DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 5, 8 each recite the limitation “as coming closer” when describing surfaces. This wording is confusing since it makes it appear that movement is being claimed instead of geometric structure.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the first flute comes closer to the rotation axis”. It is unclear what it means to be closer to an axis. Is this supposed to mean closer to a center of the axis? The axis is not a fixed component so the scope is unclear.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the elastic body is located closer to the rotation axis than the first flute”. It is unclear what it means to be closer to an axis. Is this supposed to mean closer to a center of the axis? The axis is not a fixed component so the scope is unclear.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the second flute comes closer to the rotation axis”. It is unclear what it means to be closer to an axis. Is this supposed to mean closer to a center of the axis? The axis is not a fixed component so the scope is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yamashita (JP2010149231A, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 1, Yamashita discloses a cutting tool 1, comprising:a body 10/12 which extends from a front end (bottom end) toward a rear end (top end) along a rotation axis CZ and comprises a pocket located on a side of the front end (Fig. 1-2); a cutting part CB which is located in the pocket and comprises a cutting edge C1 located on a side of the front end (Fig. 1-2); and an elastic body P/PS which is located between the body and the cutting part and applies an urging force in a direction toward the rear end to the cutting part, wherein the pocket comprises a first seating surface 20a directed to a front side in a rotation direction of the rotation axis, the cutting part comprises a rear surface (surface which contacts 20a) which is located on a rear side in the rotation direction of the rotation axis and which is in contact with the first seating surface, the elastic body is in contact with the first seating surface and the rear surface, and the rear surface is slidable toward the rear end (Fig. 1-2; para. 19-26; the movement of the rear surface can broadly be considered sliding).
Re Claim 2, Yamashita discloses the first seating surface is inclined to a front side in the rotation direction as coming closer to the rear end (upper portion of 20a is inclined; Fig. 1-2).
Re Claim 10, Yamashita discloses a cutting tool 1, comprising:a body 10/12 which extends from a front end (bottom end) toward a rear end (top end) along a rotation axis CZ and comprises a pocket located on a side of the front end; a cutting part CB which is located in the pocket and comprises a cutting edge C1 located on a side of the front end; and an urging means P/PS located between the body and the cutting part, wherein an urging force is applied from the urging means to the cutting part so that a position of the cutting edge not in contact with a workpiece comes closer to the rear end than a position of the cutting edge in contact with the workpiece (Fig. 1-2; para. 19-26).
Re Claim 11, Yamashita discloses a method for manufacturing a machined product, comprising: rotating the cutting tool according to claim 1; bringing the cutting tool into contact with a workpiece; and moving the cutting tool away from the workpiece (Fig. 1-2; para. 19-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Opelt (US 6,203,251).
Re Claim 3, Yamashita discloses the first seating surface comprises a first concave part (upper part of 20a; Fig. 1-2) and the elastic body is in contact with the first concave part (Fig. 1-2) but does not disclose the rear surface comprises a second concave part opposed to the first concave part, and the elastic body is in contact with the second concave part, the first seating surface comprises a first flute extending from a side of the front end toward a side of the rear end, and the rear surface comprises a first convex part inserted into the first flute. However, Opelt teaches a rear surface of a cutting part 2 comprises a concave part 18 (Fig. 8-9). It would be obvious to utilize a concave part on the rear surface, as taught by Opelt, for the purpose of providing a desired geometry and reduced weight and also since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the surface of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Re Claim 4, Yamashita does not disclose the first seating surface comprises a first flute extending from a side of the front end toward a side of the rear end, and the rear surface comprises a first convex part inserted into the first flute. However, Opelt teaches first seating surface comprises a first flute (circular opening adjacent element 23 in Fig. 8) extending from a side of the front end toward a side of the rear end, and a rear surface of a cutting part 2 comprises a first convex part 38 inserted into the first flute (Fig. 8-10). It would be obvious to utilize surfaces in this configuration, as taught by Opelt, for the purpose of providing a desired geometry and reduced weight with optimal geometries and also since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the surface of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Re Claim 5, as best understood, Opelt teaches the first flute comes closer to the rotation axis as coming closer to the rear end (Fig. 8-10).
Re Claim 6, as best understood, Yamashita/Opelt discloses the elastic body is located closer to the rotation axis than the first flute.
Re Claim 7, Yamashita does not disclose the rear surface comprises a second flute extending from a side of the front end toward a side of the rear end, and the first seating surface comprises a second convex part inserted into the second flute. However, Opelt teaches a rear surface of a cutting part 2 comprises a flute 18/30 extending from a side of the front end toward a side of the rear end, and the first seating surface comprises a convex part 46 inserted into the flute (Fig. 8-10). It would be obvious to utilize surfaces in this configuration, as taught by Opelt, for the purpose of providing a desired geometry and reduced weight with optimal geometries and also since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the surface of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Re Claim 8, as best understood, Opelt teaches the second flute comes closer to the rotation axis as coming closer to the rear end (Fig. 8-10).
Re Claim 9, Yamashita does not disclose the cutting part further comprises a front surface located on a front side in the rotation direction, a through hole opening in the front surface and the rear surface, and a fixture 3 inserted into the through hole and fixed to the body. However, Opelt teaches a cutting part 2 comprises a front surface located on a front side in the rotation direction, a through hole opening 30 in the front surface and the rear surface, and a fixture inserted into the through hole and fixed to the body (Fig. 8-10). It would be obvious to utilize surfaces in this configuration, as taught by Opelt, for the purpose of providing a desired geometry and reduced weight with optimal connection and also since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the surface of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799