DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendment correspondence filed on 01/03/2024. Claims 1-15, 17-18, 20, and 23-24 are pending and rejected.
Priority
The applicant’s claim for priority as a national phase of Internation Application No. PCT/CN2021/103230, filed June 29, 2021, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2023 and 07/02/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 24, it is interpreted as a separate independent claim which falls under the four statutory categories as a device claim and incorporates the steps of the method of independent claim 11. For clarity, the examiner requests that the steps that the device of claim 24 performs be written out as part of claim 24. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-11, 17-18, 20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (US 2023/0085606), hereinafter “Shao ‘606”, in view of Matsumura et al. (WO 2022/74841), published 14 April, 2022, hereinafter “Matsumura” (see “WO_2022074841_Translation.pdf” for citations).
Regarding claims 1, 23, Shao ‘606 teaches:
A communication method for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), performed by a network device, or a communication device for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), comprising:
a processor (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 24, par. [0181]: in FIG. 24, the device includes a processor 241); and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 24, par. [0182]: The processor 241 executes various functional applications of the device as well as data processing by running the software programs, instructions, and modules stored in the memory 242, i.e., to implement any of the methods provided in the embodiments of present disclosure);
wherein the method comprising or the processor is configured to:
transmitting indication information (see Shao, ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message);
wherein the indication information is configured to indicate repetition transmission schemes, to cooperatively and repeatedly transmit the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: At S21, PUCCH parameters are acquired and at least one slot repetition transmission is performed according to the PUCCH parameters, where the parameter is configured by higher-layer signaling, and includes at least one of: a plurality of spatial relation information groups, or a frequency hopping transmission parameter; each piece of spatial relation information corresponding to a set of power control parameters, and see par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and see pars. [0068-0072]: The first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information are only two pieces of identical or different spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. The terms of first and second do not have the meaning of actual quantity or arrangement, but only distinguish between the spatial relation information. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in an even-numbered slot is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in an odd-numbered slot is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 slots is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining slots is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam on an even-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam on an odd-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 frequency hopping units is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining frequency hopping units is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group, and see Fig. 5, par. [0098]: FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a manner of sending beams by UE provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5, PUCCH in a slot 0 and a slot 2 is transmitted using S1 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo, and PUCCH in the slot 1 and a slot 3 is transmitted using S2 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo; in this case, signaling indicates modes for repetition for PUCCH in multiple beam directions); and
the repetition transmission schemes comprise an inter-slot repetition transmission scheme (see Shao ‘606, pars. [0068-0072]: The first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information are only two pieces of identical or different spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. The terms of first and second do not have the meaning of actual quantity or arrangement, but only distinguish between the spatial relation information. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in an even-numbered slot is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in an odd-numbered slot is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 slots is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining slots is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam on an even-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam on an odd-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 frequency hopping units is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining frequency hopping units is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group), an intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 12, pars. [0119-0120]: when cross-BWP intra-slot frequency hopping is configured for PUCCH, the activation state of the MAC-CE directly corresponds to the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo group. For example: the MAC-CE activates S1 for the UE. In this case, a transmit beam for the UE in the BWP 0 is determined by S01, and a transmit beam in the BWP 1 is determined by S11. When the number of PUCCH repetition transmissions is configured in the higher-layer such that NPUCCHrepeat=4 a schematic diagram is as shown in FIG. 12. FIG. 12 is a schematic diagram of a manner of sending beams by UE provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12, PUCCH in an even-numbered slot and PUCCH in an odd-numbered slot are transmitted in different BWPs. To be specific, PUCCH in a slot 0 and a slot 2 uses S01 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo0, and PUCCH in a slot 1 and a slot 3 uses S11 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo1)
However, Shao ‘606 does not teach:
determining that a terminal cooperatively transmits the PUCCH towards multiple transmission reception point (TRP) directions;
wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to dynamically switch repetition transmission schemes,
the repetition transmission schemes comprise an intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot.
Matsumura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determining that a terminal cooperatively transmits the PUCCH towards multiple transmission reception point (TRP) directions (see Matsumura, par. [0024]: In NR, it is considered that a UE will perform UL transmission (e.g., PUCCH transmission) to one or more transmission/reception points (Transmission/Reception Points (TRP)) (Multi-TRP (MTRP)));
wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to dynamically switch repetition transmission schemes (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters; in this case, information signaled to the terminal is used to determine which repetition scheme to use (corresponding to dynamically switching)),
the repetition transmission schemes comprise an intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, Fig. 1B, par. [0030]: FIG. 1B shows an example in which PUCCH repetitive transmission within a slot is performed using symbols at the same positions for each fixed unit period within the slot. For example, the fixed unit period may be a sub-slot (for example, 7 symbols). In this example, the slot is divided into two subslots #1 and #2, and two repeated transmissions within the slot are performed: PUCCH repetition #1 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot #1) and PUCCH repetition #2 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot#2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the multi-TRP, dynamic switching, and intra-slot repetition transmission scheme of Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura teaches the method.
