ¶ 0235, a gNB central unit (gNB-CU), a gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU), a gNB-CU-CP (control plane), a gNB-CU-UP (user plane), a data network, a core network or a Radio Network Controller (RNC), and is not limited herein.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to allows the wireless network node to determine whether to monitor a paging occasion or a group of paging occasions based on a number of wireless terminal sub-groups associated with the indication, so that the wireless terminals can be monitored in the DRX cycle in an efficient manner, thus reducing power consumption of the network node in a reliable manner as taught by Ma et al.
Regarding claims 2, 9, 13, 16, Lyu et al discloses, wherein receiving the paging message includes: receiving the paging message including a paging subgroup identity of the UE (table1, ¶ 0099, 0102-0105, the service mode indication is eMBB, and then a paging processing unit 3 (eMBB) in the gNB DU is triggered. The paging processing unit 3 initiates paging of all UEs related to the eMBB service mode and managed by the paging processing unit 3, where the paged UEs include a target UE identity and Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 14, 17, Lyu et al discloses, wherein receiving the paging message includes: receiving the paging message defined by a protocol conforming to signaling between the CU and the DU (¶ 0073, 0101-0104, FIG. 7, a logic architecture of a 5G base station (generation Node-B, gNB) uses a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) separation mode. Based on configuration of a protocol stack function, the CU-DU logic architecture may be divided into a CU-DU distribution architecture and a CU-DU fusion architecture and a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity).
Regarding claims 4, 11, Lyu et al discloses, wherein receiving the paging message includes receiving a UE capability information element (IE) included in the paging message (see above, further, ¶ 0078, table 1).
Regarding claims 5, 20, Lyu et al discloses, wherein the UE capability IE indicates whether the UE supports paging sub grouping (see above, further, ¶ 0078, 0099, table 1, UE Radio Capability for Paging and paging message carrying a service mode indication and a target UE identity).
Regarding claims 7, 12, see claim 1, further, Lyu et al discloses, wherein the paging message further indicates whether the UE supports detecting Paging (see above, further, ¶ 0078, 0099, table 1, UE Radio Capability for Paging and paging message carrying a service mode indication and a target UE identity) and Ma et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0127-0128, 0138, 0139 and 0151, UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability. In some embodiments, the UE capability includes at least one of the following: the number of receiving antennas, the number of transmitting antennas, whether coverage enhancement is supported, and the maximum supported (downlink or uplink) bandwidth. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the RedCap (Reduced Capability) UE detects the sequence-based PEI, the other common UEs detect the DCI-based PEI and ¶ 0235, a gNB central unit (gNB-CU), a gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU), a gNB-CU-CP (control plane), a gNB-CU-UP (user plane), a data network, a core network or a Radio Network Controller (RNC), and is not limited herein.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to allows the wireless network node to determine whether to monitor a paging occasion or a group of paging occasions based on a number of wireless terminal sub-groups associated with the indication, so that the wireless terminals can be monitored in the DRX cycle in an efficient manner, thus reducing power consumption of the network node in a reliable manner as taught by Ma et al.
Regarding claim 8, Lyu et al discloses, a method in a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station of a radio access network (RAN), the distributed base station including the CU and a distributed unit (DU), for paging a user equipment (UE) when a radio connection between the distributed base station and the UE is not active, the method (see detail in claim 1, fig. 8-13) comprising:
determining, by the CU, to page the UE (¶ 0073, 0099-0105, a gNB CU receives, from an AMF, an NGAP paging message carrying a service mode indication and a target UE identity, the gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. F1AP provides a signaling service between a gNB-CU node and a gNB-DU node); and
in response to the determining, transmitting the paging message to the DU to instruct the DU to page the UE, the paging message indicating whether the UE supports paging subgrouping (¶ 0102-0105, a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. The gNB DU triggers, based on the service mode indication carried in the F1AP paging message, a target paging processing unit corresponding to the service mode indication and based on paging from the core network, all UEs managed in a gNB cell group with a CU-DU fusion architecture may be divided into three subgroups, gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13).
Lyu et al does not specifically disclose transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0127-0128, 0138, 0139 and 0151, UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability. In some embodiments, the UE capability includes at least one of the following: the number of receiving antennas, the number of transmitting antennas, whether coverage enhancement is supported, and the maximum supported (downlink or uplink) bandwidth. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the RedCap (Reduced Capability) UE detects the sequence-based PEI, the other common UEs detect the DCI-based PEI and ¶ 0235, a gNB central unit (gNB-CU), a gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU), a gNB-CU-CP (control plane), a gNB-CU-UP (user plane), a data network, a core network or a Radio Network Controller (RNC), and is not limited herein.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to allows the wireless network node to determine whether to monitor a paging occasion or a group of paging occasions based on a number of wireless terminal sub-groups associated with the indication, so that the wireless terminals can be monitored in the DRX cycle in an efficient manner, thus reducing power consumption of the network node in a reliable manner as taught by Ma et al.
