DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15 and 18-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Bardonneche (US 11,478,061).
De Bardonneche discloses an applicator device for applying a product of fluid or pasty type to keratin fibers or to the skin, comprising an elongate central core, the elongate central core (1) extending along a longitudinal axis XX, and at least one row of elongate spikes (2) comprising a first end (22) embedded in the elongate central core and a free second end (col. 4, lines 58-60), wherein the spikes and the elongate central core are made in one piece, wherein at least one of the spikes (2) is delimited by a first flat face (200) which coincides with a longitudinal plane passing through the longitudinal axis XX of the central core, referred to as joint plane, and by a second flat face (210) forming a first angle with said first flat face of between 120° and 150° (col. 4, lines 50-55), and wherein the arrangement of the first and second flat face delimiting a reservoir volume V for cosmetic product (see Figures 4-13). Claim 15, the at least one of the face (200, 210) includes a third flat face forming a second angle with the first flat face of between 1° and a value complementary to 180° of the first angle minus 1°, the third flat face delimiting the reservoir volume V for cosmetic product that takes the form of a longitudinal groove (see Figures 10A, 10B; col. 5, lines 45-55). Claim 18, the at least one spike (2) has first and second parts superposed, over some of each of their heights, one on the other along a longitudinal axis of the at least one spike, the first part being delimited by the first and second flat faces (200, 210), the second part protruding from the first part (see Figures 4-13). Claim 19, the second part has an overall shape which is mirror-symmetrical in relation to the first part (see Figures 4-13). Claim 20, the second part is superposed entirely over some of the height of the first part, between ends of the first part (see Figures 4-13). Claim 21, the at least one spike (3) has a third part superposed on the second part over some of each of their heights, one on the other along a longitudinal axis of the spike, the third part protruding from the second part (see Figures 4-13). Claim 22, the at least one spike (2) has elements protruding from an outer surface of the at least one spike. Claim 23, the at least one spike has elements (24) that are extending recessed from an outer surface of the spike (see Figures 4-13). Claim 24, at least two of the spikes making up a row and including the at least one spike have an identical orientation (see Figures 4-13). Claim 25, at least two of the spikes making up a row and including the at least one spike have a different orientation (see Figure 14). Claim 26, the distance measured along the axis XX between two successive spikes of the at least one row is zero or positive (see Figures 4-13). Claim 27, the distance measured along the axis XX between two successive spikes of the at least one row is less than approximately 2 millimeters (claim 5).
Claim 28, De Bardonneche discloses an applicator device for applying a product of fluid or pasty type to keratin fibers or to the skin, comprising an elongate central core, the elongate central core (1) extending along a longitudinal axis XX, and at least one row of elongate spikes (2) comprising a first end (22) embedded in the elongate central core and a free second end (col. 4, lines 58-60), wherein the spikes and the elongate central core are made in one piece, wherein at least one of the spikes (2) is delimited by a first flat face (200) which coincides with a longitudinal plane passing through the longitudinal axis XX of the central core, referred to as joint plane, and by a second flat face (210) forming a first angle with said first flat face of between 120° and 150° (col. 4, lines 50-55), and wherein the arrangement of the first and second flat face delimiting a reservoir volume V for cosmetic product that has a “V” shape cross-section form the first end to the free second end of each of the spikes (see Figures 4A-5B). Claim 29, the reservoir volume delimited by the arrangement of the first and second flat face is of an angle complementary at 180 degrees to the first angle (see Figures 4a-5b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Bardonneche (US 11,478,061) in view of Berhault (US 11,375,803).
Claims 16 and 17, De Bardonneche discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one spike has a frustoconical shape. Berhault teaches a spike having an overall frustoconial shape (col. 4, lines 25-35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the spikes of DeBardonneche be made with an overall frustoconial shape as taught by Berhault to allow for more flexibly through the wiping element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that De Bardonneche does not disclose a second flat face forming a first angle with said first flat face between 120 degrees and 150 degrees and therein the arrangement of the first and second flat faces delimiting from the first end to the second free end of each of the spikes a reservoir volume V for the cosmetic product is not persuasive. De Bardonneche teaches col. 4, lines 50-55 “the spikes 2 are also defined and delimited by a second flat face 210 forming with the first flat face 200 an angle of between approximately 10 degrees and 180 degrees” further col. 4, lines 60-65 “may have various forms, as illustrated in particular but not exhaustively by the accompanying figures”. One having ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching and description of De Bardonneche would have concluded the first angle can be of 120 and 150 degrees, as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
1/12/2026