DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 10, and 11 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim to foreign priority of Japanese application JP2021-115279 filed 07/12/2021 in this national stage application, which is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/014420 filed 03/25/2022.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“input unit” in claim 1
“control unit” in claim 1
“acquisition unit” in claims 1 and 9
“generation unit” in claims 1-5
“display unit” in claim 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baba (US 2006/0187483 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baba teaches an operation display system that constitutes at least a part of a control system for controlling a control target (MFP 100 of FIGS. 1 and 14 and [0044-0050]: operation display system/MFP 100 constitutes a control system, with various units outlined in FIG. 14, for controlling a control target/MFP), the operation display system comprising:
a display unit (display 116 of FIG. 14 and [0049]);
an input unit configured to receive a user operation (under 112(f), “input unit”, “control unit”, “acquisition unit”, and “generation unit” are interpreted as the corresponding unit(s) in conjunction with “a controller in a data processing unit 115” as stated in [0046]; input unit 113 of FIG. 14 and [0046-0047], FIG. 15 and [0053-0054]);
a control unit configured to control the display unit to display a selected page of one or more pages prepared in advance, each of the pages including one or more first operation objects each for instructing predetermined processing (data processing unit 115 of FIGS. 14 and 15 and [0047-0053], FIG. 4 and [0073]: data processing unit 115/control unit controls display unit 116 to display a selected page, such as user interface screen 1400 of FIG. 4, in advance. This page includes a first operation object, such as Box mode key 1303, detailed in [0069-0070] and [0073], for predetermined processing);
an acquisition unit configured to acquire an operation history including one or more contents of one or more operations on the one or more first operation objects ([0015]: “detecting unit configured to detect… history information about an operation command relating to the operation command from among the history information stored in the storing unit”; FIG. 7 and [0078], FIG. 10 and [0081-0082]: an operation history including one or more contents of operations 2103 on the one or more first operation objects, like Box mode key 1303 indicated by “BOX” under operation column 2103, is acquired. Aside from operation column 2103, operation history may include additional information seen in FIG. 10, like box name column 2104; See S106 of FIG. 11, FIG. 16, and [0085-0092] for additional details regarding acquisition of an operation history); and
a generation unit configured to extract one or more operations each matching with a predetermined rule in the acquired operation history and that generates, based on the extracted one or more operations, one or more second operation objects each for instructing the same processing as processing of a corresponding one of the one or more first operation objects operated by a user (FIGS. 7-8 and [0078-0079] and FIG. 10 and [0081-0082]: generation unit involves data processing unit 115 in connection with input unit 113 and display unit 116 as supported by FIG. 14 and this figure’s corresponding paragraphs. An operation, like “BOX”, is extracted and matches a predetermined rule of the user having selected “BOX” as evident in the acquired operation history. Based on the extracted “BOX” operation, one or more second operation objects including at least shortcut key 1500 is generated for instructing the same processing as one of the one or more first operation objects operated by a user).
Regarding claim 2, Baba further teaches the operation display system according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit is configured to extract an operation for outputting an instruction for controlling the control target, among the contents of the operations included in the operation history (FIGS. 7-8 and [0078-0079] and FIG. 10 and [0081-0082]: generation unit involves data processing unit 115 in connection with input unit 113 and display unit 116 as supported by FIG. 14 and this figure’s corresponding paragraphs. An operation, like “PRINTED”, is extracted for outputting a print instruction for controlling the MFP/control target, among the contents of the operations included in the operation history; See S106 of FIG. 11, FIG. 16, and [0085-0092] for additional details regarding acquisition of an operation history).
Regarding claim 3, Baba further teaches the operation display system according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit is configured to exclude a user operation for page transition among the contents of the operations included in the operation history (S106 of FIG. 11, FIG. 16, and [0085-0092]: operation history includes at least information under operation column 2103 and box name column 2104. As detailed in [0091], “The history information extraction processing at step S124 extracts information common to the occurrences of the operation from the description of the operation specified by the user, contained in the operation column 2103 of FIG. 10, the box names accessed by the user, contained in the referenced box name column 2104, and the file names accessed by the user, contained in the referenced file name column 2105. For the box names accessed by the user contained in the referenced box name columns 2104, only the common portion of the box name, starting form the top-level name, is extracted.” Thus, a manual display operation, such as the manual display of files for “SCOREBOOK” box, analogous to the display of “REGULAR MEETING” box as supported in FIGS. 4-5 and [0073-0075], seen in the first row under the headers in the user’s use history reference screen 2100 in FIG. 10, is excluded from the extraction by the generation unit).
