DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 12/27/2023 and 01/02/2024. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 13-14, 16-20, 22-25, and 30-31 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 12/27/2023 and 05/22/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, the claim appears to call for a method for realizing a paging cause indication comprising a sole functional step of sending a first indication message. The claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted step is: receiving a paging cause from the core network device. Without the receiving step the claim method appears to be an incomplete invention and the terminal device can not realize the paging cause indication.
Dependent claims 2, 4-5, 7-9 and 30 inherit their base claim 1’s indefiniteness as above discussed.
As per claim 30, in addition to the above discrepancy, the claim is noted to be an independent claim drafted in a dependent claim format. It is unclear how the terminal device of recited in method claim 1 and the communication device, the processor, the memory are structurally and functionally interconnected to perform the sole functional step of sending a first indication message. Perhaps, in a response to this Office Action, the Applicant should rewrite claim 30 in its entirety to clearly define the claim invention to overcome the outstanding rejection.
As per claim 31, the claim is noted to be an independent claim drafted in a dependent claim format. It is unclear how the terminal device of recited in method claim 13 and the communication device, the processor, the memory are structurally and functionally interconnected to perform the functional steps of determining that a terminal device supports the paging cause indication and sending target indication message to an access network device. Perhaps, in a response to this Office Action, the Applicant should rewrite claim 31 in its entirety to clearly define the claim invention to overcome the outstanding rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 13-14, 16-17, 22-25, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ke (US 2023/0362884).
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with Ke reference entirety, Ke teaches a method for realizing a paging cause indication (FIG. 6 and para [0446]: “… flexible deployment of a multi-card terminal … determination of a paging cause sending mode are supported … .”), performed by a terminal device, comprising:
sending (FIG. 6; Step 1) a first indication message (FIG. 6; Terminal Capability information) to a core network device (FIG. 6; RAN/CN network element) (para [0448]: “Step 1: UE sends terminal capability information to a CN network element“), wherein the first indication message (Terminal Capability information/first indication information) is used for indicating whether the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) supports the paging cause indication (paging cause/paging cause function) (Moreover; para [0476]: "the terminal capability information includes at least one of: terminal capability information related to a paging cause, terminal capability information related to an indication indicating refusal to accept paging, terminal capability information related to avoidance of a paging collision, terminal capability information of a first leaving mode, or terminal capability information of a multi-card enhancement function.").
Regarding claim 2, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches at least one of:
receiving a paging cause (FIG. 6; Paging cause), wherein the paging cause (FIG. 6; Paging cause) is sent by an access network device (FIG. 6; RAN network element) after determining, based on the first indication message (terminal capability information/first indication information), that the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) supports the paging cause indication (paras [0442] to [0445] and thereinafter, paging cause value/function supported by the terminal and/or a network is discussed);
receiving a second indication message (first indication information) sent by the core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element) (FIG. 6; Step 4 and para [0451]: “Step 4: The CN network element sends first indication information to the UE.”), wherein the second indication message (first indication information) is used for indicating whether the core network device (CN network element) supports the paging cause indication (paging cause/paging cause function) (para [0443]: "that the first indication information indicates that a paging cause function is supported." Or para [0474]: "the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of: indication information related to a paging cause, indication information related to an indication indicating refusal to accept paging, indication information related to avoidance of a paging collision, indication information related to a first leaving mode, or indication information related to a multi-card enhancement function."); or
sending a third indication message (FIG. 6; indication of refusal to accept paging) to the core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element) in response to the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) no longer supporting the paging cause indication, wherein the third indication message (FIG. 6; indication of refusal to accept paging) is used for indicating that the terminal device no longer supports the paging cause indication (para [0457]: "Step 9: The UE sends an indication indicating refusal to accept paging to the CN network element." Or paras [0469] to [0476], indication of refusal to accept the first operation includes "... sending an indication indicating refusal to accept paging ... ". Also Note: the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches wherein the second indication message (first indication information) is sent by the core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element) after determining, based on the first indication message (terminal capability information/first indication information), that the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) supports the paging cause indication (paging cause/paging cause function) (FIG. 6; Step 4 and para [0451]: “Step 4: The CN network element sends first indication information to the UE.” Moreover; para [0443]: "that the first indication information indicates that a paging cause function is supported." Or para [0474]: "the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of: indication information related to a paging cause, indication information related to an indication indicating refusal to accept paging, indication information related to avoidance of a paging collision, indication information related to a first leaving mode, or indication information related to a multi-card enhancement function.").