Shao ‘606 does not teach, but Matsumura teaches:
wherein transmitting the indication information comprises:
transmitting a slot number configuration parameter, wherein the slot number configuration parameter is configured to indicate a number of slots occupied by cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions for repetition transmission (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0046]: The common parameter may be the RRC parameter "nrofslots" indicating the number of slot repetitions in Rel. 15/16, or anew RRC parameter (e.g., the RRC parameter "nrofRepetitions") indicating the number of inter-slot repetitions and the number of intra-slot repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the transmitting a slot number configuration parameter of Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Shao ‘606 does not teach the communication method further comprising:
enabling the slot number configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot; or
disabling the slot number configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping.
However, Matsumura teaches the communication method further comprising:
enabling the slot number configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0046]: The common parameter may be the RRC parameter "nrofslots" indicating the number of slot repetitions in Rel. 15/16, or anew RRC parameter (e.g., the RRC parameter "nrofRepetitions") indicating the number of inter-slot repetitions and the number of intra-slot repetitions, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2; in this case, based on at least the indication of number of slots being configured (i.e. reconfigured), inter-slot repetition may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from intra-slot to inter-slot), or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (optional limitation); or
disabling the slot number configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (optional limitation).
Matsumura further teaches the claimed intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, Fig. 1B, par. [0030]: FIG. 1B shows an example in which PUCCH repetitive transmission within a slot is performed using symbols at the same positions for each fixed unit period within the slot. For example, the fixed unit period may be a sub-slot (for example, 7 symbols). In this example, the slot is divided into two subslots #1 and #2, and two repeated transmissions within the slot are performed: PUCCH repetition #1 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot #1) and PUCCH repetition #2 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot#2)). Shao further teaches the claimed inter-slot repetition transmission scheme (see Shao ‘606, pars. [0068-0072]: The first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information are only two pieces of identical or different spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. The terms of first and second do not have the meaning of actual quantity or arrangement, but only distinguish between the spatial relation information. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in an even-numbered slot is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in an odd-numbered slot is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 slots is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining slots is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam on an even-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam on an odd-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 frequency hopping units is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining frequency hopping units is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group) and intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 12, pars. [0119-0120]: when cross-BWP intra-slot frequency hopping is configured for PUCCH, the activation state of the MAC-CE directly corresponds to the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo group. For example: the MAC-CE activates S1 for the UE. In this case, a transmit beam for the UE in the BWP 0 is determined by S01, and a transmit beam in the BWP 1 is determined by S11. When the number of PUCCH repetition transmissions is configured in the higher-layer such that NPUCCHrepeat=4 a schematic diagram is as shown in FIG. 12. FIG. 12 is a schematic diagram of a manner of sending beams by UE provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12, PUCCH in an even-numbered slot and PUCCH in an odd-numbered slot are transmitted in different BWPs. To be specific, PUCCH in a slot 0 and a slot 2 uses S01 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo0, and PUCCH in a slot 1 and a slot 3 uses S11 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo1).
Therefore, since the Matsumura discloses enabling the slot number configuration parameter to achieve switching between given repetition transmission schemes, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include switching between other well-known transmission schemes, including switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme or between any of the given transmission schemes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Shao ‘606 does not teach the communication method further comprising:
reconfiguring the slot number configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping.
However, Matsumura teaches the communication method further comprising:
reconfiguring the slot number configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0046]: The common parameter may be the RRC parameter "nrofslots" indicating the number of slot repetitions in Rel. 15/16, or anew RRC parameter (e.g., the RRC parameter "nrofRepetitions") indicating the number of inter-slot repetitions and the number of intra-slot repetitions, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2; in this case, based on at least the indication of number of slots being configured (i.e. reconfigured), intra-slot repetition may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from inter-slot to intra-slot), or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (optional limitation).
Matsumura further teaches the claimed intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, Fig. 1B, par. [0030]: FIG. 1B shows an example in which PUCCH repetitive transmission within a slot is performed using symbols at the same positions for each fixed unit period within the slot. For example, the fixed unit period may be a sub-slot (for example, 7 symbols). In this example, the slot is divided into two subslots #1 and #2, and two repeated transmissions within the slot are performed: PUCCH repetition #1 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot #1) and PUCCH repetition #2 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot#2)). Shao further teaches the claimed inter-slot repetition transmission scheme (see Shao ‘606, pars. [0068-0072]: The first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information are only two pieces of identical or different spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. The terms of first and second do not have the meaning of actual quantity or arrangement, but only distinguish between the spatial relation information. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in an even-numbered slot is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in an odd-numbered slot is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 slots is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining slots is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam on an even-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam on an odd-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 frequency hopping units is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining frequency hopping units is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group) and intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 12, pars. [0119-0120]: when cross-BWP intra-slot frequency hopping is configured for PUCCH, the activation state of the MAC-CE directly corresponds to the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo group. For example: the MAC-CE activates S1 for the UE. In this case, a transmit beam for the UE in the BWP 0 is determined by S01, and a transmit beam in the BWP 1 is determined by S11. When the number of PUCCH repetition transmissions is configured in the higher-layer such that NPUCCHrepeat=4 a schematic diagram is as shown in FIG. 12. FIG. 12 is a schematic diagram of a manner of sending beams by UE provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12, PUCCH in an even-numbered slot and PUCCH in an odd-numbered slot are transmitted in different BWPs. To be specific, PUCCH in a slot 0 and a slot 2 uses S01 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo0, and PUCCH in a slot 1 and a slot 3 uses S11 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo1).
