DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111987503 in view of Natori et al. US 6,315,621.
Regarding claim 8, CN ‘503 discloses a connector for high-speed transmission configured to connect a first circuit board and a second circuit board and to be disposed between the first circuit board and the second circuit board, comprising: a first contact (fig. 1; one 2) and a second contract (fig. 1; adjacent 2) arranged in a row (fig. 1; row of 2s) with a predetermined pitch (fig. 2; space between 213 of each 2 in the y direction); and an insulating housing (fig. 2; 1) having a first contact accommodation part (fig. 2; 13) and a second contact accommodation part (13) that respectively hold the first (one 2) and second contacts (adjacent 2), wherein each contact includes a fixed part (fig. 2; 22), an elastically deformable part (fig. 2; 21) and a contact part (fig. 2; 213), the elastically deformable part (21) having two spring pieces (fig. 2; 2121) extending apart from each other in a pitch direction (y direction) and parallel to each other and whose both ends (ends of 2121) are joined, and the contact part (213) being supported by the elastically deformable part (21), no conductor exists between the two spring pieces (2121) of each contact (2), no conductor exists between the first and second contacts (2) adjacent in the pitch direction (y-direction), and a gap (see mark-up below from fig. 5; G1) in the pitch direction (y direction) between the two spring pieces (2121) of each contact is greater than a gap (mark-up; G2) in the pitch direction (y direction) between the spring piece (2121) of the first contact (one 2) that is located closer to the second contact (adjacent 2) and the spring piece (2121) of the second contact (adjacent 2) that is located closer to the first contact (one 2).
Mark-up
CN ‘503 does not disclose the fixed part being press-fit into the corresponding contact accommodation part, and wherein the two spring pieces are accommodated in the corresponding contact accommodation part before and during connection between the first and second circuit boards.
However, Natori teaches the fixed part (fig. 5; 53) being press-fit (Col 5 Ln 57-59; the fixing portion 53 of the contact element 51 is press-fitted into a vertical wall 231) into the corresponding contact accommodation part (fig. 9; 233), and wherein the two spring pieces (fig. 5; 81, 83) are accommodated in the corresponding contact accommodation part (233) before and during connection between the first and second mating parts (fig. 9; 401, 501).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fixed part being press-fit into the corresponding contact accommodation part, and wherein the two spring pieces are accommodated in the corresponding contact accommodation part before and during connection between the first and second circuit boards as suggested by Natori for the benefit of providing an optimized compact electrical board connector that is highly capable of transmitting complex high frequency signals.
Regarding claim 3, CN ‘503 modified by Natori has been disclosed above. CN ‘503 discloses wherein cross-sectional areas and cross-sectional shapes of the two spring pieces (2121) are equal to each other (2121 is identical, so cross-sectional shapes and areas will be the same).
Regarding claim 4, CN ‘503 discloses wherein the two spring pieces (2121) are a cantilever beam (they are elastic).
CN ‘503 does not disclose the cantilever beam being partially bent in a U-shape.
However, Natori teaches the cantilever beam (fig. 5; 55, 57) being partially bent in a U-shape or V-shape (see fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cantilever beam being partially bent in a U-shape as suggested by Natori for the benefit of providing improved flexibility of a contact in order to expand the life span of said contact.
Regarding claim 5, CN ‘503 modified by Natori has been disclosed above. CN ‘503 discloses wherein each contact (2) is formed symmetrically with respect to a center line (fig. 4; a centerline in the z direction would be the line of symmetry).
Regarding claim 7, CN ‘503 discloses wherein each contact (2) includes a welding part (fig. 1; 216) at an end (bottom) on an opposite side of the contact part (213).
CN ‘503 does not explicitly disclose a soldering part.
However, Natori teaches a soldering part (fig. 5; 59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a soldering part as suggested by Natori for the benefit of effectively lowering production cost by having less complicated methods of joining metals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Attorney stated, “the limitation "a gap in the pitch direction between the two spring pieces of each contact is greater than a gap in the pitch direction between the spring piece of the first contact that is located closer to the second contact and the spring piece of the second contact that is located closer to the first contact" is not taught by CN111987503. According to established case law, patent drawings are generally not drawn to scale, and dimensional limitations cannot be derived from drawings alone.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yes, attorney is correct in mentioning that drawings cannot be cited to disclose precise dimensions when the drawings are not drawn to scale. However, claim 8 fails to recite any specific numerical measurements or dimensions of the various gaps between the spring pieces of the contacts. The claim just recites “greater than” to compare two different gap sizes of the contacts; and since explicit dimensions are not claimed, the examiner is not at fault for using the drawings of CN ‘503 to disclose the claimed gaps of the contacts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831