DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi (JP2016010912 (A)) as understood from the provided translation of the reference, in view of Weisman (US 3499848).
With respect to claim 6, Hiroshi discloses a laminated body obtained by layering and integrating a flexible surface member on and with a soft polyurethane foam (abstr., 0010-0014, 0017), wherein the soft polyurethane foam and the surface member are bonded by a moisture-curable hot melt adhesive (0014, 0015, 0019). Hiroshi does not state explicitly that the laminated body is an irregularly shaped laminated body, and the soft polyurethane foam and the surface member are irregularly shaped. Hiroshi does disclose that the laminated body is used in seats and interior materials of vehicles (0027). Weisman discloses a laminated body comprising a flexible surface member and polyurethane foam, wherein the laminated body is irregularly shaped and the polyurethane foam and the flexible surface member are irregularly shaped (col. 1, lines 30-35, col. 3, lines 22-41, col. 6, lines 42-69, Fig. 3), wherein the laminate is used in automotive industry and furniture, providing shock absorbing and insulating qualities (col. 6, lines 62-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the laminated body of Hiroshi as a irregularly shaped laminated body wherein the soft polyurethane foam and the surface member are irregularly shaped since the laminates of Weisman can be used in upholstering as do the laminates of Hiroshi, laminates of Weisman providing shock absorbance and insulating qualities.
Regarding claim 7, Hiroshi and Weisman teach the laminated body according to claim 6. Weisman discloses shaping of the polyurethane foam and the surface member performed by thermal compression (col. 6, lines 33-41). Furthermore, the claim defines the product by how the product is made, thus, claim 7 is a product-by-process claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113). In the instant case the recited steps imply the structure of claim 7. The references teach the structure.
As to claim 9, Hiroshi and Weisman teach the laminated body of claim 6. Hiroshi discloses a back surface member – element 15 - layered with the soft polyurethane foam (abstr., 0013, 0034). Weisman discloses a recess and a protrusion being present at the same position in a lamination direction in the surface member and the back surface member (Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on Feb. 13, 2026 have been fully considered.
In view of the recent amendment 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 7 and 9 have been withdrawn.
The Applicant argued that par. [0006] of Hiroshi discloses that applying heat impairs the inherent design qualities of natural leather, while Weisman discloses a technique for softening materials using dielectric heating to perform heat-sealing and embossing, thus, a person skilled in the art would have no motivation to combine these references. The Examiner notes Hiroshi in par. [0006] discloses that “heat is applied directly to the natural leather. The natural grains (fine irregularities) on the original surface of leather are stretched by heat and become flat.” Weisman uses dielectric heating wherein there is no direct application of heat to the flexible surface member. Regarding embossing, Hiroshi uses compression (0041) which corresponds to the pressure applied in Weisman.
The Applicant argued that even if the references were combined they would not provide the subject matter of claim 6 as Hiroshi relates to a surface material having the texture of natural leather and a method of manufacturing it, so it does not teach the configuration of claim 6, wherein “the soft polyurethane foam and the surface member are irregularly shaped.” The Examiner notes it is the combination of Hiroshi and Weisman that provides the subject matter of claim 6. Hiroshi discloses a laminated body comprising a flexible surface member integrated with a soft polyurethane foam, while Weisman teaches a laminated body which is irregularly shaped, wherein the polyurethane foam and the flexible surface member are irregularly shaped, as discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joanna Pleszczynska/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783