Therefore, since the Matsumura discloses reconfiguring the slot number configuration parameter to achieve switching between given repetition transmission schemes, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include switching between other well-known transmission schemes, including switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping or between any of the given transmission schemes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura teaches the method. Shao ‘606 further teaches:
transmitting PUCCH resource configuration information, wherein the PUCCH resource configuration information comprises first PUCCH resource configuration information, or second PUCCH resource configuration information, or third PUCCH resource configuration information (see Shao, ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and see Fig. 2, par. [0055]: At S21, PUCCH parameters are acquired and at least one slot repetition transmission is performed according to the PUCCH parameters, where the parameter is configured by higher-layer signaling, and includes at least one of: a plurality of spatial relation information groups, or a frequency hopping transmission parameter; each piece of spatial relation information corresponding to a set of power control parameters);
the first PUCCH resource configuration information corresponds to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, the second PUCCH resource configuration information corresponds to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (see Shao, ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and see Fig. 2, par. [0055]: At S21, PUCCH parameters are acquired and at least one slot repetition transmission is performed according to the PUCCH parameters, where the parameter is configured by higher-layer signaling, and includes at least one of: a plurality of spatial relation information groups, or a frequency hopping transmission parameter; each piece of spatial relation information corresponding to a set of power control parameters, and see pars. [0068-0072]: The first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information are only two pieces of identical or different spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. The terms of first and second do not have the meaning of actual quantity or arrangement, but only distinguish between the spatial relation information. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in an even-numbered slot is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in an odd-numbered slot is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 slots is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining slots is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam on an even-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam on an odd-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 frequency hopping units is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining frequency hopping units is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group, and see Fig. 12, pars. [0119-0120]: when cross-BWP intra-slot frequency hopping is configured for PUCCH, the activation state of the MAC-CE directly corresponds to the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo group. For example: the MAC-CE activates S1 for the UE. In this case, a transmit beam for the UE in the BWP 0 is determined by S01, and a transmit beam in the BWP 1 is determined by S11. When the number of PUCCH repetition transmissions is configured in the higher-layer such that NPUCCHrepeat=4 a schematic diagram is as shown in FIG. 12. FIG. 12 is a schematic diagram of a manner of sending beams by UE provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12, PUCCH in an even-numbered slot and PUCCH in an odd-numbered slot are transmitted in different BWPs. To be specific, PUCCH in a slot 0 and a slot 2 uses S01 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo0, and PUCCH in a slot 1 and a slot 3 uses S11 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo1; in this case, configuration information configures repetition scheme from a plurality of schemes),
Shao ‘606 does not teach the communication method wherein transmitting the indication information comprises:
the third PUCCH resource configuration information corresponds to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot.
However, Matsumura teaches wherein transmitting the indication information comprises:
the third PUCCH resource configuration information corresponds to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2, and see par. [0012]: The spatial relationship to be applied to a given signal/channel may be identified by spatial relation information (SRI) that is signaled (configured) using higher layer signaling, and see par. [0026]: the SRI may correspond to a beam. For example, the UE may assume that PUCCHs for different SRIs are transmitted using different beams, and see Fig. 1B, par. [0030]: FIG. 1B shows an example in which PUCCH repetitive transmission within a slot is performed using symbols at the same positions for each fixed unit period within the slot. For example, the fixed unit period may be a sub-slot (for example, 7 symbols). In this example, the slot is divided into two subslots #1 and #2, and two repeated transmissions within the slot are performed: PUCCH repetition #1 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot #1) and PUCCH repetition #2 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot#2); in this case, transmitted information is used for determining transmission scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the specific configuration information Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claims 11, 24, Shao ‘606 teaches:
A communication method for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), performed by a terminal, or a communication device for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the method or the communication device comprising:
a processor (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 24, par. [0181]: in FIG. 24, the device includes a processor 241); and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 24, par. [0182]: The processor 241 executes various functional applications of the device as well as data processing by running the software programs, instructions, and modules stored in the memory 242, i.e., to implement any of the methods provided in the embodiments of present disclosure);
wherein the processor is configured to perform