Regarding claim 5, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches wherein receiving the second indication message (first indication information) sent by the core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element) comprises: receiving the second indication message (first indication information) through a registration accept signaling in response to a network accessed by the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) being a new radio (NR) network (FIG. 6; Step 4 and para [0451]: “Step 4: The CN network element sends first indication information to the UE.” New radio (NR) system is discussed in para [0056] and thereinafter. Furthermore; para [0094] and thereinafter, it is also discussed “the terminal may request to establish a connection from the network and/or the release indication. Based on the connection establishment and/or the release indication, the network knows that the terminal refuses acceptance of paging … .” Also Note: the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations); or receiving the second indication message through an attach accept signaling or a tracking area update (TAU) accept signaling in response to the network accessed by the terminal device being an Evolution Universal Mobile Telecommunications System Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN).
Regarding claim 13, in accordance with Ke reference entirety, Ke teaches a
method for realizing a paging cause indication (FIG. 6 and para [0046] and thereinafter: “determination of a paging occasion avoidance mode, and determination of a paging cause sending mode are supported … .”), performed by a core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element), comprising:
determining that a terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) supports the paging cause indication (paging cause/paging cause function) (para [0448]: “Step 1: UE sends terminal capability information to a CN network element“. Or para [0450]: "Step 3: The RAN network element sends a terminal radio capability response to the CN network element." Moreover; para [0476]: "the terminal capability information includes at least one of: terminal capability information related to a paging cause, terminal capability information related to an indication indicating refusal to accept paging, terminal capability information related to avoidance of a paging collision, terminal capability information of a first leaving mode, or terminal capability information of a multi-card enhancement function.) and sending target indication information (paging cause) to an access network device (FIG. 6; RAN network element) (FIG. 6; Step 7 and para [0454]: "Step 7: The CN network element sends a paging cause to the RAN network element"), wherein the target indication information (paging cause) is used for indicating that the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) supports the paging cause indication (paras [0438] to 0445] and thereinafter, it is discussed the paging cause include paging cause value indicating that the terminal and/or a RAN network element/the network support/supports a paging cause function.).
Regarding claim 14, in addition to features recited in base claim 13 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches at least one of:
receiving a first indication message (terminal capability information) sent by the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE), wherein the first indication message (terminal capability information) is used for indicating whether the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) supports the paging cause indication (paging cause/paging cause function) (para [0448]: “Step 1: UE sends terminal capability information to a CN network element.“ Moreover; para [0476]: "the terminal capability information includes at least one of: terminal capability information related to a paging cause, terminal capability information related to an indication indicating refusal to accept paging, terminal capability information related to avoidance of a paging collision, terminal capability information of a first leaving mode, or terminal capability information of a multi-card enhancement function");
sending a second indication message (FIG. 6; Paging cause) to at least one of the terminal device (FIG.6; UE) or the access network device (FIG.6; RAN network element), wherein the second indication message (FIG. 6; Paging cause) is used for indicating whether the core network device (CN network element) supports the paging cause indication (paging cause/paging cause function) (para [0454]: "Step 7: The CN network element sends a paging cause to the RAN network element." Or para [0455]: "Step 8: The RAN network element sends the paging cause to the UE." Moreover; paras [0442] to [0445] and thereinafter, paging cause value/function supported by the terminal and/or a network is discussed); or
receiving a third indication message (FIG. 6; Indication of refusal to accept paging) sent by the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE), wherein the third indication message (FIG. 6; Indication of refusal to accept paging) is used for indicating that the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) no longer supports the paging cause indication (para [0457]: "Step 9: The UE sends an indication indicating refusal to accept paging to the CN network element." Or paras [0469] to [0476], indication of refusal to accept the first operation includes "... sending an indication indicating refusal to accept paging ... ". Also Note: the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations).
Regarding claim 16, in addition to features recited in base claim 14 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches determining that the core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element) supports the paging cause indication; or determining that both the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) and the core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element) support the paging cause indication (FIG. 6; Step 4 and para [0451]: “Step 4: The CN network element sends first indication information to the UE.” Moreover; para [0443]: "that the first indication information indicates that a paging cause function is supported." Or para [0474]: "the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of: indication information related to a paging cause, indication information related to an indication indicating refusal to accept paging, indication information related to avoidance of a paging collision, indication information related to a first leaving mode, or indication information related to a multi-card enhancement function.").
Regarding claim 17, in addition to features recited in base claim 14 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches wherein sending the second indication message (FIG. 6; Paging cause) to the access network device (FIG.6; RAN network element) comprises: sending the second indication message to each access network device connected to the core network device; sending the second indication message to each access network device within a range of tracking area (TA) or registration area (RA) where the terminal device is located; or sending the second indication message (FIG. 6; Paging cause) to an access network device (FIG.6; RAN network element) accessed by the terminal device (FIG.6; UE) (para [0454]: "Step 7: The CN network element sends a paging cause to the RAN network element." Or para [0455]: "Step 8: The RAN network element sends the paging cause to the UE." Moreover; paras [0442] to [0445] and thereinafter, paging cause value/function supported by the terminal and/or a network is discussed. Also Note: the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations).
