DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: manipulator in claims 1-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon (US 2020/0248356).
As for claim 1, Kwon shows a laundry treating apparatus comprising: a cabinet [0005]; a drum rotatably disposed in the cabinet and configured to accommodate the laundry therein [0005]; a manipulator disposed on the cabinet and manipulated by a user to generate a manipulation signal (160c, fig. 4); and a screen outputter disposed on the cabinet and configured to output a screen for providing information to the user, wherein the screen outputter is configured to output the screen where one of a plurality of objects is selected based on the manipulation signal (fig. 4), wherein the manipulator includes a multi-function button activated only for some of the plurality of objects on the screen (42, fig. 6b, screen only activated after selecting 160c, fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 2 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose the multi-function button is activated only for some items in the reservation time list with all of the limitations of independent claim 1. The closest prior art is found in Kwon which includes all the features of claims 1 and 2 except for the multi-function button is activated only for some items in the reservation time list. Examiner notes that a reservation time list of options for a laundry appliance is not a common feature in the prior art. Where a reservation time is provided for a directional button is generally provided to increase the reservation time linearly by increasing the reservation time value using the provided button. However, claim 2 requires a multi-function button that is activated for only some of the items of the reservation time list. Kwon does not provide this feature and prior art could not be found to teach the concept to make up for the limitations of Kwon. Claims 3-16 are objected to as depending from allowable claim 2.
Claim 17 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a screen circumferential portion wherein the multi-function button is disposed in the screen circumferential portion with all of the limitations of independent claim 1. The closest prior art is found in KR1020160062917 (applicant provided) which includes a screen circumferential portion (fig. 2) and a multi-function button disposed external to the circumferential portion (560, fig. 2). However, the reference does not teach a multi-function button disposed in the circumferential portion or a multi-function button that is activated only for some of the plurality of objects on the screen as required by independent claim 1. Examiner notes that virtually all display screens for laundry appliances are rectangular such that the number with circumferential screen portions is limited and prior art could not be found to teach the multi-function button that is activated only for some of the plurality of objects in a circumferential portion of a screen as required by claim 17. Claim 18 is objected to as depending from objected claim 17.
Conclusion
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762