Regarding claim 15, Lyu et al discloses, a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station operating in a radio access network (RAN), the DU comprising processing hardware and configured to page a user equipment (UE) when a radio connection between the distributed base station and the UE is not active, including:
receive, from the CU, a paging message indicating whether the UE supports paging subgrouping (¶ 0102-0105, a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. The gNB DU triggers, based on the service mode indication carried in the F1AP paging message, a target paging processing unit corresponding to the service mode indication and based on paging from the core network, all UEs managed in a gNB cell group with a CU-DU fusion architecture may be divided into three subgroups, gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13), and
page the UE in accordance with whether the UE supports paging sub grouping (¶ 0102-0105, a gNB CU sends an F1AP paging message to a gNB DU. In this case, the F1AP paging message also carries the service mode indication and the target UE identity. The gNB DU triggers, based on the service mode indication carried in the F1AP paging message, a target paging processing unit corresponding to the service mode indication and based on paging from the core network, all UEs managed in a gNB cell group with a CU-DU fusion architecture may be divided into three subgroups, gNB DU classifies all user services into three service modes: the mMTC, the URLLC, and the eMBB. Different paging processing units in a gNB paging corresponding UE subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 11. Internal paging management of the three service modes are respectively embodied in different paging processing units of the gNB, which respectively correspond to a paging processing unit 1, a paging processing unit 2, and a paging processing unit 3. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 12. Manner 2: Three gNB DUs manage the three service modes, respectively, and all related paging processing is completed at the three gNB DUs; and all UEs in a cell group is also divided into three subgroups. Reference may be made to the schematic diagram of paging logic shown in FIG. 13).
Lyu et al does not specifically disclose transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0127-0128, 0138, 0139 and 0151, UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability. In some embodiments, the UE capability includes at least one of the following: the number of receiving antennas, the number of transmitting antennas, whether coverage enhancement is supported, and the maximum supported (downlink or uplink) bandwidth. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the RedCap (Reduced Capability) UE detects the sequence-based PEI, the other common UEs detect the DCI-based PEI and ¶ 0235, a gNB central unit (gNB-CU), a gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU), a gNB-CU-CP (control plane), a gNB-CU-UP (user plane), a data network, a core network or a Radio Network Controller (RNC), and is not limited herein.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to allows the wireless network node to determine whether to monitor a paging occasion or a group of paging occasions based on a number of wireless terminal sub-groups associated with the indication, so that the wireless terminals can be monitored in the DRX cycle in an efficient manner, thus reducing power consumption of the network node in a reliable manner as taught by Ma et al.
Regarding claims 21, 23, see claim 1, further, Lyu et al discloses, wherein the paging of the UE includes: transmitting, to the UE and after the PEI signal, a paging downlink control indication (see above, further, ¶ 0004, 0051, 0114, table 1, When UEs in a same service mode or a UE subgroup corresponding to a service mode for paging receives the paging, the UEs need to blindly detect a DCI format) and In the same field of endeavor, Ma et al discloses transmitting, to the UE, a paging early indication (PEI) signal including an indication of a paging subgroup of the UE (¶ 0127-0128, 0138, 0139 and 0151, UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability. In some embodiments, the UE capability includes at least one of the following: the number of receiving antennas, the number of transmitting antennas, whether coverage enhancement is supported, and the maximum supported (downlink or uplink) bandwidth. In some embodiments, the type of PEI detected by the UE is determined by the UE capability or UE type. In some embodiments, the RedCap (Reduced Capability) UE detects the sequence-based PEI, the other common UEs detect the DCI-based PEI and ¶ 0235, a gNB central unit (gNB-CU), a gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU), a gNB-CU-CP (control plane), a gNB-CU-UP (user plane), a data network, a core network or a Radio Network Controller (RNC), and is not limited herein.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Lyu et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to allows the wireless network node to determine whether to monitor a paging occasion or a group of paging occasions based on a number of wireless terminal sub-groups associated with the indication, so that the wireless terminals can be monitored in the DRX cycle in an efficient manner, thus reducing power consumption of the network node in a reliable manner as taught by Ma et al.
Regarding claims 22, 24, see claim 1, further, Ma et al discloses, wherein the PEI signal is a wake-up signal (see above, further, ¶ 0172, the DCI-based PEI may work as a wake-up signal (WUS)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643