DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6, 8-9 and 11 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5-26-26.
Applicant's election with traverse of the restriction requirement mailed on 2-23-26 in the reply filed on 5-26-26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Claim 1 is not anticipated by the cited reference Yan, CN205735057U. This is found persuasive, since Yan in fact fails to disclose the elements listed in applicant’s arguments as the elements have been clarified in Applicant’s response. Thus, the restriction requirement is removed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a movable adjustment member;” of claims 12 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: In each of these claims there are spaces between the end of words and either periods, commas, and/or semicolons that follow the word. This is grammatically improper. For example, in line 2 of claim 1, the line reading “a main housing ;” should read “a main housing[[]];”. Similar corrections should be made to each of the cited claims.
The limitations of Claim 2 reading “the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis extend both through the pivot point” should read “the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis both extend both through the pivot point”.
The limitations of Claims 1-9 reading “Transmission system according to” should read: “A [[T]]transmission system according to”.
The limitations of Claims 10-14 reading “Shaving head according to” should read “A [[S]] shaving head according to”.
The limitation of Claim 7 reading “wherein the coupling portions are each, in the respective first coupling position, displaceably guided relative to the first base portion in the direction parallel to the central axis , and/or wherein the coupling portions are each, in the respective second coupling position , displaceably guided relative to the second base portion in the direction parallel to the central axis” should read: “wherein when the coupling portions are each, in the respective first coupling position, they are displaceably guided relative to the first base portion in the direction parallel to the central axis , and/or wherein when the coupling portions are each, in the respective second coupling position , they are displaceably guided relative to the second base portion in the direction parallel to the central axis”.
The limitation of Claim 15 reading “Electric shaver comprising” should read “An [[E]]electric shaver comprising”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation of Claim 12 reading: “a movable adjustment member; - a secondary gearing system arranged in the shaving unit to convert a rotation of the second base portion of the transmission system into movement of the adjustment member of each of the hair-cutting units” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Looking at the specification, the adjustment member is discussed in page 9, where it is noted that:
“In the present embodiment of the shaving head 3, each of the hair-cutting units 4 comprises a movable adjustment member (not shown in Figs. 3, 4, 5 and 6), and the gearing system 60 is a secondary gearing system which is arranged in the shaving unit 5 of the shaving head 3 to drive the respective adjustment members by converting a rotation of the second base portion 42 into movement of the respective adjustment members. In each of the hair-cutting units 4, the movable adjustment member serves to actuate a mechanism configured to adjust an operational parameter of the respective hair-cutting unit 4, such as a mechanism configured to adjust in an axial direction the relative position of the external cutting member 10 and the skin supporting member 30. An advantage of having such a mechanism is that a user is allowed to personalize the shaving experience as far as the balance of closeness and comfort is concerned”.
The Specification clearly notes that the movable adjustment member is not shown. Also, even though such structure can theoretically be described in such a way as to convey to once skilled in the art that this structure is present, without being shown in the figures, this does not appear to be the case in the present instance. For instance, it is not clear what the shape or dimensions of such a structure are. Nor is it clear how such a structure connects to the gearing system to perform the claimed function of convert the rotation of the gears to movement of the structure. As such, the a movable adjustment member; - a secondary gearing system arranged in the shaving unit to convert a rotation of the second base portion of the transmission system into movement of the adjustment member of each of the hair-cutting units was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 3, 5-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The limitation of Claim 3 reading: “wherein the pivot point is arranged at a distance from an imaginary surface extending through the second center point perpendicularly to the second rotational axis , and wherein said imaginary surface is located between the pivot point and the first center point .” It is not clear what the metes and bounds of the claimed imaginary surface would be. For example, a surface by its nature, includes an “exterior or upper boundary of an object or body” (see Merriam Websters Dictionary). Does the Claim therefore require the imaginary surface to include being an upper boundary of some other imaginary surface? Or, is the claim intending only to require that the pivot point is arranged at a distance from an imaginary plane extending through the second center point perpendicularly to the second rotational axis? (emphasis added).
The limitation of claim 5 reading “wherein the N coupling portions are mutually identical”, is indefinite. First, the portions are spread apart, and thus cannot be completely identical. The portions may be identical in shape for instance, while being not identical in location.
The limitation of Claim 6 reading: “Transmission system according to claim 1, wherein the coupling portions of each pair of adjacent coupling portions are mutually coupled by means of a guiding structure that allows the coupling portions of the pair to mutually slide in the axial direction of the central axis .” is indefinite. Claim 6 depends from Claim 1. No pairs of adjacent coupling portions are delimited in Claim 1. Thus, it is not clear which pair is being claimed in claim 6.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the direction parallel to the central axis" in line 3 and line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Because a direction parallel to the central axis has not been previously delimited in the claims it is unclear if this refers to some other previously claimed structure, or whether this is a newly introduced structure. If this is newly introduced structure than the limitation should be preceded by the pronoun “a” instead of “the”. It is noted that the axial direction of the central axis (claim 1) appears to be different than a direction parallel to the central axis of claim 7.
The limitation of Claim 10 reading: “the shaving unit, together with the hair-cutting units, is arranged to be allowed to assume pivoted positions relative to the support structure about a pivot point corresponding to the pivot point of the transmission system” is indefinite. The word “is” makes it appear that only one of the shaving unit or the hair cutting unit is arranged to be allowed to assume pivoted positions relative to the support structure. However, the claim appears to denote that both of these structures perform this function. It is not clear therefore what the claim is intending to delimit.