Regarding claim 4, Baba further teaches the operation display system according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit is configured to exclude at least one of an alarm viewer checking operation, a troubleshooting information display operation, and a manual display operation among the contents of the operations included in the operation history (S106 of FIG. 11, FIG. 16, and [0085-0092]: operation history includes at least information under operation column 2103 and box name column 2104. As detailed in [0091], “The history information extraction processing at step S124 extracts information common to the occurrences of the operation from the description of the operation specified by the user, contained in the operation column 2103 of FIG. 10, the box names accessed by the user, contained in the referenced box name column 2104, and the file names accessed by the user, contained in the referenced file name column 2105. For the box names accessed by the user contained in the referenced box name columns 2104, only the common portion of the box name, starting form the top-level name, is extracted.” Thus, a manual display operation, such as the manual display of files for “SCOREBOOK” box, analogous to the display of “REGULAR MEETING” box as supported in FIGS. 4-5 and [0073-0075], seen in the first row under the headers in the user’s use history reference screen 2100 in FIG. 10, is excluded from the extraction by the generation unit).
Regarding claim 5, Baba further teaches the operation display system according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit is configured to generate a new page including the one or more second operation objects (FIG. 8 and [0079]: new page/user interface screen seen in FIG. 8, is generated including the one or more second operation objects, which includes the created shortcut key 1500).
Regarding claim 6, Baba further teaches the operation display system according claim 1, wherein the display unit is configured to display a page that does not include an operation object other than the one or more second operation objects (under 112(f), “display unit” is interpreted as the corresponding unit(s) in conjunction with “a controller in a data processing unit 115” as stated in [0046]; FIG. 8 and [0079]: the one or more second operation objects includes at least shortcut key 1500 in addition to other operation objects, 1301-1304 and box keys under box name column 1401. Each of these objects is each for instructing the same processing as processing of a corresponding one of the one or more first operation objects operated by a user as seen initially in FIG. 4 and [0073]. Thus an operation object other than the one or more second operation objects is not included on the page as seen in FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Baba further teaches the operation display system according to claim 1, wherein each of the one or more second operation objects is a copy of a corresponding first operation object (FIG. 8 and [0079]: the one or more second operation objects includes at least shortcut key 1500 in addition to other operation objects, 1301-1304 and box keys under box name column 1401. Each of these objects is each for instructing the same processing as processing of a corresponding one of the one or more first operation objects operated by a user as seen initially in FIG. 4 and [0073]. Note that shortcut key 1500 is a copy of a corresponding first operation object of a box name key “REGULAR MEETING”. Thus, each of the one or more second operation objects is a copy of a corresponding first operation object).
Regarding claim 8, Baba further teaches the operation display system according to claim 1, wherein each of the one or more second operation objects includes an instruction for accessing a corresponding first operation object (FIG. 8 and [0079]: the one or more second operation objects includes at least shortcut key 1500 in addition to other operation objects, 1301-1304 and box keys under box name column 1401. Each of these objects is each for instructing the same processing as processing of a corresponding one of the one or more first operation objects operated by a user as seen initially in FIG. 4 and [0073]. The only special button is shortcut key 1500 which is a copy of a corresponding combination of first operation objects).
Regarding claim 9, Baba further teaches the operation display system according to claim 1, wherein the acquisition unit is configured to start acquiring the operation history in response to receiving a predetermined specific user operation ([0015]: “detecting unit configured to detect, detect, on the basis of an operation command received by the receiving unit, history information about an operation command relating to the operation command from among the history information stored in the storing unit”; S106 of FIG. 11, FIG. 16, and [0085-0092]: a predetermined specific user operation corresponds to S102 in which the box operation command is selected, which eventually proceeds to S106 for acquiring the operation history).
Regarding claims 10 and 12-15, the claims recite an information processing method in a control system for controlling a control target, the information processing method comprising limitations corresponding to the operation display system of claims 1-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claims 11 and 16-19, the claims recite non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon an information processing program to be executed by a computer that constitutes at least a part of a control system for controlling a control target, the information processing program, when executed by the computer, causing the computer to perform (MFP 100 of FIGS. 1 and 14-15 and [0044-0050]: DRAM and/or SRAM represents non-transitory computer-readable medium. Computer/MFP 100 constitutes at least part of a control system, with various units outlined in FIG. 14, for controlling a control target/MFP).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including:
US 2015/0277672 A1: user selection frequency threshold for insertion of shorts into a shortcut list
US 2017/0301349 A1: acquisition of operation inputs as operation history
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171