DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/27/23, 6/20/25, and 3/6/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/8/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Language from the reference(s) is shown in quotations. Limitations from the claims are shown in quotations within parentheses. Examiner explanations are shown in italics.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al. (US 2019/0189318 A1), previously cited.
Regarding claims 8-9, Uesaka teaches a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with the following composition (see Table 1):
Element
ClaimsMass %
Uesaka Example “C”Mass %
C
0.01 % or less
0.0010
Si
2.0 % or more and 5.0 % or less
3.7
Mn
0.05 % or more and 5.00 % or less
0.8
P
0.1 % or less
0.005
S
0.01 % or less
0.001
Al
3.0 % or less
1.4
N
0.0050 % or less
--
Ti (claim 9, group E)
0 % or more and 0.005 % or less
0.002
As (claim 9, group E)
0 % or more and 0.05 % or less
0.0009
Pb (claim 9, group E)
0 % or more and 0.002 % or less
0.0009
Si + Al
4.5% or more
5.1
Crystal grain sizer, Table 2, No.s 1 or 2
60 µm or more and 200 µm or less
m
Uesaka is silent regarding statistical analysis parameters of the crystal grain size distribution such as the standard deviation or skewness. However, Uesaka takes several steps to ensure appropriate control of the grain size distribution. Uesaka teaches that “by including at least one of As and Pb with a total content of 0.0005% or more, precipitates such as MN can be caused to grow with precipitated As and/or Pb, or a compound thereof, as the nucleus, allowing the grain size distribution to be controlled appropriately” (paragraph [0107]).
The instant application teaches that in the annealing process, the average heating rate V1 within a range of 500° C. to 700° C. is set to 10° C./s or more, and that the reason for setting the average heating rate V1 to 10° C./s or more is to ensure that the standard deviation S1 of the crystal grain size distribution in the resulting non-oriented electrical steel sheet satisfies the above formula (1) to form the desired steel sheet microstructure (paragraph [0119]). Uesaka teaches that “during the final annealing, the heating rate from 400° C. to 740° C. is set to 30° C./s to 300° C./s, and that setting the heating rate to 30° C./s to 300° C./s allows the grain size to be set to an appropriate distribution” (paragraph [0156]). Uesaka teaches that “if the heating rate is less than 30° C./s, the grain size distribution becomes sharp, and the number of grains that have an advantageous size with respect to iron loss under inverter excitation suddenly decreases” (paragraph [0156]).
The instant application teaches that by setting Si+Al (total content of Si and Al) to 4.5% or more and performing cold rolling under appropriate conditions, the skewness of the crystal grain size distribution of cold-rolled and annealed sheet can be reduced (paragraph [0065]). Uesaka Example “C” gives a total content of Si and Al of 5.1, as stated above. The instant application teaches that when the final pass entry temperature T1 is 50° C. or higher, after the annealing process described below, the skewness γ1 of the crystal grain size distribution is 1.50 or less, and that as a result, the desired steel sheet microstructure is obtained (paragraph [0108]). Uesaka teaches that “the annealed hot rolled sheet is preferably subjected to pickling before the cold rolling” (paragraph [0149]). Uesaka teaches that “at least the rolling delivery-side material temperature for one pass is preferably 100° C. to 300° C, that if the rolling delivery-side material temperature is 100° C. or higher, development of the {111} orientation can be suppressed, and that if the rolling delivery-side material temperature is 300° C. or less, randomization of the texture can be suppressed” (paragraph [0150]).
Regarding the claimed statistical analysis parameters, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the steel of the prior art possesses the parameters as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition (see compositional analysis above), b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure (both steels are non-oriented electrical steel sheets, as described above), and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes (see processing analysis above). Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The Examiner requests that interviews not be scheduled during the last week of each fiscal quarter or the last half of September, which is the end of the fiscal year. Q4: 9/21-9/30/26; Q1: 1/4-1/8/27.
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733