Regarding claim 22, in accordance with Ke reference entirety, Ke teaches a method for realizing a paging cause indication (FIG. 6 and para [0046] and thereinafter: “determination of a paging occasion avoidance mode, and determination of a paging cause sending mode are supported … .”), performed by an access network device (FIG. 6; RAN network element), comprising:
receiving target indication information (FIG. 6; Terminal radio capability request) sent by a core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element), wherein the target indication information (FIG. 6; Terminal radio capability request) is used for indicating whether a terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) supports the paging cause indication (paging cause/paging cause function) (para [0449]: "Step 2: The CN network element sends a terminal radio capability request to a RAN network element." And para [0450]: "Step 3: The RAN network element sends a terminal radio capability response to the CN network element"); and
sending a paging cause (FIG. 6; Paging cause) to the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) in response to the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) being paged and the target indication information (FIG. 6; Terminal radio capability request) indicating that the terminal device supports the paging cause indication (paging cause/paging cause function) (FIG. 6; Step 7 and para [0454]: "Step 7: The CN network element sends a paging cause to the RAN network element.” Moreover; para [0454]: "Step 7: The CN network element sends a paging cause to the RAN network element." Or para [0455]: "Step 8: The RAN network element sends the paging cause to the UE." Moreover; paras [0442] to [0445] and thereinafter, paging cause value/function supported by the terminal and/or a network is discussed.).
Regarding claim 23, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches wherein sending the paging cause to the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) comprises: determining a radio resource control (RRC) status (RRC signaling/inactive state/idle state) of the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE), and sending the paging cause (FIG. 6; paging cause) to the terminal device (FIG. 6; UE) based on the RRC status (para [0084]: "The paging cause value includes at least one of: a voice, signaling (including non-access stratum (NAS) information and/or radio resource control (RRC) signaling), or an SMS message. The paging cause value may further include a first value." In addition, para [0085]: "The first value may represent a cause triggering the message for paging a terminal other than the paging cause value. For example, when the supported paging cause value is a voice, the first value represents a cause other than the voice. For example, when the supported paging cause value is a voice and data, the first value represents a cause other than the voice and the data." Furthermore; status of the terminal in an inactive state or idle state is also discussed in paras [0199] to [0200] and thereinafter).
Regarding claim 24, in addition to features recited in base claim 23 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches wherein sending the paging cause to the terminal device based on the RRC status comprises: sending the paging cause in a radio access network (RAN) paging message in response to the RRC status being a RRC inactive status; or sending the paging cause in a paging message in response to the RRC status being a RRC idle status (status of the terminal in an inactive state or idle state is also discussed in paras [0199] to [0200] and thereinafter. Also Note: the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations).
Regarding claim 25, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Ke also teaches at least one of: storing the target indication information in a context of the terminal device; and querying the target indication information from the context in response to the terminal device being paged; or receiving a second indication message (FIG. 6; first indication information) sent by the core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element), wherein the second indication message (FIG. 6; first indication information) is used for indicating whether the core network device (FIG. 6; CN network element) supports the paging cause indication (paras [0109] to [0112]: “… the first indication information … is/are obtained from the CN network element … The first indication information is used to indicate at least one of: indication information related to a paging cause, indication information related to an indication indicating refusal to accept paging … .” Also Note: the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations).
As per claim 30, the claim appears to call for a communication device having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations of method claim 1. Thus, it is anticipated by Ke for the same rationales applied to method claim 1 as above discussed.
As per claim 31, the claim appears to call for a communication device having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations of method claim 13. Thus, it is anticipated by Ke for the same rationales applied to method claim 1as above discussed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, appears to fail to fairly show or suggest a claimed invention of base claims 1 and 13 and further limits with novel and unobvious limitations of “determining, based on a network type of a network accessed by the terminal device, a target procedure for sending an indication message to the core network device; and reporting the indication message to the core network device based on the target procedure, wherein the indication message is the first indication message or the third indication message,” as recited in claims 7-9; “wherein sending the target indication information to the access network device comprises: sending a context configuration-related request of the terminal device to the access network device through an X2 interface or a NG interface, wherein the context configuration-related request carries the target indication information,” as recited in claim 19; and “wherein sending the second indication message to the access network device comprises: determining, based on a network type of a network accessed by the terminal device, a target interface for sending the second indication message, and sending the second indication message to the access network device through the target interface,” as recited in claim s19-20, structurally and functionally interconnected in a manner as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gurumoorthy et al. (US 2022/0361132).
Kumar et al. (US 2022/0346060).
Kumar et al. (US 2022/0330202).
Bao et al. (US 2024/0031981).
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 January 22, 2026