DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13, 15-18, 21-25, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2021/0111851)[R1].
For claim 1, R1 discloses at least one processor (paragraphs 80-89 Fig 7); and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to (paragraphs 80-89 Fig 7): receive, via medium access control (MAC) signaling, an indication to activate one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for the UE (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the reference signal or the transmission of the measurement report is triggered based at least in part on an association of a TCI state, from the at least one TCI state, with the reference signal or the measurement report (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7); receive the reference signal based at least in part on receiving the indication to activate the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7); and transmit the measurement report based at least in part on the indication triggering the transmission of the measurement report, wherein the measurement report indicates a measurement of the reference signal (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 2, R1 discloses cause the UE to receive the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE, the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to receive a MAC control element (MAC-CE) message that includes the indication to activate the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 3, R1 discloses cause the UE to receive the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE, the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of multiple TCI states that are to be activated for the UE (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 6, R1 discloses the at least one memory further stores processor- readable code configured to cause the UE to receive a set of activated TCI states prior to receiving the indication to activate the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the TCI state is not included in the set of activated TCI states (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), and wherein, to cause the UE to receive the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE, the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to receive the reference signal after a first amount of time relative to receiving the indication to activate the one or more TCI states, wherein the first amount of time is based at least in part on a scheduling offset value associated with the reference signal (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 7, R1 discloses the at least one memory further stores processor- readable code configured to cause the UE to: activate the TCI state after a second amount of time relative to receiving the reference signal, wherein the second amount of time is based at least in part on a processing time associated with receiving the reference signal (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 8, R1 discloses the at least one memory further stores processor- readable code configured to cause the UE to receive configuration information configuring the association and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states in a same message (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 9, R1 discloses the at least one memory further stores processor- readable code configured to cause the UE to receive configuration information configuring the association via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraphs 8, 22-27, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 10, R1 discloses the association is based at least in part on a rule (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 13, R1 discloses at least one processor (paragraphs 80-89); and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the base station to (paragraphs 80-89): transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via medium access control (MAC) signaling, an indication to activate one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for the UE (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report by the UE for at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the reference signal or the transmission of the measurement report is triggered based at least in part on an association of a TCI state, from the at least one TCI state, with the reference signal or the measurement report (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7); transmit the reference signal based at least in part on transmitting the indication to activate the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7); and receive the measurement report based at least in part on the indication triggering the transmission of the measurement report, wherein the measurement report indicates a measurement of the reference signal (paragraphs 8, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 15, R1 discloses the at least one memory further stores processor-readable code configured to cause the base station to transmit configuration information configuring the association and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states in a same message (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 16, R1 discloses receiving, via medium access control (MAC) signaling, an indication to activate one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for the UE (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the reference signal or the transmission of the measurement report is triggered based at least in part on an association of a TCI state, from the at least one TCI state, with the reference signal or the measurement report; receiving the reference signal based at least in part on receiving the indication to activate the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7); and transmitting the measurement report based at least in part on the indication triggering the transmission of the measurement report, wherein the measurement report indicates a measurement of the reference signal (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 17, R1 discloses receiving the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE comprises receiving a MAC control element (MAC-CE) message that includes the indication to activate the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 18, R1 discloses receiving the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE comprises receiving an indication of multiple TCI states that are to be activated for the UE (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 21, R1 discloses receiving a set of activated TCI states prior to receiving the indication to activate the one or more TCI states, wherein the TCI state is not included in the set of activated TCI states (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7)., and wherein receiving the reference signal comprises receiving the reference signal after a first amount of time relative to receiving the indication to activate the one or more TCI states, wherein the first amount of time is based at least in part on a scheduling offset value associated with the reference signal (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 22, R1 discloses activating the TCI state after a second amount of time relative to receiving the reference signal, wherein the second amount of time is based at least in part on a processing time associated with receiving the reference signal (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 23, R1 discloses receiving configuration information configuring the association and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states in a same message (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 24, R1 discloses receiving configuration information configuring the association via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 25, R1 discloses the association is based at least in part on a rule (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 28, R1 discloses transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) via medium access control (MAC) signaling, an indication to activate one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for the UE (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report by the UE for at least one TCI state of the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7), wherein the reference signal or the transmission of the measurement report is triggered based at least in part on an association of a TCI state, from the at least one TCI state, with the reference signal or the measurement report (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7); transmitting the reference signal based at least in part on transmitting the indication to activate the one or more TCI states (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7); and receiving the measurement report based at least in part on the indication triggering the transmission of the measurement report, wherein the measurement report indicates a measurement of the reference signal (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 29, R1 discloses transmitting the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE comprises transmitting an indication of multiple TCI states that are to be activated for the UE (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
For claim 30, R1 discloses transmitting configuration information configuring the association and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states in a same message (paragraphs 8, 22-29, 36-37, 49-63,82-89, Fig 1, 3, 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2021/111851)[R1] in view of Zhou et al (US 20210051754)[R2]..
