DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2023 and 01/24/2025 was filed on and after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 8-10 recite, “of two contacts,” “a spring piece,” “to another,” “of one contact,” and “a spring piece,” claim should be amended to recite –of the two contacts--, --the spring piece--, --to the another--, --of the one contact-- and –the spring piece--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111987503.
Regarding claim 1, CN ‘503 discloses an impedance adjustment method for adjusting impedance of each contact in a connector where a plurality of contacts (fig. 1; 2) having electrical conductivity are arranged in a row (fig. 1; rows in the y direction) with a predetermined pitch (see mark-up below from fig. 5; PDP), wherein each contact (each 2) is designed in such a way that one contact part (fig. 1; 213) is supported by two spring pieces (fig. 1; 2121) extending apart from each other in a pitch direction (y direction) and parallel to each other and whose both ends (fig. 1; 214, 215) are joined, no conductor is designed to exist between the two spring pieces (2121) of each contact (2), no conductor is designed to exist between two contacts (2) adjacent in the pitch direction (y direction), and a gap (mark-up; G) in the pitch direction (y direction) between, of two contacts (adjacent two 2s in the mark-up below) adjacent in the pitch direction (y direction), a spring piece (mark-up; one 2121 of one 2 facing G) closer to another contact (mark-up; other adjacent 2) out of the two spring pieces (2121) of one contact (one 2) and a spring piece (mark-up; one 2121 of the other 2 facing G) closer to the one contact (one 2) out of the two spring pieces (2121) of the another contact (other 2) is narrowed by separating the two spring pieces (2121) of each contact (2) away from each other in the pitch direction (y direction) while maintaining the predetermined pitch (PDP) and cross-sectional areas and cross-sectional shapes (2121 is identical, so cross-sectional shapes and areas will be the same) of the two spring pieces (2121) of each contact (each contact is identical), thereby reducing impedance of each contact (2) while maintaining the predetermined pitch and elasticity of each contact (2, 2 is configured to perform this action based upon the given structure).
Mark-up
Regarding claim 2, CN ‘503 discloses a connector for high-speed transmission where a plurality of contacts (2) having electrical conductivity are arranged in a row (y direction row) with a predetermined pitch (mark-up above; PDP), wherein in each contact (2), one contact part (213) is supported by two spring pieces (2121) extending apart from each other in a pitch direction (y direction) and parallel to each other and whose both ends (213, 215) are joined, no conductor exists between the two spring pieces (2121) of each contact (2), no conductor exists between two contacts (2) adjacent in the pitch direction (y direction), and a gap (fig. 1; 2122) in the pitch direction (y direction) between the two spring pieces (2122) of each contact (2) is greater than a gap (mark-up above; G) in the pitch direction (y direction) between, of two contacts adjacent (two adjacent 2) in the pitch direction (y direction), a spring piece (one 2121 of one 2 facing G) closer to another contact (other 2) out of the two spring pieces (2121) of one contact (one 2) and a spring piece (one 2121 of the other 2 facing G) closer to the one contact (one 2) out of the two spring pieces (2121) of the another contact (other contact).
Regarding claim 3, CN ‘503 discloses wherein cross-sectional areas and cross-sectional shapes of the two spring pieces (2121) are equal to each other (2121 is identical, so cross-sectional shapes and areas will be the same).
Regarding claim 5, CN ‘503 discloses wherein each contact (2) is formed symmetrically with respect to a center line (fig. 4; a centerline in the z direction would be the line of symmetry).
Regarding claim 6, CN ‘503 discloses an insulating housing (fig. 1; 1) that holds the plurality of contacts (2), wherein the housing (1) includes a plurality of contact accommodation parts (fig. 1; 13) that accommodate the plurality of contacts (2), respectively, and a plurality of partition walls (walls of 1 that separate 13) that separate the plurality of contact accommodation parts (13), respectively, in the pitch direction (y direction), and a corresponding partition wall is disposed between, of two contacts adjacent (two adjacent 2) in the pitch direction (y direction), a spring piece (one 2121 of one 2 facing G) closer to another contact (other 2) out of the two spring pieces (2121) of one contact (one 2) and a spring piece (one 2121 of the other 2 facing G) closer to the one contact (one 2) out of the two spring pieces (2121) of the another contact (other contact).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111987503 in view of Hwang [US 11,264,745].
Regarding claim 4, CN ‘503 discloses wherein the two spring pieces (2121) are a cantilever beam (they are elastic).
CN ‘503 does not disclose the cantilever beam being partially bent in a U-shape.
However, Hwang teaches the cantilever beam (fig. 4; 24) being partially bent in a U-shape (see fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cantilever beam being partially bent in a U-shape as suggested by Hwang for the benefit of providing improved flexibility of a contact in order to expand the life span of said contact.
Regarding claim 7, CN ‘503 discloses wherein each contact (2) includes a welding part (fig. 1; 216) at an end (bottom) on an opposite side of the contact part (213).
CN ‘503 does not explicitly disclose a soldering part.
However, Hwang teaches a soldering part (fig. 6; 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a soldering part as suggested by Hwang for the benefit of effectively lowering production cost by having less complicated methods of joining metals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831