Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on September 17th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 75-93 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on May 11th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 83-89 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on June 30th, 2025.
The rejection of claims 75-76, 78-81, and 90-93 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mussmann (US 20150017707 A1) is maintained.
The rejection of claim 77 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mussmann (US 20150017707 A1) and Scialla (US 20190010425 A1) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 75-76, 78-82, and 90-93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mussmann (US 20150017707 A1).
With regard to claim 75, Mussman discloses a liquid dishwashing detergent (see Abstract). Mussmann further discloses the liquid detergent comprising protease (see [0007]) and further teaches protease at 0.01-1wt% (see [0150]). Mussmann further teaches one or a plurality of surfactants (see [0199]), amine oxide as a suitable nonionic surfactant (see [0205]), and nonionic surfactants at 0.5-15wt% (see [0256]). Mussmann further discloses lipase at 0.0001-1wt% (see [0281]). Lastly, Mussmann discloses 3-3.5wt% of protease and 1.2wt% of amylase in the enzyme phase (see [0292]-[0299]). This totals a maximum of 5.7wt% of proteins in the additive phase. Mussman further discloses a liquid detergent composition comprising protease and amylase displays improved storage stability (see Abstract). Mussman further discloses synergism is especially present between protease and an amylase and/or a lipase and/or a mannanase and/or a cellulase and/or a pectin-cleaving enzyme (see [0281]).
However, Mussmann fails to disclose a single embodiment showing all of the limitations of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to produce a liquid dishwashing detergent comprising protease, anionic surfactants, and lipase for the purpose of producing a liquid dishwashing detergent with increased storage stability as Mussman discloses such detergents, comprising the disclosed weight percentage of enzymes, is advantageously storage-stable (see [0008]).
With regard to claim 76, Mussman discloses protease at 0.01-1wt% (see [0150]).
With regard to claims 78-80 and claim 90, Mussman discloses the dishwashing detergent is preferably dosed into the interior of a machine dishwasher during the running of a dishwashing program, prior to commencement of the main wash cycle or in the course of the main wash cycle (see [0286]).
With regard to claim 81, Mussman discloses one or a plurality of surfactants (see [0199]), amine oxide as a suitable nonionic surfactant (see [0205]), and nonionic surfactants at 0.5-15wt% (see [0256]).
With regard to claim 82, Mussman discloses the composition may further comprise mannanase (see Claim 8).
With regard to claim 91, Mussman discloses the composition may further comprise cellulase (see Claim 8).
With regard to claim 92, Mussman discloses dilution with water (see [0179]). This would result in water being the carrier of the overall diluted composition. Mussman further discloses water to 100wt% (see [0146]).
With regard to claim 93, Mussman discloses dye, perfume, and preservative at 0.25-0.5wt% (see [0146]).
Claim 77 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mussmann (US 20150017707 A1), as applied to claims 75-76, 78-81, and 90-93 above, and further in view of Scialla (US 20190010425 A1).
With regard to claim 77, Mussman discloses all of the limitations of claim 75.
However, Mussman fails to disclose a water hardness increasing compound.
Scialla discloses dishwashing compositions, an analogous art (see [0021]). Scialla further discloses the composition may comprise amine oxide surfactants (see [0108]) and enzymes (see [0112]-[0113]). Scialla further discloses the enzymes may be proteases, lipases, cellulases, and amylases (see [0012]-[0013]). Scialla further discloses the composition may comprise an enzyme stabilizing system at 0.001-10wt% (see [0114]-[0115]). Scialla further teaches the enzyme stabilizing system may be calcium formate (see [0115]). The instant specifications disclose any salt of calcium as a suitable water hardness increasing compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the calcium formate of Scialla in the composition of Mussman for the purpose of stabilizing enzymes, as disclosed by Scialla.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 17th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant discloses the lipases suffer from compatibility and/or interference problems with many surfactants used in detergent formulations. Applicant further discloses that many surfactants have a (strong) suppressing effect on the catalytic activity of lipase enzymes on the hydrolysis of lipids. Applicant further discloses that protease enzymes and lipase enzymes cannot usually be combined in a single liquid composition because the protease enzymes may digest the lipase enzymes on storage. Applicant further discloses that the combination of lipase enzymes with protease enzymes, and/or with many surfactants, in an aqueous environment leads to the formation of a deposit, in particular when used in a concentrate that is intended for being added to the washing liquor.
These problems encountered by the Applicant are acknowledged.
Applicant further discloses that the present invention solves the above problems.
However, the prior art need not have the same motivation as disclosed by the Applicant.
