DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1 and 10; and dependent claims 2-9 and 11-16.
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “tilt drawer has a horizontal axis of rotation arranged in a horizontal central part of the tilt drawer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “central” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “central” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 13 and 14 are method claims which depend from an apparatus claim. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite (see MPEP 2173.05(p)). Additionally, recitations in method claims are construed differently than the identical recitation in an apparatus claim. Therefore, the claims are indefinite because they are subject to a plurality of plausible claim constructions. Additionally, claims 13 and 14 include numerous double inclusions of limitations recited in claim 10. Claims 13 and 14 should be substantially redrafted in accordance with USPTO practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kania (US 10,814,355).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kania discloses an access station for an automated storage and retrieval system, wherein the access station comprises: a frame structure (3); and a drawer (16) arranged in the frame structure, wherein the drawer is a tilt drawer (see Fig. 2) comprising a compartment (16) for accommodating a goods holder (8), wherein the tilt drawer is pivotable between a receiving position for receiving a goods holder from above, and a tilted picking position for presenting a goods holder to a user (see at least abstract).
Regarding dependent claims 2-4 and 6-9, Kania discloses that the tilt drawer has a horizontal axis of rotation (20) arranged under a middle of the tilt drawer (see Fig. 2). The tilt drawer has a horizontal axis of rotation (20) arranged in a horizontal central part of the frame structure (3). The access station is configured for vertical alignment of the receiving position with a port column (11) of the automated storage and retrieval system for receiving goods holder therefrom. The access station comprises a tilt limiter (see at least col. 3, lines 44-47) configured to limit pivotal movement of the tilt drawer beyond the picking position. The tilt limiter is arranged on the tilt drawer (see at least col. 3, lines 44-47). The frame structure and/or the tilt drawer are configured to prevent retrieval of a goods holder from the compartment when the tilt drawer is in the picking position (see at least item 18). The tilt drawer is automated (see at least col. 4, lines 15-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hognaland et al. (WO 2017/211596) in view of Kania (US 10,814,355).
Regarding independent claim 10, Hognaland discloses an automated storage and retrieval system comprising an access station (60) for an automated storage and retrieval system, wherein the access station comprises: a frame structure (25); and a drawer (70) arranged in the frame structure, wherein the drawer comprises a compartment for accommodating a goods holder, wherein the drawer is slidable between a receiving position for receiving a goods holder from above, and picking position for presenting a goods holder to a user; a rail system (see at least Fig. 1) comprising a first set of parallel rails (see at least Fig. 1) arranged in a horizontal plane and extending in a first direction and a second set of parallel rails (see at least Fig. 1) arranged in the horizontal plane and extending in a second direction which is orthogonal to the first direction, which first and second sets of rails form a grid (20) in the horizontal plane comprising a plurality of adjacent access openings (see at least Fig. 1); a storage section (see at least Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of goods holder arranged in storage columns located beneath the rail system, wherein each storage column is located vertically below one of the plurality of access openings (see at least Fig. 1); at least one port column located beneath the rail system and vertically aligned with a receiving position (see at least Fig. 2) of the access station (60), the at least one port column being void of goods holder (see at least Fig. 6); and a container handling vehicle (40) comprising a gripping device (50) for lifting goods holder stored in the columns above the storage section and drive means (see at least p. 1, lines 1-15) configured to drive the vehicle along the rail system in at least one of the first direction and the second direction. Hognaland discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the drawer is a tilt drawer, wherein the tilt drawer is pivotable between a receiving position for receiving a goods, and a tilted picking position. While Hognaland does disclose “the drawer may be of a hinged-type of drawer”, it doesn’t explicitly disclose a tilt drawer. However, Kania discloses a similar device including a drawer which is a tilt drawer (16), wherein the tilt drawer is pivotable between a receiving position for receiving a goods, and a tilted picking position for the purpose of presenting a goods holder to a user and implementing a “hinged-type of drawer”. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the applicant’s invention, to utilize a tilt drawer, wherein the tilt drawer is pivotable between a receiving position for receiving a goods (see abstract), and a tilted picking position (see abstract), as disclosed by Kania, for the purpose of presenting a goods holder to a user and implementing a “hinged-type of drawer”.
Regarding dependent claims 11, 12, Hognaland discloses that the access station is configured to provide a lower section of the port column (see at least Fig. 2). The automated storage and retrieval system comprises at least two access stations (see at least Fig. 2)
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the combination of Hognaland and Kania discloses the method of retrieving a goods holder stored in the storage section of the storage and retrieval system by means of a container handling vehicle comprising a gripping device; moving a tilt drawer of the access station to a receiving position; placing the goods holder in a compartment of the tilt drawer; tilting the tilt drawer into a picking position to present the goods holder to the user; after presenting the goods holder to the user, returning the tilt drawer to the receiving position; and retrieving the goods holder from the compartment (see citations to Hognaland and Kania above).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, the combination of Hognaland and Kania discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the automated storage and retrieval system comprises at least four stations. Rather, the combination discloses two stations. However, having at least four stations merely requires the duplication of parts already present in the combination and would result in more stations. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have at least four stations for the purpose of proving more stations.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kania (US 10,814,355) in view of Rapier (US 7,635,171). Kania discloses an access station for an automated storage and retrieval system, wherein the access station comprises: a frame structure (3); and a drawer (16) arranged in the frame structure, wherein the drawer is a tilt drawer (see Fig. 2) comprising a compartment (16) for accommodating a goods holder (8), wherein the tilt drawer is pivotable between a receiving position for receiving a goods holder from above, and a tilted picking position for presenting a goods holder to a user (see at least abstract). Kania discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the tilt drawer is biased towards the receiving position. However, Rapier discloses a similar device which includes a tilt drawer biased towards a receiving position (see col. 3, lines 20-30; “closed position”) for the purpose of automatically returning the drawer to the receiving position after removal of a container. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Kania by having the tilt drawer biased towards the receiving position, as disclosed by Rapier, for the purpose of automatically returning the drawer to the receiving position after removal of a container.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schwanitz (US 9,617,063) and Phillips et al. (US 6,202,922) disclose tilt drawers for item collection systems.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653