DETAILED ACTION
This Action is FINAL and is in response to the claims filed August 23, 2026. Claims 1-12 and 14 are currently pending, of which claims 2-4, 6, 7, and 9-11 are currently amended. Claims 13 and 15 were previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Applicant has amended the claims at issue and the previous objections have therefore been withdrawn.
Issues Under 35 USC 112
Applicant has amended numerous claims at issue and previous rejections to the claims have been withdrawn. Regarding the interpretation under 35 USC 112(f), Applicant argues that the modules do not invoke 112(f). See Remarks 15. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims use a generic placeholder of module (prong A), the generic placeholder is modified by functional language of “to ____” (prong B), and the modules is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts (prong C). See MPEP 2181(I.). Furthermore, the court in Williamson v. Citrix found that "the word 'module' does not provide any indication of structure because it sets forth the same black box recitation of structure for providing the same specified function as if the term ‘means’ had been used." See MPEP 2181(I.)(A.).
Applicant then argues that the specification is clear from the disclosure and that the memory and processor of the disclosure is sufficient to withdraw the rejections under §112(b) in view of the 112(f) interpretations. See Remarks 16. Examiner again respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s citations and disclosure uses terms like “can” or “may”, and the modules, while part of the system as a whole, are not clear if they’re software or hardware or a combination of both, hence the rejection. These modules are black boxes slapped somewhere as part of a device.
Applicant does not have the processor nor the memory claimed in a way to explicitly place the modules thereupon. Moreover, should these amendments be made, there must be sufficient proof of an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function, or else the claims would still be indefinite. See MPEP 2181(II.)(B.).
Rejections Under 35 USC 101
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §101, Applicant argues that the neural network algorithm and databases cannot be replicated in the human mind. Examiner notes that the majority of the claim language is directed to an abstract idea, and additional elements are treated at Step 2A, Prong 2. See Remarks 4. Training a neural network at this high of a level is at best an “apply it” scenario and does not integrate the claims into a practical application. Throwing any data into a high level model does not automatically make the claims eligible under §101. Moreover, any improvement also seems to be made to the abstract idea itself, which does not make a claim eligible. A user/operator could be designing a factory or manufacturing task to solve a problem using their mind with the assistance of pen and paper. There could be a design (or engineering) firm that specializes in certain types of production, with specific employees in those firms that have specific expertise. Nothing in the claims require an integrated technological environment and moving this abstract idea into a black box “neural network” does not cure the issue.
Regarding the neural network, as discussed above, adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate the claims into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the identified judicial exception(s). See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h).
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previously cited art have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant first argues that Matsuo’s fault diagnosis system is a separate domain from the factory production scheme recommendation of the claimed invention. See Remarks 19. Examiner notes that Matsuo suggests solutions to fault diagnoses. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim does not preclude such an interpretation and Applicant should further clarify schemes, their structures, and the situations upon which those schemes are recommended to avoid such a broad, yet reasonable interpretation. See Matsuo paras. [0069-70].
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the scope of the production schemes) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues that Matsuo uses machine tools and not workers as claimed. See Remarks 19. Examiner again respectfully disagrees with both the characterization of the claim language as well as the cited reference. Firstly, the claim lists three options – (1) a candidate and job recommendation request for a production task, (2) a technical scheme request for a type of work and specific requirement, or (3) a technical expert and solution request (emphasis added). A human is not required in each of these. Specifically, Matsuo teaches responders to respond to requests as well as fault diagnosis and solution requests from responders, Secondly, even if a human were required, Matsuo is explicit that the responder is an operator of the service center who can respond to the problem. See Matsuo para. [0108].
Furthermore, Applicant argues that the context of the claim is not taught by Kulkarni, since Kulkarni is a general-purpose enterprise search and recommendation system. See Remarks 20. Herein, Matsuo has been cited to teach the majority of the claim language under 35 U.S.C. §103. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As discussed above, Matsuo clearly teaches the broad scheme recommendation environment and Kulkarni has been introduced for the feature extraction and neural network language of the claims. Matsuo teaches an extensive knowledge system that is enhances by the neural network features of Kulkarni.
This segues into Applicant’s final argument. Applicant argues against the motivation to combine is impermissible hindsight and that “the mere fact that two references involve search databases is not a motivation to combine them”. See Remarks 20. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). By providing a knowledge database that can be queried in Matsuo, this is certainly combinable with search retrieval enhancements of Kulkarni. Increasing the accuracy and relevancy of search results of the knowledge database of Matsuo would certainly be a valid motivation to combine the references. See Matsuo paras. [0113-114]; see also Kulkarni para. [0018].