receiving indication information (see Shao, ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message; in this case, information is transmitted to the UE which receives the information), wherein the indication information is configured to indicate repetition transmission schemes, to cooperatively and repeatedly transmit the PUCCH towards multiple transmission reception point (TRP) directions (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0055]: At S21, PUCCH parameters are acquired and at least one slot repetition transmission is performed according to the PUCCH parameters, where the parameter is configured by higher-layer signaling, and includes at least one of: a plurality of spatial relation information groups, or a frequency hopping transmission parameter; each piece of spatial relation information corresponding to a set of power control parameters, and see par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and see pars. [0068-0072]: The first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information are only two pieces of identical or different spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. The terms of first and second do not have the meaning of actual quantity or arrangement, but only distinguish between the spatial relation information. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in an even-numbered slot is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in an odd-numbered slot is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 slots is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining slots is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam on an even-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam on an odd-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 frequency hopping units is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining frequency hopping units is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group, and see Fig. 5, par. [0098]: FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a manner of sending beams by UE provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5, PUCCH in a slot 0 and a slot 2 is transmitted using S1 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo, and PUCCH in the slot 1 and a slot 3 is transmitted using S2 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo; in this case, signaling indicates modes for repetition for PUCCH in multiple beam directions); and the repetition transmission schemes comprise an inter-slot repetition transmission scheme (see Shao ‘606, pars. [0068-0072]: The first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information are only two pieces of identical or different spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. The terms of first and second do not have the meaning of actual quantity or arrangement, but only distinguish between the spatial relation information. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in an even-numbered slot is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in an odd-numbered slot is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 slots is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining slots is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam on an even-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam on an odd-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 frequency hopping units is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining frequency hopping units is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group), an intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 12, pars. [0119-0120]: when cross-BWP intra-slot frequency hopping is configured for PUCCH, the activation state of the MAC-CE directly corresponds to the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo group. For example: the MAC-CE activates S1 for the UE. In this case, a transmit beam for the UE in the BWP 0 is determined by S01, and a transmit beam in the BWP 1 is determined by S11. When the number of PUCCH repetition transmissions is configured in the higher-layer such that NPUCCHrepeat=4 a schematic diagram is as shown in FIG. 12. FIG. 12 is a schematic diagram of a manner of sending beams by UE provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12, PUCCH in an even-numbered slot and PUCCH in an odd-numbered slot are transmitted in different BWPs. To be specific, PUCCH in a slot 0 and a slot 2 uses S01 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo0, and PUCCH in a slot 1 and a slot 3 uses S11 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo1)
However, Shao ‘606 does not teach:
wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to dynamically switch repetition transmission schemes,
the repetition transmission schemes comprise an intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot; and
cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions based on the indication information.
Matsumura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to dynamically switch repetition transmission schemes (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters; in this case, information signaled to the terminal is used to determine which repetition scheme to use (corresponding to dynamically switching)),
the repetition transmission schemes comprise an intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, Fig. 1B, par. [0030]: FIG. 1B shows an example in which PUCCH repetitive transmission within a slot is performed using symbols at the same positions for each fixed unit period within the slot. For example, the fixed unit period may be a sub-slot (for example, 7 symbols). In this example, the slot is divided into two subslots #1 and #2, and two repeated transmissions within the slot are performed: PUCCH repetition #1 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot #1) and PUCCH repetition #2 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot#2)); and
cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions based on the indication information (see Matsumura, par. [0024]: In NR, it is considered that a UE will perform UL transmission (e.g., PUCCH transmission) to one or more transmission/reception points (Transmission/Reception Points (TRP)) (Multi-TRP (MTRP))).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the multi-TRP, dynamic switching, and intra-slot repetition transmission scheme of Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura teaches the method.
Shao ‘606 does not teach, but Matsumura teaches:
wherein receiving the indication information comprises: receiving a slot number configuration parameter, wherein the slot number configuration parameter is configured to indicate a number of slots occupied by cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions for repetition transmission (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0046]: The common parameter may be the RRC parameter "nrofslots" indicating the number of slot repetitions in Rel. 15/16, or anew RRC parameter (e.g., the RRC parameter "nrofRepetitions") indicating the number of inter-slot repetitions and the number of intra-slot repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the receiving a slot number configuration parameter of Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Shao ‘606 does not teach wherein cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions comprises one of:
determining the slot number configuration parameter being enabled, switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions;
determining the slot number configuration parameter being disabled, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions; or
determining the slot number configuration parameter being reconfigured, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions.