For claims 4 and 19, R1 does not explicitly state the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for each TCI state of the multiple TCI states. R2 discloses the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for each TCI state of the multiple TCI states (paragraphs 420-421). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for each TCI state of the multiple TCI states taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to allow multiple measurements from a single command saving time and resources.
For claims 5 and 20, R1 does not explicitly state the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for each TCI state of a subset of TCI states of the multiple TCI states. R2 discloses the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for each TCI state of a subset of TCI states of the multiple TCI states (paragraphs 420-421). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for each TCI state of the multiple TCI states taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to allow multiple measurements from a single command saving time and resources.
For claim 14, R1 does not explicitly state cause the base station to transmit the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE, the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the base station to transmit an indication of multiple TCI states that are to be activated for the UE. R2 discloses cause the base station to transmit the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE, the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the base station to transmit an indication of multiple TCI states that are to be activated for the UE (paragraphs 420-421). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the indication triggers at least one of a measurement of a reference signal or a transmission of a measurement report for each TCI state of the multiple TCI states taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to allow multiple measurements from a single command saving time and resources.
Claims 11, 12, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1.
For claim 11, R1 does not explicitly state wherein the measurement report is associated with an uplink shared channel, and wherein the at least one memory further stores processor-readable code configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of one or more transmission parameters to be used by the UE to transmit the measurement report on the uplink shared channel. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the measurement report is associated with an uplink shared channel, receiving an indication of one or more transmission parameters to be used by the UE to transmit the measurement report on the uplink shared channel was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the measurement report is associated with an uplink shared channel, and wherein the at least one memory further stores processor-readable code configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of one or more transmission parameters to be used by the UE to transmit the measurement report on the uplink shared channel. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of transmitting and receiving the measurement report increasing capability.
For claim 12, R1 does not explicitly disclose the indication of the one or more transmission parameters and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE are received in a same message. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of combining both transmission parameters and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE in a same message was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the indication of the one or more transmission parameters and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE are received in a same message. The technical reasoning to combine would be to reduce overhead and increase speed.
For claim 26, R1 does not explicitly state the measurement report is associated with an uplink shared channel, the method further comprising: receiving an indication of one or more transmission parameters to be used by the UE to transmit the measurement report on the uplink shared channel. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the measurement report is associated with an uplink shared channel, receiving an indication of one or more transmission parameters to be used by the UE to transmit the measurement report on the uplink shared channel was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the measurement report is associated with an uplink shared channel, and wherein the at least one memory further stores processor-readable code configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of one or more transmission parameters to be used by the UE to transmit the measurement report on the uplink shared channel. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly used method of transmitting and receiving the measurement report increasing capability.
For claim 27, R1 does not explicitly state the indication of the one or more transmission parameters and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE are received in a same message. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of combining both transmission parameters and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE in a same message was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use the indication of the one or more transmission parameters and the indication to activate the one or more TCI states for the UE are received in a same message. The technical reasoning to combine would be to reduce overhead and increase speed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Li (US 20210258813) discloses TCI states activation through RRC and MAC-CE.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463