The overarching theme here is the vast breadth that can be applied to Applicant’s claim language. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the context is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02. Moreover, so much of Applicant’s claim language is incredibly broad and subject to a broad, yet reasonable, interpretation. Examiner encourages far more structure of features that can explicitly ground the claimed invention in a field that Applicant desires.
It is for at least these reasons and the reasons cited below that the claims remain rejected in this Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea(s) without significantly more.
As per claim 1, at Step 1 the claim is directed to a statutory category (method/process). At Step 2A, Prong 1, the abstract ideas are identified in the reproduced claim language below:
A method for scheme recommendation, the method comprising:
obtaining a technical request for a factory production, wherein the technical request comprises a candidate and job recommendation request for a production task, a technical scheme request for a type of work and specific requirement, or a technical expert and solution request for a technical problem (mental process – evaluation and judgment; method of organizing human activity – economic practice and commercial interactions);
performing analysis and feature extraction on the technical request and obtaining corresponding current request description information (mental process – evaluation and judgment; method of organizing human activity – economic practice and commercial interactions);
according to the current request description information, adopting a neural network algorithm for deep learning by using historical searching cases in a case database to obtain at least one searching algorithm from multiple searching algorithms based on case-based reasoning (mental process – evaluation and judgment; mathematical concepts and relationships); and
obtaining corresponding recommendation scheme after an information database established with industrial technology information, technical characteristics information of workers, and technical expertise information of engineering experts is searched by the at least one searching algorithm (mental process – evaluation and judgment; method of organizing human activity – economic practice and commercial interactions).
That is, a user/operator could be designing a factory or manufacturing task to solve a problem using their mind with the assistance of pen and paper. There could be a design (or engineering) firm that specializes in certain types of production, with specific employees in those firms that have specific expertise.
At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. Specifically, the databases are recited at a high level of generality and are merely adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
At Step 2B, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
As per claim 2, the claim is directed to the mental process of searching and recommending (evaluation and judgment). At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. At Step 2B, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
As per claim 3, the claim is directed to the mental process of searching and recommending with the assistance of pen and paper (evaluation and judgment). At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. Specifically, the storage and case database are generic computer components that amount to a mere “apply it” scenario. See MPEP 2106.05(f). At Step 2B, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
As per claim 4, the claim is directed to the mental process of searching, scoring, and recommending with the assistance of pen and paper (evaluation and judgment). At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. Specifically, the storage and case database are generic computer components that amount to a mere “apply it” scenario. See MPEP 2106.05(f). At Step 2B, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
As per claim 5, the claim is directed to the process of searching and the various ways to do it with general algorithms (mental process – evaluation and judgment; mathematical relationships and formulas). At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. At Step 2B, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
As per claim 6, the claim is directed to the mental process of recommending ideas with the assistance of pen and paper (evaluation and judgment). At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. Specifically, the storage and results database are generic computer components that amount to a mere “apply it” scenario. See MPEP 2106.05(f). At Step 2B, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
As per claim 7, the claim is directed to the mental process of searching, scoring, and recommending with the assistance of pen and paper (evaluation and judgment). At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. Specifically, the storage and case database are generic computer components that amount to a mere “apply it” scenario. See MPEP 2106.05(f). At Step 2B, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
As per claims 8-11 and 12, the claims are directed to a device that implements the same features as the method of claims 1-4 and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein. At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claims do not recite any further additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. At Step 2B, there are no further additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
As per claim 14, the claim is directed to a system that implements the same features as the method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein. At Steps 2 Prong 2, the claim does not recite any further additional elements that integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application. At Step 2B, there are no further additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s).
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “data obtaining module”, “analysis module”, “algorithm matching module”, “scheme recommendation module”, “scheme integration module”, “case determination module”, and “offline recommendation module” in claims 8-12 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “data obtaining module”, “analysis module”, “algorithm matching module”, “scheme recommendation module”, “scheme integration module”, “case determination module”, and “offline recommendation module” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. More specifically, it is unclear if these modules are hardware, software and/or a combination of both. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined and claims 8-12 and 14 are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Interpretation – Contingent Language
Claims 2-4 and 7 is/are directed to a method that recites various contingent language that affects the interpretation of the method claims.
Claim 2 recites “when the at least one searching algorithm is two or more searching algorithms” and the conditional nature of this claim language allow for an interpretation where any prior art meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim without having the conditional language even occurring. Therefore, the prior art only needs to read on the preamble of the claim.