However, Matsumura teaches wherein cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions comprises one of:
determining the slot number configuration parameter being enabled, switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0046]: The common parameter may be the RRC parameter "nrofslots" indicating the number of slot repetitions in Rel. 15/16, or anew RRC parameter (e.g., the RRC parameter "nrofRepetitions") indicating the number of inter-slot repetitions and the number of intra-slot repetitions, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2; in this case, based on at least the indication of number of slots being configured (i.e. reconfigured), inter-slot repetition may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from intra-slot to inter-slot), or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (optional limitation);
determining the slot number configuration parameter being disabled, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (optional limitation); or
determining the slot number configuration parameter being reconfigured, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0046]: The common parameter may be the RRC parameter "nrofslots" indicating the number of slot repetitions in Rel. 15/16, or anew RRC parameter (e.g., the RRC parameter "nrofRepetitions") indicating the number of inter-slot repetitions and the number of intra-slot repetitions, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2; in this case, based on at least the indication of number of slots being configured (i.e. reconfigured), intra-slot repetition may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from inter-slot to intra-slot), or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (optional limitation).
Matsumura further teaches the claimed intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, Fig. 1B, par. [0030]: FIG. 1B shows an example in which PUCCH repetitive transmission within a slot is performed using symbols at the same positions for each fixed unit period within the slot. For example, the fixed unit period may be a sub-slot (for example, 7 symbols). In this example, the slot is divided into two subslots #1 and #2, and two repeated transmissions within the slot are performed: PUCCH repetition #1 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot #1) and PUCCH repetition #2 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot#2)). Shao further teaches the claimed inter-slot repetition transmission scheme (see Shao ‘606, pars. [0068-0072]: The first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information are only two pieces of identical or different spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. The terms of first and second do not have the meaning of actual quantity or arrangement, but only distinguish between the spatial relation information. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in an even-numbered slot is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in an odd-numbered slot is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to the frequency hopping mode being inter-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 slots is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining slots is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam on an even-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam on an odd-numbered frequency hopping unit is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group. In response to a frequency hopping mode being intra-slot frequency hopping and there being M repetition transmissions, a PUCCH transmit beam in the first M/2 frequency hopping units is determined by the first spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group; and a PUCCH transmit beam in the remaining frequency hopping units is determined by the second spatial relation information in the spatial relation information group) and intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 12, pars. [0119-0120]: when cross-BWP intra-slot frequency hopping is configured for PUCCH, the activation state of the MAC-CE directly corresponds to the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo group. For example: the MAC-CE activates S1 for the UE. In this case, a transmit beam for the UE in the BWP 0 is determined by S01, and a transmit beam in the BWP 1 is determined by S11. When the number of PUCCH repetition transmissions is configured in the higher-layer such that NPUCCHrepeat=4 a schematic diagram is as shown in FIG. 12. FIG. 12 is a schematic diagram of a manner of sending beams by UE provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12, PUCCH in an even-numbered slot and PUCCH in an odd-numbered slot are transmitted in different BWPs. To be specific, PUCCH in a slot 0 and a slot 2 uses S01 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo0, and PUCCH in a slot 1 and a slot 3 uses S11 activated in PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo1).
Therefore, since the Matsumura discloses the slot number configuration parameter being enabled or reconfigured to achieve switching between given repetition transmission schemes, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include switching between other well-known transmission schemes, including switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, or between any of the given transmission schemes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura teaches the method. Shao ‘606 further teaches:
wherein the indication information comprises PUCCH resource configuration information, wherein the PUCCH resource configuration information comprises first PUCCH resource configuration information, or second PUCCH resource configuration information, or third PUCCH resource configuration information (see Shao, ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and see Fig. 2, par. [0055]: At S21, PUCCH parameters are acquired and at least one slot repetition transmission is performed according to the PUCCH parameters, where the parameter is configured by higher-layer signaling, and includes at least one of: a plurality of spatial relation information groups, or a frequency hopping transmission parameter; each piece of spatial relation information corresponding to a set of power control parameters)
Shao ‘606 does not teach, but Matsumura teaches:
transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions based on the indication information comprises one of:
determining the PUCCH resource configuration information comprising the first PUCCH resource configuration information, cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions by adopting the inter-slot repeated transmission scheme (optional limitation);
determining the PUCCH resource configuration information comprising the second PUCCH resource configuration information, cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions by adopting the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (optional limitation); or
determining the PUCCH resource configuration information comprising the third PUCCH resource configuration information, cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions by adopting the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2, and see par. [0012]: The spatial relationship to be applied to a given signal/channel may be identified by spatial relation information (SRI) that is signaled (configured) using higher layer signaling, and see par. [0026]: the SRI may correspond to a beam. For example, the UE may assume that PUCCHs for different SRIs are transmitted using different beams, and see Fig. 1B, par. [0030]: FIG. 1B shows an example in which PUCCH repetitive transmission within a slot is performed using symbols at the same positions for each fixed unit period within the slot. For example, the fixed unit period may be a sub-slot (for example, 7 symbols). In this example, the slot is divided into two subslots #1 and #2, and two repeated transmissions within the slot are performed: PUCCH repetition #1 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot #1) and PUCCH repetition #2 (the first to fourth symbols of subslot#2); in this case, received information is used for determining transmission scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the configuration information Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Claims 2-6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura, as applied to claims 1, 7-11, 17-18, 20, and 23-24 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0421233), hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura teaches the method.
