DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-9, 11 and 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/27/2023, 1/30/2024, 9/4/2024 and 10/16/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a plurality of strain detecting elements recited in claim 1 and described in paragraph [0069].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 3,071,745 issued to Stedman (“Stedman”).
As for claim 1, Stedman discloses a sensor module (Fig. 7), comprising:
a diaphragm (26) including a first region (where r/a > 0.6) and a second region (radial stress null zone at r/a ≈ 0.6; col. 11, lines 30-32 and col. 7, lines 31-38), the second region including a position at which a strain that occurs by an effect of a physical quantity caused by a measurement target fluid is zero and having a smaller effect of the physical quantity caused by the measurement target fluid than the first region (radial stress null zone at r/a ≈ 0.6; col. 11, lines 30-32 and col. 7, lines 31-38);
a plurality of strain detecting elements (82, 84) disposed in the first region; and
an electric conductor (38, 40, 94) that is at least partially disposed in the second region and electrically couples the plurality of strain detecting elements to each other to configure a bridge circuit (Fig. 7 and col. 11, lines 30-32 and col. 11, lines 53-69), wherein
the electric conductor (38, 40, 94) comprises a resistance adjuster (38 and part of 94) at a position corresponding to the second region (i.e. 38 overlaps with r/a ≈ 0.6), the resistance adjuster being configured to adjust a resistance of the electric conductor (i.e. because 38 has an electrical resistance, however small).
As for claim 2, Stedman discloses that the strain detecting elements and the electric conductor are provided integrally (see Fig. 7), the strain detecting elements and the electric conductor being provided to have a ring shape (see Fig. 7).
As for claim 3, Stedman discloses that the effect of the strain caused by the measurement target fluid in the second region is less than or equal to one tenth of the effect in the first region (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 4, Stedman discloses that the resistance adjuster (38 and part of 94) comprises a groove (see the groove between 38 and 94 in Fig. 7) provided at a position corresponding to the second region in the electric conductor.
Claims 1-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 3,697,918 issued to Orth et al. (“Orth”).
As for claim 1, Orth discloses a sensor module (Fig. 1), comprising:
a diaphragm (10) including a first region (portion of 10 inside Z) and a second region (middle portion of 10 that includes Z), the second region including a position at which a strain that occurs by an effect of a physical quantity caused by a measurement target fluid is zero and having a smaller effect of the physical quantity caused by the measurement target fluid than the first region (col. 3, 19-32);
a plurality of strain detecting elements (R1-R4) disposed in the first region (see Fig. 1); and
an electric conductor (19-21) that is at least partially disposed in the second region (middle portion of 10 that includes Z) and electrically couples the plurality of strain detecting elements to each other to configure a bridge circuit (see Fig. 1), wherein
the electric conductor comprises a resistance adjuster (T1a, T1, T1b) at a position corresponding to the second region, the resistance adjuster being configured to adjust a resistance of the electric conductor (col. 3, lines 54-57).
As for claim 2, Orth discloses that the strain detecting elements and the electric conductor are provided integrally (see Fig. 1), the strain detecting elements and the electric conductor being provided to have a ring shape (i.e. a square ring, see Fig. 1).
As for claim 3, Orth discloses that the effect of the strain caused by the measurement target fluid in the second region is less than or equal to one tenth of the effect in the first region (col. 3, lines 19-32).
As for claim 4, Orth discloses that the resistance adjuster (T1a, T1, T1b) comprises a groove (e.g. the space between T1a and T1) provided at a position corresponding to the second region in the electric conductor (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 12, Orth discloses that
the resistance adjuster includes a plurality of resistance adjusters (T1a, T1, T1b and T3a, T3, T3b), and
the electric conductor comprises the plurality of resistance adjusters and a bypass (19), the bypass causing at least one of the plurality of resistance adjusters to be electrically bypassed by coupling a primary side and a secondary side of the at least one resistance adjuster to each other (see Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record and the examiner’s knowledge does not disclose or suggest an electrode comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, the first electrode being disposed on a diaphragm and formed from Au, the second electrode being stacked on the first electrode and formed from Au, wherein an electric conductor comprises a coupling portion and an extended portion, the coupling portion electrically coupling a plurality of strain detecting elements to each other, the extended portion being extended from the coupling portion and electrically coupling the coupling portion and the first electrode to each other, at least a portion of the first electrode is stacked on the extended portion, and a diffusion portion is provided at at least a portion in a depth direction of a location where the first electrode and the extended portion are stacked on each other, the diffusion portion having, in atomic percentage, greater than 60% of Au and greater than 10% of Cr.
Claims 6 and 10 depend on claim 5 and inherit the same allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 5,349,867 issued to Park (“Park”) is cited for all that it discloses including a diaphragm with strain detecting elements and an electric conductor with a resistance adjuster.
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853