Claims Not Subject to Prior Art Rejection
Claims 3 and 12-14 have not been rejected using a prior art rejection. However, no determination of allowability can be made in view of the 35 USC 112 issues presented above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPUB 20170008179, Shimizu.
Regarding Claim 1, Shimizu discloses a transmission system (fig 3) comprising:
a main housing (76);
a first base portion (74, figs 2-4) which is rotatable relative to the main housing about a first rotation axis (fig 5C) which is stationary relative to the main housing (since part 74 rotates but is otherwise stationary relative to base 76, par 0049);
a second base portion 70 which is rotatable about a second rotation axis (fig 5C, and par 0048) and pivotal about a pivot point (along tilting surfaces 74b) which is stationary relative to the main housing (fig 4A), the second rotation axis maintaining a stationary orientation relative to the second base portion during pivoting of the second base portion about the pivot point (since part 70 rotates but is otherwise stationary relative to base 76; oscillation includes rotation and pivoting)
a coupling arrangement (74b, and 70b) coupled to the first base portion (fig 4A) and to the second base portion (fig 4A) such as to convert a rotation of the first base portion about the first rotation axis into a rotation of the second base portion about the second rotation axis (par. 0048-0049);
wherein: the coupling arrangement comprises N coupling portions (70b and 74b) which are each coupled to the first base portion (fig 4B), at least in a tangential direction relative to the first rotation axis (fig 4A and 4B), in a respective one of N first coupling positions on the first base portion (positions at which the projections 74b insert into recesses 70b), and which are each coupled to the second base portion, at least in a tangential direction relative to the second rotation axis, in a respective one of N second coupling positions on the second base portion (positions at which the projections 74b insert into recesses 70b), wherein N is at least two (fig 4A and 4B);
the N first coupling positions have equal axial positions in a direction parallel to the first rotation axis (fig 4B), a first center point of the first base portion being located on the first rotation axis in a position corresponding to said axial positions of the N first coupling positions (fig 4B);
the N second coupling positions have equal axial positions in a direction parallel to the second rotation axis (fig 4B), a second center point of the second base portion being located on the second rotation axis in a position corresponding to said axial positions of the N second coupling positions (see fig 4B); a central axis of the coupling arrangement extends through the first and second center points (fig 4B); and the coupling portions are mutually coupled such that the coupling portions are displaceable relative to each other only in an axial direction of the central axis (due to the elongated shape of the recesses 70b and the tilting).
Regarding Claim 2, in Shimizu, the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis extend both through the pivot point (See annotated fig. 3 below).
Regarding Claim 4, in Shimizu, N is at least three, and wherein the N coupling portions are arranged at mutually identical angular intervals of 360°/N around the central axis (see fig 4A, which shows two recesses 70b, and two projections 74b, and, if the projections 74b were to be received in recesses at the side of the body 70 facing into the page, then the recesses and the projections, e.g. the coupling portions, would be numbering at four and wherein the N coupling portions are arranged at mutually identical angular intervals of 360°/N around the central axis).
Regarding Claim 5, in Shimizu wherein the N coupling portions are mutually identical (fig 4A).
Regarding Claim 10, Shimizu discloses a shaving head (3 and 3a) of an electric shaver (abstract), comprising: a support structure (28); a shaving unit 3a supporting at least two hair-cutting units (42 and 22) which each have an external cutting member (22) and an internal cutting member 42 which is rotatable relative to the external cutting member (par 0022); and a transmission system according to claim 1 (See claim 1 rejection above);
wherein: the main housing of the transmission system (housing 76) is arranged in a stationary position relative to the support structure (28, fig 7-8); the shaving unit 3a, together with the hair-cutting units (22/42), is arranged to be allowed to assume pivoted positions relative to the support structure about a pivot point corresponding to the pivot point of the transmission system (see fig 9B and fig 4B); the first base portion (74) of the transmission system is rotationally supported relative to the support structure (28) of the shaving head (par 0050); and - the second base portion 70 of the transmission system is rotationally supported relative to the shaving unit of the shaving head (par 0048).
Regarding Claim 11, in Shimizu the shaving head according to claim 10, further comprises a central drive shaft 58 arranged in the support structure (fig 4B) and a primary gearing system (gear teeth of parts 74 and 78) arranged in the shaving unit to convert a rotation of the central drive shaft into rotations of the internal cutting members of the respective hair-cutting units (par 0039-0040), wherein the coupling portions of the coupling arrangement of the transmission system are arranged around the central drive shaft (figs 4B and 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Shimizu discloses: an electric shaver (1, par 0021) comprising a body unit (2) and a shaving head 3 according to claim 10, wherein the shaving head is couplable or coupled to the body unit (fig 1), and wherein the body unit 2 accommodates an actuator 12 which is configured to rotate the first base portion of the transmission system in the coupled condition of the shaving head, par 0029.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 20180085947 20180085951 20110030220 20190389084 20160288348 20170120466 20180085947 11186000 20110094107 20240217127 20230226705 and 5983501 5983501 20100175263 9987759 and 20210197413 and CN 106514732B, disclose state of the art transmission assemblies for trimmers. Thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724