Shao ‘606 does not teach, but Matsumura teaches:
wherein transmitting the indication information comprises:
transmitting a sub-slot transmission configuration parameter (see Matsumura, par. [0057]: the format for long PUCCH (long PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may be, for example, a certain period (certain number of symbols). For example, it may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length of 3 symbols or 4 symbols or more. Furthermore, the format for the short PUCCH (short PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 0/2, and may be, for example, a certain period (a certain number of symbols). It may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length less than 3 symbols or 4 symbols, and see par. [0059]: the PUCCH format used for PUCCH repetition may be associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource may be configured in the UE by higher layer signaling in association with the UCI to be transmitted, for example, or may be specified to the UE by the PUCCH Resource Indicator (PRI) field of the DCI),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the transmitting a sub-slot transmission configuration parameter of Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
However, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura does not teach:
wherein the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter is configured to indicate sub-slot resource information occupied by cooperatively and repeatedly transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions.
Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter is configured to indicate sub-slot resource information occupied by cooperatively and repeatedly transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (see Li, Fig. 16, par. [0141]: In step S1601, intra-slot repetitions of a PUCCH is configured for a UE in the multi-TRP/panel system. In step 1603, the number of repetitions may be indicated by a high layer parameter or an enhanced MAC CE. In step S1605, the type of PUCCH repetitions may be indicated by a high layer signaling, a MAC CE, or a DCI. In step 1607, the first symbols of each repetition may be indicated by a high layer parameter, a MAC CE, or a DCI. In step 1609, an overlap rule may be defined based on UCI and start symbols of the PUCCH. In step S1611, a deferral mechanism can be provided to transmit the repetitions being deferred by the overlap rule, so that as many repetitions can be transmitted in one slot as possible; in this case, intra-slot repetitions, the number of repetitions, symbols of each repetition, and overlap based on symbols correspond to a sub-slot transmission configuration parameter which indicates sub-slot resource information occupied by cooperatively and repeatedly transmitting the PUCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura with the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter schemes of Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving reliability in communication (see Li, par. [0104]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Li, teaches the method wherein transmitting the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter. Shao ‘606 further teaches:
configuring a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling comprises PUCCH configuration information (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and see par. [0055]: At S21, PUCCH parameters are acquired and at least one slot repetition transmission is performed according to the PUCCH parameters, where the parameter is configured by higher-layer signaling),
The combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura does not teach, but Li teaches:
the PUCCH configuration information configures sub-slot configuration length information at a PUCCH resource level or a PUCCH resource set level or a PUCCH format level (see Li, Fig. 16, par. [0141]: FIG. 16 is a flowchart summarizing the steps implemented in intra-slot repetition according to embodiments of the invention. The described embodiments from FIG. 9 to FIG. 15 can be summarized in the flowchart. In step S1601, intra-slot repetitions of a PUCCH is configured for a UE in the multi-TRP/panel system. In step 1603, the number of repetitions may be indicated by a high layer parameter or an enhanced MAC CE. In step S1605, the type of PUCCH repetitions may be indicated by a high layer signaling, a MAC CE, or a DCI. In step 1607, the first symbols of each repetition may be indicated by a high layer parameter, a MAC CE, or a DCI, and see par. [0116]: Let N represent the number of repetitions, PUCCH transmissions in each of the N sub-slots consume the same number of consecutive symbols. The number of consecutive symbols can be defined by a high layer parameter nrofSymbols; in this case, higher level signaling is used to configure information for PUCCH, including number of symbols, corresponding to sub-slot configuration length information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura with the sub-slot transmission configuration parameters of Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving reliability in communication (see Li, par. [0104]).
Regarding claim 4, Shao ‘606 does not teach the communication method further comprising:
enabling the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot; or
disabling the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping.
However, Matsumura teaches the communication method further comprising:
enabling the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2, and see par. [0057]: the format for long PUCCH (long PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may be, for example, a certain period (certain number of symbols). For example, it may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length of 3 symbols or 4 symbols or more. Furthermore, the format for the short PUCCH (short PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 0/2, and may be, for example, a certain period (a certain number of symbols). It may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length less than 3 symbols or 4 symbols; in this case, based on at least PUCCH format which is signaled (i.e. an enabled parameter), intra-slot repetition based on sub-slot may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from inter-slot to intra-slot), or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (optional limitation); or
disabling the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter, to achieve switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping (optional limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the dynamic switching Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Shao ‘606 does not teach the communication method further comprising:
reconfiguring the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter as an invalid transmission configuration parameter, to achieve dynamic switching between the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme and the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot.
