DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 32-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Wong et al (US 2020/0053545) [R1] or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over R1 in view of 3rd Generation Partnership Project: Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS)l Stage 2(Release 17) (cited on IDS) [R2].
For claim 1, R1 discloses selecting, by a user equipment, a first network, wherein the by a user equipment is-configured with a capability to be able to simultaneously register, using one credential, with more than one network using a same access type (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A registered to PLMN1 and PLMN2 e.g. HPLMN and SPLMN with dual registration mode); transmitting, to an access management node function of the first network, a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for the registration to the first network (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A registration request); and receiving, from the access management node function of the first network, a registration accept message (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A Reg Accept). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for the registration to the first network (Section 4.2.2.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to include a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for the registration to the first network taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a known standard increasing marketability and interoperability.
For claim 2, R2 discloses an indication of the capability of the user equipment's capability to register with more than one network using the same access type (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 3, R2 discloses a confirmation of the registration to the first network, the confirmation comprising with a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI) for the registration and the first registration identifier (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 4, R2 discloses an indication that the access management node function of the first network supports simultaneous registration with more than one network using the same access type (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 5, R2 discloses performing session establishment with the first network using the first registration identifier (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 6, R2 discloses when the registration accept message received from the access management node function of the first network does not include the first registration identifier, the method comprises further comprising: stopping considering another registration with other networks, or releasing the registration with the first network and selecting another network (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1 optional contingent limitations that are not required to be disclosed since this is a method claim).
For claim 7, R2 discloses selecting, by the user equipment, a second network; transmitting, to an access management node function of the second network, a second registration request message comprising a second registration identifier for the registration to the second network; and receiving, from the access management node function of the second network, a second registration accept message (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 8, R2 discloses the second registration request message further comprises an indication of the capability of the user equipment equipment's capability to register with more than one network using the same access type (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 9, R2 discloses the second registration accept message comprises a confirmation of the registration to the second network with that includes a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI) for the registration to the second network and the second registration identifier (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 10, R2 discloses the second registration accept message further comprises an indication that the access management node function of the second network supports simultaneous registration with more than one network using the same access type (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 11, R2 discloses performing second session establishment with the second network using the second registration identifier (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 12, R2 discloses when the second registration accept message received from the access management node function of the second network does not include the second registration identifier, the method comprises further comprising: releasing the registration with the second network and selecting another network, or releasing the registration with the first network and stopping considering registration with other networks (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1additionally, this is a method claim therefore this optional contingent limitation is not required to disclose the claimed invention).
For claim 32, R1 discloses at least one processor (paragraphs 35-38, 77); and at least one memory including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (paragraphs 35-38, 77), cause the user equipment (paragraphs 35-38, 77) configured with a capability to simultaneously register, using one credential, with more than one network using a same access type at least to perform (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A): selecting a first network; transmitting, to an access management function of the first network, a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for registration to the first network (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A); and receiving, from the access management function of the first network, a registration accept message (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A Reg Accept). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for the registration to the first network (Section 4.2.2.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to include a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for the registration to the first network taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a known standard increasing marketability and interoperability.
For claim 33, R2 discloses the registration request message further comprises an indication of the capability of the user equipment (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 34, R2 discloses the registration accept message comprises a confirmation of the registration to the first network, the confirmation comprising a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI) for the registration and the first registration identifier (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 35, R2 discloses the registration accept message further comprises an indication that the access management function of the first network supports simultaneous registration with more than one network using the same access type (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 36, R2 discloses session establishment with the first network using the first registration identifier (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 37, R2 discloses when the registration accept message does not include the first registration identifier, stopping considering another registration with other networks, or releasing the registration with the first network and selecting another network (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 38, R2 discloses selecting, by the user equipment, a second network (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).; transmitting, to an access management function of the second network, a second registration request message comprising a second registration identifier for registration to the second network and an indication of the capability of the user equipment (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).; and receiving, from the access management function of the second network, a second registration accept message (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 39, R2 discloses second session establishment with the second network using the second registration identifier (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).For claim 40, R2 discloses when the second registration accept message received from the access management function of the second network does not include the second registration identifier, releasing the registration with the second network and selecting another network, or releasing the registration with the first network and stopping considering registration with other networks (Sections 4.2.2.2, 4.11.2.2-4.11.2.3, Fig 4.2.2.2.2.1).
For claim 41, R1 discloses a CRM (paragraphs 35-38, 77) a user equipment configured with a capability to simultaneously register, using one credential, with more than one network using a same access type, cause the user equipment at least to perform (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A): selecting a first network (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A); transmitting, to an access management function of the first network, a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for registration to the first network (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A); and receiving, from the access management function of the first network, a registration accept message (paragraphs 129-143 Fig. 6A). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for the registration to the first network (Section 4.2.2.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to include a registration request message comprising a first registration identifier for the registration to the first network taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a known standard increasing marketability and interoperability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Buckley et al (US 2019/0268752) discloses authentication credentials.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463