Claim 3 recites two separate “when” statements, and the conditional nature of this claim language allow for an interpretation where any prior art meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim with only one of the “when” limitations occurring.
Claim 4 recites “after obtaining a corresponding result score”, and the conditional nature of this claim language allow for an interpretation where any prior art meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim without having the conditional language even occurring. Specifically, if no result score is obtained, then this language will not have to occur.
Claim 7 recites two separate technical request forms, and the conditional nature of this claim language allow for an interpretation where any prior art meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim with only one of the forms of information limitations occurring.
See MPEP 2111.04(II); see also Ex parte Schulhauser. Examiner notes that even though the broadest reasonable interpretation of the method of claim(s) 2-4 requires some or none of these conditions to occur, the prior art cited below reads on the structure for performing all of the functionality in the non-method claims, and thus, in an effort to advance compact prosecution, reads on all of the method claim(s) as well.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 12, and 14 i is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0010986, retrieved from IDS filed March 21, 2025; hereinafter “Matsuo”) and further in view of Kulkarni (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0073953).
As per claim 1, Matsuo teaches a method for scheme recommendation, the method comprising:
obtaining a technical request for a factory production, wherein the technical request comprises a candidate and job recommendation request for a production task, a technical scheme request for a type of work and specific requirement, or a technical expert and solution request for a technical problem (See Matsuo paras. [0069-70] and [0103]: fault diagnosis request of factory machinery);
performing analysis [and feature extraction] on the technical request and obtaining corresponding current request description information (See Matsuo paras. [0099-102] and [0106]: “The knowledge system 408 automatically analyzes the machine status according to free text inputted by the user. This includes the matching required items to achieve specified objective for the particular machine);
according to the current request description information, [adopting a neural network algorithm for deep learning] by using historical searching cases in a case database to obtain at least one searching algorithm from multiple searching algorithms based on case-based reasoning (See Matsuo paras. [0077-81], [0114-117], and [0143-144]: obtaining information of fault history (and maintenance history) to be used. Furthermore, “it is possible to reinforce the knowledge system of fault diagnosis and easily improve responses of the responder”); and
obtaining corresponding recommendation scheme after an information database established with industrial technology information, technical characteristics information of workers, and technical expertise information of engineering experts is searched by the at least one searching algorithm (See Matsuo Fig. 12 and paras. [0112-117]: maintenance history with searched items about technical characteristics of the machine tool at issue).
However, while Matsuo teaches reinforcing the knowledge system (See Matsuo para. [0144]), Matsuo does not explicitly teach a neural network algorithm. Moreover, while Matsuo teaches text analysis, Matsuo does not teach feature extraction.
Kulkarni teaches feature extraction, as well as adopting a neural network algorithm for deep learning (See Kulkarni paras. [0054] and [0107-111]: machine learning models can be applied to search results and matching the search query; paras. [0051-52], [0080], [0101-102]: feature extraction from a variety of data sources, including to be used in clustering).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the searching and knowledge system of Matsuo with the neural network of Kulkarni. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose search result databases, and Kulkarni enhances the system of Matsuo by improving the search relevance in subsequent searches while also increasing their accuracy (See Kulkarni para. [0018]).
As per claim 2, Matsuo/Kulkarni teaches the method according to claim 1, However, while Matsuo teaches a searching algorithm(s) and search results, Matsuo does not score and weigh the search results.
Kulkarni teaches when the at least one searching algorithm includes two or more searching algorithms, sorting and integrating searched items in the recommendation scheme obtained by the at least one searching algorithm according to the coincidence rate and weight of each searched item in each recommendation scheme, and obtaining the integrated recommendation scheme (See Kulkarni paras. [0052-58]: weights of features associated with relevance score of search results. This is then used for improving result ranking as well as how the results are sorted and presented to a user).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Matsuo with the teachings of Kulkarni for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 5, Matsuo/Kulkarni teaches the method according to claim 1. However, Matsuo does not explicitly teach or suggest the specific types of searching algorithms.
Kulkarni teaches wherein the multiple searching algorithms each comprise: at least one or more of self-organizing maps algorithm, singular value decomposition algorithm, K-means clustering algorithm, and a prior algorithm for mining association rules (See Kulkarni paras. [0064-65]: clustering modules, including k-means clustering).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Matsuo with the teachings of Kulkarni for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 6, Matsuo/Kulkarni further teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: storing the technical request, the current request description information and corresponding recommendation scheme as a recommendation case in a result database, so as to obtain the corresponding recommendation scheme, in offline mode, by searching the result database according to a technical request or a request description information (See Matsuo paras. [0070], [0102], and [0113]: know-how database where the case details can be used to recommend a result).