However, Matsumura teaches the communication method further comprising:
reconfiguring the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter as an invalid transmission configuration parameter, to achieve dynamic switching between the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme and the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2, and see par. [0057]: the format for long PUCCH (long PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may be, for example, a certain period (certain number of symbols). For example, it may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length of 3 symbols or 4 symbols or more. Furthermore, the format for the short PUCCH (short PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 0/2, and may be, for example, a certain period (a certain number of symbols). It may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length less than 3 symbols or 4 symbols; in this case, based on at least PUCCH format which is signaled, intra-slot repetition based on sub-slot may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from inter-slot to intra-slot. This may be done when the signaled PUCCH format is not a specific format, corresponding to being an invalid transmission configuration parameter (i.e. invalid for inter-slot)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the dynamic switching Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Shao ‘606 does not teach the communication method further comprising:
modifying the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter to a size of resources occupied by the sub-slot, to achieve switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot.
However, Matsumura teaches the communication method further comprising:
modifying the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter to a size of resources occupied by the sub-slot, to achieve switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0057]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2. Note that the format for long PUCCH (long PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may be, for example, a certain period (certain number of symbols). For example, it may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length of 3 symbols or 4 symbols or more. Furthermore, the format for the short PUCCH (short PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 0/2, and may be, for example, a certain period (a certain number of symbols). It may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length less than 3 symbols or 4 symbols; in this case, based on at least PUCCH information regarding symbols which is signaled (i.e. an modified parameter), intra-slot repetition based on sub-slot may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from inter-slot to intra-slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the dynamic switching Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura teaches the method.
Shao ‘606 does not teach, but Matsumura teaches:
wherein receiving the indication information comprises:
receiving a sub-slot transmission configuration parameter (see Matsumura, par. [0057]: the format for long PUCCH (long PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may be, for example, a certain period (certain number of symbols). For example, it may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length of 3 symbols or 4 symbols or more. Furthermore, the format for the short PUCCH (short PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 0/2, and may be, for example, a certain period (a certain number of symbols). It may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length less than 3 symbols or 4 symbols, and see par. [0059]: the PUCCH format used for PUCCH repetition may be associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource may be configured in the UE by higher layer signaling in association with the UCI to be transmitted, for example, or may be specified to the UE by the PUCCH Resource Indicator (PRI) field of the DCI),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the receiving a sub-slot transmission configuration parameter of Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
However, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura does not teach:
wherein the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter is configured to indicate sub-slot resource information occupied by cooperatively and repeatedly transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions.
Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter is configured to indicate sub-slot resource information occupied by cooperatively and repeatedly transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (see Li, Fig. 16, par. [0141]: In step S1601, intra-slot repetitions of a PUCCH is configured for a UE in the multi-TRP/panel system. In step 1603, the number of repetitions may be indicated by a high layer parameter or an enhanced MAC CE. In step S1605, the type of PUCCH repetitions may be indicated by a high layer signaling, a MAC CE, or a DCI. In step 1607, the first symbols of each repetition may be indicated by a high layer parameter, a MAC CE, or a DCI. In step 1609, an overlap rule may be defined based on UCI and start symbols of the PUCCH. In step S1611, a deferral mechanism can be provided to transmit the repetitions being deferred by the overlap rule, so that as many repetitions can be transmitted in one slot as possible; in this case, intra-slot repetitions, the number of repetitions, symbols of each repetition, and overlap based on symbols correspond to a sub-slot transmission configuration parameter which indicates sub-slot resource information occupied by cooperatively and repeatedly transmitting the PUCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura with the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter schemes of Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving reliability in communication (see Li, par. [0104]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Li, teaches the method wherein receiving the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter. Shao ‘606 further teaches:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling comprises PUCCH configuration information (see Shao ‘606, Fig. 2, par. [0058]: The higher-layer signaling is configured by the base station and transmitted to the UE through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and see par. [0055]: At S21, PUCCH parameters are acquired and at least one slot repetition transmission is performed according to the PUCCH parameters, where the parameter is configured by higher-layer signaling),
The combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura does not teach, but Li teaches:
the PUCCH configuration information configures sub-slot configuration length information at a PUCCH resource level or a PUCCH resource set level or a PUCCH format level (see Li, Fig. 16, par. [0141]: FIG. 16 is a flowchart summarizing the steps implemented in intra-slot repetition according to embodiments of the invention. The described embodiments from FIG. 9 to FIG. 15 can be summarized in the flowchart. In step S1601, intra-slot repetitions of a PUCCH is configured for a UE in the multi-TRP/panel system. In step 1603, the number of repetitions may be indicated by a high layer parameter or an enhanced MAC CE. In step S1605, the type of PUCCH repetitions may be indicated by a high layer signaling, a MAC CE, or a DCI. In step 1607, the first symbols of each repetition may be indicated by a high layer parameter, a MAC CE, or a DCI, and see par. [0116]: Let N represent the number of repetitions, PUCCH transmissions in each of the N sub-slots consume the same number of consecutive symbols. The number of consecutive symbols can be defined by a high layer parameter nrofSymbols; in this case, higher level signaling is used to configure information for PUCCH, including number of symbols, corresponding to sub-slot configuration length information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Shao ‘606 in view of Matsumura with the sub-slot transmission configuration parameters of Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving reliability in communication (see Li, par. [0104]).