Applicant further discloses that the observed effect was only observed in compositions in which amine oxide was the sole intentionally added surfactant. Table 1 and Table 2 disclose at least 3.200wt% of amine oxide. Claim 75 discloses “at least 1wt%” of “at least one amine oxide”. The amount of amine oxide disclosed in Table 1 and Table 2 is not commensurate in scope with the amount disclosed in claim 75. Applicant is directed toward In re Clemens, which affirmed that “whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range”. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). Applicant is further directed toward MPEP 716.02(d).
Applicant argues that the combination of at least one protease and at least 0.2 wt% of at least one lipase, further combined with at least 1 wt% of at least one amine oxide as the sole intentionally added surfactant results in the observed technical effects associated with the disclosed invention.
This is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. See MPEP 716.02(d). Claim 75 states “at least one protease enzyme concentrate in liquid form”. However, claim 75 does not disclose a concentration of the protease enzyme concentrate. Further, while the amount of lipase concentrate disclosed in Table 1 is greater than 0.2 wt%, the average concentration is approximately 42.3 wt%. This is far greater than the 0.2 wt% disclosed in the instant claims. Along with this, the average concentration of protease concentrate is approximately 43.67 wt%. Further, other components were found in the enzyme concentrates, such as sorbitol and propylene glycol. Applicant has not presented sufficient evidence to state that these other additives had no effect on the disclosed results. Further, only one amine oxide was added. The instant claims disclose “at least one amine oxide”. Applicant has not established that the inclusion of additional amine oxides would yield similar results.
Applicant further argues that the examples of Mussmann comprise a C8-C10 fatty alcohol ethoxylate surfactant with 22 EO units. The entire reference must be considered. As stated above, Mussmann further teaches one or a plurality of surfactants (see [0199]), amine oxide as a suitable nonionic surfactant (see [0205]), and nonionic surfactants at 0.5-15wt% (see [0256]).
Applicant further argues that Mussmann only discloses amine oxides in paragraph [0205]. Mussmann discloses N-cocoalkyl-N,N-dimethylamine oxide and N-tallowalkyl-N,N-dihydroxyethylamine oxide as suitable amine oxide surfactants. Further, the invention discloses only the additive and not the detergent as a whole. There may be other surfactants in the overall detergent composition outside of the claimed additive composition.
Applicant further argues that lipases are only generally mentioned. Mussmann discloses synergism is present between the protease present in accordance with the invention and a further enzyme in an inventive composition, especially between the protease present in accordance with the invention and an amylase and/or a lipase and/or a mannanase and/or a cellulase and/or a pectin-cleaving enzyme (see [0281]). This accounts for five possible combinations between protease and an additional enzyme in the composition. Selecting one combination from such a list would be considered routine experimentation and, thus, obvious to try.
As all ingredients are mixed together, there is no difference between the surfactants contained in the enzyme-containing additive and the wider detergent composition.
Applicant further argues that the disclosed composition is concerned with both the storage stability of lipase enzymes in presence of protease enzymes and maintaining good lipase enzyme activity in the presence of surfactants. As stated above, Mussman discloses a liquid dishwashing detergent comprising protease, anionic surfactants, and lipase for the purpose of producing a liquid dishwashing detergent with increased storage stability and further discloses that such detergents, comprising the disclosed weight percentage of enzymes, is advantageously storage-stable (see [0008]).
Applicant further argues unexpected results with regard to the improved lipase enzyme activity and stability. However, as stated above, the results shown in the instant specifications are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
Applicant further argues that Mussmann is not concerned with lipase enzyme activity. However, the prior art need not disclose the same reasoning as the instant specification. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. MPEP 2144 IV.
Applicant further argues that Mussmann fails to provide motivation to select amine oxides as a nonionic surfactant. As stated above, Mussmann discloses N-cocoalkyl-N,N-dimethylamine oxide and N-tallowalkyl-N,N-dihydroxyethylamine oxide as suitable amine oxide surfactants. Further, Mussmann discloses a combination of amine oxides and fatty acid alkanolamides (see [0205]).
Applicant further argues that only amine oxides provide the disclosed benefit. However, as stated above, there is no difference between the surfactants contained in the enzyme-containing additive and the wider detergent composition. The instant claims only refer to the enzyme-containing additive. Therefore, other surfactants may be present in the overall detergent composition.
Applicant further argues that lipase is only selected as a further enzyme. Mussmann discloses a combination of lipase and protease. This is identical to the combination disclosed in the instant claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.S.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761