DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 27-DEC-2023, 20-FEB-2020, and 19-NOV-2024 were filed before the mailing date of the first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite the term “thickener” which has been interpreted by the Office as a “composition” and not a product or article. This is based upon the original specification equating the ‘thickener’ to a ‘methacrylic resin’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 - The last 6 lines of instant claim 1 are within parentheses. As such, it cannot be clearly ascertained if these 6 lines are intended to be part of the claim or not.
Regarding claim 7 - Claim 7 recites the limitation "the drying method" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nield (US Pat. 3,676,404) in view of Hickey et al. (US 2002/0065336).
Regarding claims 1-6, and 10 - Nield teaches a methyl methacrylate copolymer (1:30-66), comprising 90 parts methyl methacrylate, 5 parts α-methyl styrene, and 5 parts maleimide (Example 22). Nield suggests other monomers such as n-octyl acrylate or butyl acrylate are functionally equivalent monomers to the maleimide depending upon the softening point of the copolymer (4:70 – 5:16). As such, it is submitted that one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly envisage a copolymer comprising 90 parts methyl methacrylate, 5 parts α-methyl styrene, and 5 parts of either n-octyl acrylate or butyl acrylate.
Nield does not teach a specific molecular weight range but does note that polymethyl methacrylate has utility in many different applications (1:20-25). Hickey et al. teaches that copolymers various acrylate and methacrylate monomers are useful as thickening agents for cyanoacrylate adhesives (paras. 20-21 and 17). Hickey et al. teaches that the thickener for the cyanoacrylate adhesive should have a molecular weight of about 100,000 to 1,000,000 and used in an amount of 0.5-25% by wight of the adhesive (para. 21). Nield and Hickey et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely, that of copolymers various acrylate and methacrylate monomers and uses thereof. At the time of filing, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have made the methyl methacrylate copolymer of Nield in a molecular weight range of about 100,000 to 1,000,000 as taught by Hickey et al. and would have motivated to do so since Hickey et al. suggests use of such copolymers various acrylate and methacrylate monomers would be an additional commercial use as a thickener and therefore provide an additional economic benefit.
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties, η1 and η2 ratio being greater than 1 and less than 5, are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification suggests that results in the claimed effect or physical property by copolymerizing a certain amount of alkyl acrylate and aromatic vinyl monomer (orig. spec. para. 24). As such, the applied reference Nield specifically teaches this feature. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. (η1 and η2 ratio being greater than 1 and less than 5) would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claim 7 - Nield further teaches various polymerization solvents and drying methods of their copolymers and the formation of spherical granules or particle when desired (examples 11 and 17). For example, polymerizing in a non-aqueous solvent such as methanol, dissolved in chloroform, reprecipitated in ether and dried in vacuo (example 10). As such it would have been obvious to have reduced the moisture content of the methyl methacrylate copolymer to as low as possible depending upon its final commercial use. Since, Hickey et al. suggest using a methacrylate copolymer in a very moisture sensitive product, ie. cyanoacrylate adhesives, drying the copolymer to a below 1% or less of moisture would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to produce an cyanoacrylate adhesive that has long shelf stability.
Regarding claims 8 and 9 - Nield further teaches various polymerization solvents and drying methods of their copolymers and the formation of spherical granules or particle when desired (examples 11 and 17). Nonetheless, since Nield teaches the formation of granules and particles it would have been well within the skill of one of ordinary art to from such granules and particles into a desired size (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/246,851 in view of Hickey et al. (US 2002/0065336). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/246,851 teaches a thickener comprising 95-99% methyl methacrylate and 0.1-5% of an alkyl methacrylate having a carbon number of 4 or more. Hickey et al. teaches that the thickener for the cyanoacrylate adhesive should have a molecular weight of about 100,000 to 1,000,000 and used in an amount of 0.5-25% by wight of the adhesive (para. 21). Copending Application No. 18/246,851 and Hickey et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely, thickeners for cyanoacrylates. At the time of filing, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have made the methyl methacrylate copolymer of Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/246,851 in a molecular weight range of about 100,000 to 1,000,000 as taught by Hickey et al. and would have motivated to do so since Hickey et al. suggests use of such molecular weight range is desired for methacrylate thickeners in cyanoacrylate adhesives.
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties, η1 and η2 ratio being greater than 1 and less than 5, are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification suggests that results in the claimed effect or physical property by copolymerizing a certain amount of alkyl acrylate and aromatic vinyl monomer (orig. spec. para. 24). As such, Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/246,851 specifically teaches this feature. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. (η1 and η2 ratio being greater than 1 and less than 5) would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
MARK EASHOO, Ph.D.
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767