Regarding claim 14, Shao ‘606 does not teach wherein cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions comprises:
determining the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter being enabled, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions; or,
determining the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter being disabled, switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions.
However, Matsumura teaches wherein cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions comprises:
determining the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter being enabled, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2, and see par. [0057]: the format for long PUCCH (long PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may be, for example, a certain period (certain number of symbols). For example, it may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length of 3 symbols or 4 symbols or more. Furthermore, the format for the short PUCCH (short PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 0/2, and may be, for example, a certain period (a certain number of symbols). It may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length less than 3 symbols or 4 symbols; in this case, based on at least PUCCH format which is signaled (i.e. an enabled parameter), intra-slot repetition based on sub-slot may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from inter-slot to intra-slot), or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (optional limitation); or,
determining the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter being disabled, switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions, or switching from the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on beam hopping, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (optional limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the dynamic switching Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Shao ‘606 does not teach wherein cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions comprises:
determining the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter being reconfigured as an invalid transmission configuration parameter, dynamically switching between the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme and the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions; or
determining the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter being modified to a size of resources occupied by the sub-slot, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions.
However, Matsumura teaches wherein cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions comprises:
determining the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter being reconfigured as an invalid transmission configuration parameter, dynamically switching between the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme and the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0056]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2, and see par. [0057]: the format for long PUCCH (long PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may be, for example, a certain period (certain number of symbols). For example, it may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length of 3 symbols or 4 symbols or more. Furthermore, the format for the short PUCCH (short PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 0/2, and may be, for example, a certain period (a certain number of symbols). It may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length less than 3 symbols or 4 symbols; in this case, based on at least PUCCH format which is signaled, intra-slot repetition based on sub-slot may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from inter-slot to intra-slot. This may be done when the signaled PUCCH format is not a specific format, corresponding to being an invalid transmission configuration parameter for inter-slot); or
determining the sub-slot transmission configuration parameter being modified to a size of resources occupied by the sub-slot, switching from the inter-slot repetition transmission scheme to the intra-slot repetition transmission scheme based on sub-slot, and cooperatively transmitting the PUCCH towards the multiple TRP directions (see Matsumura, par. [0044]: the number of repetitions is determined by a common parameter for both inter-slot repetition and intra-slot repetition. The common parameters may be predetermined by a specification, or may be notified to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC CE), physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI), and see par. [0065]: information regarding the PUCCH repetition scheme may be specified by MAC CE or DCI, and see par. [0051]: The UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot or intra-slot based on at least one of the following: (1) the PUCCH format used for the PUCCH repetition; (2) information about the PUCCH repetition (e.g., information about the PUCCH repetition scheme); and (3) the values of the above common parameters, and see pars. [0055-0057]: based on (1) above, the UE may determine whether the PUCCH repetition is inter-slot repetition or intra-slot repetition as follows: - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is a specific format, inter-slot repetition; - if the value of the common parameter (nrofSlots) is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is not a specific format (in other words, a format other than the specific format), intra-slot repetition. The specific format here may be, for example, a format for a long PUCCH (PUCCH format 1/3/4) or a format for a short PUCCH(PUCCH format 0/2). For example, the UE may perform inter-slot repetition when the value of the common parameter is greater than 1 and the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may perform intra-slot repetition when the PUCCH format is PUCCH format 0/2. Note that the format for long PUCCH (long PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 1/3/4, and may be, for example, a certain period (certain number of symbols). For example, it may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length of 3 symbols or 4 symbols or more. Furthermore, the format for the short PUCCH (short PUCCH format) in the present disclosure is not limited to PUCCH format 0/2, and may be, for example, a certain period (a certain number of symbols). It may be interpreted as any PUCCH format having a length less than 3 symbols or 4 symbols; in this case, based on at least PUCCH information regarding symbols which is signaled (i.e. an modified parameter), intra-slot repetition based on sub-slot may be selected out of the inter-slot and intra-slot options, corresponding to switching from inter-slot to intra-slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Shao ‘606 with the dynamic switching Matsumura with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased communication throughput and improved reception quality (see Matsumura, pars. [0031-0032]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2021/0029708) teaches a method for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition with different beams.
Shao et al. (US 2023/0291532) teaches acquiring transmission indication information; and determining a spatial relation associated with an uplink control channel corresponding to the transmission indication information during repeated transmissions of the uplink control channel.
Sun et al. (US 2023/0014328) teaches a user equipment (UE) may increase the reliability of transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) by transmitting repeated copies of the PUCCH, according to a repetition pattern spanning one or more slots.
Sun et al. (US 2022/0311545) teaches techniques for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) operation with multiple transmission and reception point (multi-TRP).
Seok et al. (WO 2023/014184) teaches a method and apparatus for transmitting uplink channel in wireless communication system.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419