As per claim 7, Matsuo/Kulkarni teaches the method according to claim 1. However, while Matsuo teaches reinforcement learning, Matsuo does not teach semantic analysis or feature extraction.
Kulkarni teaches wherein the performing analysis and feature extraction on the technical request comprises:
for a technical request in the form of structured information or structured information in a technical request, using a semantic analysis module to perform analysis and feature extraction on the structural information based on pre-determined analytical rules (See Kulkarni paras. [0067-69]: semantic tagging used to classify/cluster queries; para. [0042]: “Each entity has a well-defined schema describing its fields”); and
for a technical request in the form of unstructured information or unstructured information in a technical request, adopting an information analysis model to perform analysis and feature extraction on the unstructured information (See Kulkarni paras. [0051-52], [0080], [0101-102]: feature extraction from a variety of data sources, including to be used in clustering),
wherein the information analysis model is trained by taking a number of historical unstructured information as input samples and corresponding historical request description information as output samples (See Kulkarni paras. [0107] and [0110-111]: training dataset, including the use of historical data).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Matsuo with the teachings of Kulkarni for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claims 8, 9, and 12, the claims are directed to a device that implements the same features as the method of claims 1, 2, and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Furthermore, Matsuo teaches a device for scheme recommendation implementing said method (See Matsuo para. [0003]).
As per claim 14, the claim is directed to a system that implements the same features as the method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Furthermore, Matsuo teaches a system for scheme recommendation implementing said method (See Matsuo para. [0003]).
Claims 3, 4, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo/Kulkarni as applied above, and further in view of Hall et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0148321; hereinafter “Hall”).
As per claim 3, Matsuo/Kulkarni teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising: storing the current request description information and at least one preferred searching algorithm as a searching case in the case database (See Matsuo paras. [0070] and [0113]: failure know-how database).
However, while Matsuo teaches the searching algorithm, Matsuo doesn’t explicitly teach a preferred searching algorithm.
Kulkarni teaches when the at least one searching algorithm is one searching algorithm, determining the one searching algorithm as a preferred searching algorithm (See Kulkarni paras. [0057] and [0123]: different models and selecting best user cluster).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Matsuo with the teachings of Kulkarni for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 1.
Furthermore, while Matsuo/Kulkarni perform individual models as well as the searching/retrieval algorithms themselves, and Kulkarni has two level models to choose from (See Kulkarni paras. [0076-78]), neither Matsuo or Kulkarni teach similarity matching between the schemes to select the models.
Hall teaches when the at least one searching algorithm includes the two or more searching algorithms, performing a similarity matching between the integrated recommendation scheme and recommendation scheme obtained by each of the at least one searching algorithm, and at least one searching algorithm with a highest matching degree or at least one searching algorithm with a matching degree reaching a set threshold is regarded as the preferred searching algorithm (See Hall paras. [0202-203]: “the performance of each model at each training epoch is assessed on their shared validation set, using a primary metric, and we then select two or more (or all) of the trained AI models for inclusion in the ensemble model based on the stored best primary metrics”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the knowledge system and searching models of Matsuo/Kulkarni with the combined model selection of Hall. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose search result databases, and Hall enhances the learning models of Matsuo/Kulkarni because “Selecting a model based on a confidence metric may indeed lead to improved performance in not only that metric, but also other metrics…such as Accuracy” (See Hall para. [0084]).
As per claim 4, Matsuo/Kulkarni/Hall teaches the method according to claim 3. However, while Matsuo stores the information and search results, Matsuo does not score and store the scores of the search results.
Kulkarni teaches before the storing the current request description information and the at least one preferred searching algorithm as the searching cases in the case database, providing the recommendation scheme obtained by each of the at least one preferred searching algorithm to a user for result scoring; and after obtaining a corresponding result score, storing the current request description information and each of the at least one preferred searching algorithm and a result score thereof in the case database as a searching case (See Kulkarni paras. [0053] and [0061-63]: scores based on user activity that are used to determine relevance of search results for ranking them. Subsequently, the search log module stores information regarding the search results and the user’s interaction(s) therewith; paras. [0071-78]: ranking models used).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Matsuo with the teachings of Kulkarni for at least the same reasons as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claims 10 and 11, the claims are directed to a device that implements the same features as the method of claims 3 and 4, respectively, and are therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS KLICOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118